BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2012

KZRV, LP

(260) 768-4016View Additional Phone Numbers985 N 900 W, ShipshewanaIN 46565-9139 Send email to KZRV, LP

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2012

BBB has determined that KZRV, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered KZRV, LP's rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised KZRV, LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on KZRV, LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
01/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a K-Z toy hauler in 05/2014 and it has been at in for warranty repairs since 07/2014. K-Z has been unable to deliver me a trailer.
To KZRV LP,
I Purchased a K-Z Toy Hauler in May 2014 from **** **** *** I have only been able to use it for a one week trip in July due to warranty issues. The trailer went into the dealership in June because the generator wasn't installed correctly and carbon monoxide was entering the cabin. Trailer was returned to me July 5, 2014, and was used for the first time the week of July 14 2014. During the trip the kitchen counter top dropped 1/2" The wall broke loose between the garage and the kitchen. The latch fell out of the bed allowing the bed to fall to the floor. The slide on the driver side would not retract fully the trailer was returned to ******** ** for repairs July 26 2014 and has yet to be returned to me. These issues clearly point to gross incompetence in K-Z's manufacturing process and there warranty department.
K-Z RV has been so difficult to deal with that Mr. ****** **** of ******** ** has quite ordering from K-Z RV. Mr. **** stated in a written response to me that he agrees with me that these issues point clearly too gross incompetence in K-Z's manufacturing process.
In closing K-Z RV and ******** ** have been unable to provide me with the merchandise I paid for so I would like to be refunded in full.
Regards,
**** *******

Desired Settlement
In closing K-Z RV has been unable to provide me with the merchandise I paid for so I would like to be refunded in full.
Regards,
**** *******

Business Response
The dealer reports repairs have been made to trailer. They stated Mr. ******* is in agreement with the repairs. Mr. ******* also stated he is unhappy with the number and nature of the problems with the unit so early into ownership.

In an effort to resolve this matter, KZ offers to replace the existing unit with a new 365TTH Sportsmen Sportster fifth wheel . The unit will be built with like options and equipment. The unit will be delivered through the dealership and come with a new 2 year KZRV, LP Limited Warranty commencing the date Mr. ******* takes delivery, all done at no charge to the customer.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a new 2012 KZ Spree Ultra Light 281BHS and it has been nothing but problems. KZ customer service non-responsive.
After nearly 21 years of service to our great nation I had been medically retired so as I recover I get to spend some quality time with my family getting out and camping. So we went to a local dealer and purchased a new 2012 KZ Spree Ultra Light 281BHS. We bought the RV with the assurance that I was purchasing the best money can buy and that KZ stands by their product 100%. I was fully educated from the dealer and RV online forums about care and "do's and do not's" with my new travel trailer so I purchased all the extras prior do my families first journey. I purchased anti sway bars, water filter, water flow control valve, so for and so on..... I enrolled and became a member of RV organizations such as Good Sams and KOA. Before I went on the road with the RV I always did a complete inspection to insure safety and proper operation of the RV for the best camping experience. I was very excited to finally get on the road with my family for some camping fun.

Then the problems started

We made 3 trips with this RV and it has been one problem after another. On our first trip all the water connectors on the kitchen sink, toilet, and outside spay hose leaked and had to be replaced. One our second trip I had to replace interior light bulbs and one of the dinning couch lining supports broke with very little pressure applied. After our third trip I noticed a 2.5 to 3 in crack developing on the bottom outside wall of the side out support, this was fixed under warranty and I was told that it was a "bad weld in the FRAME by the manufacture".
So here I am about to start our fourth trip which happens to be our 20th wedding anniversary, and as I am preparing our KZ Spree RV it starts to rain. As my wife and I are inside the RV putting a few essentials in the cabinets we noticed the side out is not preventing any water from coming inside the trailer itself. I mean its leaking from the bottom of the side out horribly, so I immediately close the side out to prevent further water from getting it, and using several towels to soak up the pooling water that got in to prevent any water damage. So we unpack and canceled our scheduled trip. I do not know where the failure is. We took it to the dealership and they did a great job in trying to find the issue (awesome customer service) a broom was found behind the side out and was removed this being something that we did I understand but all seals were inspected and found to be intact and free of any damage so we now go back to a faulty RV for a failed weld in the frame. Is the frame now warped and not trued to square, Is it more then a crack that was from the "failed weld" that was repaired? I do not know but the RV is no longer covered under warranty and extended warranty plans from companies such as Good Sams do not cover theses kind of things.

