BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

Nature's Comfort, LLC

Phone: (877) 251-7740Fax: (866) 222-87023790 North SR 5, ShipshewanaIN 46565

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

BBB has determined that Nature's Comfort, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nature's Comfort, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nature's Comfort, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
UNSAFE PUODUCT
PROBLEM DATE OCTOBER 1 2013, PURCHASE DATE MAY 24 2013, INSTULATION DATE JULY 2013, MODEL NUMBER H325G 0513-1961. COST ****** DOLLARS. STOVE SHOOTS FLAMES OUT TOP 2 TO 3 FEET IN AIR. HIGH TEMP SILCONE CALK MELTED OFF STOVE 4 TIMES. HAVE BE INTOUCH WITH COMPANY OWNER **** ****** AS WELL AS HIS TOP SALESMAN IN OHIO AND THE DEALER I PURCHASED STOVE FROM IN PA. EVERYTHING THEY TOLD ME TO DO TO REDUCE FLAMES FROM BURNING DOWN MY BARN DID NOT WORK, ALL THE DRAFT AIR IS OFF STOVE AND STILL GET FLAMES OUT STOVE. "UNSAFE". EVERYTIME I CALLED DAVE OR EMAIL HIM HE GETS RIGHT BACK TO ME. UNTIL I SAID I DO NOT WANT THE STOVE ANY MORE COULD YOU HELP ME IN ANY WAY TO RECOVER SOME OF MY MONEY. AS MY WIFE HAS BRAIN DAMAGE AND SHE IS SCARED OF THE FLAMES BURNING DOWN THE BARN AND KILLING THE HORSES. THATS WHEN I WAS TOLD THERE IS NOTHING I CAN DO FOR YOU IT IS BETWEEN YOU AND THE DEALER. THAT WAS THE END OF OUR TALK. NO HELP ANYMORE UNPROFESSIONAL. THE PRODUCT IS UNSAFE AND I WOULD LIKE TO RECOVER SOME OF MY INVESTMENT BACK I DO NOT WANT TO KEEP MODIFING A STOVE THAT WAS BULIT BAD. I AM NOT LOOKING FOR A COMPLETE REFUND AT LEAST 60% AS I WILL EAT 40% AS A BUYER BEWARE I WOULD LIKE TO GET THE STOVE OFF THE FARM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I CALLED THE DEALER THAT SOLD ME THE STOVE HE WAS TO COME FRIDAY AND DO MORE CHANGES. WHEN I TOLD HIM I NO LONGER WILL RUN THE STOVE HE IS NOT COMMING NOW. THANK YOU ***** ***** YOU MAY CALL 717 432 9101 ANYTIME

Desired Settlement
I WOLLD LIKE TO GET AT LEAST 60% OF THE ****** I PAID FOR THE STOVE IF NOT MORE AS IT IS ONLY 4 MONTHS OLD, AND OFF MY FARM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AS I HAVE NO ROOM TO STORE IT.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@naturescomfortllc.com
**** spoke with the customer on 11/27/13 to offer another solution of the customer buying Class A double wall insulated chimney pipe at Nature's Comfort's cost to reduce creosote buildup which is what is burning off and producing the flame at the top of the chimney. The airflow on the unit can also be adjusted down and with a rain cap with spark arrestor screen, should take care of the issue for the customer.

The customer stated that due to his wife's issues with brain damage he wasn't willing to try this even though he is impressed with the performance of the stove and its fast recovery. Sadly neither Nature's Comfort nor his dealer can buy the unit back from him because there is nothing wrong with the boiler. The customer wants to sell it for ****** and we suggest that the customer list the unit for sale on *********** ***** local ads and/or other forms of advertisement and to get the best chance of selling, note that he likes the stove and there is nothing wrong with it or its performance but needs to sell due to his wife's mental health issues from her unfortunate brain damage.

With a full retail price on the boiler of ****** he shouldn't have any trouble in obtaining this.

