BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2013

Window World of Fort Wayne

Phone: (260) 483-3117Fax: (260) 483-6757

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My windows are leaking and creating condensation by the seal. My doors weren't installed properly. My siding isn't what I ordered.
I ordered windows, vinyl siding and a sliding door from them. I also purchased 3 additional doors that they agreed to install for a price. The window are leaking and moisture is forming on the inside of the windows. They installed the wrong siding and the windows aren't sealing. The doors leak air all around them. **** the service manager told me my house is has too much moisture. This is Indiana, we normally have to run humidifiers in the winter because the houses are so dry. Instead of offering to come and try to fix it he threaten to send me to collection. I have already paid them $14,000 of the $21,000. I will pay the balance when the work is completed properly.

Desired Settlement
I would like the windows sealed and working as described to me by their salesman. I would like the doors installed properly. And if they don't take care of these items, then I will want the siding that I ordered installed. I am spending good money to make my home more efficient and I have not received what they promised.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
I have been corresponding with the customer by email. I asked him on a couple of occasions what he'd like us to do about the siding, he never answered the question. I called the customer on February 17, 2015, he did not want to speak to me, he wanted to speak to a manager or owner. So, I had our Installation Manager call the customer. The customer didn't want to hear a resolution to come out again to his home to take a look at the issues he had, so the Installation Manager told him that we would be sending his file to collections. The Installation Manager did go to the customer's home to take a look at the condensation and it is normal because of the humidity in the home and outside temperature. The doors were bought by the customer (not our product) so, customer did sign a waiver that we are not responsible before, during, or after installion of HIS doors.

OFFER:
To have our Installation Manger come out again as he wanted to in the first place.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window World has not completed the work on my house within a reasonable amount of time. I have made several phone calls, but have not gotten results.
On July 3, 2014, I signed a contract with Window World of Fort Wayne to install 4 new replacement windows, replace siding, soffit, fascia, and guttering on my home. I made a down payment of $5,000. The estimated wait-time for completion of the project, according to the sales person, Kenneth, was 5-7 weeks. The contract that I signed stated that work was usually completed within 6-8 weeks. I received a phone call in late August stating that all my materials were in, and that work would begin soon. After several days passed without hearing anything more, I called to ask about the possible installation date. I was told it would be another "couple of weeks" and that they would call when they had a date. Finally, the four windows were installed on October 10th. I was told it would be "another couple of weeks" before the siding could be started. This period of time came and went. I called again, and again I was told "another couple of weeks." It is now nearing mid-November, and I still have had no more work done. I feel that I was misled when signing the contract. If this company was so far behind on installations, I should have been informed of this. If I had known that winter weather would set in before the exterior work was done, I never would have chosen this company to do the work. The sales representative who wrote the order is no longer working with Window World. He told me that Window World used all their own installers, but a lady on the phone said that a company I believe she called "All-side" would be doing the siding. Another contractor(s) would then do the guttering. When speaking with the sales rep, he indicated that the entire job would be completed in about a week, once the work was started. This is obviously not going to be the case. I feel that I have been misled and lied to.

Desired Settlement
Ideally, I would like for the work to be started and completed to my satisfaction within the next two weeks. Also, since this company has had $5,000 of my money since July, I believe a further discount of 10% would be reasonable. If the work cannot be completed before December 1, I would like to cancel the remaining work and receive a full refund, less the cost of the windows.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
We do apologize for the length of time it is taking to do the siding work. Unfortunately, it is hard to give a definite time because each siding job is different and may run into complications that delay each install of siding. Salesman, ******** should have given an estimated time but never have promised a certain time frame the job would be completed within because in this business we do not guarantee a specific time frame.