The dealership in which I purchased the RV from was excellent and has done everything in their power to make things right however I sent a email to KZ about all these concerns and have received absolutely nothing in return in regard to communication. Nothing from KZ about rectifying the issue at all. Honestly there is no excuse, no offer to fix it has been made which tells me that KZ does not stand by their product and they are turning a blind eye to a problem that occurred while this particular RV was being manufactured.

We have taken great care of the RV and it is in show room condition, minus the small patch covering the "Failed weld". The factory tires are still in somewhat new condition. So its 100% not from lack of care and treatment on our part.

Desired Settlement
"Like all families, KZ's is unique. Each element of KZ's RVs are either built by regional craftsmen or carefully selected from a proven source. KZ is committed to building RV's with the same quality they would want for their families. This philosophy alone has influenced every step in the production process. No wonder KZ's retail customer and dealer satisfaction are among the highest in the industry."

For starters be true to the above quote as stated on their web site. I am asking for them to take this particular RV back to their "research and development team" to get a real good look at it and find out what went wrong and what they can do to eliminate the problem from happening in the future, while doing so give me a refund of the purchase price or provide me with another RV at the same value of the time of purchase. This would be the responsible action by a company that "stands by their product"

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** V P Corpor
Contact Email: *******@kz-rv.com
Based on the file information and customer information, I would like to schedule a trip to personally inspect the vehicle and meet with the consumer. Please advise where the unit is located and any special instructions about when an appropriate time (day of the week/time of day)to schedule the inspection. *******

OFFER:

Consumer Response
As of September 16 I have yet to hear anything from KZ RV or Mr. ****** at all. KZ and Mr ****** have my contact information and has been sent to them as well at my contact information being with the BBB. I am now convinced that KZ and Mr ****** will not honor what they had mentioned in the BBB report that they would do to help rectify the issues at hand. All of this information will be gathered and will be shared with every single RV manufacturer, RV/ Travel web site, and every travel club that is available to the public. This is poor business practice, poor customer service, and a poor product . If anything I have learned from this is to do a lot of research of manufactures and look closely at customer reviews of all products as I hope that mine will help others..... A sad day for another consumer....


Consumer Response
KZ has communicated with me however they contacted my home phone number while I was out of town and they did leave a message to connect with them to resolve the issue. My wife returned there phone the same day and left a message to inform them that I was out of town and I will contact them Monday the 29th. I will call them until I can speak with someone that day and hope that there can be a quick resolution. I will note with BBB every time I attempt to call and record the transaction accordingly.


Consumer Response
I have been in touch with Mr ****** from KZ RV. We had a pleasant conversation. Mr ****** states that he will make travel plans to see the RV for himself and then go from there. He has told me that he will be back in touch with me on Friday, October the 3rd to confirm his arrangements to travel to my home. I request to leave the case open until the case is completely resolved.


Consumer Response
Mr. ******

I didn't receive an Email from you last night, I hope your travels were quick and safe.

It was nice to meet with you yesterday. I was thankful and glad to see that you took the time to come to my house and look the RV over to see for yourself that there are indeed some issues that needs to be addressed.

I look forward to receiving an Email from you outlining what you will be doing to make things right with the RV so that my family can enjoy some Camping next season.

I am thankful that you also will install the side out awning for added protection against the elements.

Please get back with me as soon as you can about the arrangements that we made so I can proceed in getting the RV prepared for the transport and that I can change my plans that I had made in November, Ill need to cancel my reservations or they will be charging me the full price.

Thanks again.



