BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2012

My Vacation Haven, LLC

(850) 608-6115View Additional Phone Numbers600 Grand Blvd Ste 202, Miramar BeachFL 32550-1403



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2012

BBB has determined that My Vacation Haven, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised My Vacation Haven, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on My Vacation Haven, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quoted price for rental not honored
I inquired to My Vacation Haven about a rental in San Destin Beach and Golf Resort and was quoted by email on May 29, 2014. The quoted fee for rental from January 2, 2015 to April 1, 2015 was $3,079.66 for Crystal Cove 2337. When I called today, June 6, 2014 I was given a higher rate. When I questioned it I was asked to e-mail a copy of their e-mail with quoted rate to them. I did so, and received an e-mail stating that their system has provided the wrong pricing. I replied that I felt the quoted fee should be honored, but they responded that they could not honor the rate, and were checking with their system manager to fix the issues with the pricing. They quoted a rental fee and I feel that it should be honored.
I have and can supply copies of all emails sent between My Vacation Haven and myself.

Desired Settlement
The settlement that I am seeking is for My Vacation Haven to honor the quoted rental rate of $ 3,079.66 for the dates requested, January 2, 2015 to April 1, 2015, for Crystal Cove 2337, located in the San Destin Beach and Golf Resort.

Business Response
Our business practice at My Vacation Haven has always been to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests while maintaining the integrity of each vacation rental property we manage for the individual owners on our rental program. While we try our best to give accurate quotes for all inquiries we receive, all quotes given are estimated costs and are subject to change. In addition, we do experience technical glitches with the reservation software from time to time and errors occur that are beyond our control as a company.

With regards to this consumer's specific complaint, the original quote of $3,079.66 for Crystal Cove 2337 from the dates of January 2, 2015 to April 2, 2015 was incorrect, caused by error in our software system. When the consumer called our office on June 6, 2014 to follow up on the email quote she received, we realized there was a pricing error in the software system and immediately contacted our system administrators to investigate this further. The software administrators confirmed the pricing glitch was an error that occurred internally in the system.

Please keep in mind, all quotes given are estimated costs and are subject to change. Reservations are not guaranteed until payment is received and in this circumstance, we were simply providing a quote, not executing a rental agreement contract. Because we have no control over these types of system errors, we will not honor a system pricing error that drastically compromises the value of the vacation rental for the property owners we represent. We sincerely apologize for the way this situation evolved but unfortunately this type of error was out of our control.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When My Vacation Haven responded to my e-mail requesting a TOTAL quote on the condominium, I took that written quote in good faith. I would expect as a reputable company that they would honor that quote as well. Had I been misquoted to their financial benefit I highly doubt that the total would have been reduced upon execution of a rental agreement. THIS WAS A BAIT AND SWITCH in my opinion. We have rented in San Destin for over 20 years and have never been misquoted before by any company either representing themselves or owners. I would have thought that for the sake of good customer relations and if the company is in fact a reputable company that they would have honored their initial quote. Needless to say, I will never do business with this company, and highly recommend anyone looking for a vacation rental in the San Destin to avoid any dealings with a company who does not honor it's pricing, especially a written quote.

Final Business Response
We apologize for the misunderstanding and system error that provided the incorrect quote, but unfortunately this error with the software system was out of our control as a company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As a business advertising online and managing hundreds of vacation rentals, it would seem that My Vacation Haven, as a matter of customer satisfaction and GOOD WILL would honor the price they quoted, whether or not the error was in or out of their control. That gesture would go a very long way in building good faith and respect to us and to future renters. As I stated earlier had the error been to their financial gain, I seriously doubt that they would have reduced the rental amount to us upon booking. We requested rental for 89 days. At the very least I would expect My Vacation Haven to honor the quoted rental for 30-60 days if not for the entire 89 days. It is very bad business practice to use bait and switch tactics to lure vacation renters. It appears that My Vacation Haven is unwilling at this point to come to any compromise in our complaint. We have rented in the San Destin area for over 20 years and not once have we ever had a company quote a price only to raise it when we booked it. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY for your vacation rentals. There are many many rental agencies in the San Destin are to rent from who are reputable and this is not one of them.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/14/2010Business started: 12/20/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Daniel Buckner (Owner)
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for My Vacation Haven, LLC

600 Grand Blvd Ste 202

Miramar Beach, FL 32550-1403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 600 Grand Blvd Ste 202 

    Miramar Beach, FL 32550-1403(850) 608-6115
    (800) 553-0188

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*My Vacation Haven, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 553-0188
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Vacation Rentals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.