OFFER:
The installers have started Ms. *****'s siding job today (November 17). We are going to fulfill the contract completely and because in this business, a definite time of completion cannot be guaranteed, there will not be a discount.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3-29-14, we signed a contract to have a patio and a French style door installed. It's July 8th, and still no doors.
On 3-29-14, ***** ***** from Window World came out to give us quotes on replacing a patio door and a French style door. He measured, gave us a quote of ****** and we put a deposit down of ******** our VISA. On 4-3-14, *******, the installer, came out to get specific measurements that were different than *****'s original. ***** sent ******* out a second time to measure. ******* came back, took off the door trim and discovered that *****'s measurements were way off and that we needed a custom built window/door. I called ***** immediately and he assured me that Window World would cover the price difference because it was their error. On 5-14-14, we called to check our status and left a message. No one called us back. We continued to call daily and spoke with several secretaries who let us leave messages but no one called us back. In the first week of June, we contacted the corporate office and left messages with *****(6-7-14). He never called us back. We finally got ahold of Tina Murphy and she informed us that our contract had been lost. My wife, **** ******, faxed her a copy of our contract. She informed us that the prices and measurements given by ***** ***** were all incorrect. Another installing crew came to the house to take measurements again the second week of June. We called Window World several times to check our status. After numerous messages, one gentleman called me back. He said that our order will be placed at the top of the list and we should have our doors/windows in 4 weeks. It's July 8,2014 and we haven't received one phone call on the status of our doors.

Desired Settlement
We would like Window World to start and finish the job they said they would do!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@windowworld.com
We did have concerns on the measurements for the door because it was an over-sized door-not standard. We wanted to double check on the measurements. We did re-order the door, when the issue of the measurement was rectified. The ESTIMATED delivery date for the door was Monday, July 7, 2014 but is now on back order. Unfortunately, with back orders, our supplier does not give an estimated delivery date. We have contacted the ******'s with this information. We will let them know ASAP when the door arrives and schedule an install. We will fulfill our obligation.

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Our primary complaint through this entire process is the lack of communication from Window World. Most recently, we were never notified of the July 7th delivery date or the fact that the window is now on back order as the above comment indicates. We do not understand how a custom window can be back ordered; since it is a custom built door.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager

I have replied to this complaint on 7/11/2014 as follows: "We did have concerns on the measurements for the door because it was an over-sized door, not standard. We wanted to double check on the measurements. We did reorder the door, when the issue of the measurements was rectified. The ESTIMATED delivery date for the door was Monday, July 7, 2014 but is now on back order. Unfortunately, with back orders, our supplier does not give an estimated delivery date. We have contacted the ******'s with this information. We will let them know ASAP when the door arrives and schedule an install. We will fulfill our obligation." Since this reply, the door arrived today. We will be contacting the customer ASAP with an install date and time.

OFFER:
To fulfill our obligation as soon as possible.

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertise **** replacement windows and not **** on their price list.
I purchased the **** window only because the **** window was not offered and n

Window world advertises **** replacement window.
When I was given an estimate, their lowest priced window was $***,not *****
On their price sheet nowhere does it list a window costing *****
My contract was signed and dated Feb 22 and the salesperson was ***** *****

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor their $*** advertised price and reimburse the $** difference in price

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
I responded to this on February 24, 2014. In that response, I had stated: I have spoken to the salesman, ***** ****** He had explained to the customer why the windows are ***** It is **** PLUS handling which comes to ***** It does not state **** on the contract because we had it include the handling fee so it states **** per window. The customer has signed the contract well aware that he was paying **** for the window.

OFFER:

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 12/22/13 I had window world remove a large bay window from my kitchen. The bay window had a small roof on it, and the aluminum siding was cut out to fit in the window roof. I paid a total charge of ******** two replacement windows ********* and the rest was to remove old window, reframe window space and patch sideing. The installer did the install but did not have the siding pieces. He told me he would be back the next day and finish the siding. It is now 1/13/14 and when I call window world, every monday, they tell me the installer will show up and finish the siding patch. The windows and the house are not sealed for the elements. this needs to be done. I need to get the house sealed before mold starts growing inside my wall..
Product_Or_Service: replacement windows (2)

Desired Settlement
Finish the install, patch and seal siding as paid for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@windowworld.com
What was left to do for this customer was to install pieces of siding. I have been in contact with the customer every step of the way. The installer had stated that he did patch & insulate the area so there isn't any moisture until he is able to put the siding pieces in. The installer states that he will be there to finish the installation. We fully intend to fulfill the contract.

