BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2004

ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Phone: (850) 275-5000Fax: (850) 243-6334View Additional Phone Numbers546 Mary Esther Cut off NW Ste 3, Fort Walton BeachFL 32548-4067 Send email to ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2004

BBB has determined that ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Iam disputing a charge that has appeared only acct in the amount of 149.99 for item that I did not remove from premise
I was guest at Tidewater Beach Condominiums from 3/17-3/20/16. My overall experience was the worst! My 1st issue is that I am being falsely accused of taking a comforter from the condo that I stayed in on this property. I currently have a charge in the amount of 149.99 on my bank card. Upon speaking to **** the assistant GM regarding this issue she tells me that one of her staff witnessed one of the people in my party take a comforter ftom the condo that we were staying in. She also stated that the person who advised her of this also overheard someone stating that it was cold outside before walking out of the condo with a comforter. I have requested for **** to review the recording which she has refused to do to verify what this staff has advised her of. Also **** stated that she was not made aware of this until that Wednesday when I checked out on that Sunday before. I have attempted to contact the General Manager regarding this issue and he has yet to contact me back. This by far is the worst experience that I've had with a resort, not only did it take me 30 min to check in upon my arrival due to the neglect of their staff over the phone, I have experienced issue after issue with this same resort. . My husband also contacted **** regarding a complaint about the condo that we were staying in. He advised her that 2 of the ** did not work which she denied, however I received a call confirming that the TV did not work after she basically called my husband a liar in so many words. I was provided with a credit of $50.

Desired Settlement
I would like receive the money that was taken out of my acct incorrectly. I would also request that the recording from 3'20'16 be reviewed to verify if the comforter was removed from condo by someone in my party.

Business Response
Thank you for recently reaching out and sharing the particulars of your stay. While we strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience, we also want to ensure that each unit is adequately supplied for each arriving guest. Thank you for communicating with us in regards to the missing item that was noticed during our inventory process at the time of departure. We have taken the appropriate action and refunded your card for the missing item in question. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us again and we look forward to hosting your family in the near future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your immediate response and action regarding this matter.

01/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their policy is no refunds but I cancelled almost a year ahead of time due to the death of my infant son. I was denied a reservation fee refund.
Their policy is no refunds but I cancelled almost a year ahead of time due to the death of my infant son. I was denied a reservation fee refund. That is a horrible business practice due to the nature of our circumstances. I am demanding a refund of our reservation fee. Customer number is XXXXXXX. ********* **********. Our address then was **** N ******* **** ********* ** XXXXX.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $252.38

Business Response
Per our records, Ms. ********** did cancel her reservation on August 12, 2015. A partial refund, in the amount of $110.13, was issued to Ms. **********. A credit for the remaining $142.25, to Ms. **********, is currently in the proces of being completed. This transaction can take a minimum of 7 to 10 business days from our end and her credit company as well.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your prompt response. I did not receive a partial refund in the amount of $110.13 when I cancelled my reservation. I cancelled on 12/12/15, cancellation statement XXXXXX. My customer # is XXXXXXX. I have looked at all of my credit card statements and it is not there. Please refund that amount so this can be resolved. Thank you for refunding the other $142.24.

Final Business Response
Ms. **********, thank you. We are very sorry for your loss and no death certificate is necessary. We have looked further into this and you are correct in that there were two reservations; one for yourself and one for your guests. When the ********* reservation was cancelled back in August, there was a refund to the card on file, which is Mr. ********* credit card. For your reservation cancellation, dated 12/12/15, we are refunding you the full amount of $252.38. We do not have your full credit card number on file and can either send you a check to your home address (which we will need to confirm) or you may call us with your credit card information to process the refund. Please let us know which option you prefer. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you so much for your understanding. I appreciate you looking into this. The check can be mailed to:

**** ******* ******
************ ** XXXXX

I appreciate your willingness to get this resolved.

04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We placed deposit of $415.72, in February to attend a wedding for our neice in JULY. The wedding was canceled around the first week of March. We immediately called the rental agency to cancel our reservation. We made numerous attempts to contact a representative and left numerous messages asking for a call back. We were finally able to speak with a representative Friday, 4/11. We were informed that no refunds could be given. I simply cannot believe the agency would inforce any type of "no refund" policy when we were trying to cancel the reservation 4 MONTHS in advance of our stay.

Desired Settlement
My best scenario would be to get a full refund. Surely the unit could be rented over the period of 4 months.

Business Response
We are truly sorry for the issue at hand. The guest booked Tour xxxx450 on February 6, 2014. According to our booking policy we collected a 15% advance payment of $415.72 and explained all booking policies to the guest, including that cancelations at any time would result in the loss of the 15% advance payment.An email confirmation statement was also sent which also has policies attached. According to our phone and reservation histiry, guest called 2 months later (April 11th, 2014) to cancel the reservation and was once again explained the cancelation policy. Guest was given the option to change dates and/or property, even through 2015 as an option to avoid losing the advance. Guest said she would think about it and call back.

Guest was called again Monday, April 14th to go over options but guest wanted to discuss options to change the reservation. Went over South Carolina options and sent her the Wyndham Vacation Rental website link. She will look over those options and will call us back.
While a refund of the 15% advance payment is not an option we are working with the guest to have them come visit at another time and or location that meets their needs.

