BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2006

Gulf Power Company

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 505-5486Fax: (850) 444-5123View Additional Phone Numbers1 Energy Pl, PensacolaFL 32520-0732View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2006

BBB has determined that Gulf Power Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gulf Power Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues16
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Gulf Power Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
03/31/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Return of deposit
In August 2012 I called gulf power to establish service at 4435 Marlene Drive in pensacola florida I had a past due bill I was required to pay and also a deposit in the amount of 330.00 dollars. I'd just given birth to my daughter and was having to move I specifically asked the rep how long would they hold my deposit twice because at the time I didn't have the money to pay but I neededon't to get the service established because we were being discharged the rep told me verbatim that my deposit would be returned after 1 year of uninterrupted service 1 year of UNINTERRUPTED service...well since then I completely forgot about the deposit until August of 2015 I called to discuss what I needed to sunmitigated to have my deposit returned since it had been well over a year. The rep then told me that I needed to have 1 year prompt payment history which baffles me because after 4 years of constant service, being on budget billing and this company being the only power company in escambia county I can get service from the only other option was to disconnect services I have 0 disconnect notices, and 0 disconnect for non pays at ALL of my addresses and it's not fair that this conpan6 can just hold 330.00 dollars collect interest on it and return when they feel like it as well as respresentatives giving me false information from the start

Desired Settlement
I would like to have MY money return3d to me as it was told to me it would be in August 2013 after 1 year of NONinterrupted service

Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to a positive conclusion. Customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never said I was satisfied at all, all she did was tell me the same false information previously given in August but as I stated in my initial complaint the representative told me that my money would be returned after 12 months of uninterrupted service. She also brought to my attention my average monthly use is 165.00 but this company has been charging me 200 dollars for budget billing. I don't appreciate the ways that they rip off people because they're our only option for power. I definitely did not tell her that I was satisfied because I'm not.

Final Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to a positive conclusion. Customer is satisfied.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter put service in her name on line. I went in the office and put service in my name, because I did not know my daughter had done it. I went back to office to cancel my service she sent me a confirmation from them to my phone. The guy was very rude and he did not do his job because they turn the lights off while we were out of town. They didn't notify me that the lights would be turned off. I also talked to the supervisor and also called on Oct 8th, 2014 on phone no one told me there was a problem they sent the email to the wrong person about a question they had. I visit office 2 times that day also on phone to make sure everything was good.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to train there workers to be understanding and help customers and be respectful. Also all my food in refrigerator and freezer was bad and I want some help to replace.

Business Response
I met with ****** ****** on December 1,2015 in my Gulf Power office located at **** ****** **** ********** *** Previous to our meeting we discussed the situation on the phone. Ms. ****** indicated that she had email correspondence indicating that her daughter had made contact with Gulf Power in reference to having service established in her name. I asked if Ms. ****** could bring that documentation for my review. I reviewed the documentation that Ms. ****** brought. From this I have concluded that there was ample expectation to believe that the service was to be established in Ms. ****** daughter's name therefore it should have been all right for Ms. ****** to cancel her service request. There appeared to be miscommunication that led to an unexpected result - disruption in electric service. I have asked that the $27 Account establishment fee be waived. Additionally I have authorized a $50 credit on the account to assist with replacement of refrigerated or frozen items that were lost. I have called XXX-XXXX, the number provided by Ms. ****** and left
a message as to the above solution. Additionally I have counseled with the customer service representative involved with the case to assure that complete communications is expected by the customer and management. I offered my apologies the day that Ms. ****** was in the office and assured her that this not how we wish for our customers to see us. We will strive to do better.

Consumer Response

10/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services disconnected with no notice and charged a reconnection fee.
I have service under account number XXXXX-XXXXX for power services at 8144 Imperial Dr Pensacola, FL XXXXX. My power was disconnected without any communication attempts from Gulf Power on 10/5/15 when the account was under 30 days past due. The first representative I spoke with stated I should have received a letter in the mail and a call prior to disconnect. I received no emails concerning the past due balance, nor any physical mail or phone call. The online listing of notices sent out show no disconnection notice was sent. As a result I have been charged a $60 reconnection fee. As I was not properly warned of when the disconnect would occur I believe this fee is being unfairly applied. Gulf Power holds a monopoly for power services in my area and being a municipal service should attempt all available contact methods as well as give a reasonable time frame before disconnecting service.

