BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2003

Vera Bradley Designs Inc.

Phone: (260) 482-4673Fax: (260) 484-2278View Additional Phone Numbers12420 Stonebridge Rd, RoanokeIN 46783 Send email to Vera Bradley Designs Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2003

BBB has determined that Vera Bradley Designs Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vera Bradley Designs Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vera Bradley Designs Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My purse strap is defective.
The purse strap was put together so that it's twisted around the neck. When I have it lay flat behind my neck the buckle (that makes the strap longer/shorter) then digs into my chest or my back which is very uncomfortable. Because I received the purse as a gift a couple years ago and never really used it I never noticed the problem until the Dr told me I needed to get a smaller purse and I need to wear it crossbody style. When I called the Customer Service number given to me by an associate at the Tampa Vera Bradley store who agreed with me that the purse strap is defective I was told because I'm out of the 60 day return policy there was nothing that can be done. Upon my telling the representative that I was dissatisfied with them not taking care of a customer who loves the product her supervisor authorized her to send me a $10 e-gift certificate. I agreed to that as I knew I wasn't going to get anywhere. $10 will not purchase me a new purse from there or get the strap fixed.

Desired Settlement
I would just like for my purse to be fixed.

Business Response
Dear *********
Thank you for taking time to contact Vera Bradley. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

We apologize that the bag you received did not meet your expectations. We do try to check all items that leave our warehouse for quality assurance; however, occasionally a defective item may be shipped. Although we are unable to repair the item that you have we do want to get you the product that you desire in the best condition possible.


Thank you again for contacting us and providing the details of your experience. I will be reaching out to you this afternoon to determine a resolution that will work for you. We always love hearing from our customers.


Sincerely,

********
Vera Bradley Customer Service Manager


Final Business Response
I spoke with ******** today and we are sending her a replacement item. Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

******** **********
Manager, Customer Service
Vera Bradley

01/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed several online orders for their bags on 1/18/2014 and they were canceled without cause, and when contacted, did not offer a fair resolution.
Vera Bradley was running a number of concurrent online promotions on 1/18/2015. In addition to significant price drop on a number of bags, they were also offering Buy 2 sales style Get the 3rd one free promotion, as well as Free Shipping. With these promotions in mind I placed several orders of the reduced priced bags. The order numbers are: XXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXX, and XXXXXXXX. Later in the day I received an email from them that stated the following "We are sorry to inform you of a system error that did not allow your order to process completely. Although your order was submitted through the website, not all of the selected items processed on this order." Most of my orders were canceled despite the items being in stock. When I contacted customer service to gather more information about my canceled orders on 1/19/15 I was informed that they experienced a glitch in their system and many of the bags that were sold online that day were priced incorrectly, and to get a proper explanation to call back during their regular business hours. I called again on 1/20/15 in the afternoon to seek further details and resolution and the CS supervisor I was connected to informed me that how they have decided to handle the orders placed during their supposed system glitch was for any order quantity of a specific bag that exceeded 6, they would cancel, and any that was 6 or below would ship. I asked why then did my first two orders (#XXXXXXXX and #XXXXXXXX) get cancelled if I did not order more than 6 of any one print. The supervisor was unable to explain why those two orders got canceled and suggested I contact their corporate office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. On 1/21/15 around 3:45pm I called their corporate office number and spoke to their receptionist ***** who then tried to connect me with one of their team leads. When she was unsuccessful in reaching any of their team leads she asked for my phone number so she could have one of their team leads give me a call back. Since I did not receive a call back, and after having made 3 phone calls to try to get my issue resolved without success, I am filing this complaint against Vera Bradley for shady business / marketing practice, inconsistent cancellation policy, and poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
I want my order# 12283735 (for $602.70+tax) and order# 12283883 (for $218.40+tax) reinstated in the same exact price and quantity as when those orders were originally placed on 1/18/15. I understand companies sometimes experience glitches with their system. However, if the company then decides to honor orders where the quantity of each bag was no more than 6, and when those two orders of mine clearly meet said criteria, logic would dictate that they should have completed my orders accordingly. All of the bags I ordered continue to show available in stock.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** **********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***********@verabradley.com
Vera Bradley Customer Service worked directly with guest to resolve issue.

