Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hood to Coast Healthcare

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 477-7915 Fax: (503) 954-3170 5440 SW Westgate Dr Ste 245, Portland, OR 97221 http://www.flourishnm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers natural medicine and naturopathic services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hood to Coast Healthcare include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hood to Coast Healthcare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2013 Business started: 11/01/2010 Business started locally: 11/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Samatha Mathers, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Samatha Mathers, Member
Business Category

Alternative Medicine Acupuncturists Health & Wellness Massage Therapeutic Massage Therapists Naturopaths Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction

Hours of Operation
Monday through Thursday
8:30am - 5:30pm

Friday
8:30am - 4:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Flourish Natural Medicine, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hood to Coast Healthcare has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    116 3rd St Ste 305

    Hood River, OR 97031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5440 SW Westgate Dr Ste 245

    Portland, OR 97221 (503) 477-7915

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had received a letter on 2/22/2016 to much of my surprise stating that I owe Flourish Natural Medicine a debt of $230.25 from Discovery Financial Services. I called on 2/23/2016 when I disputed the debt that I had with Discovery Financial Services. The person I spoke with on 2/23/2016 with Discovery Financial Services stated that I never had insurance coverage and that is the reason why I had this bill. The person I spoke with stated they will do their due diligence to investigate to see if I had health insurance coverage. I have had Moda Health Insurance since May 1, 2014 and have paid all necessary co-pays and expenses with Flourish Natural Medicine. So I thought that in their research that Discovery Financial would see that the debt was invalid as I explained that it was. To my surprise when I was trying to get a home loan 6/16/2016 that the debt was now a mark on my credit report. I thought this was taken care of since Discovery Financial Services stated to me in February 2/23/2016 that they would do their due diligence to investigate. On 6/17/2016 I spoke with Shannon who told me the dates in question were 12/2/2014, 2/9/2015 and 4/8/2015 and to get the explanation of benefits from Moda and send them to Faith who is my caseworker. I received my explanation of benefits from Moda and sent them on 6/23/2016 attention to Faith my caseworker. I then called and spoke with Shannon again on 6/23/2016 and she stated that they received the fax and that if I haven’t heard back with them to call back 7/8/2016. I called again to follow up and spoke with Shannon on 7/11/2016 and she stated that on 12/2/2014 wasn’t billed out and that Dr. M****** would need to review. We also discussed the visit on 04/08/2015 With Dr. Michael P****** who I have never seen before that Moda paid out for an office visit on 4/8/2015 I never attended and with a doctor I have never met or heard of. On 7/11/2016 I went into Flourish got a print out from Jessica that I wasn't seen on 4/8/2015.

Desired Settlement: This has been very stressful on me and now with the mark on my credit it is making it difficult to get a home loan and a better interest rate because of it. I would like this resolved and removed from my credit ASAP. I will be sending all documentation in a separate email. That includes • Explanation of Benefits from Moda Insurance and my financial responsibility for the dates of 12/2/2014, 2/9/2015, 4/8/2015 (please note that 4/8/2015 isn’t a valid debt as I have never seen the doctor and per Jessica at Flourish Natural Medicine that DBA Hood to Coast Healthcare 7/11/2016. • Included is the print out from Jessica that I received on 7/11/2016 of my visits of 3/18/2015 and 4/21/2015. Which I have also printed out my bank statements showing that my financial obligation was paid via debit card to Flourish. • My bank statements that shows I had paid my co-pays. • Letter from collection agency.

Business Response:

Our company is currently looking into legal action against the last billing company we hired. This was a third party billing company that we hired to complete our billing.  Unfortunately, this billing company did make mistakes that my company was not aware of until after many months of working with this third party billing company.

We sent out letters to our patients after we were legally allowed to leave the contact with this billing company. The letters to the patients were written by our lawyer explaining the issue that we had. We asked out patient to please contact the company (our company) with any questions if they had any in regards to their current balance.  Our company was not aware that the **** family had questions.  We were not notified by the **** family to look into this manner months ago when the initial letters were originally sent out.  I wish that were were able to take care of this matter with the **** family before this complaint was made and before the **** family was sent to collections. 

We also do not have a Jessica at our office. We do have a Jackie that is currently training. She did not provide * **** with the appropriate information that he needed to properly look into this matter. She was trying to help.  If * **** would like all the correct medical record information, Dr. Samantha M****** will be happy to go over that information with the patient.  

With the above said, Discovery Financial has removed all collections balances for the **** family and have moved their balance to zero, with the credit report to reflect that as soon as it is able.

We have greatly regretted hiring that third party billing company. It has been the worst business decision. It has cost the business and our patients stress and time that should have never happened.

 

 

 

We have had a very professional and efficient billing company that is currently completing their job and duties at 100%.  Again, we have fixed this error and issue with our company, are persuing legal action against the past billing company, and will continue to strive to be the best company we can be to our customers and our employees.

 

 

 

12/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The billing practices at Flourish are extremely unprofessional. I saw Samantha M. twice. The amount of time I've spent on billing inaccuracies for these two visits has spanned more than 14 months post visit. First my insurance was not billed and I received a large bill for services out of pocket. Then my insurance was billed and I received another bill which I paid in May of this year. Then my account was referred to a credit bureau after the account was paid in full. Flourish finally corrected this and the credit ding was erased after much time and effort on my part. Most recently I've received a bill for ridiculous overage charges which are inaccurate and posted after my account was paid in full in May of this year. My attempts to contact Flourish via email and phone have received no responses. I am extremely frustrated and will be paying this incorrect bill because the $15 isn't worth the credit report ding. What a frustrating and negative experience.

Desired Settlement: A letter stating that my account was paid in full in May of 2015 and that it is paid in full as of 11/27/15. OR if I've paid due to Flourish's threats, a refund of the amount I paid. No further collection threats or action. An apology that I've had to spend this amount of time on billing issues for 2 appointments more than 14 months ago.

Business Response:

***,

We lost our main biller about 1.5 years ago due to illness. We hired a billing company that was the worst decision we have ever made.  We are in legal action with that billing company. We have a new billing company and have hired additional staff to deal with a company we hired about 1.5 years ago.  I greatly apologize for the issues you have had. Hiring this company has hurt us and hurt our patients.  Our lawyer has been working on this case for the last 6 months. Again, I am very sorry that we all had to go through this.  We made your bill paid in full. I will have the front desk send you a receipt this week.

 

Again, I greatly apologize.

 

If there is anything that we can do to make this up to you, please let us know.  

 

 

 

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hood to Coast Healthcare
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart