BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/1992

E. E. Brandenberger Construction

Find a Location

Phone: (260) 657-5878Fax: (260) 657-571115428 Boger Rd, SpencervilleIN 46788-9634 Send email to E. E. Brandenberger Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/1992

BBB has determined that E. E. Brandenberger Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised E. E. Brandenberger Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on E. E. Brandenberger Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Numerous continued problems pre/post build of home-Most current 1/6/14 snow/ice accumulating inside house west wall and ceiling of home bed/bath.
Entered into agreement for home to be built 3/29/2013 price not including lot 284,048. Since beginning of framing of our new home to date have had numerous documented issues with contractors product (our home) that have ultimately left us stressed, disappointed, sick to our stomachs, and even homeless in November by selecting EEB to build our home. Errors per spec/agreement, inability to accomplish special requests that we wanted our home to have, miscommunications between contractors to subcontractors, contractors amongst themselves, contractors to us, organizational flow of tasks,damages/repairs to home that were band-aid instead of remedied in entirity. I have numerous email communication trails from begining up to date of complaints/repairs/items needing completed through build and have agreed punch list that still has missing items in need of completion some now weather permitting since they were not addressed early on. When we moved into our home we spent 2 days cleaning and scrubbing concrete floors that still have thick plaster, and paint covering. Plastic wrap holding instalation in basement falling down that we have had to secure,concrete clips that still remain(some taken off, some not on basement wall; could go on but at this point tiresome. Since moving into home we have had 2 leaks, sump pump problems, electrical repairs that we are still awaiting,and now to date 1/6/14 we have ice and snow accumulation inside my sons room and kids bathroom and closet that is on walls and ceiling. I have contacted EEB and they have stated they beleive that due to weather conditions insallation as came off of west side of house will need reinsulated; my concern is since this will probably continue for several days or next week before someone is out and due to snow/ice in wall/ceiling I am concerned of water damage, future mold, and if issue will have a band aid or will be remedied in full and home would pass inspection after repair. I do have numerous email trails of communciations between us and contractor; EEB conducted walk thru's with us and is aware of dissatisfaction and does make efforts to correct, from the begining I looped in bank early on due to concerns, contacted home builders association who suggested I call BBB which I did in late summer they suggested I file a formal complaint and I have held off hoping all would be remedied to the best it can be and we can just settle into home and deal with some of the daily reminders of the past year after all we feel partly responsible since we selected EEB. Most important for me and my husband is that we want to protect our investment and make sure this is a safe and solid house for years to come.

Desired Settlement
Immediate correction of insulation repairs needed to west side of home and professional inspection of repair to ensure code; dry wall repairs, and paint due to any water damage.

Remaining punch items from list to be completed weather permitting. Electrician to be contacted to trouble shoot 2 motion sensors in back that do not work. Any further identification of major repairs/issues to be addressed timely; 1 year walk through addressing concerns including repairs of dry wall cracks, pops, and paint after repair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@aol.com
We would like to address the issue at hand which seems to be the crux of ****** entire complaint. Her complaint is that she contacted us on January 6th 2014, in the midst of record freezing temperatures outside of -17 F, -40 with wind chill factor, and blizzard conditions with sustained winds above 35 mph, at 8:14 PM, at which time ******* had answered his phone in order for her to let us know that she had an area of her son's room (2' x 2' area) that had frost coming through the ceiling in one corner of the bedroom, as well as a small area where the bathroom exhaust fan was located (which has had no problems despite all the previous cold weather).

With *******'s 60+ years of expertise with what *** stated, he figured out the problem and told *** that he would have that looked at and taken care of the first chance our insulator could get out, due to the poor weather conditions. Our insulator was under a snow emergency until Tuesday evening and spent Wednesday digging himself out with all the snow. Our insulator tried to contact the owner Wednesday January 8th at 12:12 PM, and again Thursday January 9th at 4:45 PM, but was unable to leave a message for the owner as their voicemail was full and would not allow it.

Our insulator did make contact with *** Friday morning, at which point he scheduled an appointment and had the problem fixed by 2:24 PM. It was the insulators opinion -- which concurred with *******'s assessment -- that the problem was created due to the blizzard conditions and record breaking low temperatures. Our insulation met all code requirements prior to the winter storm, and now meets code again after correcting the problem which was created due to the storm.

*** stated in her complaint that we would only "band-aid" problems if they would arise. We assure anyone that our word of mouth advertising for over 46-plus years of business, and being known as one of the area's most reputable builders, does not happen by masking a problem.

Regarding ****** concern of having "a safe and solid house," their house has a HERS (Home Energy Rating System) rating of 66, which signifies how well built the house is. A standard home has a rating of 100 (the lower the better). The average house in Fort Wayne, Indiana, per Energy Diagnostics, has a rating of around 80. The numbers speak for themselves. *** chose our company in order to have a superior, well-built home, and we believe she knows that is what she has received.

*** stated we had miscommunications with all. *** has 77 email communications with the owners, plus phone conversations. *** met 2-3 times a month with the owners at the job site during the building process, plus phone conversations. And ******* was on site 3-4 times a week in addition to his phone conversations. It does not appear that our communication would be deemed unacceptable.

