BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1980

Culligan Water Conditioning

Find a Location

Phone: (260) 484-8668Fax: (260) 482-5633View Additional Phone Numbers3425 Centennial Drive, Fort WayneIN 46808-4515 Send email to Culligan Water Conditioning

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1980

BBB has determined that Culligan Water Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bad customer service. Not taking care of the customers or being up front and honest.
Our Culligan experience has been less that good. It started out by sending a gentleman here from Muncie, Indiana. Mind you we live in Celina, OH. He was a very nice guy, came to our house, talked to us and told us what we needed. He went ahead and started the process.
Well on Monday we received a phone call from him stating that he would no longer be handling our install / contract. It was being transferred to the Ft. Wayne, Indiana office. We were very upset at this as it was not our fault that Culligan screwed up.
So, Monday, we called the Ft Wayne office to be told that **** ****** was going to be handling our account and he would call us Monday evening. Not a phone call at all Mr. ******* Tuesday we called several times to talk to Mr. ****** only being told he is in a meeting and would get back to us. So, finally he did and we were told that we only need **** on the day of install which was Wednesday. He called us back at 445p on Tuesday. Well at almost 5p on Tuesday **** calls again to tell us that he had bad news. The System was not right for my area, and we need a bigger one, which they just upgraded at no cost to us. Also that we need more down on the account, now mind you we have called several times to talk to him about things, and he avoided us like the plaque. Plus they scheduled the install for Wednesday the next day. He, Mr. ******* said don't worry you have until the 31st of July to pay the remainder of the deposit.
So, Mr. ****** came to the house on a Friday afternoon to look at the system and have us sign the new contract and all of that stuff. Told us again how sorry he was and everything else. Also made the comment that we probably would not have to have a payment in until August since they weren't running the deposit thru until I got the remainder of it to them, I did not even have an account number as of yet.
Well, that was not true at all. I have a payment due by the 22nd of the month. They are now asking for my purchase agreement on my house that I bought, and want it by today Friday 7/15/16 and if they don't get it then the contract will be null and void. Yet I have the system installed and working just fine. I still have to pay each month the amount of *******
So, Wednesday 7/13 in the evening at 930p we get a phone call from Mr. ****** telling us that we need to get this paper in by Friday. So, we found some of the paperwork and sent them an email that night around 10p. That was never communicated to me that there was a deadline or that even needed the paper work till I received a card from Mr. Harris on July 9th. So, we work full time jobs. The house paperwork is boxed up and put away. I understand that they need proof, but they want information about how much I paid for the house, etc.
So, then on Thursday we have a message from a lady that Culligan sent to my house to get these papers that they need, and if we don't have them sent in by Friday there is nothing to be done. She was very rude and not nice at all. So, we call Mr. ****** on Thursday and told him about this, he says he don't know anything about it. So, he told us that he would call on Friday to let us know what is going on. Well, he did call, they have everything.

I am sorry but they have poor customer service. They are truly an unorganized company with employees who truly don't care about what is going on. Mr. ****** is not good at communicating at all.

I truly feel that for all of the run around and everything that I should be compensated in some form. I have been in customer service for many years and have never treated a customer like I have been treated.

Thank you

****** ****** and ***** *****

Desired Settlement
To make it right with us.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Culligan would like to formally apologize for the overall treatment you have had to endure throughout this entire situation. We would like to commend Mr. ****** in sticking with us through this tough ordeal. The Culligan process as a whole hit a few bumps in the road and caused for a very unsatisfactory customer experience. We have addressed our search engines to try and better sort customers in a specific area to go to the correct Culligan from the start. We have also, been in touch with our finance company to improve the approval process for applications. Again, Culligan takes full responsibility for the situation at hand and have and will continue to work to give you the quality customer experience you deserve. As noted, Culligan has already upgraded the system free of charge to help band aid the issues from the beginning of the process. Culligan would like to acknowledge that the back half of the process created other problems as well. We feel you have earned and deserve compensation and would love to discuss what fair compensation would look like to you. Our contact information is XXX-XXX-XXXX. When you call ask to speak to ***** ***** the General Manager. We hope to continue to earn back your trust and loyalty and look forward to the years of service waiting in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Not serviced since Nov. 2014, out of salt for I do not know how long.
I am paying for service through auto withdrawwl
but am not getting any. Account # XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A refund for the 2 or 3 months we have been out of salt. No call or anything and I notice the toilets are all rusted up.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Culligan did not provide delivery of necessary tanks for soft water. The tanks were not always in working order failing at least two months.
Culligan gave us a tank system for soft water in April, 2013. They were to call and let ***** know when the delivery would be made and replacement of the new tank to maintain the soft water. The water continued to have rust in it. We let Culligan know. They stated we had to be using more water than they were told. Culligan then tested the water and found the tank was not working. We had another month where a defective non-working tank was given to us meaning we had rust and no soft water again.
Culligan missed an arranged delivery of a tank. Culligan then called my husband and stated it was out of their way to deliver for at least a week or two meaning we would not have soft water of any form again. I objected since we had just paid the bill. They did come to deliver when pressed.
***** wears hearing aids and is disabled. It was stated in the beginning when talking to the salesman for them to call ***** and confirm they were coming to make the delivery because we have two dogs, ***** has trouble hearing the door and he frequently must lay down due to his disability. We had been forgotten completely for one delivery. They did not call for at least two deliveries and we did not get the tank replaced since ***** was not available and not aware what time they would arrive. Culligan does NOT deserve and A+ rating with you. They have terrible customer service. We had to wait two weeks for them to come remove their equipment enabling us to hire someone else for soft water. ***** had make it clear to remove ALL of their equipment. ***** went to see if they had taken everything and found they had left the tubing. ***** caught them before they left. The reason they were leaving it? Culligan told ***** they were leaving it in case we sold the house and the next owner would want to have them for soft water. ***** told them to remove the remainder of the equipment as had been asked originally. Our house is NOT for sale. We are not planning on selling our house. Culligan knew we needed their equipment removed and why. We had asked through ********* for and *** refund. Culligan states we owe nothing and they removed their equipment so we are even. It is not true. However, I do not to argue over the money since they lied and blamed everything on us. They have some of the worst customer service I have encountered telling a customer they were "out of their way" for a delivery when it was their mistake missing the delivery. I want this complaint on record.

