BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/1991

House of Windows Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (219) 922-5050Fax: (219) 922-5049View Additional Phone Numbers9434 Indianapolis Blvd., HighlandIN 46322-2613 Send email to House of Windows Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/1991

BBB has determined that House of Windows Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised House of Windows Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on House of Windows Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Need reimbursement for $ ***** to cover the cost of downspout extensions which were included in quote but never supplied.
The salesman for Kraz told me that flexible gutter extensions were included in the quote. The installing crew had no knowledge of this requirement. I noted the situation on Kraz's "How did we do" sheet. After a few more phone calls, the salesman arrived with WHITE extensions, I had just paid Kraz a whole bunch of money to change the gutters from the existing WHITE ones to wineberry. We had covered that the extensions would be brown (the closest thing to wineberry). I sent Kraz a request for $ ***** to cover the cost of the extensions which I purchased at ******* on 5/14/14. I followed up with a text to the salesman. No reply.
I didn't make a big deal about the air conditioner cover that was ruined, or the scuff left in my lifetime roofing. Or the fact the downspouts didn't have the offset in them. Or that the flashing wasn't replaced (and now when I look out of the kitchen window, I get to look at the white strip above the gutters on the garage). Honestly, I'm very disappointed.

Desired Settlement
Please send $*****.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@krazman.com
We spoke with Mr. ***** and resolved the issue. The gutter extensions were not part of the written contract, but as a show of good faith we agreed to reimburse Mr. ***** *******

It is our understanding that Mr. ***** wishes to rescind his complaint since it was a simple miscommunication.


OFFER:
****** being mailed out Tuesday, June 3rd.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty fencing product installed, no response from company after calling 2 times and being assured the installer would contact me to set appt.
we had Kraz install a wood fence at the rear of our yard- the remainder is chain link fencing. It replaced a 20 yr old wood fence that fell in a winter storm. It was finally installed in early April 2013- just at the deadline of promised installation. In May, one of the planks fell off & cracked in 1/2 (that was corrected). By late May, I noticed that several of the planks and posts (16) had large cracks in them. I contacted Kraz on June 6th. Was told the installer would contact me to set an appt. to come check it. He never called. I called back on July 1st, and was told they would have him contact me for an appointment. Again, he never called me. I am home 24/7 as a stay-at-home mom, so I am available and here. Both times I called, the woman who answered said "cracking is normal when the wood dries. They put a fence in my yard and one of the posts has a crack too." I told her, "well I am counting 16 planks and posts with significant cracking. It replaced a 20 yr old wood fence that didn't have as many cracks as this one does!" We definitely overpaid for this fence ****** for one stretch of fence- obviously cheap wood). We'd checked into pricing of materials prior- and of better quality product- and the materials would have only costed around **** for a better quality product (without installation). I was here when they completed the work... 2 guys and done within 1 1/2 hours total. I hardly think the labor warrants the price. In any case, not only is the product less than quality... the customer service is clearly lacking. I had no problem getting constant phone calls from the sales person (like daily) when we were closing the deal... but now no response when the product is complete and has issues. I also have gotten sales calls to install further products- all while I am waiting for a response on the service I already have issues with. It seems to me they avoid payment issues on their end by turning the bill over to a credit card- they get paid immediately and you pay the credit card bill. Thus, you cannot stop payment on their faulty product to get them to resolve the issue either. Very disappointing service from this company. Also, one of the cracked planks is also now bowing out. Again- the previous 20 yr old wood fence didn't have these issues- but my 5 month old fence does. I am not calling back a 3rd time, only to be ignored again.

Desired Settlement
not only should these issues be investigated and corrected so that I have a quality product- but I also believe they should refund some of the $2000 we overpaid for a less than quality product. Or they could refund the entire amount and I will find a quality provider to correct the issues.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** / GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@krazman.com
*** ******* our manager, went to the customer's home on September 3rd to review the situation. He took pictures of the fence and determined we should change a few pieces and posts. We are scheduled to begin the work on September 17th and be done by September 20th.

Upon review most of the cracks in the wood are natural and unavoidable. We suggest that the customer stain the fence as soon as we complete the service to help prevent any future damage.

Our company policy has always been to help and service our customers to the best of our ability. The "Richardson's" should feel free to contact us in the future with any service issues.