07/21/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/21/2016Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The condo they put me and my family in on 8/11/2013 was dirty nasty carpets was so soiled, the
blinds didn't work the wires in the iii bed room was hanging out the bathroom s had mold in
there, the patio furniture was gross dirty out dated, tile ceiling fan top was falling off, the grout on the
oor s was dirty, the bed comforter was nasty. They came and got that, the pillows on the couch was
torn up and I have all the pictures of all of this. At the sterling sands condo #703 and the door was
not shutting and the last day they wanted to move me and I call and went to their office every day.



Desired Settlement
All my money back. 1700.00 dollars

Business' Initial Response
To the best of my knowledge, based on statements from the
individuals who had direct dealings with this guest, the following is the
series of events that took place between the dates of August 11, 2013 and
August 17, 2013 (the duration of this guest's stay).
August 11, 2013 -- Guest went to Aerial Dunes
originally to check in where they were booked. Guest was told check in was at
Resortquest Mlramar Beach Office and arrived at Central Destin Office by
mistake. Before anything could be said guest informed us they wanted to
move and refused to stay so far away. Guest stated property was not in Destin
though it actually is. They simply wanted to be closer to central Destin.
Guest confirmed their booking with bookit.com. At the time, the only thing
we had available that t there specifications was at the Sterling Sands Resort
in Downtown Destin. The guest was informed that the unit was showing as
clean in our system but had not been inspected by a quality assurance
inspector. Due to the time of day, the guest agreed to occupy the unit
"as-ls' and let us know the following day of anything that may need to be
addressed.
August 12, 2013 -- We received an email from
our 24-hour desk prior to the office opening (8:34 AM) stating that the guest
complained the unit was not cleaned thoroughly. She stated the patios and
carpem were dirty and that paint mns were left on the counter.
Upon receipt of the email, one of the Operations
coordinators contacted the housekeeping department requesting that someone be
sent to address any issues. Housekeeping arrived at the unit sometime
between 2pm and 4pm to re-clean the unit. The Housekeeping manager
attempted to contact guest at 3:58pm but could not leave a message as the voice
mailbox was full. The manager nally spoke with the guest sometime
around Sprn and was told that the issue was that the patio furnlture and
bedspreads were worn and dated.
August 13, 2013 - guest called prior to the
office opening again complaining about the guests above them throwing 'shy'
water off of the balcony onto theirs. Issue was resolved. Guest
called again with some minor maintenance issues. Operations coordinator
speaking with her offered to send maintenance but guest refused. Guest did not
express desire to move stating that she needed to be in that specic area of
Destin and we didn't have anything else in that area to accommodate her.
Associate told guest that we would refund her cleaning fee for the issues she experienced
(credit of $99.07 was issued on 8/14/13). At 3:18pm a work order was dispatched
to housekeeping to deliver a new blanket for the bed where the comforter had
been pulled for cleaning.
August 14, 2013 - Booklt.com called the office
in regards to this guest's repeated phone calls to them. The Bookitcom
agent stated the guest claimed they expressed their desire to move to another
unit or property but that we refused them, which was not the case as explained
above. We simply didn't have availability in a property that fit their
specifications at that time.
A wont order was dispatched at 3:19pm regarding the blinds
on the sliding glass door not functioning properly. Maintenance repaired
_ the blinds and no other maintenance issues were reported. _
Guest requested carpet cleaned and a vendor was contacted to
perform the job. Guest was also offered a unit at another property that
had opened up and unit was placed on hold while guest decided if they wanted to
move or not. At approximately 4pm, an Operations manager finally
succeeded in contacting the guest after several attempts in regards to the
possible move. Guest stated her husband had not returned from fishing
trip and that they would go to the other property to look at unit and decide if
they wanted to move. She stated that if they did not move she wanted
another full carpet clean as she felt the initial clean was not done properly
and the floors were left wet.
August 15, 2013 - guest decided not to move
and the carpet cleaning vendor was dispatched to perform a water-extraction and
another full cleaning of the carpet.
According to our records, this was the last correspondence
we had with this guest prior to their departure.
As you can see, we made numerous attempts to satisfy this
guest, yet were met with resistance. The issues were resolved to the best
of our ability. Therefore, we feel the monetary compensation previously
. received is sufficient and a full refund of their rent is not warranted

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Resorts, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate, Condominiums

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/26/2004Business started: 09/01/1998New Owner Date: 06/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CND7600269 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 06/01/2017.

Type: Resort Condominium

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2002, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Tracy Jose (Executive Assistant)Mr. Lino Maldonado (Vice President, NWFL)
Business Category

Property Management, Resorts, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate, Condominiums

Alternate Business Names
ResortQuest Northwest Florida, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

546 Mary Esther Cut off NW Ste 3

Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-4067

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 546 Mary Esther Cut off NW Ste 3 

    Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-4067(850) 275-5000
    Fax: (850) 622-0060
    Fax: (850) 243-6334

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 909-6807

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (850) 622-0060
  • (850) 892-5383
  • (850) 622-9196
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.