BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2010

Ranch Fiberglass

Phone: (574) 294-7550Fax: (574) 522-189428564 Holiday Pl, ElkhartIN 46517-1155 Send email to Ranch Fiberglass

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2010

BBB has determined that Ranch Fiberglass meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ranch Fiberglass' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ranch Fiberglass

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ranch Premier Series Truck cap
The Ultimate Cab High features a Full Frameless Rear Door and Frameless Side Glass, Plus Interior Lining Standard
I had filed a complaint through there website as well as a phone call to customer service on 10/30/2013 Dear ****,

Thank you for your enquiry. One of our team members will contact you shortly. Below is the details of your enquiry!

Summary of web form submission:
Your Name
**** ******
Email Address
**********@GMAIL.COM
Case Number
XXXXXXX
Company
SAME
Work Address
** *** **
****** ******* ***** ******** XXXXX
United States
Work Phone Number
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Work Fax Number
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Preferred Contact Method
Email
How can we help?
CAP SERIAL # XXXXXXXX I HAD ORDERED A CAP FROM ******* ***** **** IN MOUNT JOY PA ON 7/30/2013 . HAD CAP INSTALLED ON 9/27/2013 THE OWNER NOTED I HAD A BAD WINDOW WHICH HE CALLED ABOUT, WELL WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE LEFT WINDOW CAME OFF THE TRACKS AT THE TIME I HAD SEEN THIS IT WAS AFTER 5 PM WHILE I WAS DRIVING BACK TO NORTH CAROLINA. SO TO DAY I TOOK A RIDE TO A LOCAL CAP DEALER TO HAVE HIM LOOK AND HE HAD SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN SUCH POOR INSTALLATION OF ALL THE WINDOWS. LOOKING AT WHAT HE HAD SEEN THE METAL AROUND THE REAR DOOR WAS CRUSHED AND SILICONE WAS USED TO SEAL I GUESS THAT WAS USED TO HOLD TOGETHER, LOOKING AT WINDOWS WERE NOT DONE CORRECT AT ALL. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS CORRECT WAS COLOR AND THE INSTALL AT ISHLERS. I PAID GOOD MONEY $ ******* NOW WHAT CAN WE DO TO RECTIFY THIS OR DO I GO THROUGH STATE FOR A REFUND AND GO TO A DIFFERENT CAP COMPANY. I AM A 7 HOUR DRIVE TO THE DEALER IN PA, I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING A GOOD QUALITY CAP.


Problem ,
The side windows did not close correctly and now are off the tracks, the back door where it is screwed together they used silcone to hold door together. It is not right at all who ever put the glass on the cap nothing lines up. I was going to buy a are cap from another vendor but this vendor suggested Ranch Cap my rear windows are now taped shut because of poor installation from the factory.

Desired Settlement
Refund of replacement i live just south of RALEIGH ,NORTH CAROLINA... I am 7 hours drive to the dealer in PA.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@ranchfiberglass.com
Customer has been contacted via Ranch Fiberglass Customer Service. A Ranch Authorized Dealer has been located in a closer proximity than anticipated. Cap will be picked up by Ranch and brought back to be evaluated. If cap issues are deemed under warranty, the product will be repaired and shipped at no charge to the customer

OFFER:
No offer will be presented until evaluated by Ranch and deemed under warranty.

02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fiberglass tonneau cover,paint is bubbling
Purchased Ranch fiberglass tonneau cover 6/12.paint is bubbling on top and around sides.i contacted co.i was told to go to a body shop 45mins away body shop top pics and submitted to Ranch and rep ask me if I wash my truck at a car wash,I said yes and she said it not not be repaired under warrenty,I asked to speak to supervision ,I spoke with another rep Mr. TJ, he told me to take more pics and he will send pics to paint shop,TJ was not an easy person to contact,I left several messages and emails.TJ finally responds and said top was not stored property when off of truck and warrenty is not valid.I told him the tonneau cover has never been off of my truck since purchased 6/12 and my truck is always stored in my driveway when not in use and subjected to adverse weather conditions such as heat ,cold,snow and humidity for which I have no control over,still he says they will not repair to my disappointment ,so I am trying to resolve dispute through BBB

Desired Settlement
Would like to have tonneau cover repaired or replaced

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x109
Contact Email: ******@ranchfiberglass.com
Dear Mr. **** *****,

I am responding to your complaint above (BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX).

I have discussed this matter with our Regional Sales Manager that you have corresponded with along with our VP of Operations and the President of Ranch.