Desired Settlement
I want a complaint on record for other customers to know the way this company handles their business. I have no hope of receiving any of our wasted money returned. We paid $**+ per month for not getting the service we were told we would receive. We are married with no children. We only used the amount of water we told them. They blamed their defective equipment on us as the customer to excuse them from not taking care of the issues and solving them. We never had a month we did not have rust or issues with delivery or the equipment was defective.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
The ******'s entered into a rental agreement on 4/16/2013. Culligan installed a portable exchange water softener. According to the rental agreement Culligan was to exchange the tank every 4 weeks on a designated route that services all customers in the ******'s neighborhood. This first delivery was on 5/6/13 and each delivery would be exactly 4 weeks from that date with the exception of adjustments for holidays. Each monthly statement the ******'s received had the next few scheduled deliveries printed on it. An automated courtesy reminder phone call was also made the day prior to each delivery. Apparently our route schedule and notification system was not adequate for the ******'s. To be able to efficiently manage our routes and be able to serve all of our customers deliveries must occur on the designated route. We understand they are times when a customer needs a delivery made outside of the normal route schedule and we try to accommodate such requests if at all possible. In the ******'s case, we did try to make special deliveries but we could never seem to meet their demands. The ******'s also had a complaint of the tanks not lasting the full four weeks as we calculated they should. When we were notified of this we exchanged the tank at no charge. Upon their second complaint of the tank not lasting we tried to schedule an appointment for our water specialist to re-evaluate their water usage. Our experience tells us that if the tanks are not lasting the full four weeks that we may have underestimated the customers water usage. The ******'s would not return our water specialist's calls and when I suggested this to Mr. ****** he refused to consider this possibility.
Concerning the ******* half of this was already credited back before they issued a complaint and the remainder of balance owed on account was credited off on 10/14/13. So the ******'s request for the ****** refund has been met. The equipment was removed on 10/17/13.

I don't know what else can be done to resolve this issue. It is our goal to provide the best customer service possible but in this case we have fallen short of the ******'s expectations. We have removed our equipment and refunded the ****** requested. Our history of providing quality service to thousands of Ft. Wayne area customers for years should show that this complaint is not indicative of how we do business.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not pay ****** per month for service. If you want to lower it to ****** from ****** since we paid ************ we can call it settled.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** GM

Monthly rent was ****** including tax. there would also be a fuel charge which varied from ***** to ****** If I understand correctly the consumer would like a check for ******* If that is correct we will get this processed this week.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water - Bottled & Bulk, Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk, Contractor - Water Conditioning, Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies, Water Coolers - Bottle less, Water Coolers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/26/1980Business started: 01/01/1963
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Smith (General Manager)Ms. Jennifer A. Campbell (Office Manager)Mr. Chuck Driessen (President)Ms. Kelly Mynett (Office Manager)
Business Category

Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water - Bottled & Bulk, Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk, Contractor - Water Conditioning, Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies, Water Coolers - Bottle less, Water Coolers

Products & Services

his business offers residential and commercial sales and service of water softeners, filters, drinking water systems, deionization, cooler, bottle water and salt delivery service and UV

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Culligan Water Conditioning

3425 Centennial Drive

Fort Wayne, IN 46808-4515

To | From


2 Locations

  • 3425 Centennial Drive 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46808-4515(260) 484-8668
    (260) 355-0336
    Fax: (260) 482-5633

  • 215 E Main St 

    Van Wert, OH 45891-1713(260) 356-3824

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Culligan Water Conditioning is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (260) 355-0336

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (260) 355-0348

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.