BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2013

Allied Recreation Group, Inc.

Phone: (260) 724-5720

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2013 Fleetwood Storm improper caulk seal in engine compartment led to wind and water leak into RV via dash.
When driving the brand new 2013 Fleetwood Storm wind would blow from the dash. Recorded (6/26/14) what happened when a sheet was laid on the dash, the amount of wind coming in made the sheet billow. Recorded again 6/30/2014 when driving in rain, water just running along the dash. Repairs were done July 2nd 2014, service tech found inadequate seal in place at dash top to firewall.
Fleetwood refused to cover the cost of repairs *******
Service center: General RV Center Huntley, IL
Customer number: XXXXXX
Work Order: CXXXXX
Service Associate: *** *******
Cost for repairs: *******
Cost for travel to and from service: *******
Time spent driving for service: 8hrs

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a full refund of the cost for repairs, parts, and fuel in the amount of $******

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ** ******** Dispute
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@argrv.com
July 9, 2014 I spoke to the owner about his concern. I suggested that he send me a copy of his Invoice for review and possible consideration for payment. July 10, 2014 at 9:15 AM I left message for the customer asking him to call me to discuss a remedy.

OFFER:

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refused to work with us on a clearly warranty issue because "they are no longer building towables" and dont care.
We purchased an R-vision trail lite trek RV 3/27/13. Apparently Allied has bought out the original manufacturer. We had a stabilizer jack and the supports for the dinette bed fail in the same weekend (April 4 - 7) 2014. While I understand this is a week out of warranty, the "new" parent company no longer sees "good will" as an issue as they are no longer apparently building trailers and according to the impression I got from ****** ****** proud of the fact.

According to the dealer that we bought the trailer from, their technician found that not only did the stabilizer fail from improper installation, the tech stated in the work order "all 4 jacks are insufficiently supported" He recommended all 4 jacks be removed and properly installed, requiring 2.5 hours of labor (at ********* This would allow them to weld in support and replace 1 damaged jack.

As to the dinnete failure, the tech stated "improperly installed to provide proper support - mount screws were too short as well" (they were only 2-1.25" screws (my approximation)holding each support in. The tech recommended "removing and replacing COMPLETE support using bigger stronger support". They also had to make new Stiles for the support (1.0 hr labor).

The original quote for all repairs has approximately ***** In the end the dinette support was completely rebuilt and replaced by the dealer and they "paid" for it out of good will. Because of the "poor" initial installation and mounting, the dealer was unable to install a new support for the new jack, and had to us the original mounting bracket and was only able to replace all of the mounting bolts on the remaining jacks and "lubricate and test all jack play - jacks are now much more secured - the only movement remains is the normal play in the jack mechanism" (as opposed to previously moving at the jack mount instead).

I can tell a HUGE difference in the amount of play in the jacks. As this was our first trailer, I assumed the previous "movement" of the jacks were normal, only to find out (now) the true "action" of the jack.

When I spoke with Mr. ****** he had the audacity to tell me that stabilization Jacks are meant to move. When I told the service writer that, he commented that they are stabilizers they aren't meant to move at the mounting point.

This company not only blew me off in a callous and un-caring manner, they also basically told the dealer (twice) there was no way they were accepting responsibility or covering any portion of the failure.

This trailer was just over a year old. At the very least the dinette should not have failed after a year. But the fact that the dealer was willing to cover it at their expense and "parent" manufacturing company basically blew us all off tells me volumes.

Mr. Spike was unprofessional and disrespectful in his "ho-hum" relation of how callously they "shut down" all trailer operations and laid everyone off so "We dont have a goodwill account" and basically dont care about bad mouthing of our product.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see Allied, reimburse the dealer that serviced this issue and covered some of the repairs out of their own pocket (approximately ****** I would like to have the company pay for the repairs I paid for out of pocket, ******** I would also like to have them allow Curtis to actually replace the other three jacks as well in whatever manner they feel is appropriate.

And I would like a written apology from Mr ***** for his calloused attitude and some disciplinary action taken (possible requiring a class in customer support).