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THE STOVE IS ON ********** FOR **** DOLLARS WITH NO RESPONCE. THE STOVE IS NOT A BRAND NAME STOVE AND WILL NOT SELL WELL. THAT IS WHY I AM ASKING NATURE COMFORT TO HELP ME UNLOAD IT WITH THE HELP OF THEIR DEALER NETWORK. QUOTE FROM YOUR LETTER "IF THE BOTTOM DAMPER WERE SHUT ALL THE WAY, THIS WOULDN'T EVEN BE NO ISSUE AS WE JUST DEALT WITH THIS WITH ANOTHER CUSTOMER AND THERE WAS NO PROBLEM". IF ANOTHER PERSON HAD PROBLEMS THAN I THINK THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE PRODUCT. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH FLAMES OUT THE TOP. MY DAMPER IS CLOSED ALL THE WAY AND I STILL GET FLAMES OUT THE TOP. BY YOU ADMITTING THAT THERE SHOULD BE NO PROBLEM WITH THE DAMPER CLOSED, I SEE A DEFECTIVE STOVE? CAN YOU TELL ME WHY THE FAN BURN UP ALREADY? WHY DOES THE HIGH TEMPATURE SILCONE MELTS OFF AROUND THE DOOR EVERY WEEK? THE STOVE IS A COPY OF FREE HEAT AND THEY WENT OUT OF BUSINESS BECAUSE OF PROBLEMS. YOU FIRST STATED THAT CREOSOTE WAS THE PROBLEM. NOW YOU ARE STATING THAT AIR IS THE PROBLEM BECAUSE OF THE DAMPER BEING OPEN. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CREOSOTE PROBLEM THAT YOU STATED I HAD DID IT FIXS ITS SELF. A PIECE OF PIPE WILL HIDE THE PROBLEM NOT FIX IT. I CAN NOT FIND A UL LISTING OF APPROVAL ON THE STOVE, IS IT? AFTER THE FIRST OF THE YEAR I AM GOING TO GO TO OSHA AT MY WORK AND ASK THEM TO COME OUT AND WATCH THE STOVE AND I AM GOING TO TRY AND GET THEM TO PUT SOMETHING ON PAPER IF I CAN.
, I WILL SEND IT TO THE BBB FOR YOU. I STATED BEFORE AND I WILL SAY AGAIN ALL I WANT IS HELP GETTING RID OF THE STOVE. I WILL NOT USE IT! UNTIL I GET RID OF THE STOVE AND RECOVER SOME OF MY MONEY I WILL NOT EXCEPT YOUR PROPOSED RESOLUTION. SO HELP ME GET RID OF THE STOVE SO WE CAN RESOLVE THIS WITH A PARTIAL HAPPY ENDING. I SEE NATURE COMFORT HAS A DISPLAY AT THE YORK EXPO 7 8 9 OF JANUARY 2014 HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE I WILL BE THERE ALL THREE DAYS. I WILL DO MY BEST TO TRY AND HELP NATURE COMFORT SELL STOVES. THANK YOU **** *****
PS. IF YOU PUT PIPE ON AND STILL HAVE FLAMES OUT THE TOP HOW EFFICIENT IS THE STOVE WITH ALL THE HEAT GOING INTO THE AIR?? **** OR ***** HAVE A GOOD CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR HOPE TO SEE YOU AT THE YORK EXPO WITH A TRUCK AND WE CAN LOAD THE STOVE ON IT AND SETTLE UP. YOU CAN DROP IT OFF AT ****** IN OHIO HE CAN SELL IT AND MAKE MONEY ALL I WANT IS ***** THANKS







Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** - Owner

The customer's original complaint is about fire coming out of the chimney which we are offering 8 feet of free single wall pipe and a spark arrestor/rain cap that will resolve the issue.

If the bottom damper were shut all the way, this wouldn't even be an issue as we just just dealt with this with another customer and there was no problem.

The customer's most recent argument is not relevant as the boiler has not failed in any way. This has nothing to do with warranty or failure of the stove. This isn't an issue that requires any repair or replacement of any parts. It is an issue of customer cold feet. For any appliance, once it is used it cannot be returned, even for a portion of the cost unless there are failures with operation and use which there are none in this case.

The customer can do better and get more money for the unit on his own with ********** than demanding ****** and Nature's Comfort lose a sale on a new boiler to sell his used unit that he simply has cold feet on because he and his wife refuse to accept the fact that any installation and operation issue can be overcome if they would work with us.

OFFER:
To provide 8 feet of single wall chimney extension pipe and a spark arrestor/rain cap and also a tube of high temperature caulk.

And also a Merry Christmas!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Stoves - Wood, Coal, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products - Retail, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Manufacturing & Distribution, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Pumps - Supplies & Parts, Heating Equipment, Boilers - Supplies & Parts, Boilers - New & Used

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/22/2012Business started: 01/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr James Van Harn II (Operations Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Dave Nyhof (Owner / President)
Business Category

Stoves - Wood, Coal, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products - Retail, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Manufacturing & Distribution, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Pumps - Supplies & Parts, Heating Equipment, Boilers - Supplies & Parts, Boilers - New & Used

Products & Services

This business offers wood & coal stoves, solar energy equipment systems manufactured & distributor, boiler, boiler supplies & parts, solar water heaters, circulation pumps, pumps supplies & parts, heating systems and heating equipment.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nature's Comfort, LLC

3790 North SR 5

Shipshewana, IN 46565

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3790 North SR 5 

    Shipshewana, IN 46565(877) 251-7740
    Fax: (866) 222-8702

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nature's Comfort, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Stoves - Wood, Coal

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.