Desired Settlement
The resolution I seek is to have the $60 fee waived.

Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to positive comclusion. Customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My desired resolution was met.

08/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Getting my power bill properly meter working correctly they are base my incorrect on last tentants.
Has call gulf power twice request about budget and was told back in June 2015 not to get on budget because the last one here bill were $200to 300. And to wait six month they said to see what your bill will be then call back they have a old meter that need to be place my thermostat is set at 78 it does not stay on all night I cut it off when it get dark they are billing me base on last tenant that live at this address reason I say that is when I call gulf power they always brining up the last person and I explain to them my air-conditioning does not stay on then was turn down when ask for re read and something not right I on disability I don't run air-conditioning all day like I said turn off at night soon as get night and just move here.

Desired Settlement
For gulf power to reduce my bill and new meter and a more efficient way to keep my bill under what they are charging me is ridiculous.

Business Response
Gulf Power Company received notice from the Better Business Bureau on 7/21/15 that a customer had issues concerning billing. The account was established on 6/8/15, and on 6/15/15 the customer called to request Budget Billing. Since it was a new account, he was told to wait six months so we will know what his average usage will be before beginning the program. We also explained that the current average monthly bill at that home was based on the previous homeowner's usage.

The customer called again on 7/18/15 saying that he thinks his bill is higher than it should be. We covered with him weather temperatures and conditions during the billing cycle, but he believed temperatures were not as high as we were seeing.

An energy audit was scheduled with the customer on 7/22/15. The Marketing Representative surveyed the home, and reviewed energy conservation tips with the customer. No significant issues were discovered. A meter test was ordered and completed on 7/23/15. It showed the meter is operating within optimum perimeters.

The local office manager in Chipley made contact with the customer on 7/28/15. The discussion covered the Budget Billing process, the Energy Audit, and the Meter Test results. The customer stated he understood the Budget Billing program, he appreciated the Energy Audit, he realizes what the Meter Test results are, but will only be satisfied with a new meter. The meter was changed on 7/29/15, and the customer is satisfied with the steps the company took to address his concerns.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I finally gotten a meter but it wasn't a new it was a 2011 meter instead of the 2009 meter hopefully I will some improvement from gulf power in this matter thank you better BBB for your support. sincerely,
mr ********

07/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to allow an extension on bill
On 7/14/15, I went to Gulf Power and paid $200.00 on my bill due of $295.47. On 7/15/15 I contacted Ms. **** ********* Customer Service Supervisor for an extension to pay the remaining balance of $95.47. I received a reply back from *********** that she not longer works at the pensacola, Florida location, and that she transferred to Fort Walton Beach, Florida. She told me to go online to my account or call for extension. I have always had a working relation with Ms. ********* I don't always but in the past I was allowed by her authorization for extension to catch up the remaining balance. She did not provide me with any information of whom in Pensacola Office supervisor to contact. I emailed Customer Service and was told I could not get an extension on the remaining $95.47 due by the 20th of July. My disabled brother live at this address and is on a fixed income, he is on oxygen 24/7 for his breathing equipment, and Gulf Power a already over priced electric service Company won't allow an extension of $95.47, which would be paid on August 3rd, 2015 my brothers deposit date. I am sure this will be something good to report to media and social networks that Gulf Power, this big entity of a Company cannot allow a extension of $95.47, where the customer has already given the company $200.00. I will go further with this complaint because if a Company has worked with the customer in the past, and all a sudden do not care what happens to customer, Where is my brother suppose to go on 7/20/15 if Gulf Power interrupts service.

Desired Settlement
I am only seeking to be allowed an extension of time to pay this $95.47 on August 3rd, 2015.

Final Consumer Response
On 7/20/15, I was contacted by Gulf Power Customer service manager *** ******* Please drop this complaint with Gulf Power.

***** ******

Page 1 of 2
01/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
240.00 dep Nov 2014 to my understanding was to be refunded if account in good standing never disconnected 2 employees said would by end Dec last not
240.00 dep 11-2014
As of Dec 3 1 yr of service and continue service
2 employees said would be refunded account good standing
3rd said no even if late payment would not unless account closed
3 they bill a person other n a fake apt door next that hasn't lived their over 20 years I still get in my postal mail.
Felt exploited publically at office and very uncomfortable when tried to discuss

Desired Settlement
240.00 deposit return and continue service as / statement when first paid dep over year ago. Account in good standing always has been ,have always called stayed contact so on.

Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to a positive conclusion. Customer is satisfied.

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gulf Power Energy Select "program" is used to rip off customers. Poor infrastructure and 0 planning is used to make people pay 7x energy prices
On 7/14 I reluctantly accepted to have an 'energy select' system installed at my house. The point of the program is to allow customers to 'save' money by charging them variable per kilo watt prices.
There are 4 price tiers: low, medium, high and critical.
The critical price per kwh is 72.2 cents. Normal price is 11.7 cents

When I called (and also before the system was installed) I asked - several times- what are the odds that I will end up paying almost 7 times more. The individual on the phone (and also the installers) said it will almost never happen (they said maybe once every 2 years).

Less than 24 hrs after the install - my critical light went on - and I got stuck paying 7 times more then before. I called Gulf Power and was told a different story by several impertinent employees who tried to prevent me from having the 'system' removed. I found out that the critical kicks in several times per year. A quick google search also revealed that fact the hundreds of customers who were 'smart' enough to try this so called 'energy select' program cancelled within days.

I feel that Gulf Power's inadequate infrastructure and inflated costs are passed on to the gullible customer who tries to save money. The lie to get the system in place, hook the sucker at 73 cents/kWh and do everything within their power to prevent them from canceling.
Customer service is horrible - F- at best. Prices are among some of the highest in the nation. The response time when there is an outage is insane (6+ hrs to repair a downed line).
Infrastructure is a joke - stop lights, street lights - all go out when there is a minor glitch in their so called grid. There have been numerous accidents as a result of non-working stop lights...
Bottom line - my issue is that I was lied to and I do NOT want to pay a cent on top of the 11.7 c/kWh backtracked to the day I decided to 'try' this 'energy saving' program.

I do intend to take my concerns to the media (including social media) as I believe that what Gulf Power does is borderline criminal.

I am also going to be seeking legal advice and pursue this fraudulent company using all available options.

Desired Settlement
backtrack the price for all energy used since the day of the install at the standard 11.7 rate.
Public apology and real before-install disclaimer.

using the excuse 'it's hot in FL' approach to bump up kWh prices is insane (it is FLORIDA!)

Business Response
Contacted customer, concerns addressed. Customer satisfied.

07/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The billing for this company is way to high the fuel charge they are adding is almost as much as the bill itself!
my electric seems to keep going up and up and got a fuel charge on the bill this month alone was more than 89.00 for a fuel charge. What does a fuel charge got to do with my electric we DO NOT have gas here nor do we have anything else that needs to be driven in to our small 2 bedroom apartment, lord this apartment is over stuffed so there is not that much room to have to keep cool. We came from a very large 4 bedroom home in the country and were not paying nowhere near the cost that we are paying now for our small 2 bedroom, this is just crazy and we are at work all day and the thermostat stays at the same temp at all times. And we also have a 20.00 base charge what is this for? I thought a base charge is what they charge those who do not live in their homes just to keep the electric going not something you would charge for those who live in their homes daily.. Last year on this month we only used 388 kwh but this year they have us at 1996 kwh used.. Really???? How did we go up that much in one year?? I read an article about switching electric companies in Forbes but really how do you do this when the electric companies are separated by region so you cannot get someone else to service an apartment that is assigned to one company someone needs to do something this is madness and we cannot afford to keep paying these high bills!!! There are tons of complaints on this company and yet they are still charging customers this much every month.. Where is this money going to and why are we paying for the electric company to buy land? Something has got to give the minimum wage here is so low that we cannot afford these bills and our electric! I am a single mother and it is getting very hard to support myself and my son. I have a heart condition and I still work as much over time as my body will allow but it is not enough to pay my electric and my rent and we do not qualify for any assistance. And the electric company won't allow us to go onto the energy program cause your bills must be paid on time for an entire year but really who can afford to pay them on time when we only get paid 2 times a month and have to struggle to pay them when we do get paid as we have all the other bills to go with it.. Please do something with these companies and the over charging!! Also last year they made me pay a bill twice even after I gave them proof from my bank that it had already been paid to them. They claimed they could not find the money in their system but my bank clearly sent the money to them! They said if I did not pay it they would shut my electric off and I have a heart condition and can not be in extreme heat I had to beg and plead with mt family to loan me the money for that bill to pay it AGAIN after I already paid it!! This company has 16 or more different websites even one on facebook about these high bills and no one has done anything about it! This has to come to a stop it is a shame when we have to go hungry just to pay an electric bill!!! I will not stop until this madness stops with these bills and I am willing to go to the media or anyone else I need to just to make sure this comes to a stop NOW!

