BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2013

Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C.

Phone: (850) 932-0300Fax: (866) 673-469755 Bay Bridge Dr, Gulf BreezeFL 32561-4468 Send email to Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2013

BBB has determined that Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait and Switch
Illegal, Prohibited, or Clearly Excessive Fees and Costs
**** ******* agreed to handle my foreclosure defense.I originally filed my own Affirmative Defense and went to him to back them with case law and with a counter suit intentions. His fees were to be $20,000 PLUS because of the complexity of the case I agreed with $2000 down and $795.00 per month. Almost a year into case and $7,565.00 collected his "scope of work changed" and no longer involved my original 26 Affirmative Defenses he changed them to his liking and instead of the counter suit I was paying him for he made it a basic Fannie Mae Defense which per him was "an extra ordinary event!" With his changing of this the scope of work had changed tremendously to a basic $2999.95 Paint Job. He NEVER brought this to my attention but kept cashing checks like everything was the SAME. When I finally understood and realized this I questioned him after our 1st court date his response became pompous arrogant and further made it clear that he could change this and accelerate this case so quickly and so fast that I would make a determination. WOW I question him about an accountability and he TREATENS to accelerate my case AGAINST ME? That followed with me not meeting his demands because he refused to respond to my accountability of hours logged into my defense. He filed to leave as Attorney of Record less than 12 days before my awaiting court appearance. Not only did I loose a Motion for Continuance I lost my case because the Honorable Judge ruled it was not a Fannie Mae Loan so he never even read my loan Doc's to file his Motion for if he had READ them he would of never filed as a Fannie Mae loan for goodness sake.

Desired Settlement
Refund of payments made less the audit for actual fair governed fees plus DAMAGES because he was ssssooo deceitful and fully aware of what he did.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* B.*******,partner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: justice@***************law.com
This client entered a contractual relationship with this firm. Pursuant to the contract, this client signed a fee agreement, a no guarantee of outcome of the case and a Stipulated Motion to Withdraw as Attorney of Record. This client failed to pay the contractual fee agreement for several months while this firm continued to work on this client's case. The client was told of the arrearages of over $6,000 owed pursuant to his fee agreement plus the fee for the upcoming trial and our law firm's responsibilities to actively defend his case at upcoming trial. When this client continued to fail to pay the fee agreement and work with our law firm to actively participate in this client's case, our law firm withdrew as attorney of record, pursuant to this client's legal services agreement and the Florida Bar Rules. This client is not a practicing attorney and is not aware of the rules of court. This client's defenses were not supported by case law or statute and could subject this client and this law firm to sanctions. This law firm actively pursued defending this client's case yet this client materially failed to uphold his contractual fee agreement. It is prohibited in the State of Florida for attorneys to be advancing costs to clients.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dearest ****,
Since you refuse to answer the ISSUE of my COMPLAINT ya know the one about you telling me that you would need over $20k to DEFEND and COUNTER my Original Affirmative Defenses and clean up while backing up my Original Affirmative Defenses with Case Law.
Since you refuse to stick with facts and your responses to this have wavered from even to respond to the COMPLAINT of your... Bait and Switch
Illegal, Prohibited, or Clearly Excessive Fees and Cost.

I must now focus on your cry baby response in regard to your latest attempt with your answer to paint me as a dead beat for not paying my BILLS.
HERE WE GO!!!
I had been purchasing investment properties since 1999 in the Santa Rosa County area. Bla,Bla,Bla investing in Real Estate. I am a GENIUS!!
At the height of the Market 2007 I was sitting on 8 properties.
At this time 4 properties where all FOR SALE and EMPTY to SHOW.
At this time 1 property I lived in.
At this time 1 property I was Rebuilding in a Construction Perm (The Case which is part of this Complaint)
At this time 2 properties were rented.

