BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2014

Nexus RV

Phone: (574) 970-0848Fax: (574) 970-1265

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We got a new rv from Nexus in Elkhart March 24, 2015. There were many issues from day one. The engine light kept going on & Nexus won't pay the repair
We got our new Nexus Phantom 3/24/15. While leaving Elkhart, the gas cap & engine light came on. On 3/25/15, a Ford Dealer said it was ok to proceed home although there was a vapor leak. They said that no one should smoke or light a fire by it. On 4/18/15, the gas cap was replaced at New Brighton Ford in MN, under the Ford warranty. On 4/20/15, the light came back on & New Brighton MN Ford called the service manager at Nexus for authorization to work on the rv. The service manager said we would have to drive back to Elkhart for the repair. On 4/24/15, Nexus added a clamp to the hose in the #6 position. We were told directly afterwards that they did not have the correct clamp so they used a larger one. On 4/27/15, we were in Owego, New York at Royal Ford because the engine light was lit. They kept us there 3 days, waiting for a filler neck part which was replaced under the Ford warranty. On 6/1/15, the rv was brought to Monticello RV in MN, because the engine light was on. They referred us to Ford. We waited on that because the rv was having other repairs done. On 9/9/15 and 9/10/15, we stopped at Ford service centers in WI & Michigan but they were unable to do the work in a timely basis. We stopped at 2 more Ford service centers in late Sept, in Utah. Again, we were told that they did not have time to work on the issue. In 11/15, **** ***** Ford in MN replaced the gas vapor sensor under the Ford warranty. The rv was stored for the winter. When it was out of storage, the engine light was back on. It was brought to **** ***** Ford 4/26/16. The Ford mechanic found that the improper clamp was causing a vapor leak. It was replaced with the correct clamp, and Nexus was notified of their need to pay for this repair as it was not under the Ford warranty, and it was the responsibility of Nexus. Nexus was sent photos and narrative besides the service manager having conversations with 2 people at the Ford dealer. We emailed a request for payment to be made so that we could get our rv back. The service manager sent an email stating that they did not believe that they had put an improper clamp on the rv. And he also said that there was no guaranty that this would fix the chronic engine light problem. It should be noted that when we were in Elkhart in April 2015 and when we were talking to a co-owner, in Sept 2015, by phone, we stated that we regarded this rv as a lemon. There were over 20 other repairs that had to be made involving things like a heavy pantry that kept falling open and crashing into the refrig on the other side of the aisle. We were accused of overloading it, yet there was NOTHING IN IT because we were heading home when it was new, and the pantry was obviously malfunctioning from the moment we went slowly around the roundabout in Elkhart. It took 3 different repairs to finally get the pantry replaced with one that worked. This is just one example of the many issues with the rv. Another issue was that our salesman told us that Nexus would be getting a repair shop contract in our home state, by the time that we picked up the rig. This has not happened, and almost every time that we have gone to a MN repair shop, either Nexus refuses to work with them or they complain about and refuse to ever again work with Nexus. Elkhart is a 2 day drive for us.

Desired Settlement
We need to be reimbursed for the repair of the vapor leak which has plagued us since day one. This was a chronic issue that has caused us much inconvenience, trip delays, wasted gas mileage, frustration, and fearfulness (of driving & camping with a potentially unsafe rv).

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
This unit has been at a number of Ford dealers for the repair. Nexus uses a local Ford dealer to make repairs if needed on a Ford concern. Nexus also is part of the Ford QVM program. The program dictates that Nexus conforms to criteria set forth by Ford. Part of this criteria is that the clamps and fill neck supplied by Ford must be used.

Ford dealers work on a flat rate for repairs. Obviously this repair has been documented by Ford and as Ford has replaced the entire system they suggest this is not their concern. Nexus contends that since multiple repairs have been attempted and this odd clamp has been installed it exonarates Nexus from this concern. What Ford dealer installed the clamp?

The local Ford dealer if called would have had a service technician diagnose the issue and if needed sent the unit back to their shop for repairs. The Ford technician would not have given his blessing to drive back home. Nor would Nexus insist that the unit be returned to Nexus to work on a Ford issue.

Nexus has a 12 month warranty. These items have been addressed by Ford without any involvement from Nexus. The 12 month period has expired and the Nexus warranty has expired.

In a good will gesture Nexus proposed to the customer that it would send half of the amount of the invoice to him. The customer responded by filing a complaint.