Desired Settlement
I want these bills corrected from this point forward. I also want all these fuel charges down to a standard charge and the base charge removed from my bill all together from here on out. And I want the money I have already paid on these bills either refunded or put on my account as a credit since we have no choice but to stay with this company!! I also want the bill I had to pay twice last year refunded back to me!

Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to a positive conclusion. Customer is Satisfied


05/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never returned my deposit
They never returned my deposit and they expect me to provide documentation that I never got yet they can't produce proof that they are requiring me to provide.

Desired Settlement
They never returned my deposit yet they expect me t I show proof of something I never got while they can't produce this documentation either.

Business Response
The deposit and interest were refunded and applied as a credit on the customer's electric service account on May 3, 2013. We refunded the deposit to the customer's account based on 12 months of prompt payment history. The deposit credit resulted in no payment required for May 7, 2013 and June 6, 2013 electric service billings. A remaining unapplied credit also went toward the July 7, 2013 electric service charges.

When the customer asked about their deposit, we supplied an account activity statement which reflects the deposit credit on 05/03/2013, bill amounts, and payments applied. Unfortunately, our local customer service system would not allow us to print copies of the May, June, and July 2013 bills which reflect the deposit refund as a credit due to the age of the bills. We did escalate the request for copies of the 2013 bills based on customer's request and we were able to obtain copies from our billing support department on April 27, 2015.

On April 27, 2015, we emailed copies of the April, May, June, July, August, and September 2013 bills to the customer and we sent copies by U.S. Mail per customer's original request. The customer did confirm receipt of the bills by way of email. The District Customer Service Manager has tried to reach the customer by phone to apologize for the confusion regarding the deposit refund but she has been unsuccessful. The District Customer Service Manager sent the customer a follow up email on May 11, 2015.

03/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging based on block not my personal service
I have had overcharge problems with this company since day one and my equipment, a.c., continually goes out. I was told when I first moved in my bill was need off the person who lived in the home before me. Then I was told it was based off the bloc. Well my neighbor next door uses power tools all the time so I pay for this. It got so bad I turned my refrigerator off unplugged from the wall. I only leave a.c. unit on when I'm home four hours out of the day. Absolutely nothing burns in my home and was last 3 bills have a been outrageously high, 294, 225 and this month 395. Last year around this same time I had a bill for 400, 500, 300. The pattern has been the same the last 3 or 4 years and I'm tired of it. It's fraud. I agreed to pay for my services not my neighbors use.
Account number XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want my bill to reflect my use and not an estimate of the block and I want a refund from the beginning of my services. This company should be forced out of the area there is a power company in Jay that serves half this are. I was told that they have been told by the city they can't come in here because this is gulf powers territory. This company in Jay can afford their services and aren't asking for price per kilowatt increases of already terribly high mischarged bills. Another specific are of this settlement is to allow this company to move forward in the area. They don't have the big head to hire people they can't afford or go for increased locations to hire more high priced engineers.

Business Response
Spoke with customer and came to a positive conclusion. Customer is satisfied.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/23/1990Business started: 01/01/1923
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1925, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tim Stronko (Customer Service Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kelly Pace (Complaints 2)Mrs Tina Barron (Customer Service Mgr)Ms. Melinda Shirley (Customer Service Center Manage)Ms. Susan Southard (Administrative Assistant)Mrs. Lisa Williams (Customer Service Mgr)Mr. J.T. Young (General Manager)
Business Category

Electric Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gulf Power Company

1 Energy Pl

Pensacola, FL 32520-0732

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gulf Power Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (850) 689-4616
  • (850) 505-5255
  • (850) 444-6111
  • (800) 225-5797
  • (850) 969-3111
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.