OFFER:
Service/Repair Issues as described above

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue was the minimization of the damage to the fence (not just a few posts & planks- it is several) and that I was not told to immediately stain the fence as stated, nor do I agree that this is normal/ unavoidable damage. After 1 month of the fence being up, there was all sorts of splitting to posts and planks, and bowing to some planks. That is not typical of a new fence. So the issue with my response is that the condition of the fence is being minimized, as if we are making a big deal out of nothing- and that is not the case. Likewise, I'd asked when it was first installed if I should stain & seal it- and was told "no- not until late Fall at the earliest." When *** came out to see it, he indicated that we should have stained & sealed it- and I told him that I was directed not to do so (suggesting that we are somehow at fault for not doing so- when I was told not to do so yet.) I asked again this time, and was told in late October or that it could even wait until Spring... and then the response says I was told to do so "immediately" once it is repaired, which again was not the case. I am simply clarifying things for the record and do not appreciate any untruths in the response. "The text of your response may be publicly posted on the bbb web site (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in your response. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may edit your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language." 2 things- 1) you used our name in the response 2) response is to be a truthful account. Thus, I responded to clarify.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *** ***** / GM

We serviced the customers fence yesterday. We consider this matter closed.

OFFER:

11/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After the job was finished, we did a walkthrough and noticed cracks in the concrete, oil stains, tire marks and a cracked grease trap cover.
Roofing job started 5-Oct-15 and ended 6-Oct-15. Contract #XXXXX was signed on 18-Aug-15 for $14,671.00. Check #4878 was for $100 as a down payment. John ***** was the sales rep. He said that he'd return 2 weeks after the job was finished. We have made several attempts to reach out to him, explained the problem also, but it has been almost a month since the job was completed and he we have received no follow-up. We've sent pictures to the roofing supply company. They responded by asking for the contact information of the location where they could obtain the grease trap cover. We found out that information from our water department. The supply company told us that they'd return on 23-Oct-15 to replace the cover. We still haven't heard from them and it's been a week. When we initially complained to the roofing supply company, we were told that we signed a waiver saying that the 40,000 lb., 8.5 ft wide truck, carrying 10,000 lbs of roofing materials could maneuver it's way onto our 4" deep concrete side driveway. Then we were told, "well the foreman signed off on it." The companies are pointing fingers at each other. Either way, I signed an agreement to get my roof done. They are the one's that contracted the other company to deliver the supplies. We've been chasing both of them down for weeks now which no action from either. It is imperative that this be resolved before winter sets in. I can't afford to have foundation damage to my house due to this damage. We refuse to drive near the cracks because we fear more damage. We wouldn't be able to pull all the way into the driveway anyway due to the grease trap cover that is broken. We will not risk the plywood cover coming off and a wheel going into the whole. We just hope that no one drives into our driveway when I'm not home. Due to the damages in the driveway now, we can only use a fraction of the driveway and are unable to put the car in the garage. By the way...We had plywood underneath the car in the backyard because of an oil leak. After they realized the grease trap cover was broken, someone removed the plywood, without permission, and used it to cover the grease trap.

Desired Settlement
At this time, there are 6 squares of concrete that are stained, with tire marks and 5 of the squares are cracked. I would like these 6 squares to be completely replaced before it starts to get too cold and before the 1st snowfall. There is a grease trap cover that is broken and it needs to be replaced. There is a crack that leads to the grease trap, so we're not sure what type of repairing that will require. If these are not repaired before snowfall, this will become a significant problem for the property. In addition, we could be held liable if a child/animal or something/one small falls into that whole. But that is only a temporary fix. Now there is a potential of 7 squares being damaged. We had the plywood under the car for a reason.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Luis *** ***** - GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 104
Contact Email: *****@krazman.com
After receiving the complaint we contacted the customer and discussed the situation. The customer is aware that Kraz Construction did not damage her property. I did tell the customer that we would work as a mediator between the supplier and the customer. Mrs. ******** told me she was getting a couple of quotes to repair her driveway and would call me back. When Mrs. ******** calls me after receiving her quotes we will help her receive compensation from the supplier.

OFFER:

07/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The negotiated and verbally agreed upon monthly payment was not honored and instead increased the payments over $25 a month.
We received an estimate for the cost of 15 windows for our home. The original financing offer from the Kraz finance team was a monthly payment in the low $200's for all but 3 of the windows. I explained that I wanted $150 per month and was not planning to go over that monthly payment amount. At that comment I was told that for $150 per month I could only get half of the windows. I politely said that it was OK, that we would think about it and maybe get the windows next spring instead.

I then, within a matter of a few minutes, received a second call from the **** finance team and he was still offering low $200's a month but this time for all 15 windows. I again reminded him that I did not want to go over my $150 per month budget and that it was OK to cancel our estimate and we would consider window replacement at another time.

I was VERY specific with the gentleman at ******* finance team that I did not want(nor could afford) to go over a $150 per month for the payments.

After a third phone call, again just a few minutes after the second one, the gentleman in Kraz's finance department stated that the Manager had gotten us approved for $150 per month, 0% interest for 60 months for all 15 windows. (This calculated to $9,000 for the windows.) I immediately accepted THIS verbal offer.