OFFER:
Has been resolved directly with Guest

01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purse has a "kiss lock" on a hinge and the hinge has broken causing the "kiss-lock" not to lock. Request a replacement.

Received purse as present in fall of 2012. Broken fall 2014. Sent back to Vera Bradley to which they returned it to me without repair. I am disappointed in their reply to me stating that a one year warranty applies. Do they not stand up for their products? Where is customer loyalty? The product you sold me has broken and I feel you should make this situation right.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of a "kiss lock" purse.

Business Response
Dear ****,

Thank you so much for reaching out to us with your concerns. I do see that your ****** in Mocha Rouge was returned to you along with a $15 gift certificate because the item was heavily damaged.

As a gesture of good will I would like to work with you on a replacement item but this particular item is no longer available. I would be happy to issue you a $30 electronic gift certificate, the current value of this style in alternate colors. Please let us know if this will satisfy your concern.

Sincerely,

******** **********
Manager, Customer Service
Vera Bradley

12/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order was poorly packaged, damaged in transit, and missing several paid-for items. Customer service impossible to contact.
I recently place an order on the website for Vera Bradley. It arrived today, in shambles, as it was obviously poorly packaged/secured. Portions of the box were torn, retaped by USPS - and upon inspecting the contents of the box, I immediately noticed that several items were missing. Due to the condition of the shipping box, I have no way to ascertain whether this was an error that occurred in the shipping department of Vera Bradley or whether the items went missing in transit. I tried to contact the company directly, using the phone number printed on my invoice. After listening to a litany of options, I selected to speak to a customer service representative in hopes of resolving this issue and getting the missing items replaced. Instead, I heard what sounded like a call center, with voices in the background - but no one responded! I repeated this action several times, to no avail - and this is supposedly during their business hours for customer service. The third time I tried to select the option to place an order over the phone, hoping to at least get to a "live" person who could redirect me. Instead, I was at a dead end with nothing but static. I'm absolutely appalled by this disdain for customer satisfaction and the lack of care in ensuring safe and complete delivery of products that have already been paid for.

Desired Settlement
First of all, I obviously want the missing items replaced. Secondly, I want an apology - not via email, but I want someone to call me and actually explain to me what kind of operation they're running that they can't even fulfill a simple order or staff a call center.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** **********
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@verabradley.com
This is the response sent to the guest on 11/25:

Dear **********,

Thank you for taking time to contact Vera Bradley. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We are very sorry items were missing from your order as well as for your difficulties reaching Customer Service. An order is being sent to replace the missing items and should arrive on Friday. We have included a Travel Jewelry Organizer as our gift to you for the difficulties. We have also filed an investigation with the USPS to determine why your package was delivered in poor condition. In addition, we have referred your emails to our Management Team so that they may look into the difficulties you had reaching us. We do strive for excellent service and hope we are able to better serve you in the future.

Thank you again for contacting us and providing the details of your experience. We always love hearing from our customers. We look forward to seeing you again at Vera Bradley.

Sincerely,

*****
Vera Bradley Customer Service Representative

OFFER:
Replacement of items as well as an additional gift as a gesture of goodwill sent on 11/25

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a defective diaper bag and Vera Bradley isn't resolving the issue.
I have contacted Vera Bradley via email and just now by phone. I was given a diaper bag as a present and the diaper bag is so defective that I can't use any of the zipper compartments as they don't stay zipped and everything falls out. My friend that purchased it for me no longer lives in the area of purchase and I have gone to return it and they will not do so and told me to contact Vera Bradley. Their resolution was me to send it back first which would leave me without a diaper bag! I can't not be left without a diaper bag for a month.The faulty item shouldn't be my issue to deal with nor should I be left without a bag in the meantime.

Desired Settlement
I want a replacement obviously, but I can't forfeit what little amount of the diaper bag I can use for an entire month.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Customer Serv
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@verabradley.com
Good afternnon *****,

I am happy to say that we were able to get you a replacement bag shipped out prior to getting the defective bag back.

