BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1982

Bob Buescher Homes, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (260) 490-3355Fax: (260) 490-55441206 Ruston Pass, Fort WayneIN 46825-1566

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1982

BBB has determined that Bob Buescher Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bob Buescher Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bob Buescher Homes, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We feel Bob Buescher Homes(BBH)

1-Is not standing behind warranty
2-We received poor workmanship
3-Did not get what was contracted for

1-Poor workmanship: Floors creak in almost every room. This was pointed out during build. BBH did nothing to repair until house was finished. BBH made an attempt to repair and gave up. Besides being embarrassing, these creaks will affect the resale of this home.

2-Poor workmanship: On the day on installation, I noticed the kitchen nook door and front entry door were crooked. Called BBH twice and got blown off. When house was finished, BBH sent supplier here 3 times to "ReSet" the door. After the 3 time, I put a level on the wall and the wall was crooked. BBH had someone move the wall and ReSet door again. Still looks terrible and leaked water on wood floor and warped it. Front door and sidelites also replaced (Defective Jeld Wen)

3-Contract: Page 3 shows Pella Pro Line Windows. Low Quality Jeld Wen were installed instead. The big picture window was defective and replaced. Replaced window was "also defective"-leaked several times, soaking living room floor and finished basement ceiling. When ceiling dried, nail pops everywhere. BBH won't repair. All windows had to have defective cranks replaced, "Major Repair". Now window sills look bad and beat up.

4-Warranty: We have excessive moisture inside attached garage causing mold to grow on the walls. And inside the house, the defective windows condensate so bad, water puddles up
on the beat up window sills and runs down the crooked wall to the warped, wood floor that creaks. (Not funny) After **** ******(BBH) cleaned up the mold, he called back and said they don't know what is causing it and I need to call an insulation company to see if they can figure out the mold issue.

5-Contract: Page 6- Paid for driveway culvert and never got one.

6-Warranty: Most of what was repaired has either resurfaced or still looks bad or worse than before. Example-Warped siding replaced. Warped again in 6 months. Drywall cracks and nail pops are still visible-some look worse after repair.

These are only a few of the things wrong with this house. The list goes on and on.

Desired Settlement
Replacement, repairs, refund.

Business Response

Please see the attached documents regarding Bob Buescher Homes response to case # *******.

Sincerely,
Bob Buesher Homes

Bob Buescher Homes Responses to ITEMS 1-6
ITEM #1 POOR WORKMANSHIP" "Floor Creaks"
8/19/10 Photo shows employees heading in to work on floor squeaks, drill &
screws. Exhibit 1 a
10/31/11 Worked on floor squeaks at 15' year end
11/18/11 ***** had appointment to go back on floor squeak
2/7/12 2nd workday " ***** worked on floor squeak in Master Bedroom
2/22/12 ***** went back for floor squeak on bedroom floor & #7 step
3/20/12 Meeting with *** ******, *** *****, **** *****, ***** ***** ( to
review things owner still was not happy with addressed floor squeaks then too.
4/24/12 **** & ***** worked on joist issue in kitchen floor
5/10/12 ***** went to work on floor squeak at fireplace (from earlier email
from ****)
Exhibit 1 b. " INDIANA Quality Assurance Builder Standards page 26. Buescher Homes feels as though all options were exhausted and after each appointment when BBH employee left there were no squeaks

ITEM #2 POOR WORKMANSHIP "Doors"
9/17/10 At PUNCHLIST doors were adjusted & weather strips adjusted
3/4/11 All 3 doors were adjusted...Front, Nook to deck, LL to Patio Exhibit 2 a.
10/31/11 15t Year End- was determined that Nook wall was out of plumb, Nook
was re-set, followed by Nook door being re-installed to correct location. Foyer was adjusted. Exhibit 2b & 2c.

ITEM #3 JELDWEN WINDOWS:
Owner's approved and signed C.O. #4 for the conversion to JELDWEN BUILDER SERIES Windows. The conversion was prompted by ******** ********* dropping the PELLA brand in favor of JELDWEN. BBH converted accordingly to the Builder Series which has comparable or better features than the Proline series. Any defects that were encountered were promptly fixed, no different than has occurred with the PELLA PROLINE over the years. See Attached documentation.