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the same response they give me for the last five weeks. They wont give me a date or time the installer will finish the work. The area is NOT patched or insulated, only a thin plastic sheet covering the hole.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager

Our installer will be at his home Monday, January 20, 2014 between 12:00-2:00 if that time and day is convenient for the customer.

OFFER:

Page 1 of 2
11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window World did not install windows and trim as outlined in contract dated 5/24/14 within a promised 6-8 week time frame.
On May 24, 2014, I signed a contract with Window World for thirteen (13) Series 4000 double hung white windows with Custom Exterior Trim and Vinyl Interior Trim, for a total of $4,250 (price match to Lowe's). At that time, I submitted check #7024 in the amount of $1,877 as a deposit, which has cleared my bank. Promised installation was a 6-8 week period, putting the cutoff date to the end of July. After numerous scheduling errors by the company and a hassle about my schedule (even though the salesman assured me my available hours would be happily accommodated) delivery was set for August 8, 2014 at 8 a.m. - 11 weeks after signing the contract. Upon their 10:30 a.m. arrival, the installation crew began with the first two windows and then explained EVERY ONE OF THE WINDOWS WERE MEASURED/ORDERED INCORRECTLY AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO BE REORDERED because they were at least 1 1/2" too big. The two windows they installed that day were FORCED to fit the opening because they broke the old ones taking them out. They were made to fit by ripping out portions of the supporting studs and window header with a pry bar and not centering the windows in the window sash opening - they are flush with the inside wall and 4" of window sill on the outside was left expiosed; they are now difficult to open. The installer then left after a phone conversation with a "manager" taking the remaining 11 windows with him. In addition, the Custom Exterior Trim ordered and charged on the contract was never installed. The installer gave the name of the manager and owner, ***** ******* and **** ******, to contact regarding my dissatisfaction with the contract not being fulfilled (this conversation WAS RECORDED) because I requested the windows NOT be reordered, I wanted a refund of the remainder of my deposit.

I LEFT PHONE MESSAGES TWICE ON AUGUST 8, 2014 NOT TO REORDER THESE WINDOWS until this matter was discussed (these conversations WERE ALSO RECORDED) with me or with my attorney and to please call back. There was no response from Window World to me or any call to my attorney to discuss anything at all.

As the windows were not delivered when promised, the Custom Exterior Trim was never installed, damage to my framing occurred from forcing the installation of two windows, and no communication from Window World regarding these complaints, the contract is null and void. It has now been 4 months since the contract was signed, almost 2 months since the botched installation and subsequent phone request to discuss this issue, and 6 weeks since my first attempt by mail to reach a resolution. I have been unsuccessful in getting Window World to respond in any manner. On October 3, 2014 two certified letters were signed for at the Contractor's Way address and no communication has resulted from that.

Desired Settlement
Assuming the contracted exterior trim is installed and the windows repositioned in the center of the window frame, I request the remained of my deposit ($1877 - $688 two windows) = $1189) to be immediately refunded.

Deposit Paid 5/24/14 Ck #7024 $1,877.00

Less: (2) Series 4000 windows @ $259 ($518.00)
(price match discount waived by purchaser - original price as listed on contract)
Less: (2) Custom Exterior Trim @ $60 ($120.00)
Less: (2) Vinyl Interior Trim @ $25 ($50.00)
($688.00)
AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED $1,189.00

