BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2002

Horizon Transport, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (574) 862-2161Fax: (574) 862-4860PO Box 826, WakarusaIN 46573-0826 Send email to Horizon Transport, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2002

BBB has determined that Horizon Transport, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Horizon Transport, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Horizon Transport, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CDL testing is a scam. They want things stated that aren't in the Indiana CDL book, tricky phrases, claim you didn't state parts, fail if miss 5-6.
On July 31st, the lead tester had to leave do to a family issue. A substitute did the testing for a school bus. My employer would pay the $100 fee one time only. I went through the pre-trip inspection. He said I failed my pre-trip, missing 10. He didn't state all 10 missed. Some were.. water pump, rear brake lines, spare fuses..I trusted that I may have missed 10 total.
I rescheduled for Aug. 6th. The regular lead tester was available. I used my personal card to pay $100. I went through my pre-trip, trying to state everything. He told me not to do the brake check first and save for last. He said that he wanted me to check all switch functions so I went through all switches.. lights, fans, strobe, stop arm, door, ect.
I stated that I check gear selector, placing it in reverse and drive. I was failed again. I didn't miss even 5. I was failed for mentioning that I open rear emergency door, but had only opened it from the outside during outside inspection. Trickery was used, stating that I just needed to point to items but then failed me by giving the command to only show use of switches.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund but I would have to set a court date and miss a day of work to travel over 60 miles. They can fail you repeatedly and it is just your word against theirs. I know I passed the test at the state standard. Every time you fail it's $100 × 8 tests a day. Wow

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Marion *******, Owner
Contact Phone: 574/XXX-XXXX ext 141
Contact Email: ********@horizontransport.com
Horizon Transport, Inc. maintains a CDL test site in Wakarusa, IN. Horizon employs the CDL testers and maintains the CDL site according to standards prescribed by State and Federal authorities.

The practice of CDL testing is rigorously controlled and enforced by both State and Federal authorities.

Some tests do end unexpectedly for the CDL applicant.
In cases where the applicant believes the tester conducted the test inappropriately, the lead tester will be happy to provide a contact within the Indiana State Police agency which oversees the CDL testing program at Horizon Transport. This contact has direct authority over the CDL testing protocols in question. If it is determined by the Indiana State Police Officer who reviews the complaint that protocol was breached, then compensatory measures will be directed by the same Officer. In that case, Horizon Transport, Inc. will promptly comply with any directive received from the Indiana State Police Officer reviewing the complaint.
To obtain the contact information mentioned in this response, please contact the CDL office at Horizon Transport and specify the nature of your inquiry.
The phone number is 574/XXX-XXXX ext ***

We regret your dissatisfaction and hope to assist with your request for a review.

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Safe drivers are needed to drive school bus, many only making 15,000 to 25,000 a year. A test costs $100 plus 1-3 hours of the day, along with fuel cost. The tester could fail a person 3 or 4 times or more, even if a person passes by reasonable state standards.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Marion *******, Owner

We want to help the aggrieved individual, however, the consumer's most recent statement is patently false.

If an applicant feels that a test was not administered in compliance with Federal and State program requirements, then that individual is welcome to request the contact information for the Indianapolis office that oversees the testing processes. We are happy to provide that information and invite the oversight available from the State of Indiana authorities.

Please contact our office for this information.
Thank-You


OFFER:

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicles - Transportation, Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Transportation Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/1999Business started: 01/01/1984
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marion Schrock (CEO, Vice President)Mrs. Ruth Ann Schrock (Secretary/Treasurer)
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Transportation, Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Transportation Services

Products & Services

This firm transports R V's.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 407 E Wabash Ave 

    Wakarusa, IN 46573-9543(574) 862-2161

  • PO Box 826 

    Wakarusa, IN 46573-0826Fax: (574) 862-4860

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Horizon Transport, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Recreational Vehicles - Transportation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.