BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2016

Wolf Corp.

Phone: (260) 749-9393Fax: (260) 749-5829

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the mattress has failed. The product had completely collapsed and is not most uncomfortable to sleep on.
I sent to below to the retailer:
I am writing about a futon I purchased on 6/20/2014 from your company. The mattress is now starting to collapse and is not comfortable at all to sleep on. I can push on either side we sleep on and feel the frame below. I need to know what we can do about this since the mattress does come with a 5 year warranty.
Please let me know my options
Order Date: 6/20/2014
Order Number: S4F-5215

They responded with the following:

Hello *******,

I am sorry that you are having this issue with your futon mattress. I have
forwarded your message to the manufacturer and you can expect to hear from
them within a day or two.

FYI - Some compression of fill materials is to be expected over time. This
can vary with usage. We have a method that we recommend to help with
recovery from compression:

Hang the mattress over a railing, the back of your futon frame or a couch so
that one half of the mattress is hanging straight down toward the floor. Use
a flat object such as a broom or tennis racket to firmly strike the mattress
repeatedly. Do this to both sides of the mattress. This will help
redistribute the fill materials and fluff up the mattress.

Sincerely,
******
Shop 4 Futons!
XXX-XXX-XXXX
IThis was sent to the company account executive who did come out to my home and looked at the mattress, and took pictures. Some time later he replied with the following:

Dear Mr. *****,





I have an offer to make regarding your dissatisfaction with the performance of the Serta Willow futon you received from Shop4Futons in June of 2014. After coming to your home to take a first hand look at your futon mattress I have to admit the futon did look a little compressed but I also believe this model of futon mattress would better serve as the primary seating medium for an everyday futon chair or sofa. This model, a Serta Willow, is not so well suited to be a full time sleeping mattress. Working from that premise I have decided along with the expert advice from Wolf Futons & Mattresses, the licensed manufacture of the Serta Willow futon mattress, to offer a good quality mattress from Wolf's Slumber Rest mattress line up. This particular product is part of Wolf's quick ship - press & roll parcel shipping program. Using a process called press & roll Wolf can package a complete coil spring mattress in such a way that it can easily be shipped directly to your home just like the futon mattress you ordered from Shop4Futons. I have been able to arrange through Wolf Corporation and Shop4Futons to have a standard Queen size mattress sent to your home at a price below wholesale along with free freight. There are two models to choose from and both mattress models will do a great job at providing you with good comfort and support for sleeping. One model is called the Mateo and has a medium firm support level while the other model called the Verde has an extra firm support level. Each model has a high profile 336 coil spring system and same HR foam block perimeter. The Verde model is described as extra firm; it has a Wolf bonded insulator pad and firmer coils. Both mattresses are covered in a luxury stretch knit material that allows the mattress to more easily contour to your body. The discounted price for the Mateo is $210.00 and the price of the firmer Verde runs $275.00 delivered to your front door. Either choice will do a great job and either choice is a good value for you.
Please let me or ****** ********* know if this is satisfactory. Also, the Willow futon cushion is yours to keep, it still has some very useful utility left and we hope you will find a good place for it in your home or to some needy organization if you choose to do so.

******* ******
Wolf Futons & Mattresses
Sales Account Executive

Desired Settlement
This mattress was purchased in June of 2014 and has failed in less than 6 months. I have sent several requests to Mr. Turner and emails as has my wife but we are not getting a response. What I want is a new replacement mattress or my money back. The mattress was never marketed as a product that was not to be used everyday. If it was I would have never bought it. I feel as I am having a bait and switch pulled here. They are not wanting to honor the warranty and instead have me pay even more money to correct a problem that they have caused. Please help here. Again what I am wanting is a replacement mattress or my money back plus the shipping I paid and the cost to dispose of the mattress. I f you need I can forward all of the e-mail communications and transactions to you if you need them for review.

Thank you for your time

******* *****

Business Response
Maybe you should re contact the customer. They received a new futon mattress. ****

10/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of extremely poor quality futon mattresses
I purchased 2 mattresses. Both were of extremely poor quality. I want a refund and have not heard back from the company after an exchange of 10-14 emails. The first email was a complaint I sent out in April 2014. I purchased these futons through an online company called the ************** stores and emailed them:

am writing to complain about both mattresses that I ordered from the ************** stores in the recent past.

1. Order# XXXXX for a USF-4 Mattress in Feb 2014. This mattress is less than one month old and is sagging in the middle. This order replaced her old futon mattress ( a USF-3 I bought in 2004!!) . My daughter is petite and weighs less than 90 lbs.

2. Order # XXXXX for a USF-2 mattress in Sep 2013. This one is just about 6 months old and is already lumpy and uncomfortable as ****. It is for occasional use in my study - on a rarely used twin bed. I use that bed for naps.