Business Response
Dear ******* ********

Good morning, thank you for contacting us regarding this complaint. At Window World we strive to provide great customer service and view this as an opportunity to do so.
Attached you will find a log of all correspondence and time line with Mrs. ********.
05/24/14-Contracted for 13 windows
7/2/14-Left her message for install
7/7/14-******** took message from ******** that she is on vacation
7/31/14- Install for 2-4. ****** & crew showed up early. Customer furious & called office. I told her I apologize. Crews do finish up their jobs early or late. In this business it's hard to give exact times. She said she had things to do and they are to come out at scheduled time! Crew left. She called the office upset because the installers left. I proceeded to ask if she would hold and she interrupted me yelling, "No I will not hold." I continued to tell her to hold so I can get the install manager on the phone. She said, "Oh." Butler got on the phone and spoke to her wanting to know when they will be back out.
8/8/14-Keith & crew went to install. Attempted to install 2 windows. ****** said stop, it's not going to work-mismeasured. She called during lunch and ddanials took message for ***** to call her, successful transfer to branch. **** took call and forwarded to *****.
8/11/14-***** attempted to contact ******** & left several messages.
8/25/14-******* reordered the windows
9/23/14-I called Ms. ******** to schedule installation. She stated that she instructed us NOT to order the windows per her attorney. I apologized and stated that she does have a contract. Mishaps do occur and we will fulfill the contract and that is what we are trying to do but she is not cooperating. She stated that no one is listening to her about not ordering the windows and that she is going to call her attorney. I told her to have her attorney call me. No call from attorney!
10/3/14-Sent to collections

She did not ever call to discuss a resolution. Just demanding her money back, threatening several times with an attorney (whom we have never heard from, do not know their name or contact number), yelling, rude, and disrespectful. She has posted on facebook under a nickname, Pinky, stated we took her money and she doesn't have windows so people beware. Each & every phone call was returned. Attached you will find messages from ddanials as well.


As all our products are custom ordered sometimes mistakes are made in regards to measurements. Unfortunately this was the case with Mrs. ********. We Intend to fulfill our contract fully but she is not being cooperative. As with state law there is a 3 day rescission on any contract, that time has passed and we have since received the windows and are ready to install. If Mrs. ******** would just let us come out and complete our contract im sure we can resolve this matter.
Also Mrs. ******** has since taken to social media and started a smear campaign against our company. While we respect the right to freedom of speech this slander has not gone unnoticed. Also she states that she left us a msg. to not reorder. We have a call service that records every phone call and msg. and we have not been able to find this msg. Either way she has a contract and we have invested 2 sets of windows at our own risk and fault because of the mismeasure but we would really like to install and collect and resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Ms. **********

I do NOT find Window World's response satisfactory. This is not a case of me changing my mind on a whim, this is a case of a company who incorrectly installed windows contrary to industry standards and damaged my home in the process while refusing even the courtesy of a phone call to discuss the issue. Additionally, Window World of Fort Wayne made false statements to both your Bureau and the Indiana Attorney General's office regarding me and my efforts to contact them, misrepresented me as being demanding and rude (the recording will show I am upset, but not rude), and accused me of a media smear campaign against them.
My concern has always been the incorrect installation of the two windows that were installed, the custom exterior wrap that was never installed (and no assurance that it would be installed), the damage to my header and supporting framework, and the refusal of the company to address these concerns. As far as I know, no one had even re-measured the windows correctly. As emphasized in my phone conversation of August 8, 2014 (transcript and recording attached under separate cover), as a consumer, I had no assurances from the company these issues would be addressed and corrected. I stated I would "rather" have a refund, but asked more than once for my call to be returned. The second phone call of 8/8/14 after phone records show I called an attorney was solely to relay that information to Window World's desk person, so allegations this information was not received is also false.
How can I in good conscience throw good money after bad and have 11 more windows installed when the present work was defective and dealing with a company that refused to contact me and presented false claims of doing so? Only after waiting two weeks for a response that never came did I send a letter at the end of August demanding a refund, less the cost of the windows already installed.
In summary, Window World did NOT return my requests for a discussion of this issue, DID receive the name and number of an attorney to call, and IGNORED regular and certified letters requesting a refund when no response was received. They continue to refer their rights under a contract, but have shown no respect for a customer's right to have their windows installed per the industry standard, have the complete job completed as contracted (exterior trim), while suffering no structural damage to their home.
Simply stated, the facts do not support Window World's claims. The attached supporting documents will disprove their assertions.
Please consider the attached phone logs, previously attached photographs, call recordings, conversation summaries, and all other attachments or emails to be considered as part of this reply.
Thank you, *****, for the mediation efforts you've made thus far.
Sincerely,