9/17/10 At PUNCHLIST ***** ****** adjusted rubber seals around
windows in LL Living
5/27/11 Photos of ***** fixing the leaking around the windows.
Pulled back carpet inside to determine leak. Removed siding on exterior re-flashed & re-caulked leak

10/30/11 **** ****** reviewed large picture window for leak. (******* went
out of business)
11/2/11 At Year End **** ****** replaced weather stripping on top of LL
Living room window. Other windows had gaps at top of crank covers. Crank covers were replaced. Ordered new screens that were bowed for Nook, Great Room, & LL Living room.
2/7/12 2'd Year End wind was blowing in Living room at top corner
4/24/12 3rd Year End Screens were replaced (that had come in hour-glassed).
Left window sash in Living was adjusted. Switched out hardware on windows. Man Cave " window was binding. It was adjusted.

ITEM #4 WARRANTY:
Mold in Garage see Exhibit 4a shows mold and clean up. Exhibit 4b clarifies causes of mold. We did as a courtesy when we investigate. Bob Buescher Homes has no other history of garages experiencing this issue. The construction of typical garages isn't conducive to the natural formation of mold. It appears that the garage space gets heated and cleaned regularly, all which could enhance mold growth. Objects placed up against the walls in these conditions further enhance the potential for this event. There is no evidence that our construction is causing any leaks or introducing moisture to the garage. We don't heat the garage to create warmth that helps accelerate the process. The pictures taken in February showing mold would have to indicate excessive warmth. A typical garage in February would be in the mid 30's to low 40's temperature range. We feel we have no responsibility for the mold and the owners lifestyle habits are contributing to this condition.

ITEM #5 DRIVE CULVERT:
The culvert was part of the stone drive allowance. That $**** figure was added to the $***** site work allowance and summarized as one at closing. We planned for a culvert for pricing purposes; the county didn't require it and they didn't get charged for one at closing.

ITEM #6 WARRANTY:
Siding was replaced the first time. It has been determined that reflection and magnification of the sun bouncing off windows against siding is causing issues with siding. This is something that cannot be controlled by builder.
Drywall nail pops & cracks have all been addressed extensively. While we make every effort to make repairs look as good as the original, there are times when a repair is the best it can be. Typical homeowners receive 1 year end to make corrections. In a good faith effort we had 3 year ends. Indiana Quality Assurance on Drywall .
Flooring issue " Homeowners had concerns about the butt joints of the laminate flooring. They didn't like the way they lined up and the height difference from one piece to another. **** Laminate floor was installed in Kitchen, Nook, Great Room, hallway that the owners selected. The manufacturing rep from ***** went out to review the flooring. The tolerances were the thickness of a credit card and met their standards for installation. But did not meet requirements for replacement the claim was denied; however, BBH issued back a check to the homeowner in good faith in the amount of $***** to help resolve issue..

GENERAL NOTE *
Regarding workmanship " BBH utilized almost all the same vendors and subcontractors on their current home as we did on their previous one built in 2001. The same supervisor, inspections and walk through processes were used. We provided the same warranty service, initial year end walk through and 2 others as a courtesy to address perceived concerns. Our documentation will corroborate that.


Consumer Response
Response to Item 1-Floors
The floor squeak issue arose during the build process, was pointed out to **** several times and never addressed until the home was finished. After completion, BBH made six attempts(service calls) to repair creaks after carpet, tile and laminate flooring was in place. The carpet was ripped during one attempt and had to be repaired(another service call). The floors still creak today. Why would we create creaks after employees leave? We feel BBH won't repair creaks because finished flooring is in place. These creaks could have been repaired prior to finished floor installation. This is why we feel we received poor workmanship and do not accept the response from BBH.

Response to Item 2-Doors
The kitchen nook door looked terrible after installation. I notified BBH, "***", and got blown off about it. After home was complete, supplier made 3 attempts to repair-(3 more service calls). I put a level on the wall and the whole wall was crooked. The wall was moved (all day service call) and door reset (service call again). Still looks so bad that we got a free storm door to keep water from leaking in.
The front door and side lights also looked terrible. After 2 or 3 attempts (service calls) to repair, it was replaced-major repair and more service calls.
We don't understand how you can build a straight wall without using a level or square. We had 3 crooked walls in our "Dream Home". See punch list.
We feel this was poor workmanship by not addressing issues when they surfaced and then having to repair them after the home was finished instead. This burdens the homeowner with numerous service calls. We do not accept the response from BBH on door-nook door still looks bad today.