I believe this matter as been has been handled now.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Have a great day!

Thank you,
****

OFFER:

Page 1 of 2
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purse purchased from Vera Bradley is defective. Vera Bradley refuses to repair, exchange or refund.
I purchased over ******* in merchandise from the Vera Bradley sale at the Coliseum last month. When I got home, I discovered that one item - a Stella Mini Satchel I paid ******* for, was defective. The latch does not stay closed my wallet and cell phone can easily fall out. I went to the Vera Bradley store at Jefferson Pointe. They told me that they couldn't help me and referred me to their corporate Customer Service Department at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I called them today and they told me that because I purchased the purse at the Outlet Sale, they could not repair, exchange or give me a refund all sales were final. I think this is wrong because the product is defective. They did not disclose that the product was defective and had I known it was defective, I would not have purchased it. I cannot use it. Vera Bradley should stand behind the products they manufacture and sell.

Desired Settlement
I would like the product either repaired, exchanged or my purchase price refunded.

Business Response
Hello *****. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX and reference Case #XXXXXX. We will be happy to help! Thank you.

04/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased Katalina Pink Lighten Up Rolling Backpack for 5th grader's school use. Backpack is barely able to stand upright - has to propped up.
I purchased a Catalina Pink Lighten Up Rolling Backpack from the Galleria (Houston, TX) Vera Bradley store. It is very poor quality. After 6 months of use, it can barely stand upright on it's own. My son's backpack used over the same time period from ****** ******* is amazing looking and functioning. I contacted Vera Bradley and they wanted me to mail it to them for inspection. Most reputable companies mail the replacement and if you do not return in the damaged goods within 30 days you are charged on your credit card. I had this experience with a damaged buckle on a messenger bag from ******* **** a few years ago. ******* **** understands that my child is left without a school bag, if I give up the one she is using. This product is quite expensive and of low quality. I have four children and we always use rolling backpacks, so I have extensive experience with rolling backpacks and how they should hold up. This product is beyond disappointing. Fortunately, there are only a few months left for school. The biggest disappointment is that we have purchased many coordinated items for this backpack, so I feel like I am stuck with it for now.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new backpack or a refund. I will happily return the damaged one upon receipt of the new one.

Business Response
Dear *******,
We are sorry to hear you have had difficulties with your daughter's Lighten Up Rolling Backpack in Katalina Pink. We are happy to issue a replacement bag to you as well as a prepaid label to have the defective item sent back to our Quality Team for inspection. Your new order number is XXXXXXXX and the FedEx prepaid label should be in your email shortly.
Have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Vera Bradley Customer Service

03/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a Vera Bradley Miller Bag for Christmas and wanted to return for exchange of something that I could use. THE TAG IS STILL ON BAG!!!!!!!!!!!
I have been informed by Customer Service that my item is not in new and unused condition. I received for Christmas!!HOW COULD IT BE IN NEW AND UNUSED CONDITION???? What determines "in new and unused condition"?

Desired Settlement
an Exchange

Business Response
Dear *****,

Thank you for taking time to contact Vera Bradley. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

We are sorry to hear that Vera Bradley was unable to accept the return of your Miller Bag in Night and Day. Vera Bradley accepts returns of product within 60 days of purchase in new condition. It appears from the notes provided during the inspection of your return indicate that the bag showed signs of exposure to pet hair making the product unreturnable. We hope you understand why your product was not able to be returned. As a gesture of goodwill we are happy to issue an electronic gift certificate for *******

Thank you again for contacting us and providing the details of your experience. We always love hearing from our customers. We look forward to seeing you again at Vera Bradley.

Sincerely,

********
Vera Bradley Customer Service Manager




Consumer Response
I don't understand why it was closed. Im assuming because I said that it would not do any ood. But I can assure YOU that I AM NOT IN THE LEAST SATISFIED WITH VERA BRADLEY. I HAVE FORWARDED THEIR GIFT CERTIFICATE BACK TO THEM WITH NO RESPONSE. AS IVE STATED I AM NO LONGER A VERA BRADLEY CUSTOMER THEREFORE I COULD NOT USE THEIR $40 GIFT CERTIFICATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IVE LOOKED AT THE PURSE AND I DONT FIND THAT PET HAIR THEY ARE REFERRING TO.
Again THE BAGE WAS NOT USED.