After I sent the email, **** Corp asked to see pictures which were provided. Person I corresponded was ***** **********

Desired Settlement
Refund of $ 322.98 for the two mattresses plus $40 for disposal of both mattresses. Total refund of 362.98.

Business Response
**** Corporation has been in contact with consumer on a consistent basis. The last e mail was the consumer stating "A replacement may have been acceptable at the start of our correspondence 3 months ago in April 2014. At this point, I just want a refund." When initial complaint was made known to us we suggested that we'd send 2 replacement futons and the replacements would be like the one she ordered 18 years ago. Consumer did not accept this offer. Consumer did not purchase the items from Wolf and this is why it is not possible for us to reimburse money/provide refund. We are still very willing to ship replacements. Thank you for the inquiry, **** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On both occasions, I purchased the mattresses from ****** ******* store and when I contacted the store about dissatisfaction, my emails were sent up to Wolf.

I have replaced one of the mattresses with an alternate one and I do not believe that a replacement makes sense for that one. I can accept a replacement for the 6-inch mattress. I replaced the USF-4 that did not last even 2 months. I have the mattress in a closet and happy to ship it back to the Manufacturer. I would like Wolf Corp to pay for either shipping these two mattresses back to them or disposal in NJ. Disposal costs about $50/-. I camn call my disposal company and confirm disposal charges. To summarize, I would like one mattress replaced and disposal of BOTH bad mattresses.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would hate to see Wolf pass the buck on to the ****** ******* Stores who are a small business. This is issue is not about the mechanism of the sale but about the product. The label on these futons has a 5 year warranty. The Inside Outside store sent me a vague email about refund on one mattress less 30% and I'd just like to see concrete numbers back. I initiated this complaint before one year of purchase on both mattresses.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****, VP of Sales

**** Corp has gone beyond trying to satisfy this customer. She did not buy the futon mattresses directly from us so we are unable to refund her the monies that she wants. The one futon is a year old. We have repeatedly said that we are willing to replace the futon mattresses. This is the best we can do and I am quite certain more than other manufacturer's would do.

OFFER:

09/07/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A mattress set for 3500 dollars and the top mattresses developed a slump after only three months of use. Factory did not responsibility for the issue.
Purchased March 6 2015, total price for the set was 3368.25 dollars.Reported problem on August 3
We bought the top of the line Tranquility Twin Pillow Top mattresses directly from the factory. My wife and I are not big people and we rotated the mattress every month but in three months the mattresses develop a slump. We contacted the factory and they instructed us that we had to purchase plastic and wrap up t6he mattress and bring it to back to the factory for repair. I dropped them off at 8 am of the day of appointment and was told to pick them up at 4. When I showed up at 4 they were still sitting where I left them. I insisted on knowing why a ten year warranted mattress would fail in three months and if they were going to repair it in the same manner was I going to have to bring back in 3 months. They told me they would get back to me with an answer. They called me the next day said they did not recommend repair and offered to replace them for several hundred dollars. When I pushed back on the fact they were only 3 months old and that was unfair. They informed me that there was a stain on one of the mattress and that voids the warranty. I said I don't believe that there was any stains on the mattress and I wanted to see it. When they showed us the stain it took twenty minutes to find it and you almost needed a microscope to see it. So we paid for mattress and was told that we could pick up the new ones in three days. They did not care that we were sleeping on the couches, that it our responsibly to deliver and pick up mattresses, did not keep their commitments and acted as if it was our fault that their 10 year mattress failed in three months. Based on our experience with Wolf I cannot recommend them.

Desired Settlement
I think the mattresses were defective and did not sand up to the ten year warranty. The 132 dollars that we had to pay should be refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Beth ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@wolfcorp.com
The following came from the customer service rep that worked with the couple: Yes. They bought adjustable bed bases and tranquility pillowtop to go with it. They came back saying that they have a big indent where the adjustable bed bends. I had them bring them back in to get fixed.
They brought them back in one had a small stain on it so we said that we could not work on that one. Wife came by and had me show her where it was stained and was very upset.
They asked if this was going to happen again in a few months and break down again because of the use with an adjustable bed base and if so do we recommend any other bed. I asked Greg and Dave and they said that Sedona or a 1 sided would be better. We gave them 1 Sedona Twin xl at no cost but since there was a stain on the one we charged at our cost the one at 131. We also gave them back the 2 mattress that they had bought originally.
This is Beth **** speaking now: Any mattress that has a stain, no matter how small, will nullify a warranty. The mattresses were not defective but not the best choice to be used with an adjustable bed frame. We gave them the 2 mattresses that they purchased back and provided one new one at no cost and the 2nd one that had a stain ($131) to cover our direct cost only. I do apologize that they we did not have the problem corrected when we said we were. Unfortunately August is our busiest time of the year.

OFFER:
I believe the situation was handled correctly except for having them have to wait an extra day. We apologixe for that inconvenience.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Mattress Makers Supplies, Fiber & Fiber Products, Manufacturers & Producers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.