BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Youngs TV & Appliances

(574) 935-5657View Additional Phone Numbers500 W Jefferson St, PlymouthIN 46563-1648 Send email to Youngs TV & Appliances

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Youngs TV & Appliances is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Youngs TV & Appliances include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Youngs TV & Appliances

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

***** has been to my house 4 times and has failed to finish out the paperwork/computer work so Electrolux can replace my washer.
***** has failed to return my phone calls when calling to ask where he is on my Electrolux washer. I decided to go to ***** where I had purchased the washer from and they called Electrolux to see what was going on. ***** had only reported to them he was at my house one time when he was at my house at least four times.****** can not do anything for me as the washer is out of warranty but when ***** came the first time he informed me that my washer was still in warranty. I placed a call with ***** at Youngs yesterday and informed him of what was going on and to have ***** call me with some information. ***** has yet to call me and let me know what is going on. Poor customer service and failure to repair the washer or at least report it to Electrolux so they can get me a replacement. I have been dealing with this for at least 3 months and it's been nothing but a go around.

Desired Settlement
I would like ***** to return my call first and foremost. Also I would like for him to contact Electrolux and report he was at my house on four occasions and the first time was still under warranty. I would like for him to do this so Electrolux will replace my washer as soon as possible. I do at least 2 loads of laundry a day and this ongoing issue is ridiculous as it could have been taken care of by now.

Business Response
Tried to help her, took parts off new appliance on floor (showroom). Couldn't fix it. Informed her out of warranty didn't charge her. Regret it didn't work out.

03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I own a Whirlpool refrigerator that needed serviced. It was under warranty so I contacted Whirlpool. They created a service ticket and contacted Young's TV and Appliance to do the work. After waiting a couple weeks, I called them. I was informed the service worker was on vacation and to schedule an appointment for when he returned. After waiting a few weeks I contacted them again and was informed the gentleman was now out do to a surgery. Six weeks later, Jan. 5, he showed up and determined it needed a new sensor. He reported it would take approximately a week. After 3 weeks passed, I contacted the store again and left my information with another employee. Still no phone call. On Jan. 28th, I tried calling again and now their business phone number is disconnected.

Desired Settlement
Whirlpool is resolving the issue with my refrigerator. I am submitting this complaint to inform anyone who may do business with the store in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Equipment - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Home Theater

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/13/2009Business started: 12/31/1988
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James Young (President)
Business Category

Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Equipment - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Home Theater

Products & Services

This business offers T.V and appliances repair and also installs new home theater rooms/multi room sound and T.V mounting on walls.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Youngs TV & Appliances

500 W Jefferson St

Plymouth, IN 46563-1648

To | From


1 Locations

  • 500 W Jefferson St 

    Plymouth, IN 46563-1648(574) 935-5657
    (574) 780-0542

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Youngs TV & Appliances is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (574) 780-0542

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Television & Radio - Service & Repair


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.