******* ********

11/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Crew damaged our deck during installation of patio doors. Company unresponsive to repeated attempts to resolve.
Patio doors installed in July, 2014. Crew failed to put down tarps and, consequently, scratched and gouged our deck with their tools and ladders, and there were spots of something on the deck that were not there prior to the installation. Photos were emailed to company; after approximately 4 weeks, district manager came out and agreed that the crew should have covered the deck prior to installation. Said it would be taken care of. No further contact from him. We have made repeated phone calls, and on August 30, 2014, the original crew came out and used some solution that the manager told them to try, which removed the color from the deck. Our deck is made of a composite material, purchased through Home Depot, which is no longer manufactured. The crew took a small piece of leftover decking that we had, and said they would take it to Home Depot and see if a solution could be found. We have heard nothing about that. It has been almost another 6 weeks, and we have had no further response from the company, though another call was made to them on October 9. By our records, we called this company on the following dates: July 14, 21, and 31, August 21, 25, and 30, and October 9, 2014.

Desired Settlement
We believe we should receive some monetary compensation for the damage done to our deck. The bottom line is they don't get to damage our property and not be held accountable. This damage could have been avoided had they simply laid down tarps.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Our install manager contacted the customer to let them know that we will repair the deck. Customer stated that he will think about it & let us know.

OFFER:
To fix the deck.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My wife and I feel we had the right to discuss the offer to "fix the deck" rather than making a snap decision. We attempted to call the company a little more than an hour after we received the phone call from the manager. Of course, we were unable to reach anyone, and had to leave a message asking that he call us back, which he has not done. He wants to have someone power wash and stain the deck. This deck is maintenance free, and we do not want to have it stained so that we will have to continue to restain it every year. If they want to power wash the deck with water and detergent, we would be willing to give that a try. Given that the color was removed in their initial attempt to remove the scratches and spots, we do not want any further chemicals applied.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager

We did not receive a call from Mr. *****, not to say he didn't call. Last conversation was our install manager to Mr. ***** where Mr. ***** had stated he will think about having us repair the deck and that he would get back to the install manager.

OFFER:
We have offered to repair the deck (not replace). Since it is repairable and we are willing to do so, there will not be a monetary compensation offered.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are keeping precise records, and, on October 14, at approximately 12:30 p.m., my husband DID call Window World, got "****" on recording, and asked that the person who had called about an hour earlier call him back, as no phone number was provided. No one returned the call. As stated in our previous response, we were willing to have them try to power wash the deck - NOT STAIN IT. We never asked or expected the deck to be replaced. The company did not respond to our acceptance of that offer; it is merely talking around the issue. And why would we lie about having returned the call? They can call us if and when they choose, but whenever we call, we get a recording and no return call. At this point, we are just tired of dealing with this company, and you may consider this matter closed. We will, however, be posting a review on-line, and it will not be favorable. We have already declined to recommend Window World to a friend who was considering replacing some windows, and we will continue to do so to anyone who asks. We thank the BBB for its efforts on our behalf, and we hope this will be publicly posted on the BBB site.

