This business is not BBB accredited.

Houck Evarts & Company LLC

Phone: (541) 485-7254 Fax: (541) 485-7298 View Additional Phone Numbers 450 Country Club Rd Ste 130, Eugene, OR 97401

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers accounting services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Houck Evarts & Company LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Houck Evarts & Company LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Oregon Board of Accountancy
3218 Pringle Rd SE Ste 110, Salem OR 97302
Phone Number: (503) 378-4181

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alan Houck, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Houck, Member
Business Category

Accountants - Certified Public Accountants Payroll Service Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Hours of Operation
8:30am - 5:30pm Monday - Friday

Additional Locations


    450 Country Club Rd Ste 130

    Eugene, OR 97401 (800) 256-6248 (503) 387-5235 (541) 485-7254


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I researched forensic cpa firms in the Eugene area and personally called and interviewed this candidate for our Family Trust to hire. We suspected ***** * **** the acting Trustee of embezzling funds and using fraudulent documentation to justify his wrong doing. I signed the engagement letter to hire this CPA to perform an audit on our family Trust. We continued employing them to file 2013 taxes. When I asked for documentation used in audit I got a rude email saying cpa was hired by Trustee and she represented trustee only and didn't answer to beneficiaries even though it was our inheritance and not the Trustees money that was paying for her services. I asked repeatedly for final page of audit including a loan payment schedule that was incomplete and cpa kept me waiting for weeks with no response. She accepted explanations of Trustee authorizing self to remove thousands of dollars from bank accounts without using companies fraud expert to examine documents.

Desired Settlement: I would like a form of the loan payment schedule of trustee from dates 11/15/2011 to 12/29/2013 with final amount due on that date. I would like this by December 30, 2013 to see if final payment has been made as ***** ******* ordered. I would like requested documentation used by ***** ** **** to remove money from ***** ** ****'s private checking account to pay *****'s personal household bills. I would like document signed by ***** ** **** permitting ***** ** **** to be paid from Trust for his administrative services. I would like documentation that ***** ** **** was to be paid from ***** ** ****'s accounts for any of his services because he was under contract that his services to his father were for free.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/18) */ It is my understanding that this issue has been resolved via agreement of all parties in the court system. We have delivered all requested documents to the attorneys involved. We have not been authorized by the attorneys, the trustee nor the court to release any further information. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An audit of financial statements, is the verification of the financial statements of a legal entity, with a view to express an audit opinion. The audit opinion is intended to provide reasonable assurance, that the financial statements are presented fairly, in all material respects, and/or give a true and fair view in accordance with the financial reporting framework. The purpose of an audit is to provide an objective independent examination of the financial statements, which increases the value and credibility of the financial statements produced by management, thus increase user confidence in the financial statement, Houck Evarts only shared with you a portion of our agreement. The audit was court ordered and the CPA reported to the court. Order states, "Either party may call ******* ****** to testify as to the audit findings if further explanation of the audit report is required by either party. CPA was hired as an independent third party examiner and this she failed to do. At no time did they express that they would not be able to be fair and unbiased. On Jan 27, 2014 Trustee revealed that he had a "Secret 2 hour Meeting" with CPA where they discussed privately Agreed-upon- procedures in connection with the audit and the details of these procedures were never revealed to parties ordering and paying for this audit. CPA was paid $300.00 in court frozen funds at this time which were readily accepted contrary to court orders. When copies of billing were requested by parties from Houck Evarts as in the agreement, they were denied access violating the court ordert hat either party may call ******* ******* She went so far to state she worked for and represented the Trustee and all explanation of the audit report needed to come from him and not her. In final accounting to trust beneficiaries Trustee explained removing $51,000.00 from trust account after court ordered the funds frozen by attaching an email from CPA explaining necessity.When required loan payback was $707.17 short Trustee again explained that CPA determined over judges court ruling it was allowed. Trustee also claimed CPA authorized him to not distribute inheritance as orderd by court but that Trustee could keep $5,000.00 in the trust as a 'reserve'. All of these statements from Trustee recorded in his final report suggest that CPA did not perform a fair and unbiased reporting of the trust accounting. This was done in direct contempt of the court order she was operating under. To resolve this issue I would like to be given an account of how many hours were spent by the company's fraud expert reviewing our accounts as was promised in our telephone conversation on November 19, 2013. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/24) */ It appears that the complaint against our Firm relates to services we were not engaged to perform. In an effort to clarify our engagement I am enclosing the following excerpt from our engagement letter, dated November 20, 2013 and signed by all approprient parties on November 25, 2013 (note: ****** is a redaction of confidential names): "We are pleased to confirm our understanding of the nature and limitations of the services we are to provide for ************** Family Trust. We will apply the agreed-upon procedures which the trustee of *********** Family Trust, the beneficiaries of the ****** Family Trust, and their legal counsel have specified as follow: 1) compile annual trust accountings from information the trustee provides for the years 2008 through 2012 and year to date for 2013. 2) compile information as it relates to the trust accounting from the personal accounts of *********, the trust settlor. We will not audit, verify, nor confirm information with third parties. 3) The detail of expenses will identify payments to outside parties and payments to related parties. The basis of accounting for preparation of the annual accounting will be the cash receipts and disbursements method. This engagement is solely to assist the trustee of ********* Family Trust, the beneficiaries of ********* Family Trust, and their legal counsel in identifying and clarifying the revenues and expenses of the trust. Our engagement to apply agreed-upon procedures will be conducted in accordance with attestation standards established by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The sufficiency of the procedures is solely the responsibility of those parties specified in the report. Consequently, we make no representation regarding the sufficiency of the procedures described in this letter either for the purpose for which this report has been requested or for any other purpose. If, for any reason, we are unable to complete the procedures, we will describe any restrictions on the performance of the procedures in our report, or will not issue a report as a result of this engagement. Because the agreed-upon procedures described in this letter do not constitute an examination, we will not express an opinion on the trust accounting. In addition, we have no obligation to perform any procedures beyond those described above...." We have completed this engagement, presented our findings to the parties of the engagement and the court, thereby fulfilling our obligation completely. As a result, we consider this matter closed.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am one of the beneficiaries of the **** Family Trust who has hired the Houck Evarts & Company LLC to help with some trust matters. During the time this company has been employed by us they have refused to give us vital records and information regarding their dealings wh the trustee who is not a beneficiary, but who is supposed to be setteling trust issues thus closing out the trust. We have asked them to send us an itemized copy of the costs they have incurred while in our employment which they have refused to do. I feel they have not been professional or ethical in their dealings with us. if I had the power to fire her right now, I would. They have not produced the high quality of work their expensive wages deserve.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to account for every penny of our trust money they have spent and give us the same courtesy and access to any records, information etc. we ask for which have to do with the **** Family Trust. We should be able to challenge any of their charges we don't agree with or haven't contracted with them.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Houck Evarts & Company LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)