******** ********* ****



Business Response
Mr. ****,

I have made the necessary arrangements to pick the unit up including contacting the dealership for you drop the unit off there. Thank you for your hospitality during my vist. I look forward to getting the unit repaired. As I mentioned, I will extend the warranty coverage for your confidence on the repairs. *******

******* ******
Vice President Corporate
KZRV, LP
0985N 900w
Shipshawana , IN 46565
*******@kz-rv.com

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Spree Camper was purchased from ******** *** Denton, TX Aug 28, 2013. The furnace has not worked since Nov 2013 and only cycles one time then shuts down. It has been in the repair shop for 3 months, unusable for 2 months because of the cold weather and actually used for 2 months. The mfgr designed a cabinet configuration that is too small for the furnace to get enough air into and out of the furnace to keep it from overheating. They indicated that they may need to make the cabinet over the furnace smaller to allow proper air flow. I purchased the camper, new, based on the complete layout of the interior and have only been able to use it 2 out of the 7 months that I have owned it.
Product_Or_Service: ** *****
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
After purchase items were added to the camper bringing the total drive off the lot value to ******* A service contract and gap insurance were purchased from the RV Dealer that should be reimbursed by them totaling ****** This leaves ***** responsible for ******* This amount includes all taxes, title, licensing and other fees that I feel that I should not have to take a loss on.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/V.P.
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@kz-rv.com
Mr. ******, I have contacted ********** ** for a status report as well as contacted Suburban Manufacturing (the warrantor of the furnace). We have a call scheduled for tomorrow (3-21-14) after which I will provide a status report and final proposed resolution to you. ******* ******

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On the surface the plan looked good. Actual events did not occur to execute the planned response and proposal submission. Once again, I have been disappointed by the follow thru of KZ. Within a week another event will occur for which use of the camper was intended and it appears that my family will not be able to attend. This is VERY disappointing

Final Business Response
Despite all efforts, the cycling problem with the furnace has not been resolved. In an effort to resolve this problem for the consumer, KZRV will offer per the terms of the Warranty, to replace the existing trailer with a new like unit. The replacement unit will be manufactured to the same specifications and features wherever possible and will be a 2015 model. In addition, the new unit will be provided with a full 2 yr warranty to commence upon delivery.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is true that our last our last conversation was on Wednesday 3-26-14. Unfortunately, ******* ****** did not represent our telephone discussion factually. He actually did not say what he was accelerating. I assumed that he was accelerating the resolution of the complaint, the payment of ******** He assumed that I understood that the acceleration was of the delivery of yet another furnace.
In short, a new furnace design was produced by Suburban that contained additional baffles to disperse the heat in the furnace (I don't care to become a test customer). Once installed and tested it became apparent that this new design still did not address the prime issue. The Suburban engineer indicated that he felt that the problem was in the duct work of the camper when I spoke with him. So now I'm assuming that they will tear out the bottom of the camper to examine the duct work.
I have forwarded proposals to ******* ****** and left email and voice messages for him to return calls or email about the proposals and heard nothing back. Customer service communications has been pitiful at best. I have allowed them more than ample time to correct this problem and have reached the point that the only thing that will satisfy me is the full payment of ******* as stated in the complaint. There is nothing that can be done to recover the situation from my perspective, save even a better solution than the full payment.

12/13/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty roof due to the type of the TPO that was used on coaches built in 2006-2008. The felt backing wicks moisture and rots the substrates.
In 8/2012 we noticed several ripples in the ceiling of our 2008 KZ Sportsman 33P. Upon further investigation, we have found that KZ has replaced at no cost to the owners the roof and all substrates that have been damaged. The TPO on the roof has a felt backing in which holds and wicks moisture causing the wood to rot. We are the second owner to the coach and have found out that others have had this replaced at no charge. We purchased the unit at *********** and at that time there were no ripples or problems with the roof. I have maintained the roof to the guidelines set forth by KZ with bi-annual roof cleanings and inspections. Vin#*****************, Manufacture date 11/2007, Purchase date 3/2010. We have been in contact with KZ and they have offered to replace just the TPO, in which we find unacceptable due to the underlying damages to the substrate (osb), insulation, and ceiling panels. I have offered to transport the unit at my cost to their plant in Shipshewana or to their dealer in Thurmont, MD to have the repairs done. Today I followed up with an email to ******** and ************* at KZ and I am awaiting the response. I advised them of our intentions, full replacement of the roof system, transport, and I also advised them of my right to contact the BBB and the right of seeking counsel and/or suit in VA Circuit Court. It is my hopes that the latter would not happen, and we can resolve this to both parties mutal satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
Simlply, complete replacement of the roof system by either KZ-RV, LP or their authorized dealer, with no cost to myself except transport of coach to either location.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************* VP Corp.
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******@kz-rv.com
After a thurough review of the available documents and communications with the consumer, I believe the response by KZ's Customer Service Department to be both generous and appropriate. KZ has indeed engaged with Alpha Systems to assist customers who experience a specific profile of problems with Alpha's TPO roofing products. The assistace program does have certain conditions. The reported circumstances with the consumer's complaint in this instance have generated a goodwill offer of KZ suppling replacement roofing materials at no charge to the consumer. The factors influencing this offer have been clearly communicated: 1. The age of the vehicle at the time of notification. 2. The related exparation of the KZRV Warranty relative to the age of the vehicle and subsiquent re-sale of the vehicle (customer reports they are the second owner).