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excuses,laziness,deceptions!!!!!
25 nov 2013 ordered new world from window world. salesman told us windows will be installed by christmas time and that the installers shouldnt have any problem working in weather. Salesman showed us window the was brown wood grain on inside and white on outside. even took a picture of it so that there was no confusion about the type window i order. No window got installed til jan XX XXXX. **** ****** made several excuse the installer not finishing the work. One employer to me reason for my delay in windows to be installed was because they had to move into a new store that took them 2 weeks too move into. **** ****** excuse was weather. FInd it hard to believe weather stopped my windows from being installed but for the company too still be able too move to new store. Jan 18 windows got installed all in day. installer left debris, wood chips, leaves, and paint chips in window sill. Never once used his shop vac too clean sill. jan 19 Installer came out too wrap windows and again never clean sills. Even just installed wrapping trying too cover it up but failed too do so. I took picture of it so that **** ****** could see that these professional installers arent doing the work needed to be done. Installer ran out of stock and had too order more. **** ****** never called on that part to when the stock will get in so i called them on mon jan 20 2014. **** ****** called later that week to say that installer will b there next weekend too finish up job. Installer never showed up. **** ****** called once again with excuses for reasons why installer cant show up too finish job and i complained about debris left in window sill too **** ****** and she said she would address issue. Installer called feb 2 2014 siting he was going too fix issues and finish up wrappin around windows. installer never showed again, SHOCKING, and im 10 weeks and windows still not done. Im sure **** ****** was dazzle you with weather excuses and material excuses for each of the reasons to why they cannot perform to contract. Installer only works weekends apparently and cant seem too work on any other day throughout the week and **** ****** says she has so many crews that windows dont take but a day or two to install but yet im still without a contract that was suppose too be fullfilled. cant wait to hear the next EXCUSE to reason why installer cant seem too make it or her so called OTHER crews too finish this contract out. LET THIS BE LESSON TOO ALL CUSTOMERS WHO WANT TOO USE WINDOW WORLD....EXCUSES, LAZINESS AND DECEPTIONS is what you will get with world window of fort wayne. especially with **** ******...

Desired Settlement
i have asked **** ****** before to make it right with this company to provide extra wrappings for two doors. one was service door on side of the house and the back door. She argued with me before on this and even raising her voice in a disconcerning manner that i have serious doubts she will ever make anything right with contract. spent **** plus on windows and wrappings and two doors getting wrapped was a very small price too pay to satisfy a customer that has be patience with this company and their EXCUSES, LAZINESS AND DECEPTIONS.........!!!!!!

Business Response
This was contracted November 25, 2013. Our salesman know not to give a time or day as to when we can install windows as no one knows how long it takes to make our windows since they are custom made. If you read on the back of the contract, line #1, it states: "All of our windows are custom made at one of our manufacturing plants located around the country and shipped to any of our over 200 Window World locations. The time between when your order is placed and when the windows are ready to be installed, though NOT guaranteed is typically 6-8 weeks. At that point we will call you to set an installation date." We had originally scheduled installation for January 6, 2014 but had to cancel due to all the snow we received and the cold windchill. We have had to reschedule due to the weather, which we have no control over. Then the installer did not have enough American Terra colored coil to finish wrapping his windows. When the installer was able to get more coil, he was to go finish wrapping but his truck had got stuck in the ice and contacted Mr. ****** to let him know so. We did not know until the installer came into the office Monday morning to let us know what had happened. Then we called Mr. ****** to let him know we will be out again Friday, February 7, 2014 between 10-11:00 am. I, ****, am the office manager not **** ******* She is the receptionist. I have spoken to Mr. ****** once when I had called him to cancel install due to weather and that is when he proceeded to state that the installers did not clean up their mess but rather tried to hide it. I had told Mr. ****** that I apologize for that and that when they come back out to finish wrapping, I will make sure they clean up the mess to his satisfaction. We have not made excuses but legitimate circumstances. We are going to fulfill the contract completely.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Window world came out twice to supposedly to address problem. First time installer did not fix it right. Leaving gaps in caulk around new windows. I even emailed **** pictures to show what these professional installers have not done. I even showing paint chips left under new window and caulk gaps. Second time they came out and this time wrapped the doors I requested for inconvience window world has caused, they left mess all around my home. Paint chips all over ground and metal shavings from wrapped. I emailed this company and I have exhausted myself with complaining too these **** people about professional installation they so called have. I don't believe A grade that was giving to them bbb was even remotely close too professional they was giving too me. Four month ordeal was exhausting and wish I never choose window world as a choice for windows.

Final Business Response
I have responded to this complaint. In addition, I have been corresponding with Mr. ******. We plan on rectifying all his concerns and will fulfill his contract.

