BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/1997

Snow & Ice Pros, Inc.

Phone: (219) 554-1000Fax: (219) 554-10012311 165th St, HammondIN 46320-2906 Send email to Snow & Ice Pros, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/1997

BBB has determined that Snow & Ice Pros, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Snow & Ice Pros, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Snow & Ice Pros, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company contracted to completed snow removal after 2" of snow has not lived up to contract expectations.
In the winter of 2015, ****** *** ******* Townhouse corporation contracted Snow & Ice Pros to plow parking lots after 1 1/2" of snow. The previous Board of Directors had to call Snow & Ice to come out for every snow storm, at times were charged a call out fee. Before the winter of 2016, contact was made with the owner of Snow & Ice and assurances were made that the same issues would not be had. ****** *** ******* contracted Snow & Ice pros to plow after 2" of snow. In the first snow of the winter of 2016, the plow never showed up after 3" of snow. After contact was made it was discovered that the plow driver had quit. The company eventually sent someone the following day after our maintenance person had plowed most of the lots. The 2016 snow season has seen very little snow, but when we have been about 2" of snow, the plows from Snow & Ice come to our lot about 6-7 hours after we receive 2" of snow, and after several phone calls to the company requesting them to come out. In the last snow storm we received 13" of snow. The first plow showed up 6 hours after snowfall (after around 6 inches of snow). The driver told our maintenance man that he would return multiple times throughout the night. The plow did not return until 12 hours later and another 8" of snow had fallen. There is a priority listed on the contract, and we are on the lowest priority, however we would expect that if a contract were to be signed for plowing after 2" of snow, we would see the company several more times in a 13" snowfall. I made e-mail contact with the company and was told that we were a low priority on the list and we could pay more money if we wanted to have more service. However after paying ****** and having plows come out 3-4 times we find the service to be unacceptable. It seems as if the company will plow our lots if they have time, not as we were under the belief of service after 2" of snowfall.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a resolution of a partial refund due to lack of services. Considering the plows have come to our property around 3-4 times and should have been out 10 or more we find that the service is lacking. I understand some plowing has been completed, but there has been a lack of service for what we believed we were paying for. We feel like the company has taken advantage of us and comes to plow after other areas have been completed several times.

Business Response
Apparently we've had some serious misunderstandings here. When we initiated discussions with the previous board President Sue Smoot in 2014, we explained how our priority service level works. We have four levels of service starting with the highest, a "no-snow" level that wants constant service, and ending with a the lowest level of service that wants to wait until at least 2" or more falls. We also offer a higher priority to clients that request de-icing or anti-icing services.

The first winter, ****** *** signed up for our second lowest level of service, a 1 1/2" or more accumulation level with no salting. This winter, they downgraded to our lowest level of service, a 2" or more level, with no salting. By doing so, ****** *** saved over ****** on the Fixed Budget Plan, and knew they were going to get less service. No one ever promised that during a 13" "State of Emergency" blizzard, they would be plowed 6 or 7 times. It is unrealistic to expect that.

During major storms we work around the clock trying to keep all of our clients happy. Sometimes we have to plow our way to our clients locations because the public roads are closed. Our drivers are meticulously routed based on several factors including agreed deadlines/opening times, whether the snow falls on a weekend, proximity to other clients, and their chosen level of service. Nobody ever promised that paying less would get them more.

As far as the extra charges mentioned in the complaint, that was a unique agreement we had with ***, the previous board president. Apparently your maintenance person has a tractor that he uses to clear snow from parking spaces of cars that left after we have completed our services. There was an agreed extra charge for coming back that we billed several times, and the previous board paid. This winter, no one ever called for that service, and it was never invoiced.

I understand cutting back on expenses. Times are tough, and everyone is trying to get by on less. I get it. This is not the first time a client has regretted choosing the Fixed Budget Plan instead of the Pay As You Go Plan because the weather did not work in their favor. Everyone has that choice at the beginning of the season, and there are no refunds if Mother Nature makes the other selection more favorable.

That being said, we did service ****** *** on March 3 when Crown Point recorded only .5" of snow to try to appease them. I heard from our driver that someone at the complex expressed their appreciation.

We will continue to service ****** *** until our contract expires on April 15, 2016 under the same terms and conditions that we have agreed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While there seems to be a misunderstanding, it also seems as there is a breach of contract involved as well. As per the company's response "ending with a the lowest level of service that wants to wait until at least 2" or more falls", the company failed to comply with its own rules and contract. ****** *** ******* was under the understanding that after 2" of snow fell, we would be put in a list to be plowed. Understandably it would not be immediately, but one would assume that it would be a reasonable amount of time. Taking out the "major snow event", ****** *** village consistently had to call for service 6-7 hours after the snow event of 2" or more during the XXXX-XXXX snow season. To us, this is absolutely unacceptable and a breach of contract.

I spoke to the owner of the company after the 2014-2015 snow season and discussed the issues which were explained to me by the previous board president, *** ****** The owner told me that they fired the previous driver and we would not have the issues which were plaguing the previous snow season. Unfortunately, I took the owner's word and we were left with subpar service.

We did cut back on expenses last year, however the regret is that we chose a service which we did not receive what we had signed up to get. The problem is we assumed that the parking lots would be plowed within a reasonable amount of time after 2" of snow. We do not believe 6-7 hours after 2" of snow is a reasonable amount of time. It is unacceptable for a company to blame the consumer for 'regret' after choosing a service based on what the contract stated. Additionally, the plowing after the .5" of snow fall to "appease us" is a slap in the face to a paying consumer. It seems like as a consumer we are inconveniencing the company for doing what they were being paid to do. The praise given to the driver by our maintenance man was because we rarely saw the plow driver this year and thanked them for actually coming out.

****** *** ******* still would like a partial refund due to breach of contract and services.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Ice Melting Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2002Business started: 01/01/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1996, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Anderson (President)
Business Category

Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Ice Melting Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This business offers snow and ice management for commercial businesses, churches and apartment complexes.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Snow & Ice Pros, Inc.

2311 165th St

Hammond, IN 46320-2906

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2311 165th St 

    Hammond, IN 46320-2906(219) 554-1000
    Fax: (219) 554-1001

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Snow & Ice Pros, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Snow Removal Service - Commercial

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.