In summary this appears to be a Ford issue handled by Ford. With multiple repairs performed by multiple Ford dealers and the latest dealer having the unit for the second time. This just doesn't add up as being a body builder issue from the start. With many of the fuel delivery components changed by individual Ford dealers this is not a Nexus issue.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Nexus is unacceptable to us. As we stated in our complaint, the over-sized clamp #6 was installed at Nexus on 4/25/15, following a consult between Nexus and their local Ford dealer. The other Ford dealers became involved after that, because the engine light kept returning shortly after every fix attempt. This is why we have had many ongoing communications with Nexus about our dissatisfaction. **** ***** Ford finally determined that the over-sized clamp was the source of the chronic vapor leak. We should not be monetarily penalized for purchasing a new motorhome that never performed properly, despite our efforts to get it fixed. This unit has already caused out-of-pocket expenses for multiple trip delays. In addition, before we ordered the rv, the Nexus salesman assured us that Nexus would provide us with a nearby service provider by the time that our unit was completed. This has not happened yet. We need more than a half-hearted goodwill gesture. We need reimbursement for the cost of the vapor leak repair.

Final Business Response
Nexus will pay for the bill. Nexus does not accept any responsibility nor does it extend any warranty considerations. We appreciate doing business with Mr. ******** but this concludes our obligation on this motorhome.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The proposed repair reimbursement is a fair resolution and we are eager to move on and start enjoying our motorhome. We are hopeful that the problem is finally fixed, and we will not be seeking further warranty-related repairs. We charged the repair and will be needing reimbursement to come directly to us from Nexus.
******* & ***** ********

08/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unit was supposed to be Inspected to make sure everything was operational, we were told that if something wasn't working they would make it right.
When we arrived we asked to check out if air worked they brought unit to the back, and when we pulled power cord out the plug was cut off. Which proved they did Not go through RV. The fan in ceiling does NOT work, and motor was extremely hot which could have caused a fire, water leak in bathroom, they didn't even empty sewer it was full of feces. We were not treated well, and when when asked about them fixing it they said No

Desired Settlement
They need to repair the things that wasn't working, if they had gone through the unit as they said they did they would have noticed the things that were broken. In our opinion they lied to us, you cant check a campers electrical without plugging in the cord which was severed off.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Steven ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@nexusrv.com
The unit in question is a 2004 Alumascape travel trailer manufactured by Holiday Rambler. This used item was presented to the ******* before any paperwork was prepared for inspection. The customer was notified that the trailer was being sold "as is". During the inspection it was found the power cord had been severed. Even though a PDI had been performed 2 weeks earlier the cord was now missing. Another cord was installed in the coach. After the installation of the cord, the air conditioner worked, entertainment center worked, microwave worked but display did not. Hot water was working as well. The customer was present and was shown what was working and what was not operating properly. The ceiling fan was intermittent and would not stay engaged. The customer stated he was a handyman and could repair the items that needed help.

After a unit tis traded in Nexus dumps the tanks at the Elkhart Campground and performs a PDI before presenting the unit for sale. In this case the unit was checked in and went thru the PDI 10 months previous and then again two weeks before the sale.

This customer had called me on Sunday July 19th and gave his name as Al. Al then asked what warranty would be on a used "as is" unit from Nexus. The explanation of no warranty or implied warranties after the sale. He then informed me that he was turning us into the BBB because we didn't fix his coach. Even though the customer signed the "as is" no warranty form he still believed he has a 30 day warranty.

Things happen during camping that requires repairs and cause item to leak. The unit passed *** water test twice at Nexus but apparently failed with the customer. The leak could be a gasket breached, flusher on the toilet kicked, water line connection vibrated loose etc. Used coaches and travel trailers are not in Nexus control and can only be checked after the unit is submitted to Nexus.

Nexus takes great effort to check all units for any defects or issues and cannot be held responsible for actions that it does not control.

OFFER:
Nexus will send to the customer a remote controlled fan but will not pay for the installation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Steven ****** Director of Service

Nexus RV has sent the fan to the customer. Fed Ex tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXX. This completes the offer and Nexus feels this is finished business.

OFFER:
Completed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/27/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Picked up a brand new Rv for XXXXXX$
Batteries ware burned out several other things wrong
Had to have it towed etc after one week still waiting
Rv model nexus
2017 , not even answering e mails

Desired Settlement
Please pay the money you owe !!!

Business Response
Although this warranty is covered by our chassis vendor. Nexus will reimburse Mr. ******.

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they took a 3000.00 deposit and could not get deal done and wont refund my deposit
charged me a 3000.00 deposit and would not pefect lien on title for my bank so bank would not finance the rv. will not refund my 3000.00 on my card

Desired Settlement
I want my 3000.00 dollars back

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* vice pres
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@nexusrv.com
we refunded his money on 10-27-14 it will take a few days to hit his account.

OFFER:

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicle Manufacturers, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies, Motor Homes, Manufacturers & Producers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.