Business Response
May 2, 2014
BBB of Northern Indiana
4011 Parnell Avenue
Fort Wayne, IN 46805
Re: BBB Case XXXXXXXX
To Whom It May Concern:
Allied Recreation Group (f/k/a Monaco RV, LLC) has received the consumer complaint referred
to in case XXXXXXXX. The complaint references issues with the stabilizer jacks and dinette bed
which occurred after the expiration of R-Vision's limited warranty.
Upon investigation, we found that Mr. ***** spoke with the consumer about the failure of the
stabilizer jack and found that the consumer used the stabilizer jacks in a manner inconsistent
with the their purpose as outlined the vehicle owner's manual. The misuse caused one stabilizer
jack to bend at the mounting bracket. ****** ******** therefore charged the consumer for the
repair.
According to our records, ****** ******** had previously been paid by Monaco RV, LLC to
remedy the stability of the dinette bed supports. ****** ******** did not charge the consumer for
the repair to the dinette bed.
We never like to hear that a consumer is unhappy. However, in this case, we feel our actions and
decisions conform to our warranty policies. Please contact us directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if there
are further questions or comments.
Sincerely,
Angela ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find Ms. ****** response extremely insensitive and disrespectful. She states that Mr. ***** found that we used the jacks in a manner inconsistent with the purposes. The only way we could have used them inconsistently would have been if we used them for "raising" or leveling the trailer we did not. I have pictures of how the other three were used as proof of proper use. Their manual states to use blocks under the jacks and tires for leveling and stablizing. We had one block under the tires on the slide out side with chocking front and back. We had one block under all fours jacks and ran them down to snug. There were multiple blocks under the tongue jack to allow for additional room. So there was NO misuse of the jacks. Her comment flies in the face of Expert technicians that stated the jacks were improperly installed and did not meet specifications.

As to the dinette support, I have called ****** and verified there was NEVER ANY PRIOR work done to the dinette. This trail had several issues prior to our purchasing the trailer. According to the records my service writer had access to, prior to our taking ownership of this vehicle they had to do the following: Work on the roadside compartment door as it rubbed; the tv bracket was not secure; the range hood light was inoperative and the spare tire cover was damaged. This prior to us having a significant leak around the water heater exterior panel that caused water to leak into the trailer, the seal on the shower failing, a side panel that was damaged to prior to being installed was actually being installed and us (with ******* having to fight to get the manufacturer to pay to replace it.

There is NO indication of ****** having done anything on the Dinette prior to this incident and there is no reason to believe it was ever done. I find Ms. Brooks response on this entire issue typical of big business and failing to understand true customer service.

****** trailer didnt charge me for the Dinette because they could not believe that the manufacturer would not honor something that in their opinion/experience was clearly a failure on the part of the Manufacturer. If we had truly misused the jacks (as this was our 6th trip not to mention using it in the driveway for guests several times) they would have failed far sooner than this. Curtis paid for it because they clearly understand what customer service truly is and they want to keep their customers happy.

****** ******** unlike ARG knows what a true customer based business model looks like and how to ensure repeat customers.

We are talking a total of **** if everything had been done the way ****** recommended. In a company the size of ARG and the "good reputation" and "good will" they would have gotten by simply saying "while this is outside of the warranty, we will honor the warranty this time and cover the repairs", this cost would not even be a drop in the bucket

Mr. ******** comments that they are no longer making towables so they have no "goodwill" is completely shocking and totally consistent with a company that is more interested in keeping money for the owners/stockholders than they are with repeat customers.

I found him flip and dismissing. He stated the reason he was denying this was; because his parents had the exact same thing happen and he knew what caused it so we had to have used them improperly. I have been camping for decades and I think I know how to set up equipment. He callously (and rather proudly) spoke of how they closed the towable plants and laid everyone off. He had his mind decided before he even talked to me and I was wasting his time.

They may not be making towables any more, but if they have the same lack of care in their coaches that they did with their towables, they wont be in business long. I will make sure that I relay this experience to everyone that I know that has or is considering buying coaches (and I have several)and I will make sure to tell them to take their business elsewhere.

This could have been so easy and a MAJOR win for this company, but they chose to go the other way. I asked for them to reimburse ****** for their goodwill and, at a minimum, my out of pocket expense.

I am still asking for it and I believe I have the proof of the poor craftsmanship done on this trailer and the work orders to prove that this was a manufacturer issue and the dinette had not been worked on. I have more than enough proof to take this to small claims court and in Washington lawyers are not allowed in small claims court. If I choose to take this to court it will cost them a lot more than what I am asking for because I will include all the time I had to take resolve this issue, and the actual cost that should have been incurred for proper repairs.

I ask Ms. ****** to reconsider her decision and all of the elements involved. This is a spit in the bucket.

***** *****

Final Business Response
Allied Recreation Group (f/k/a **************) has received the consumer's rebuttal referred to in case ********. We have contacted the consumer directly and were able to reach an amicable resolution. The consumer will be reimbursed $****** for out of pocket expenses related to the jack repair that was performed by ***************.
Please contact us directly at (************* if there are further questions or comments.
Sincerely,
*************
Dispute Resolution Administrator

12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had the converter in rv replaced at factory repair center June 8, 2012. Failed on Sept 04 2012.Returned same 11/4. Refund denied, item returned 11/28
As above,
feb I requested the same converter be tested by local company which replaced factory installed one.
Of course, due to their workload and my travel schedule, I have only today received the results which show that the converter from the factory is bad.I understand the factory replaced fuses which alowed the converter to work. Although **** ****** ** Specialists in Gold Canyon Az explained, with fuses the converter worked until an electrical load was applied.
I feel that the warranty for the item in question should be honored since there was a one year warranty & I not only had to pay twice but also paid to return the faulty one to them in the proper timeframe. I dont think I should be held responsible for unavoidable delays with the issue or their oversight of proper testing.