Later that day the Sales Rep came to our home to sign off on the invoice. The invoice stated an amount financed and the 0% for 60 months. It did not specify a monthly payment. My husband signed the agreement before I even made it home figuring that the 0%/60 months was what I had verbally negotiated and agreed to with ******* finance team.

My windows were installed on Saturday, July 18th. They are beautiful and the installers were fabulous.

On, Monday, July 20th I received my first statement from ***** ****** the financer of my windows. The bill does indeed have the 0% for 5 years but my monthly payment is $178.34. This is over the $150 per month maximum amount verbally agreed upon with the **** finance team.

I called this morning to speak to a manager. The lady that I spoke to said that he was in a meeting at the time but could she help. I explained what happened and her response was "well you got what was the best you could get". I told her "No, that was NOT what was quoted to me on the phone and what I agreed to pay."

She then proceeded to bring up the invoice that my husband signed. I pointed out to her that unless my spouse had pulled out a calculator and did a math calculation we would not have had any knowledge that what was being signed (with the 5 yr/0% detailed out) would have resulted in the larger payment then what was verbally agreed to.

At this point there is little that I can do, even if they gave me a credit of the $1,700 overcharge on the windows and even if I put that money down on my bill, it won't lower my monthly payment. I am stuck, for the next 5 years, with a payment that is $28.34 over my budget and although it may not seem like a lot, that is almost the same cost as one week of after school care for my child.

I feel that Kraz was decpective in their negotiations and was doing everything they could to just make a deal. If they couldn't deliver on what they verbally quoted then the finance guy should not have been allowed to offer the deal in the first place.

Desired Settlement
I expected **** to honor their original verbal agreement with me. I agreed to $150 for 60 months for the 15 windows installed. This amount totalled $9,000.00.

What I was charged was $10,700.00. I feel that even though I am ultimately going to be stuck paying more per month than I agreed to, **** should have honored our original agreement and refunded me the $1,700.

Instead, they are refunding me $90 for 3 months of the additional cost of my monthly payments. The manager said that they "lost" money on my deal and that they could have gotten me a lower payment but it would have been with a 9% interest rate and a revolving line.

Truthfully, Kraz didn't lose any money. They wouldn't have done the deal at all if that was the case. I am the one that after the 3 months and the "refund" they are giving is gone will be losing as I will be paying extra money for the next 4+ years on a deal that didn't honor what was verbally agreed upon.

I expected a much higher quality of treatment from Kraz. I am truly, truly disappointed in them. My husband and I had plans to use them in the future for fencing and other home improvement needs but now, I could never trust them again. A company's reputation and not always the cost is a factor when I choose services. It's a shame that **** doesn't value their reputation and that they would, maybe not totally intentional, scam their customers.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Luis *** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx104
Contact Email: *****@krazman.com
The customer signed a contract with us on 06/13/15 for $12,695. On 6/17/15 we reduced the price of the contract by $1895 making the new contract price $10,800. Even though we agreed to reduce the price no work described in the contract was changed. The customer signed the amendment reducing the price. On that same day the customer signed 2 documents from ***** ***** **** authorizing and agreeing to the financing terms. It's clearly stated on both documents how the monthly payments are calculated. Furthermore, ***** ***** charged us $1765.50 to give the customer 5 years of no interest. We have bent over backwards to accommodate the customer. **** ************ emailed ***** ************ copies all the signed documents to prove our side.




OFFER:
Nothing. Actually we rescind our show of good faith offer of $90, as the customer did not show good faith by filing this meritless complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I think it is again showing their level of unprofessional behavior for them to recind their offer of the $90 refund. As stated in my original comments, the verbal agreement that I accepted was for $150 for 5 years. **** did a bait and switch on me. As a consumer how would I be aware of what Wells Fargo was charging them. As I stated before, if they were losing money on the deal they should NOT have offered the verbally given terms.

Their offer of now nothing in the way of compensation for breaking our verbal agreement once again shows their integrity as a company. I guess ultimately I am a victim of believing in the reputation of a company that they would abide to a verbal agreement and not reading the "fine" line.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2002Business started: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Please check your phone directory for the phone number of your County or City Building Department.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1992, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luis DelRisco (General Manager)
Business Category

Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers installation of vinyl replacement windows and vinyl siding.

Alternate Business Names
Kraz Construction
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.
Industry Tips
3 day cooling off rule

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for House of Windows Inc.

9434 Indianapolis Blvd.

Highland, IN 46322-2613

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9434 Indianapolis Blvd. 

    Highland, IN 46322-2613(888) 838-5729
    (219) 922-5050
    Fax: (219) 922-5049

  • 211 W. Monroe Ave. 

    South Bend, IN 46601-2209(574) 233-9730

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*House of Windows Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 838-5729
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

3 day cooling off rule
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.