BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2009

Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties

Phone: (574) 243-3900Fax: (574) 243-3904View Additional Phone Numbers51321 Hunting Ridge Trail N, GrangerIN 46530 Send email to Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2009

BBB has determined that Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

One year after Mr. Handyman replaced my toilet, it is leaking and has caused damage to my floor. They want to charge me for the repairs.
The tech from Mr. Handyman did not use the wax ring that I purchased but used one from his truck and now that seal has leaked just 1 year after he replaced my toilet and has also damaged the floor beneath. Mr. Handyman is saying that the floor was bad when they replaced the toilet and that they did not guarantee the work. They want to charge me at least another $600 to now repair my floor and fix the toilet leak. I already paid them twice the amount of money they mentioned it would cost the first time--almost $800--and now they want even more. The toilet is now unusable as it leaks when you sit on it and flush it and the entire situation is much worse than it was just a year ago when I hired them to replace the toilet. At that time, the floor was solid and the old toilet did not leak. I just wanted a newer toilet that would use less water, etc.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix the problem with the floor that the leak has caused and fix the toilet seal, etc. so the toilet can be used again. I want them to honor their work. The tech did come out and take a look at it, but is now saying it would cost me the additional money to fix this problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Janet **** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************
Customer called our office with a service request to install 2 toilets and kitchen sink faucet. She was given an estimate of 4-5 hours to complete the installations barring no complications.
Customer lives in a trailer that has particle board subflooring. When our technician began the toilet installation, he found the particle board around the toilet wet, spongy, and rotted. The toilet was not sitting level but was partially sinking to one side. He alerted the customer to the subfloor's condition and recommended that the linoleum be pulled back, and any rotted particle board pulled out and replaced. He explained to the customer that if we replaced the subfloor, we could guarantee our work. If she chose not to replace the floor, it would not support the toilet and we could not guarantee against leaks. She chose against his recommendation to replace the particle board floor and told him to install the toilet. He shimmed the toilet and used a jumbo wax ring rather than the standard wax ring that came with the toilet hoping to minimize the chance of leaks. Upon completion of the job, the technician noted on the invoice "no leak guarantee" to document this issue. The customer signed this invoice acknowledging a satisfactory completion of the work and understanding of the no leak guarantee related to the subfloor's condition. The customer was billed for 6.5 hours.
We received a call from the customer stating that her toilet was now loose and leaning. She said there was water on the floor and thought it was a leaky wax seal. We sent our operations manager to the home to assess the situation. He talked to the customer then spoke to the technician who completed the work. He also referred to the invoice for documentation of the initial work. We called the customer back to review the work, the subflooring problem, and the inability to guarantee no leaks. She wants us to fix the floor at no charge. We wanted to try to help her out and offer 15% off labor and waive our service fee trying to help minimize the expense.

offer 15% off labor and waive our service fee

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, when the toilet was replaced, the floor was not spongy, etc. as they claim. The toilet was leaning, but both the technician and I were pleasantly surprised that it was not due to the floor being bad. He called me into the bathroom to show me that. I also have other people that can verify the condition of the floor. He never said anything like they are claiming! Once he took off the toilet, he only stated that where the pipe came into the trailer it was installed slightly crooked originally and that is why the old toilet was leaning. While he did say that the floor may have to be replaced EVENTUALLY, he did not mention any of the above like they claim. He did put shims under the new toilet just so it would be more level due to that crooked pipe. He also told me that he used the wax ring he had in his truck because it was better than the one I purchased. I trusted him on this. My original toilet, while leaning, was not leaking and the floor was ok. Now, in less then a year, this new toilet has leaked probably from the seal and because he used sealant on the bottom of it, the leak was forced to go below the toilet and has rotted the floor. I was not aware of the leak initially. The second technician stated this to me. The original technician told me he wanted to use the sealant to make it LOOK BETTER as the toilet was sitting a little above the floor after he used the shims. He also told me it would help prevent leaks but never told me that it could cause this problem. Again, I trusted his judgment. As for the estimated time, I was told over the phone that it would take approx. 1.5 hours to change 1 toilet so the total would be approx. 3 hours for my two! It turned out to take twice that long. Now I cannot even use this new toilet and am sorry I even had this company replace the old one. Like I said, while it was leaning, it did not leak and did not feel like it would fall thru the floor. That is exactly what I am afraid this one will do. My other toilet they replaced seems fine, but that one has been used little in the past year as it is in a spare bathroom. If I have to pay somebody to fix this, it sure will not be this company! Why would I pay them again? The original technician replaced 3 things for me and 2 of them have leaked! One within weeks of installation. That was the kitchen faucet. My kitchen sustained some water damage from that, too, but I decided to let that go. The situation in my bathroom is dire, however. Might I say that the original technician had only bad things to say about mobile homes in general and how they are plumbed. I believe he had prejudice toward mobile homes and maybe people who live in them.

Final Business Response
As stated before, the subfloor was found to be wet and rotted when the technician pulled the old toilet. The customer chose against the technician's recommendation to pull the linoleum back and remove any rotted subfloor. The technician documented a no leak guarantee on the invoice which the customer signed. We offer 15% off labor and will waive the service fee to repair the floor. This offer is good until 8/27/15.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handyman, General, Bathroom Accessories, Home Repair & Maintenance, Handyman Services, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Remodeling, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Contractor - Electrical, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/11/2008Business started: 11/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Please call and verify needed licensing or registration with your local county or city building departments. Insurance, licensing and bonds can expire, cancelled or revoked, so always check with appropriate agencies before agreeing to a Contractual Agreement.
Elkhart County requires Plumbing and Electrical licensing. St Joseph and South Bend require registration and permitting.

Please check your phone directory for the phone number of your County or City Building Department.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Sipp (Owner) Matt Derbin (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Handyman, General, Bathroom Accessories, Home Repair & Maintenance, Handyman Services, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Remodeling, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Contractor - Electrical, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This business offers Handyman services.

Alternate Business Names
LifeStyle Property Group, LLC

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

17 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties

51321 Hunting Ridge Trail N

Granger, IN 46530

To | From


1 Locations

  • 51321 Hunting Ridge Trail N 

    Granger, IN 46530(574) 243-3900
    (877) 243-3909
    Fax: (574) 243-3904
    Fax: (574) 243-3904

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mr. Handyman of Northern St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 243-3909

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Handyman, General


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.