After talking with you, reviewing the photos, and researching the possible causes, we have concluded that the damage to your Ranch lid was due to improper storage of the lid when removed from the truck. All our experts came to the same conclusion as this type of water damage can only happen when the lid is not stored according to our removal & storage guidelines. (See Removal & Storage Guide below along with an outside professionals statement.)

All of this information was already discussed and shared with you.


Tonneau Cover Removal and Storage Guide

Removal of your tonneau cover is rather simple. Please follow the few directions to avoid damage to your cover or your truck bed. This removal will require at least 2 physically capable individuals to properly execute. These directions are made with the assumption that the cover was properly installed the way Ranch Fiberglas specifies in the Tonneau Cover Installation Guide.
1) Open the cover and climb into the bed.
2) There should be either 4-6 clamps holding the cover in place. Loosen the bolts (typically 9/16ths) on the clamps themselves. It is best to fully remove the bolts to avoid any unnecessary damage to the cover or the truck. Remove the clamps completely and store them in a safe place away from excessive water or outdoor elements.
3) Once the clamps have been removed, verify that the cover didn't shift closer to the bed on any side and that the cover can still be closed without rubbing or damaging the paint on the cover or the truck.
4) Once you have verified that the cover will not cause any damage by closing it, proceed to close the lid. Be certain that the lid latches completely.
5) Set up saw horses or a secure base that is more narrow and shorter than the cover to set the cover on while it isn't in use. Placing the cover on the ground can cause damage to the edges. If the cover is placed directly on the ground or left outside for an extended period of time, the hardware on the underside of the cover may be vulnerable to excessive corrosion. This cover should be stored at least 2 feet off the ground and away from excessive moisture or outdoor elements.
6) With one person on each side of the truck, simultaneously lift the cover directly up carefully to avoid scratching the side of the bed. Be sure to lift the cover high enough to clear the top of the bed rails and tailgate.
7) Walk the cover toward the back of the truck and past the tailgate.
8) Store the cover on the secure base discussed in step 5. If you are planning on storing the cover for an excessive amount of time, it is necessary to lube the moving parts (including clamps bolts and bolt holes) every couple of weeks to prevent seizing or corrosion.


Outside Expert View (Axalta Coatings Rep):

From: ***** T ******* <***************@axaltacs.com>
Date: Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 12:01 PM
Subject: Re: Defects in Tonneau
To: ** ******* <***@ranchfiberglass.com>

TJ,

Looking at the pictures, it is apparent with the evidence of mold/mildew that the underside of this unit has been exposed to significant moisture. This can cause the moisture to be absorbed into the fiberglass. Subsequent exposure of the exterior surfaces to heat and sunlight will cause blistering of the painted surface when the moisture is trying to escape.

Contact me if you have further questions.

***


Ranch takes the stand that this matter is now closed.

Sincerely,

**** *****
National Sales & Marketing Manager



OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Tonneau cover has never been taken off of truck since purchased,any damage due to moisture or heat was caused by inclement weather, by which I can not be responsible, even the body shop owner I took it to as instructed by ranch, didn't have a clue why damage occurred!!!

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Sales Manager

Here is some additional information that supports our decision that this is not a warranty issue.

- Dupont paint reviewed and said it was water damage from prolonged exposure to moisture.
- Paint is uniformly bubbled around the edge making it clear that this lid was sitting in a way it was exposed to moisture for a long period of time.
- Mold inside the lid shows it was exposed to moisture for a long period of time.
- Customer bought this lid from our customer who sells thousands of lids each year as that is basically their entire business and doesn't have claim issues like what is being claimed here.
- We sold 10,941 units during the same year (2012) that customer bought his with no other claims like this one.

The bottom line is this is not a defective paint or problem during manufacturing issue.

OFFER:
Since this damage falls outside of our responsibility based on multiple experts in our industry for all the reasons previously mentioned, it is not a warranty issue and no further action is necessary from us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Truck Caps & Shells, Fiber Glass Products, Covers - Protective, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/20/2000Business started: 01/01/1986
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Stankovich (President)Customer Contact: Dustin Geyer (V.P. of Operations)Ms. Sherry Stankovich (Secretary/Treasurer)
Business Category

Truck Caps & Shells, Fiber Glass Products, Covers - Protective, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

This company offers manufacturing of fiberglass pickup covers.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ranch Fiberglass

28564 Holiday Pl

Elkhart, IN 46517-1155

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 28564 Holiday Pl 

    Elkhart, IN 46517-1155(574) 294-7550
    Fax: (574) 522-1894

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ranch Fiberglass is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Truck Caps & Shells

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.