Response to Item 3-Windows
The windows were not changed by our choice. We never had a choice or selection. The Jeld Wen windows have been defective from the start.
The big picture window was defective and replaced by another defective window. The second defective window leaked water so bad it soaked the living room floor and finished basement ceiling below several times. Four service calls later, the window does not leak, but the caulking makes it look like it has been repaired, instead of new.
After the basement ceiling finally dried, the nail pops came through in that area and BBH won't repair them.
All the windows had to have defective cranks replaced. (All day service call). Screens replaced twice-(2 more service calls). Window left of picture window defective and replaced-(service call), Rubber seals defective-(service call), Garage window binds-(service call), and noticed today it is warped and wind blows thru on the top.
Why should a homeowner have to deal with all of these service calls-at least ten? I had to take time off of work to be here and it was a major inconvenience. We feel these windows are defective and should be replaced. We do not accept BBH response to windows.

Response to Item 4-Mold
The BBH response to the mold issue is ridiculous. The garage with mold is not heated. The 3' garage, which is separate, is heated because it has a sink. ***, himself, recommended a small space heater to prevent freezing in this 3" garage. As far as cleaning goes, yes, I sweep up the dirt left after snow melts off of our cars. How can this contribute to mold growth? The few objects against the wall would still let air flow around them. There wasn't much against the walls-(see pictures). The mold also grew all over the garage door, and nothing was against it. We first noticed the mold when the pull down stair ceiling access was soaking wet and dripping every day. This never happened in our other house and we have not changed our lifestyle. Saying that it is our lifestyle that is creating the mold is crazy.
All **** could tell me is moisture is created when warm meets cold. Since they couldn't figure out the moisture issue, they told us to call the insulation company and see if they can figure it out. We do not accept BBH response to the mold issue.


Response to Item 5-Driveway Culvert
When we purchased our property we applied for a driveway permit on *******, and we received one(attached). At that time we had a driveway culvert placed and side ditches cleaned to assist water flow.
During construction the cement trucks crushed the culvert and I was told it would be replaced, but it never was.
We do not accept BBH response to driveway culvert.

Response to Item 6-Siding, Drywall Pops, and Flooring issue
Siding Issue
Low quality or defective siding was used if it warps. No attempt was made to use a better quality, thicker siding in the small area where it is warped.
The nail pops in the finished basement ceiling appeared after the ceiling dried. The drywall was soaked several times because the defective picture window upstairs leaked water, soaking the floor and ceiling. Please explain why BBH is not responsible to repair this.

Flooring Issue
Are you kidding me? Issued a check in good faith?
The reasons BBH issued us a check is because #1-They damaged the floor when the center island was moved 3 times because nobody could figure out where to locate it. #2-BBH damaged the floor again when they tore it up to repair a warped floor joist(major structural) all day repair. The floor was also warped where water leaked in from the nook door. (see doors) After one of the repairs, the damaged boards were replaced by boards that didn't match. The reason BBH issued us a check is because they damaged the floor.

Reply to General Note
Most of the contractors did fine work and we know BBH can build a quality home. Our second home just wasn't one of them.
How can you build a new home with 3 crooked walls and a punch list with 118 items, "Good Quality"?
When inquiring about floor creaks the 3' time during build, I was asked what I did for a living and was told by the supervisor that He Builds Houses!.
Employees make mistakes no matter how long you work for an employer.
Why not put a level or square on a crooked door noticed by a homeowner and maybe figure out the wall is crooked before the house is complete?
We had 50 or more service calls. What an inconvenience and hassle for us. So much time off of work to be here for all of these repairs. A personal item, "lamp" was broken by BBH employee on a service call. All the strange people in and out,(for service call) after we moved in raised security concerns also.
This dream home and the build process were a nightmare. We also feel we will lose money on resale because of the floor creaks, mold issues, defective windows, and all the other things never repaired correctly. It looks like a rush job. It is a shame that quality and pride take a back seat to getting it done on time.
We gave BBH time and opportunity to repair this house correctly prior to contacting legal console, which we will pursue and hire a licensed contractor that knows how to fix this mess and send *** the bill.
The sad part: We trusted *** to build our dream home on 24 acres of land we love and now have a nightmare home we are so disgusted with. we will probably sell it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1981Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Please check your phone directory for the phone number of your County or City Building Department.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1977, IN

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Bonnie Wilcher (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Bob Buescher (President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company offers custom home building & remodeling in Indiana and Michigan since 1977.

Alternate Business Names
Buescher Construction Co., Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bob Buescher Homes, Inc.

1206 Ruston Pass

Fort Wayne, IN 46825-1566

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1250 N. 200 W. 

    Angola, IN 46703-9417(260) 668-7667

  • 1206 Ruston Pass 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46825-1566(260) 490-3355

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bob Buescher Homes, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.