***** *****

03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a diaper bag and it immediately faded out to almost no color once I began using it.
I purchased a diaper bag in February 2015 to use after having a baby in the spring of that year. I began using the bag in May 2015 and it immediately faded to almost no colors. I contacted the company in the summer and they said to take it to a store and it would be exchanged. I went to the store in Fall 2015 and was told they only back their products for 60 days (which I did not need it during the first 60 days, I was preparing for an upcoming baby). I contacted the company again and they said I could ship it back and they would exchange the product. I just received it back at the end of December and I was shipped the same product I mailed them, stating they still only back their products for 60 days and it is normal for the color to completely disappear. Now they will no longer take my calls or emails and I would like a new product or refund as that is what they originally promised in summer 2015 when the problem occurred. This was a very expensive product and we splurged to be able to afford something nice for our baby.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new diaper bag or a refund of the original so I can find a company who makes a product that holds up and that they back up beyond 60 days.

Business Response
Dear *****,

Thank you for taking time to contact Vera Bradley. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

We apologize that the Backpack Baby Bag in Petal Paisley that you purchased in February of 2015 did not meet your expectations. We are happy to issue you an Electronic Gift Certificate in the amount of $100 as a gesture of goodwill. This amount combined with the $15.00 that was sent to you when the bag was returned to you covers the original MSRP of the item when it was launched.

Thank you again for contacting us and providing the details of your experience. We always love hearing from our customers. We look forward to seeing you again at Vera Bradley.

Sincerely,

********
Vera Bradley Customer Service Manager

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an item online on 10/8/2015, a purse and the strap is torn/defective.
I have been unable to connect via telephone to the customer service as every time I call I am placed on hold until the call simply disconnects. I have emailed the customer service site 3x through their website with zero response. Order number XXXXXXXXX. Total purchase price with tax $28.19 paid by credit card.

Desired Settlement
I would opt for a replacement and will return the damaged item if provided a postage paid label. If a replacement is not possible I would like a full refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jennifer ********** Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@verabradley.com
***,

Thank you so much for reaching out to us. It is our intention to provide high quality items to all of our guests and we are disappointed to hear that your item arrived damaged.

Each shipment that we send does include a return label for situations just like these. It seems as though your package may not have contained the label as we would expect so I am sending you a prepaid fedex label to the email address that you have provided. Please fill out the return form on the back of your packing list and use the emailed label to return the item to us. Once you return that item we will replace it if it is still available or will provide a refund in the form of original payment.

Please contact me directly if you have any further concerns at ***********@verabradley.com.

Sincerely,

Jennifer **********
Customer Service Manager
Vera Bradley

OFFER:
Prepaid return label and replacement or refund of the product

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received the label via email today and have packaged and returned the item. Once I have received the replacement or full refund I will close the complaint.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jennifer ********** CS Mgr

***,

Thank you for returning your item. As promised when the item is received we will replace it if available or provide a credit if it is sold out.

Sincerely,

Jennifer **********
Manager, Customer Service

OFFER:
replacement or refund of defective product

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The item was tracked as delivered today. I will close the issue and accept the response once I receive the replacement or refund. I am reluctant to do this sooner as the company only responded to me after the complaint was filed.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handbags, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/19/1988Business started: 01/01/1982
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1982, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Schenkel (Human Resource Director)Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Holzhauser ext 6461 (Customer Srvice Manager)
Business Category

Handbags, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

This company offers design and manufacturing of handbags and accessories.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vera Bradley Designs Inc.

12420 Stonebridge Rd

Roanoke, IN 46783

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12420 Stonebridge Rd 

    Roanoke, IN 46783(260) 482-4673
    (260) 207-6461
    Fax: (260) 484-2278

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vera Bradley Designs Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (260) 207-6461
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Handbags

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.