The owner apparently was not aware of the order in which certain tasks were completed. Some items she thought should be done according to her, were not, in fact, ready to be completed. Also, out of ****** 37 email correspondences to ***, there was only one email that displayed her dissatisfaction in anyway, which arrived almost at the end of the project. *** never relayed her complaints with ******* or *** verbally, either. We are not sure why *** didn't let us know of her dissatisfaction, instead of telling the bank and Home Builders Association early on.

*** also never addressed with us that her home was dirty, concrete floors were dirty, or that she had problems with plastic wrap or concrete clips, nor did she express any of these concerns at our walk-through 1-2 days before she moved into the house -- for which we also have a signed (agreed to) punch list. *** stated she had problems with the home once she moved in. As she stated herself, they were resolved in a timely manner.

Regarding the electrician, we have an email from *** on 12/10/13 where she states she has contacted the electrician regarding the motion sensors (which is an issue that was not on our singed punch list). We will contact the electrician also.

For the record, one item we have already fixed per ****** request, was to re-secure her stairway spindles -- which she told us after the work was completed that her son was the one who damaged them. We did the service for free without billing the owner.

*** stated she was left homeless, however we have emails stating we would try to have them in their house early, and gave a projected date of the week of November 11th, 2013. *** did move in to the house the week of November 11th -- which was 28 days early according to our signed contract.

Lastly, should any future items occur with the home, we would expect contact from the owner in order that we can deliver service to them promptly, as we have already agreed upon and which is additionally covered in the standard one-year walk through. At this time, it only appears that we will need to provide touch-up paint for the 2' x 2' drywall area on the ceiling, which has already been communicated to the owner. We do have our signed punch list with the weather- related items.


OFFER:
The problem created from the storm has already been fixed on January 10th with the exception of the touch up paint for the 2' x 2' area which has already been communicated with the owner on January 10th. We will need the owner to let us know a day and time that will work to have our painter stop in and take care of the touch up paint for the 2' x 2' area.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I do not accept response from builder ********************* regarding ongoing issues that have continuously been communicated to ***, ******, or *** verbally during walk thrus as early as framing; and email communications first I have dated 6/21/13.

From early catches by us of inaccurate framing, water damaged sub floors; basement standing water after framing; gouge in foundation from back patio that was poured and ripped off; house built to high which is evident with attic steps that do not reach the ground by approx 1 foot, to complaints of rancid urine smell from sump pump hole obviously used by contractors for restroom due to lack of porta potty on site, trash, outside contractors using neighbors water for final flooring to mix grout since our home was not hooked up yet,contractors smoking in home after priming of paint was completed; and as I have said before I can go on and on. I am certain that word of mouth advertising is currently in process of changing.

As for the cleaning it was discussed with Ted during final punch but at that time we were in fact homeless living in a hotel room with our two children and just wanted in our home. And lets be honest even the day we moved in house there were still contractors working.
The only reason we were homeless is due to giving our apartment notice after discussion with *** in backyard of our home asking if we were going to make end of September date since we had to give our apartment notice of moving out; he stated it would be tight but EEB would definetly make it by 10/25/13. This conversation is why I requested an additional month extension from our original lease which is one of the biggest examples of mis communications but of course is not in writing (lesson learned). Numerous times we would talk with *** as he was conducting frequent walk thrus with us only due to our request since there were so many issues/concerns. He would say we have to talk to ******* or Ted and we would talk with *** or ******* and they would say you have to talk to ***; extremly frusterating.

Lets talk about EEBs response to complaint. I reported to ******* and video taped the identifed frost in sons room, bathroom, and bathroom linen which is clearly more then just a little area. There was no attempted contact with us by outside contractor or EEB until 1/10/14 as our voicemails were never full or missed calls identified. I called a restoration company which visited our home and scheduled a insulation company to come to home on Monday 1/13/14 since I had not heard from builder; which was canceled when insulater and EEB finally contacted us. Restoration company identifed 2 foot by 6 foot area in my sons room ceiling that lacked insulation entirely which was communicated to insulater when he came out and he verified; apologized as a miss which he did correct in addition to insulating back west wall.

As for the stairway spindels ********************************; and they were identifed by myself as loose not damaged to EEB when I told them prior to close on home. The contractor stated they were tight and maybe the kids had played with them and once again just wanted to not argue and I stated maybe so. Honestly this one is just lack of integrity.

As EEB knows I am able to be contacted at any time and will reach out to them to schedule touch up painting.

Since this is the second home that we have built in the past 12 years and numerous consulting of others I believe we are quite comfortable with stating that the process/product we experienced in the past 10 months was out of the norm that is expected by any home owner, extremly stressful,disheartening and if known we would have 100% chosen a different builder.