OFFER:
In an effort to assist the consumer from a goodwill standpoint, KZ will reiterate its offer to provide the previously offered "roof kit" at no charge. In addition, KZ will offer complete the necessairy repair to the vehicle at cost (this will provide a sustantial savings and value to the consumer). Finally, KZ will offer to cover transportation costs to the factory for the work , with consumer being responsible for the retreival of the unit upon completion of the repairs. This offer is made in the interest of consumer relations and is extended without an admission of liability without preudice to our rights under the origional KZ RV, Lp limited warranty.

Consumer's Final Response
********
Since we haven't been able to connect, it seems we are equally busy, I would like to go ahead an open a line of communication thru email.
In my last email thru BBB and back to KZ, there were specific questions that I had posed that need to be answered. They were as follows:
1) In replacing the roof, what does that consist of? Is this a total replacement of the TPO, substrate, insulation and finish ceiling?
2) What is my estimate ''at cost'' total?
3) What is the time frame of the repair?
4) What warranty will be provided after the repair?

In addition to these, I have a few others:
1) Who will insure my coach in its travels to Shipshewanna, In?
2) If damaged during transit, who will pay for the repairs?

It is my sincere hope that we can get this moving before the holidays and winter really sets in. It has been really mild here, but I know that should only be temporary. I have 4 days off in December (7,10,17 & 20) of which I am at home and can work with a transport company to come and start the haul back to the plant. If everything is satisfactory to both us and KZ, we can get this moving.
Thanks for working with us,
*************

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ************* / V.P. Corporate

I spoke with ********** on 12-10-12 and we discussed his questions and concerns regarding KZ's most recent offer. We agreed that KZ will pick up his unit and transport it back to the factory for inspection and confirming a work order & estimate for repairs. I will forward these to ********* and we will dicuss costs before proceeding with the repairs. As long as we are all in agreement with costs and responsibilities, the repair will move forward based on the terms of our last offer. i am confident this will be resolved in a mutually agreeable manner.

OFFER:

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roofing issues due to incorrectly placed staples which caused rusting of staples and seepage of water into the roof.
We purchased in 2007 a 2007 Sportsman Sporster fifth wheel dual slide out toy hauler from All Truck and RV in CT. The first season was great but the second season when my husband went on the roof to inspect the caulking he found a section above the living room slide where the staples used to hold the roofing material on were put in too high so they were actually between the caulking the factory put in and the Butyl tape. In essence the staples were never sealed and were all rusted and soaking in water since day one. Not knowing this my husband caulked the roof as you do every year and caulked the staples also.
When we spoke our dealer regarding this he stated that KZ used a felt back roofing material and it may absorb water. We never thought about it, thinking we solved the problem. I did contact KZ by email but never received a response.
We began noticing roofing problems in 2012 but did not realize the extent of the issue. later in 2012 I began contacting KZ again although I did not do it consistently I did keep in contact with my dealer. He suggested we contact our insurance company which we did. Our insurance company denied our claim stating it was a manufactures defect.
From July of 2012 through September of 2013 I emailed KZ, called and left messages for KZ customer service. I also got the name of the gentleman from part and service from my dealer and called him repeatedly, his name is **** ****** I was always told he was busy at the time and sent to his voicemail, I left many messages with no response.
The other issue with the camper is the drop down gate ramp for driving up motorcycles is all rotted also.
My dealer was very helpful and he relayed my concerns and was able to get KZ to agree it was a problem and send us new roofing material which we now have to replace ourselves.
In all.......The camper is a totaled. The roofing job was quoted to us by a local dealer as costing us approximately ********** to repair all the problems and the camper is not worth that.
My VIN number is******XXXXXSXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
My ultimate resolution for this on going defect is for KZ to admit they made a mistake in production putting the staples in too high with no sealant. Because they have never gotten back to me to try to resolve this, I would like them take this back and credit us toward another camper or replace it with one we can use.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/ V P Corpo
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@kz-rv.com
The felt back TPO issue described by the customer was identified when a limited number of roof issues surfaced in late 2009 early 2010. In certain cases the felt backed TPO material, when combined with a certain adhesive, would "wick" moisture. KZ did team with the roof manufacture to provide an assistance program to repair these roofs. In 2012 the program ended. By this time, anyone with the combination of material had 2-3 yrs to inspect, seal maintain there roof and report an obvious problem. By 2013, the units were in the field for 4 + years and many many other factors had influenced any roof condition they might have reported.

The issue raised regarding the decking material will require further research. I will respond to this issue within 3 days.

OFFER:
The customer states that KZ has all ready provided the replacement roof kit at no charge. We believe this is a generous action for the age of the unit.

I will follow up with a response regarding the decking material within 72 hrs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did respond the following year after purchasing the camper to our dealer regarding the staples which were placed above the molding and was told that we should use caulking on it and it would be fine, there should not be any problems.
We believed our dealer and did as he suggested. We have never run into anything like this so why should we dispute our dealer. We nor our dealer ever realized the problems that already existed.
The water was already under the roofing material and soaking the particle board and just as in a regular house when a shingle lets go and you get a leak, it doesn't show up until some time later. In our case we believed in the product we purchased which was the camper and believed in the suggestion our dealer gave us but even he didn't realize what could happen.
Even our dealer did not tell us about the assistance program mentioned to help us with the roof. We spoke to someone with KZ at the camping show back in 2011 in Boston,MA and even they did not inform us regarding the assistance KZ was supposedly giving so this assistance program must have been for those who had the nerve to really raise a ruckus because we knew nothing about it.
As far as KZ giving us the roofing material kit, that was done only when our dealer raised an issue and he fought to get us that. The roofing material sent out was not even complete. KZ had our VIN number and all the info off of the unit but still sent us out the wrong amount of roofing materials. EX: not enough roof vents, plumbing vents, gutter, shower dome.
The age of the unit now is not when we started questioning the problems, it was when the unit was 1 year old. Our mistake was believing in a product and that we were dealing with a reputable company and not knowing we were being mislead by our dealer. I sent several emails to customer service starting back in 2009 and called customer service but never received a call or email back. This morning I called customer service and got the voicemail of ****** ******* left her a message and she actually called me back. This was probably due to the timing of this complaint with my call. I had also called and left many messages for Mr. **** **** in service as my dealer gave me his name and never received a response. KZ has had many complaints listed and we did not check into this first. We believed in the reputation of this company.
We did not wait until now to report this, we began in 2008 believing we were getting the correct information to take care of the unit.
We have owned campers for over 30 years and NEVER had a problem. We have always maintained the camper in pristine condition and the roof was always maintained.
Our dealer suggested we put it in as an insurance claim and again we trusted the dealer and did as he suggested and the insurance denied us stating it was a manufacturers defect.
We have fought and fought over this and keep getting lied to and given misinformation. KZ giving us some of the roofing material I believe was just a cover up so they could state as they did that it seems to them to be a GEMEROUS offer for the age of the unit. but as stated it wasn't this old when we first reported it.
Our dealer All Truck and RV also called me this morning (seems kind of odd that both our dealer who hasn't spoken to me since last September and customer service) calling me today, the same day we get the response from KZ.
My dealer also told me he spoke to ******* ****** himself at the dealer shows they have at the manufacturing plant regarding our problem and was told to get him the information. Our dealer kept telling me that ******* was a very busy man and was not returning his phone calls. We were told this over and over again and stupid me I believed ****** from All Truck. they were probably both laughing behind my back, stalling me laughing at my patience. Patience because I did believe KZ would make right the product they sold.
Now we are stuck trying to repair the roof ourselves as we don't have the money to have someone do it for us or to just loose the camper.
As our dealer told us, it tough to fight the big companies...........Well was that a warning that we would loose?
Except for sending us some of the roofing materials, KZ has not owned up to their mistakes.
Oh and did I mention when we purchased our camper, two of our friends also purchased campers at the same time. One bought 2007 and one bought a 2006 left over. The 2006 refrigerator caught fire on the lot and had to be repaired. The other 2007 was traded in the same time we started having problems due to a leak in his roof. They could afford to take the hit on the trade in but due to my husbands health issues we could not and still can't.
Camping was one of the only thing left my could do that let him relax from his health and I have been trying to correspond and deal with this so he doesn't have to get upset but I have been fighting a long time and am tired of being lied to and pushed down.
Oh and by the way the tailgate on the camper because its a toyhauler has begun in the last few years to delaminate and the hinge area is rotting.
We used to enjoy hauling our toys but we no longer have any toys left to haul as my husband cannot do much else. So the next camper we get will be regular tag camper and we do plan on camping again. if we are stuck with this one and have to finish repairing it will have to go seasonal and believe me I will put a big LEMON sign on it as it sits.
sorry for ranting so much but I am so tired of all the bull we have received. KZ has given a little but taken a lot away from us.
And I do have a picture which I sent in of the roofing particleboard and it stating NOT TO BE USED IN A ROOFING APPLICATION.
thanks for letting me rant.