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have purchase 21 windows from window world. The customer service is horrible and just doesn't care. I have went on line so many times to make a complaint just the overall services and it doesn't get me anywhere. The first 11 windows i purchase was order the wrong size and i took a day off of work to have them install and wasn't able to install for the wrong size. I called the manager at that time (***** *******) and all he can say is i'm sorry and i will put your name on the top of the list. Then i purchase another 10 because i wanted to stay with the come company as the other windows that was install. Took off another day of work installation truck was 4 hours late and i called the office and they kept telling me they're loading the truck. My appointment was at one time and they decided to come whenever they feel like coming(so unprofessional). I called to speak to manager again(Lori or something like that) she kept saying sorry but still didn't understand where i was coming from. The last couple of weeks i have been having problems with feeling air coming through the window. Window world sent a gentleman to come out and check the windows in found 4 of the windows not 3 not latching and one the other one not put in correctly. just the time and calling is very draining and window world doesn't understand. I understand that i only spent ***** for 21 windows but the customer service was very horrible.
Product_Or_Service: 11/12 and 11/13

Desired Settlement
I'm not asking for a full refund but i'm asking for 10% off my total bill just from the horrible customer service and my time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****/Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@windowworld.com
We apologize we have not responded prior to today because our office has been closed due to the weather. We received a call from Mrs. ***** one day in regards to her windows needing to be serviced. I had spoken to her on the phone and apologized to her about the customer service she had received prior to me and that I would do what I can to rectify the problem. I also, told Mrs. ***** that if she had any further concerns to contact me directly. I sent our installer to take a look at her windows. The installer stated that he would have to get a part and will return to her home to take care of the windows and that he would let the customer know when he would be out. In the meantime, Mrs. ***** has called a few times to our answering service. I attempted to return the calls and left messages on each occasion but heard no reply from Mrs. *****. Then she had stated to the installer that she does not want to talk to any of us here at Window World. So with that being said, then why did she make attempts to contact us and not return the calls? The installer went back to her home to take care of her windows. The installer stated that most of the windows that were letting air in was because she did not have the windows latched correctly. Installer showed her how to latch correctly and took care of all windows that she had a problem with. I spoke to the installer after he had been to Mrs. *****'s home and asked if everything was taken care of to her satisfaction and the installer said yes. We have serviced her issues with her windows. If she has other problems or still have problems, it was not addressed to us. Like I stated above, when she did call a couple times to the office and left messages, I did return all calls and left messages more than once and the third time she called and left a message for a manager to return her call, I did so then too, which went to her voicemail and I left yet another message to Mrs. ***** which none of the returned calls were returned by Mrs. *****.

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes she did call me back from me leaving a voice mail. Window World have tried to contact me after the fact that i have to go online to make a complaint or let the installer know how bad of customer service i been getting from windowm world. Yes the install did tell me the windows wasn't latch correct but once again just got the last set of windows install in Nov 2013 and your installers never showed me how to work the windows or anything like that. I assume the windows was install and latch correctly why should i have to go behind their work that's like i'm taking my car to the shop and get work done and i have to go behind their work to see if they finish their job correctly. The bottom line i have purchase 21 windows from Window World and it might not seem like nothing to you but it's my money and the way everything was so out of hand from not showing up on time , from ordering the wrong size windows in 2012 and so on. It's very draining dealing with you guys so i took the next step. Because all i keep hearing from manager at Window World is i'm sorry and that's it and that's not acceptable. That's like me saying i can't pay for my windows from the way you treated me from day one very RUDE and that's what get me. Window World can say whatever but i know how i been telling them from day one about their customer service.

Business Response
As stated in my reply, we went to service her windows and the installer had rectified all concerns. If Mrs. ***** has further concerns about her windows, she needs to let us know. We have returned all her phone calls and messages, but cannot take care of additional concerns she may have if she does not return our call. She is communicating with everyone but us (BBB, Installer, etc.) I have spoken to Mrs. ***** once when she stated poor customer service she has experienced in the past. I had stated to her I do not know about the previous situations but I will do what I can to address her concerns from now on and to let me know personally which did not happen. We have fulfilled her contract and her concerns and issues with the windows thus far. If she needs further assistance with problems with her windows, she needs to let us know so we may service those windows.