The insulater has completed the work; and hopefully our home will not have any further frost on walls/ceiling or mold resulting from moisture. I will contact EEB to schedule touch up paint but may be completed anytime this week Monday through Thursday 9:15am-3:00pm or week following Tuesday-Friday 9:15am-3:00pm and will await for contact from electrician.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ************* Treasurer/CFO

We always take ownership of an issue if there are any problems that arise and our response cannot get any more honest. *** stated her email on 6/21/13 would have been her first email to us with an issue. Her email on 6/21/13 was in response to our email to her on 6/19/13, which was regarding sending her their plumbing bid from our plumbing supply company. ****** response on 6/21/13 was "Thank You, there are two tubs listed for master - the grey and white at the bottom should be taken off. Thanks again, ****** We are not sure where in this email lies a complaint.

*** stated we had inaccurate framing. We did have a change that she wanted us to make in the basement, but this was completed to her satisfaction. Regarding water damaged subfloors, we use an upgraded material that can withstand more moisture than standard products. Unfortunately, when we are in the process of constructing houses, it does rain at times which will get the subfloor wet. Part of ***'s subfloor had more moisture than the product could handle due to the weather, for which we needed to replace some of the subfloor. This is common for builders in our area with our climate. It is also common to have a little water in the basement of a house that is being framed or has just been framed.

*** stated that we had ripped off part of the foundation and a poured patio. The only thing that we did in the area she is talking about, is to fill in a small hole with concrete where our concrete sub had misplaced a keyway by accident. *** stated that we had a problem with a urine smell in the sump pump pit. Upon her acknowledgment to us, we went to the house to respond and investigate, and found no urine smell. Obviously, sump pump pits at times may not always emit the most pleasant smells, but there was nothing unusual or alarming here. *** also stated that we used the neighbors' water which is correct and we had permission to do so. Unfortunately, the time it takes to get the water hooked up and ready for use from the city may not always be in line with our time frame, which is why other means of obtaining water is sometimes needed. Regarding ***'s comment about our word of mouth advertising, we certainly hope that *** will not be slandering our Company name, most especially considering it would be unsubstantiated and not based in fact.

*** stated she had a verbal discussion with *** in the back yard regarding a firm move-in date. We only give firm move-in dates in writing, never verbally. The only written early move-in date we gave to *** was for the week of November 11th, 2013. *** did move into her house the week of November 11th, 2013, which was in fact 28 days ahead of schedule per our signed contract.

Regarding ****** complaint, she stated the area was 2' x 6' vs. our insulator stating 2' x 2'. To be honest, whether we are talking about 0.0035% or 0.0011% in relation to the total ceiling square footage, the area in discussion is a very small area. Our insulator does have proof that he tried to contact the owner on Wednesday, January 8th, at 12:12 PM, and again on Thursday, January 9th, at 4:45 PM, but was unable to leave a message for the owner as their voicemail was full and would not allow it.

It was the insulator's opinion -- which concurred with *******'s assessment -- that the problem was created due to the blizzard conditions and record-breaking low temperatures. Our insulation met all code requirements prior to the winter storm, and now meets code again after correcting the problem which was created due to the unusual storm. Additionally, their house has a HERS (Home Energy Rating System) rating of 66, which signifies how well built the house is. A standard home has a rating of 100 (the lower the better). The average house in Fort Wayne, Indiana, per Energy Diagnostics, has a rating of around 80.

*** also never addressed with us that her home was dirty, concrete floors were dirty, or that she had problems with plastic wrap or concrete clips, nor did she express any of these concerns at our walk-through 1-2 days before she moved into the house -- for which we also have a signed (agreed to) punch list. *** stated she had problems with the home once she moved in. As she stated herself, they were resolved in a timely manner.

Regarding the stairway, if we had a lack of integrity, the stairway would not have been fixed (with NO charge). *** did willingly tell us after the work was completed that her son was the one who damaged the stairs. There would have been no arguing from our employee if *** would have not stated that her child was at fault.

It is sad to know that there are some homeowners who believe that a new home with thousands of components and a great deal of coordination can be built flawlessly. Every new home will have some bumps in the road along the process of construction through completion. The difference is how they are handled. We feel confident that we provided *** with a superiorly built quality home and that we took care of any and all issues that arose to her satisfaction.

Lastly, we have been contacted by ***'s husband on 1-23-14 at 4:24 PM via text that they wanted to wait until the one year touch up to have the 2' x 2' area touched up with paint. Additionally, it has been confirmed that the electrician has completed ****** repair request this morning. It appears that ****** complaint items have been resolved as of today.


OFFER:
Complaint appears to have been satisfied

03/12/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Contractors - General, Siding Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/1987Business started: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Please check your phone directory for the phone number of your County or City Building Department.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1975, IN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ted Brandenberger (Chief Financial Officer)
Contact Information
Mr. Emanuel Brandenberger (President)Mrs. Anna Marie Brandenberger (Vice President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Contractors - General, Siding Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
E. E. Brandenberger Construction, Inc.
Industry Tips
3 day cooling off rule

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for E. E. Brandenberger Construction

15428 Boger Rd

Spencerville, IN 46788-9634

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 15428 Boger Rd 

    Spencerville, IN 46788-9634(260) 657-5878

  • Rr 1 

    Spencerville, IN 46788

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*E. E. Brandenberger Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

3 day cooling off rule
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.