******

04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a trailer with a GVWR of 10000 lbs, but have found that the trailer was mislabeled and we have not received satisfactory resolution.
Model: KZ Spree 318 BHS
VIN: *****************
We purchased this trailer which has all name plates (VIN tag and vehicle specificaiton name plate) rating the trailer as having a GVWR of 10,000 lbs and each axel at 5,200 lbs, but the axels supplied on the trailer are only rated for 3,200 lbs. We purchased the trailer with this rating as we wanted a robust trailer, and were satisfied with one with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. After having issues with the axles and frame in the summer of 2012, we found out that the incorrect axles were installed, and that the frame was not built to withstand the rating of XXXXX lbs. We contacted Trailblazer RV of Edmonton, AB (where we purchased the trailer) on September 4, 2012, and followed up with numerous emails to KZ RV and Trailblazer from that time until October 2013. We have requested numerous times that this situation be resolved, and there has been no resolution. KZ mentioned a number of times that the frame could not support 5200 lb axles and that all of the VIN plates were misprinted. The last communication we had from KZRV was a letter dated October 28, 2013 from Mark Owens (KZ Aftermarket Services Mgr.) where he states "The GVWR is a misprint on the tags and should have said 7,000 lbs." Though this may be the case, we purchased this trailer because of its 10,000 lb GVWR rating. We have experienced damage to the trailer frame and axles because of this and would like to have this situation resolved.

Desired Settlement
The resolution we seek is that KZRV pay to replace and install a new frame and axles so that our trailer has a GVWR of XXXXX pounds, and the axles are each rated for 5200 lbs, as is listed on all the name plates.

07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Nothing but problems since the first time I brought the camper to the campground.
In the spring of 2012, I purchased a 2012 sportsman travel trailer from Southwest RV in ******* Iowa. However, from the moment we got it to our campsite, I have had nothing but trouble. Last summer, my water pump leaked, awning motor would not pull in awning, couch was messed up, bunk broke in half, border peeled off the wall, and several other things. When my campground closed for the year, i towed it to where i bought it and they were very good about doing the repairs. Now with the campground open again this year I am already having more issues. The gears under my living room slide have broken, The awning will not go back without help and my water heater is not working properly. And to top it all off, there is water leaking inside. I do not blame the company i bought it from, I blame the company that built it. I am having all these new issues again with it this year. I do not believe that i should have to pull it 100 miles again to the dealer to get this fixed. AGAIN. I am stuck with these problems now for the rest of the summer because i am in a seasonal spot and do not wanna lose it for the summer. I was very happy when i purchased this camper, but now with all the issues, unless something gets done, i am very certain that i will never own anything made by KZ again. I have dealt with *** ****** at KZ-RV. We have spoken several times but nothing seems to be getting done. In the meantime we are getting on the average 2 inches of rain per week and guess where all that water is going in my camper. I have come to the conclusion that i no longer want this camper considering all the issues i am having. The lemon law seems like it should kick in on this. The damage to the camper with the water leak is already done.