I called Fleetwood today to follow up with them only to spend 30 minutes with Brian at XXX-XXX-XXXX to be told they can not do anything.
I hope you can help. Its not right for things like this to be allowed.

Desired Settlement
Refund of ******* as per their receipt.

Business Response

RE: ******** Pace Arrow motor home ******** ********BBB Case#: ********

To whom it may concern:

I am writing in reference to a complaint received by my office on October 2, 2013 concerning a 2009 Pace Arrow motor home presently owned by******** ********.

Ms. ********'s motor home was not manufactured by Fleetwood RV, Inc., but instead was manufactured by Fleetwood Motor Homes of Pennsylvania, a subsidiary of Fleetwood Enterprises, Inc. Fleetwood Enterprises, Inc. and several affiliated subsidiaries are debtors in possession under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. In proceedings commenced on March 10, 2009, and are currently pending in Riverside, California. Fleetwood Enterprises sold the Decatur-based assets of its motor home division with approval of the Federal Bankruptcy Court and exited the business.

Our records do show that Ms. ********s motor home was at our service facility in Decatur on June 5, 2012 to have several customer pay items addressed by our service shop. One of those items brought to our attention was the converter, which was diagnosed as inoperable, which was replaced with the direction of the owner. On September 4, 2013, 16 months after her service appointment we were contacted by the owner alleging the converter stopped working, and she wanted her money refunded. In an effort to assist the owner, we forwarded the converter to the perspective supplier (**********) for their evaluation of their product. Their findings concluded that the converter was working as it should. Therefore, the owner's request for a refund was denied.

The converter that was installed in Ms. ********'s motor home is warranted by ******** , ********, Elkhart, Indiana not Fleetwood RV, Inc. Therefore, any consideration regarding reimbursement should be directed to ********.

Respectfully,
******** ********
Dispute Resolution Administrator Fleetwood RV, Inc.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not been notified of details of 'resolution'
However,all they have to do is refund the ******* to my address:

********************************************

I have been co-operating with fleetwood long enough and all they are attempting to do is 'negotiate'. There is no negotiating.
I will pursue farther if necessary
Thank you again for your assistance.

Final Business Response
*****,

I reviewed all the attachments you sent me. Thanks again. With that in mind, I processed the necessary paperwork this afternoon to have a check cut to Ms. ********** for the amount of ******** Check should be cut this week. If you have any questions, please give me a call.

**** ** *******

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I BOUGHT THE RV BRAND NEW, IT HAS HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES AND I HAVEN'T EVEN BEEN ABLE TO USE IT. IT DOES NOT WORK AND THEY WILL NOT GIVE ME A NEW ONE.
PROBLEM DATE: DEC 21
PURCHASE DATE: DEC 21
MODEL NUMBER: DISCOVERY: *****XXXXXXX
SALES REP: ***** *******
PAYMENT METHOD: CASH/ CREDIT

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund, if not a brand new replacement. I think it is unfair that I was never able to use my RV and they are giving me such a hard time to obtain a refund on a product that was clearly damaged.
I purchased the RV with ** **** ** **** ** *** ****
**** ** ****** ** XXXXX

Business Response
We are writing in response to your email notice regarding our customer Mr.*****. Thank you for forwarding his complaint and allowing us the opportunity to respond.
We recently completed repairs to this motor home at our factory service center here in Decatur. Our service department performed repairs to the slide room and it was fully functional prior to shipment back to our customer.
When the coach was returned to the customer he reported that the slide room would not retract fully at the forward part of the slide room. However, during the return of the motor home the delivery service noticed an issue that required repairs at an authorized Freightliner chassis repair facility in Ocala, Florida. During the chassis repairs the Freightliner dealer disconnected the batteries of the coach. This
can result in a loss of the programming for the slide room controller. Unfortunately, reprogramming the controller requires a special tool. Since we have the needed tools and we suspect that the controller for the slide room simply needs to be reprogrammed, we offered to send our personnel directly to Mr.
****'s home to investigate and repair this issue. Despite our offer to come to him and repair this issue he has stated that he is unwilling to allow us to resolve this issue for him.
We again respectfully request that we be allowed to inspect the coach and resolve the slide room concern. We stand ready to respond and fully resolve the issue with the slide room if given the opportunity.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The RV has been getting fixed for 6 months now, I have not been able to use it for the last 6 months.
Each time they take the rv to be fixed they add on 1000's of miles.
Once they fix this issue another issue will occur because that is exactly what has been going on for the last 6 months, it is extremely frustrating and time consuming.
I will not accept this offer, I want a full refund if not a brand new replacement.


Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dispute Resolution

We have received an email from the customer with his demand and we are reviewing his compensation request at this time.

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It has been days and we still have not received a response.

04/25/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicle Manufacturers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.