By 2008 I hadn't sold a property for sale BUT was continuing to PAY almost $13,000 per Month with only $3,000 in Rents, YES I was paying $10,000 out of pocket for the tune of $120,000 of my savings in one year.
By 2008 the BANKS were NOT lending MONEY to ANYONE.
I had people wanting to purchase 2 of the properties BUT even though they had the credit...BANKS would not lend them MONEY...that's a fact JACK.
Early Fall of 2007 Peoples First themselves found their very own financials to be terminally ill I was in a Construction Perm interest only loan from Peoples and needed another $100,000 to finish my property. My Credit was still high in the 680's because I did pay my Bills ****.
Peoples First in their own Bait and Switch told me to invest or get ur done and they would "pay me back" and flip the loan to a 30 year fixed. Because I believed the players involved ya know BANKERS I spent a little over $100,000 of Business and Personal Funds (****this was all in the paperwork I came in with and put on YOUR desk the day we met for you to understand my 26 Affirmative Defenses I guess you didn't READ them did YOU?)
So Dearest ****I paid my bills until I was Blindsided by Greedy Pig .....BANKERS.


So Dearest ****if you would have read what I gave you... you would never accuse me of not paying my obligations.
Simple FACT check ****you could of put it in perspective here to the BBB the payments I missed starting 9-1-08 not 8-1-08 were $2,697.24...not the $3,341.01 you reported and further to not to sugar coat anything the payments were for INTEREST ONLY...sssoooo when I got the Royal Treatment from Peoples First Bank and clearly they were NOT going to PAY ME BACK I stopped paying for something that made no Business SENCE to do so.Ya know pay $2,697.24 per month interest only FOREVER and STILL not own my HOME!!!
If you would of read the paper work I left you, you would see by Dec 2009 Peoples First was shuttered by the Fed's for basically Unsound and Unsafe and Fraudulent Business Practices thus my case with 26 Affirmative Defenses against Peoples First and its Assigns Hancock Bank I hired you to Defend me with was not only credible but you had all the AMMO you needed for my Defense.
Let's peek into Court Doc's;
X-XX-XX Plaintiffs Complaint Filed
XX-XX-XX Answer of ******* ********
XX-XX-XX Request to Produce (********)
XX-XX-XX Plaintiffs Notice of Serving Responses top the Defendants Request for
Production.
1-6-12 Plaintiffs Motion for Extension of Time to Respond to Plaintiffs Response to Defendants Request for Production.
1-9-12 Plaintiffs Response to Affirmative Defenses
After our 1st Meeting when ****Agreed to Defend and Back-up with Case Law my Original 26 Affirmative Defenses...****Filed the Following and All Further Correspondences
X-XX-XX Notice of Appearance and Unavailability.
X-XX-XX Notice of Borrowers Request for PL Disclosure for Mediation.
X-XX-XX Defendants Response and Objection to Plaintiffs Motion for Summery Judgment.
X-XX-XX Attorney ***** ** ******** assigned to ******* ** ********
FACT CHECK!!!
From X-XX-XX till X-XX-XX other than the X-XX-XX Reponses ****you have done basically NOTHING.
XX-X-XX ****YOU were served the Amended Complaint or as you put it on your RECORDED Voicemail they changed their Petition.
FACT CHECK; Did you inform ME? NO!!!
XX-XX-XX Defendant ******* ** ******** Answer Affirmative Defenses and Demand for Jury Trial.

FACT CHECK; This is where ****YOU KNEW that you were NO LONGER backing my Original Affirmative Defenses. This is where Bait and Switch Took Place ya know the one where you STILL held me to the $20,000 PLUS EXPENCES and you changed my defenses because as you stated in my RECORDED VOICEMAIL;
"May I remind you that your Defenses went away the moment they amended their petition...I did not like your Defenses they are not good so I filed my own" end QUOTE.
OH MY!!! You are no longer Defending my Original Defenses an Agreement by ME ******* ** ******** with your Firm ****...ya know the one CONTRACT I signed that Promised me NOTHING and I pay you $795.00 PER MONTH!!!