Desired Settlement
Considering all the issues I am having with this camper, and the fact that the camper had to sit at the dealers lot from November through March causing me to have to cancel my winter vacation, I believe it would be fair to say that they made a piece of junk and should replace it for me.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/ V.P.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@kz-rv.com
On or about June 21st Southwest Wholesale (****) reported contact with the customer resulting in an agreement to send a mobile service technician to the units location to perform necessary repairs. In addition, KZ will cover the service call (typically excluded by the warranty) and a follow up service will be performed at the end of the camping season.

the dealer reported the customer was happy with this service proposal. KZ will monitor the results of the service call.

OFFER:

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The leak they say they have fixed however it has not rained yet to be able to prove this. The gears that were broken under my slide that KZ sent to me were the wrong gears and had to be modified just to get on. I have been notified by the dealer that i am not to try closing my slide until they show up this fall. (What if I would Like to go somewhere?) I did tell the dealer that I would be happy with them hauling the camper down to their dealership this fall to make all the repairs. Personally the only people I have been happy with is the dealership. KZ is the ones doing all the messing up. They cannot even send the proper parts to me to even try to get my camper repaired. I would consider closing this whole mess up if KZ would offer me another 2 years worth of warranty (In writing). Considering all the issues I am having, I dont think this is to much to ask for

11/14/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In August 2010 we purchased a NEW 2011 KZ Spree & later discovered a patch in the middle of the floor after the flooring began to shrink around the patch. This patch was NOT disclosed to us. Had it been disclosed, we would NOT have purchased a new camper with a patched floor. We contacted ****, ************ service, in reference to this problem. He stated that they did not have a floor repair record & it must have been done at the factory. I contacted KZ on 6/15/12 and spoke with **** who stated "he has been in the business for 18 years and has seen this in the past and has questioned it himself". He stated he'd call me back on Tuesday, 6-19. He did not, so I called again on 6-26 and left a message. **** returned my call that day and KZ offered to seal the patch and give us $500.00 "to go away". This will NOT fix the problem. NOTE: This patch is now very obvious and is located in front of the kitchen/fridge area. Photos are available upon request.
Product_Or_Service: Spree RV
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement
Proper new factory install of the floor in ONE CONSECUTIVE piece which is what we believed we had purchased or replace with a brand new 261RKS Spree camper, same as what ours is only with proper floor install and full warranty due to their deceptive practices.

Business' Initial Response
KZ will offer to transport the unit from the dealership to the factory for replacement of the flooring. KZ will then transport the unit back to the dealership, all at no charge to the customer. The repair will require a 45 day window for completion (including transportation time). Please contact ************** V. P. Corporate to schedule the repair at (260)XXX-XXXX or by email at *****@kz-rv.com. Thank You.

Consumer's Final Response
As of 11/7/2012 KZ has not responded to our phone calls or email after stating to the BBB they would replace the floor

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicle Manufacturers, Vehicle Sales - Manufacturing Companies, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/25/2000Business started: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity

Domestic Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Delbert Miller (V.P.Corporate)Mr. Terry Slabach (CFO)Mr. Daryl Zook
Business Category

Recreational Vehicle Manufacturers, Vehicle Sales - Manufacturing Companies, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies

Products & Services

This business offers manufacturer, repair service and equipment parts and service.

Alternate Business Names
KZ Recreational Vehicles

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for KZRV, LP

985 N 900 W

Shipshewana, IN 46565-9139

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 985 N 900 W 

    Shipshewana, IN 46565-9139(260) 768-4016
    (866) 472-5460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*KZRV, LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (260) 768-2010
  • (866) 472-5460
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Recreational Vehicle Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.