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Very poor customer service was received from the installers of the windows I ordered.
In June of 2013, a salesman came to measure for two windows I wanted to be replaced. He did a good job and was quite friendly. About a week later, another man came to measure and made no effort to explain why another measurement was required. Installation was scheduled for July 6, 2013 at about 3pm. No phone call was made on that date to inform me they would be running late. The installers arrived at approximately 6:30pm. There were three installers and the main man seemed irritated, or just very unfriendly and made no explaination as to their lateness, even when I made comment about it. The other installers did all they could to avoid any eye-to-eye contact with me. When the installation was completed, there was no verbal communication stating they were done, nor made any comment that I could look over their work and approve it.
The first man who took the measurements, went into detail as to the installers "lead containment" procedures, for which I was charged ******* The installers took absolutely no procedures to contain any possible lead paint.
In late July, I wrote a letter to the manager, ***** *******, concerning the poor customer service and the charge for the lead containment which was not done. A couple weeks after my letter, Mr ******* left a voicemail for me stating he would look into the matter and followup with me. About a week later, I received a sheet of coupons for a discount for new windows, new siding, etc. No further contact has been received from Mr ******* or any other Window World employee.

Desired Settlement
I feel strongly that the $***** charged for the EPA Lead Containment should be refunded since the service was not performed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, partner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@windowworldinc.com
Window World of Fort Wayne would like to first apologize for our delayed response. We take EPA Lead Containment very seriously and wanted to do our own internal investigation into this matter. Because of the severity of this complaint, we felt it needed to be addressed with all of the partners. Unfortunately, one of the partners had a tragic loss to an immediate family member and was not available for the speedy response that we would have liked. For that, we apologize and hope that it will be taken into consideration during review. As for the customer service that Mr. ****** feels was not demonstrated, we can only apologize. Personalities do not alway "click" in all types of people. We usually do not set a definite time for remeasure as they are normally worked around installation jobs by our installers and there is no way to determine the exact time of day that the jobs will be completed. We do call and give an approximate time and advise that the installer will call on the way. We also explain our reason for remeasures at that time, (which is accuracy) so that the customer is aware ahead of time. If Mr. ****** feels we were not clear, for that we apologize. Coupons are sent to valued customers at scheduled times and had no merit in resolving his complaint. We, as owners of Window World of Fort Wayne, feel that the much larger concern in this complaint is that Mr. ****** feels he was not protected from harmful lead based paint. We investigated this issue very thoroughly,have complete documentation,the EPA Lead Certified installer's statement that he did everything required to protect Mr. ****** with no proof to the contrary, and feel that we upheld our part of the contract.

OFFER:
We value him as a customer and would like to be considered for his next renovation project. For that, we are willing to discount his next renovation project for what Mr. ****** perceived and poor customer service.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The lead containment process was NOT performed as prescribed the EPA. Plastic sheets should be spread out under the windows being removed. The lead painted windows and trim should then be put on the plastic sheets, wrapped and taped closed so as to not distribute the lead paint into the air. The first salesman who came to my home to perform the measurements explained in detail this process. I have also heard about the process on many occasions on television home-remodel shows, and have read the process on the internet. The installers at my house showed no concern about the lead paint and carried the old windows to their truck as they would any other debris which had not contained lead paint.

***** ******* used the word "apolize" three times, but I feel she was just dismissing my complaints and comments. The installers lacked positive customer service and were most unfriendly. It was not just a personality thing.

With the severity of my complaints, why would Ms ******* feel I might use their offered discount for any future renovation project I might have. Why would I return to Window World? A discount and refund of this past project would show a real concern for thier business and serious lack of quality customer service I received.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Construction & Remodeling Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Doors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Home Improvements, Storm Windows & Doors, Patio Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.