BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/11/2009

TruGreen

Phone: (260) 489-6550Fax: (260) 489-4185

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Trugreen applied chemicals to my lawn which were harmful to my recently seeded lawn.

Trugreen didn't have permission & hasn't returned my calls
On Sat. 5/11/2013 I came home at 11AM to find a Trugreen form attached to my door indicated their specialist had applied 45 lbs of a pre-emergent chemical to my lawn.

I had prepaid contracts with Trugreen in 2010 and 2011. The 2011 contract was discontinued after 4 of 5 treatments and the 5th treatment was applied in April 2012. Furthermore, in written correspondence with this office in April 2012 it was acknowledged that I was not renewing my contract as I had for the past 2 years.

On Saturday morning May 11, 2013 their tech applies a treatment to my lawn without a contract or my permission. The following Monday I made several attempts to contact the Trugreen office in Fort Wayne. On numerous occasions the call center agents leave email messages for a manager to follow-up with me. I am assured I will be contacted in 24 to 48 hours.

After no response from any Trugreen staff whatsoever I follow up on Tues May 14th, Thursday May 16th, and Friday May 17th.

During one of my follow-up calls I am told that because I did't notify Trugreen that I was cancelling the 2012 contract, these services automatically renew for 2013. During another call I'm am told this service is the final application from last year's contract.

It is obvious to me the data Trugreen has is inaccurate and incorrect.

Today I received an invoice in the mail for this service and I again attempted to call the local office.

The call center agent I spoke with issued me a credit memo for this ersatz invoice for this improper service and again wrote an email to the manager to contact me.

This is no way to run a business or to treat a former customer.




Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@trugreenmail.com
I have attempted to contact customer twice. Will wait on return call to rectify situation.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: Service was performed when asked not to, A call to Trugreen was ignored.
A lawn specialist came to my home on 4/24/13 to treat my lawn. He was asked not to treat the lawn, he continued preparing to treat lawn when told again not to treat the lawn he replied that he was a specialist and he knew what he was doing and he treated the lawn. I had just seeded with grass seed which will not germinate because of the treatment. I called TruGreen that evening made my complaint and was told a supervisor would call me within 24 hrs. After 48 hrs I called TruGreen again and cancelled any further treatments.

Business' Initial Response
I have left a message with the customer and will reattempt at 3:30 per a person whom answered the phone. We have credited the service is question and will reseed the areas of the lawn where she had already done the work.

Business' Final Response
Ms ****** and I talked today. We came to an agreement that we will reseed her lawn in the fall for the troubles. I have assured her that we will take care of the issues on our side and she is deciding whether to continue service with us. I have given her my direct number to stay in communication so that we can continue to service her needs.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trugreen does my lawn treatment since last 6 years... This summer I contacted them to do the aeration and double seeding for my Lawn. I accepted their price quote and gave my permission to do the service. I was told they will schedule and do the service ASAP. But this service was never done and I could not contact other lawn service company because I was travelling and out of town and by the time I was back it was too late for this service. When I contacted Trugreen... they agreed that they missed to do the service. But that was not enough for me because by not having this service done my Lawn is in a really bad shape and with all patches; it might need some other expensive service. I requested to speak to supervisor so that my concern can be addressed, I was promised that someone will contact me but that never happened. Very bad business practice and because of this now my lawn is in bad shape.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:***************,Office Mgr
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *************@trugreenmail.com
We got a new operation system the 1st of October and our computer system was down for 2 weeks. Unfortunately when it came up things were a jumble. We tried to get everyones work done some of it we were unable to find in the new system. Mr. ******'s lawn is probably patchy due to the extreme drought we had this past summer. An double pass aeration and overseed would not have filled in any patchy or bare areas it is not made to do that to the lawn. So even if we would have completed this svc it his lawn would still be patchy and bare in areas.

OFFER:
We got a new operation system the 1st of October and our computer system was down for 2 weeks. Unfortunately when it came up things were a jumble. We tried to get everyones work done some of it we were unable to find in the new system. Mr. ******'s lawn is probably patchy due to the extreme drought we had this past summer. An double pass aeration and overseed would not have filled in any patchy or bare areas it is not made to do that to the lawn. So even if we would have completed this svc it his lawn would still be patchy and bare in areas.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company performed and is billing for unauthorized services. They (allegedly) performed "Tree and Shrub" service that I had not authorized and are charging $***. This service is not part of the 6 regular applications that are part of the original agreed upon service. In past years they have called to ask about performing this additional service in the fall. This year I did not give permission to perform this additional service but I'm being charged for it anyway.

Business' Initial Response
This customers account is at zero balance and he does not owe us anything and all servcies have been canceled.

Consumer's Final Response
Despite the claim that my account has been cleared, I today received collection notices for this balance from a collection agency.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************** GM

We have suspended this from *** our outside collection agency.We apolagize for this mistake.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Company did not show up to provide services or call after not showing up. Complaint calls were not returned and ignored. Lied to several times.
Mid summer of 2012 we contracted and prepaid for lawn services. Numerous appointments for service did not occur and no phone call was made to alert us of non arrival. After repeated complaint calls, we were ignored and lied to numerous times about follow up service, follow up calls and eventually upon cancellation of services, they still would not return calls or refund money. They lied to us about cancelling our service, and never did it after telling us they did and that we would receive a refund check. Cancellation was to occur on XX-X-XX but has not happened to this day and our refund check has not been cut or sent to us. EVERY CALL that we made to them was unreturned and we were lied to on EVERY CALL by phone personnel. They insisted on prepayment of services but did not provide over half of the contracted services. Out of 6 contracted appointments, they showed up for 3 services. Out of at least the next 12 scheduled times for service, they did not show up for any, or call. Every complaint resulted in no call backs. We are very unhappy and tried to express this to them on over a dozen calls over the last 2 months with no response or refund in our hand. They gave us confirmation numbers for cancellation on 2 occasions and neither happened. All we wanted was for them to show up for their scheduled appointments and do the service we paid for. It becomes ridiculous when you can't get the services, call backs on complaints, or a simple refund. We have used this company in the past for years with no problems and this year it seems like it's a different company. Excuses we have heard from them include a new computer system, an incorrect auto call system, and plain management failure. After explaining to us at the on set of service the amount of extensive schooling that they train their employees with, we were subjected to amateur lawn care practices. We would never use or recommend this company again.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@trugreenmail.com
We processed the consumers check request today. The consumer should recieve this in 1-2 weeks and our Accounts Reciavable Supervisor told me she spoke with Mr. ****** today. We apolagize for the inconviance as we swithed computer systems and this information did not transfer over.

OFFER:

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason why we do not accept the response given is because we have been told this before many times and we still have not received the refund check. When we actually receive the refund check and it clears through our bank, we will finally be satisfied with closing this case. I did speak to the Accounting Supervisor on the 25th of October and was told that I would receive the refund check in 3-4 days. Today is November 3rd and we have not received the check that was promised. I again called on November 2nd and was assured once again that the check was coming.We have been told over and over that they apologize and that we will receive a refund check to no avail. We will continue to relay information to the BBB as this case progresses. Regards, ****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Insect Control Devices, Tree Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.