BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2004

Arnett Construction

Phone: (219) 369-1004Fax: (219) 326-7047View Additional Phone Numbers761 S 300 E, La PorteIN 46350-9097

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2004

BBB has determined that Arnett Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arnett Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Other1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arnett Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2013 | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roof was not done -- took months of emailing and phone calling to figure out why.
What happened - I signed up with Arnett in May.

- Said I would get a **** referral if I referred anyone to Arnett which I did and our neighbor signed up as well.

- Said I would get a **** advertising fee if I left an Arnett sign in my front yard which I have since signing up.

- In a nutshell agents of theirs said the roof was damage and insurance adjuster agreed.

- The adjuster did the paperwork stating how much everything was going to be to fix including, but not limited to the roof which the total amount came out to be: *********

- Arnett's agents looked at the adjuster's paperwork and it looked good.

- Insurance sent out a check to my wife, our mortgage company, and me.

- In the mean-time our mortgage company sent out paperwork to be completed by the roofer and asked for certain information from the roofer and the check.

- The roofer took weeks (after many emails) to the get the information to the mortgage company and agreed to the price of the roof at the amount of *********

- Even after the paperwork there was still stuff missing that mortgage company needed from the roofer. This is after another week or so of more emails to the roofer.

- Finally all the paperwork is and the bank cuts a check to do the roof. I emailed the roofing company stating everything is and when is my roof going to be done.

- Again it took over a month of emails and phone calls to finally get an answer from ******* ****** that they could not do the job for that amount and that he was sorry. I asked why it took so long to tell me that all he said he was sorry.

- My wife called to ask why they agreed to ******** for the roof that was signed by the owner, ******* ******, but got ***** ****** instead who said she did not know the work order and she would have ******* call my wife back. So far no call backs and if there is anything indication from previous communications there will not be.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ** ******, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******************@comcast.net
1. Mr. ****** signed a contingency agreement
2. only referral fee paid if the referral has us do the work and that did not happen
3. We did not have a signed agreement/verbal for this advertising
4. this is true
5. Not true
6. true
7. this is common
8. we had a sales person leave our company, we did not & still don't agree to this price
9. this is common with mortgage company's
10.again salse person they were working with is no longer with our company and also we never agreed to a price and still do not
11.
12.On this date Mr. ******'s wife was admitted to the hospital for emergency surgery
**We never agreed on a price most of the time insurance company allows enough to complete the project, in this case they did not. Mr. ****** was very clear he only have the insurance proceeds to work with, so basically this is cut & dry we do not agree to work for the insurance proceeds allowed by Mr. Millers insurance company and I am sure they can find another company. We were working with both the homeowner and insurance company but they were not able to come up with enough money for us to complete this project. We did have a disconnect due to having there original sales person leave our company. We apologized to Mr. ****** and gave him plenty of time to look elsewhere. Mr. ****** was only obligated if both "******" and Mr. ******* insurance company came to an agreement and that never happened. The ******'s are free to proceed with there project by whomever the choose.


OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Received Intention to hold lien
d/O/L April 10, 2013 hired Arnett Const for Hail damage to roof,gutters and siding. Paid for roof on 6/14/2013. Gutters were put in July, 2013. On July 29, 2013 received from Arnett Const Notice of mechanic's Lien stating the work on the roof and siding were done they want to be paid. They were paid for the roof on 6/14/2013. The siding has not been finished so the siding job is not done.

Initial Business Response
***** *************

In response to ******* ****** complaint. The ******'s project is 85% complete, with the remaining work/material on order with our supplier. On numerous occasions Mr. & Mrs. ****** have called our office and verbally abused our staff. The remainder of the work left is out of our control and the lien was placed on the home along with many others due to work performed and monies owed. The funds owed for work performed on the ******** at this point is ******** at this point we are willing to remove the lien if they agree to pay what is owed. Also, at this point with the verbal abuse by both Mr. & Mrs. ******, I do not believe it's safe to send anyone from our company on there property., we will gladly remove them from the remainder of the contract, in which we never gave a fixed price it was "Insurance Proceeds Only" .