Let's PLEASE get REAL here ****.
7-2-12 We meet in Court ya know the one where I begged your office to tell me if I needed to attend because I had to come from Chicago to be here and did not get a response from you or your firm until I came into town for 2 weeks OH!! That's right you were at a convention of the minds you could not wait to tell Judge Goodman about what was talked about!!!
7-2-12 that's when I KNEW something was WRONG. Later in September when I started demanding an accountability that's when you became Defensive because you knew I caught you in the cookie jar...you became Pompous Arrogant and very unprofessional to wit;
You Tell Me on my Recorded Voicemail;
"I can change it were this thing is accelerated and so quickly and so fast that you make a determination so give a call at XXX-XXX-XXXX so we can talk about your case so that you have a clear understanding of our victories at this office ok? Thank-you bye bye."
So rather keep going back and forth *********** could you PLEASE just answer the Complaint of your Bait and Switch tactics and DECIETFUL representation of your Firm for an Aggreement to back my Affirmative Defenses in the tune of over $20,000 PLUS to your filed Affirmative Defenses regarding the Fannie Mae Loan that according to you "is an extra ordinary event"??
Please ****answer that question lets end this back and forth.
And as for this;
This former client entered into a contractual relationship with this law firm to defend a lawsuit that was brought against this former client for allegedly failing to pay on a promissory note and mortgage as of August 1, 2008, in the amount of $550,860.50 together with interest, late charges, cost of collection and reasonable attorney's fees. This former client signed a mortgage and note on October 11, 2005 with a promise to pay $564,800.00 through monthly principal and interest payments of $3,341.01 starting on September 1, 2006 through August 1, 2036. When this former client allegedly failed to pay this monthly obligation on August 1, 2008, foreclosure proceedings did not begin until September 27, 2011, which was three additional years of this former client's alleged failure to make monthly payments of $3,341.01 on this obligation. Notwithstanding, this former client also failed to pay contractual relationships with several other entities resulting in recorded judgments in the public record of Santa Rosa County some of which are Capital One Bank, SunTrust Bank, and BAC Home Loan Servicing, L.P., for $4,687.49, $67,152.41 and $3,782.76 respectively. This former client has a history and reputation in this judicial circuit of failing to pay the contractual relationships to which this former client is party as well as failing to pay this law firm to defend the cause of action against this former client. Lastly, this law firm hired Regan & Rourke LLC Law Firm to which this this former client has been notified, to protect the reputation of this law firm against this former client's slander and libel.
Gee ****I'm flattered that your painting me as a dead beat for my obligations it's just WAY TOO FUNNY you earn a living praying on and DECIEVING people in financial duress ya know the clients you have in your Foreclosure Defenses?
Certainly you didn't bring that to my attention when you wanted my money and took on my case...HEY!! Do you tell other Clients that they are DEAD BEATS TOO?
HEY!!! Don't you prefer people PAY Thou rather than their obligation?
OH!! As for the Attorney you refer too...WHEN I receive notice from this attorney you have hired to handle I'm sure MANY c

Final Business Response

This former client entered into a contractual relationship with this law firm to defend a lawsuit that was brought against this former client for allegedly failing to pay on a promissory note and mortgage as of August 1, 2008, in the amount of $550,860.50 together with interest, late charges, cost of collection and reasonable attorney's fees. This former client signed a mortgage and note on October 11, 2005 with a promise to pay $564,800.00 through monthly principal and interest payments of $3,341.01 starting on September 1, 2006 through August 1, 2036. When this former client allegedly failed to pay this monthly obligation on August 1, 2008, foreclosure proceedings did not begin until September 27, 2011, which was three additional years of this former client's alleged failure to make monthly payments of $3,341.01 on this obligation. Notwithstanding, this former client also failed to pay contractual relationships with several other entities resulting in recorded judgments in the public record of Santa Rosa County some of which are Capital One Bank, SunTrust Bank, and BAC Home Loan Servicing, L.P., for $4,687.49, $67,152.41 and $3,782.76 respectively. This former client has a history and reputation in this judicial circuit of failing to pay the contractual relationships to which this former client is party as well as failing to pay this law firm to defend the cause of action against this former client. Lastly, this law firm hired Regan & Rourke LLC Law Firm to which this former client has been notified, to protect the reputation of this law firm against this former client's slander and libel.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Attorneys & Lawyers, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/19/2009Business started: 03/07/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bar Association (Tallahassee)
651 E Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 561-5600
http://www.flabar.org

BBB records show a license number of 196381 for this company, issued by Bar Association (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.flabar.org.

Type: Attorney/Lawyer License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2011, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory Wilhelm (President)
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

First Judicial Circuit of Florida

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C.

55 Bay Bridge Dr

Gulf Breeze, FL 32561-4468

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 55 Bay Bridge Dr 

    Gulf Breeze, FL 32561-4468(850) 932-0300
    Fax: (866) 673-4697

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Baybridge Law Firm, P.L.L.C. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Attorneys & Lawyers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.