******* ** ******, CEO
Arnett Construction


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response ****** Const. as far as there response that my husband and I verbally abused his staff. When re received the Liew in the mail. I called ****** a few times no one returned my calls it was out of frustration and stress not abuse. The *** is part thats due with the siding. I have no problem with paying the ****** for the gutters. But I have no siding to finish the job. ****** has advised us that they cannot finish the job.****** 's comment it's not safe to send his crue to our home is uncalled for. I have no problem with them coming to my home to finish what they started and have not completed. I disagree with his comment they never gave us a fixed price

Final Business Response
***** *************

In response to Mrs. ******'s last statement. It looks like we still are not on the same page. The contract says full insurance proceeds will become final contract price. As for the threats we still stand by the feeling of being fearful that Mr. ****** threatened to (his words) "come up to your office and take care of business" . I still do not feel it would be safe sending an employee to there home. And to put an end to all of this our supplier "can not" get the siding needed to do the siding project, in which the letter was forwarded to the BBB and the ******'s. You are absolutely free to hire someone else to do the siding, we are only requesting the payment for the gutter work that has been completed. Also, if you refer to the contract section "B" states in the last sentence "The final price agreed upon between the insurance company and ****** shall become the final contract price.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/30/2011Problems with Product / Service
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Signed a contract with ****** on April 18th to begin working to come to an agreement with my insurance company to repair my roof. No work done.
I signed a contract with ******* ****** on April 18, 2014 to fix damage to my roof. Once the contract was signed, ******* nor his employee's ever returned to my property. When contacted to schedule appointments calls were not returned in a timely manner causing them to miss the appointment with the insurance company. The insurance company found that the roof needed to be repaired and not replaced. Once this information was given to *******, no further attempts were made to schedule to fix the roof. We called the ****** main office and were told an employee would be out that night but never showed up. We called ******* directly and he apologized for the no show but made no attempt to get another worker out to our home. In the mean time several storms have resulted in additional damage to our home via water damage due to the original roof damage that was never repaired.

Initial Business Response
*****,

Attached you will find our Home Improvement Contract which in #2 part B we did not come to an agreement with the insurance company on the scope of work . The homeowner removed us from the process with the insurance company, they had there adjusters appointments without notifying us. The homeowner was trying to get the repairs done for the exact amount the insurance sent her which was less her deductible and we require all homeowners to pay there deductible and they were not on board with that and by no way, shape or form are we interested in committing insurance fraud. It states very clear in our contract that we must agree with the insurance company on the cost and the scope of work of the project, not agreeing was mainly due to as far as we can tell from our past experiences the homeowner trying to pocket funds. This claim is absurd and the homeowner should be ashamed of themselves. As a long term member that has been in good standing with the BBB we would expect fraudulent claims like this to be removed as soon as possible.



Sincerely,

******* ** ******, Owner
Arnett Construction


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
*****,

I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s claim line by line.

1.Attached you will find our Home Improvement Contract which in #2 part B we did not come to an agreement with the insurance company on the scope of work .

The reason Mr. ****** did not come to an agreement with the insurance company is because he never made an attempt to engage in negotiations with them. I provided Mr. ****** with the name and contact information for our insurance adjuster as soon as we signed the contract. Mr. ****** never made contact with the insurance company, he even went as far as to tell me it was illegal for him to do so. I late found out this was not true since we had signed the contract allowing Mr. ****** to act as our representative. Mr. ******'s own website also states they will participate in this process "If warranted, the next step would be to fill out an agreement form with your ****** Construction representative so they can assist you with your insurance claim." Never Happened.


2. The homeowner removed us from the process with the insurance company, they had there adjusters appointments without notifying us.

Mr. ****** was never removed from the process, he never engaged in the process to begin with. I contacted the insurance company and asked for a second adjuster to come out so Mr. ****** could meet with them when they inspected the home. After I spoke with the insurance company, I called Mr. ****** and left him a message as to when the adjuster was planning on coming out and to please let me know if he could attend. The call was never returned and the second adjuster came out without Mr. ****** present.

3. The homeowner was trying to get the repairs done for the exact amount the insurance sent her which was less her deductible and we require all homeowners to pay there deductible and they were not on board with that and by no way, shape or form are we interested in committing insurance fraud.

We never asked Mr. ****** to make the repairs for the exact amount the insurance company sent. That claim is just ridiculous since the insurance company only sent us ******** which I know would in no way even cover the materials let alone the labor. I made Mr. ****** aware of the exact amount that was sent ********* and what our deductible ********* was prior to signing the contract with him. After looking at our roof, Mr. ****** stated that the whole roof needed to be replaced due to the extensive wind and hail damage not just repaired as the insurance company had stated. Mr. ****** said he could get this done for us. As I am not a professional roofer, I relied on Mr. ******'s expertise on the matter and contacted the insurance company as he requested to get the second adjuster out to the house to do a re-evaluation with Mr. ****** present. Mr. ****** did not attend this meeting and the insurance company stated that no additional repairs were necessary beyond their original findings. I informed Mr. ****** of the findings and asked for an estimate to be made based off of the insurance companies findings which was never provided. I am not interested in committing insurance fraud or breaking the law in any way, I just wanted my roof fixed to prevent further damage. Please feel free to run my legal record and you will find nothing more than a speeding ticket, I am sure Mr. ****** can not claim the same.

4. It states very clear in our contract that we must agree with the insurance company on the cost and the scope of work of the project, not agreeing was mainly due to as far as we can tell from our past experiences the homeowner trying to pocket funds.

I have no idea where Mr. ****** is getting this from, I have never had to file a homeowner claim before this incident.

5.This claim is absurd and the homeowner should be ashamed of themselves. As a long term member that has been in good standing with the BBB we would expect fraudulent claims like this to be removed as soon as possible.

This claim is not absurd and I am most certainly not ashamed of myself. I signed a contract with Mr. ****** to assist me every step of the way in working with the insurance company and the repair of my home as he claims he will on his website. He not only did not make an attempt to do so, he never engaged in the process. He did not assist us in working with the insurance company as his website states he will, he did not return critical phone calls or messages, and he did not take proper precausions to prevent further damage to our home even though he was well aware that additional damage could occur as evident from his own statements on his website. "A roof left unrepaired will begin to deteriorate, and the resulting leaks could potentially cause costly damages to the contents of your home. This is why a thorough home inspection is critical, and the primary reason your insurance company wants your roof repaired (or replaced, when necessary) soon after the initial damage." Due to Mr. ******'s failure to act as his website states he will or let us know he was not interested in our business, further damage was done to my home. I contact Mr. ****** on 5/23/14 to ask him when he would be returning to our home to get the shingle samples so he could make compairisons and write up an estimate for the repair. Mr. ****** refused to give me a date or time he would return so I fired him. Mr. ******'s company may be in good standing with the BBB, but as a consumer, this is not the service I would expect from a company with that standing.

Once I fired Mr. ****** on 5/23/14, I contacted a new contractor who has since tarped our roof to prevent further damage and has negotiated an agreement with the insurance company to replace the entire front portion of our roof. All of this was completed in a matter of 4 days part of which included a holiday weekend, where as Mr. ****** had over a month with no result. As soon as I have my copy of the agreement between the insurance company and the new contractor I will forward it to you. I have attached a copy of the canceled check from the insurance company to show that we had received it prior to hiring Mr. ****** and made him aware of the insurance company's limits.

Thank you for your time,
****** *****


Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, Owner

Again the ****** maybe claiming they contacted us to meet an adjuster at their home but that never happened. They tried to work with there insurance company on their own and it backfired. (so obviously it's our fault). What Mrs. ***** signed is a contingency agreement part (B) clearly states we must agree to a price and scope of work, with my company being totally cut out of the process by the homeowner we had no way to come to an agreement with the insurance company.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/03/2004Business started: 07/01/1997
Licensing

Please check your phone directory for the phone number of your County or City Building Department.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrick Arnett (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Linda Arnett (CFO)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service

Industry Tips
3 day cooling off rule

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arnett Construction

761 S 300 E

La Porte, IN 46350-9097

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 761 S 300 E 

    La Porte, IN 46350-9097(219) 369-1004
    (855) 369-1004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arnett Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (219) 608-9676
  • (855) 369-1004
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

3 day cooling off rule
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.