BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2005

The Roomplace

Phone: (219) 947-8250Fax: (630) 678-2158

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted the merchant about a sofa-sectional I purchased June, 2015. The problem has not been resolved.
Consumer's Original Complaint :
June 27, 2015 I purchased a Sofa Sectional from The Roomplace, located in Merrillville, IN. Shortly after the purchase, approximately three week, I started to sink into the back of the chase. I called the store and spoke to ***** He scheduled an appointment for someone to come out to assess the furniture. When the gentleman arrived, before I had the opportunity to show him what I was referring to, he showed me where the furniture sank. He took pictures and said that some would contact me within three business days. Three business day turned into approximately three weeks. A voicemail was left stating that nothing was wrong with the furniture. I called the store once again I spoke to **** about the results I heard on my answering machine. I told him about the comment his representative made. **** essentially called me a liar because he stated to me that our representatives don't lie. I asked for something in writing. **** stated that The Roomplace do not issue letters in writing for claims that are denied. I have made many attempts to resolve this issue with The Roomplace without success. It is now April, 2016. The problem has not been resolved. I would like for them to credit my American Express Card and remove the furniture from my home. The sinking in the furniture has gotten progressively worse. I do not sit on the furniture because it is just not comfortable. The pillows have more humps than the H.B of Notre Dame'. They are distorted with cushions that do not recoil. The springs are now visible. The cushions become so flat that while sitting, I am actually supported by the frame not the springs.
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: ***9EXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my American Express Card credited and the furniture removed from my home.

Business Response
This is a duplicate complaint. Please see Case # XXXXXXXX
Our response is as follows:
The RoomPlace is disheartened by the Customer's perception and apologize for not meeting her expectation. We attempted to contact Customer to schedule a pick up on Saturday, 4/9/16 however the phone was not taking incoming calls. In the genuine interest of Customer service and as a one-time voluntary accommodation, The RoomPlace will pick up the merchandise provided there is no damage, stain or soil on product for refund. This offer is final and expires on Friday, 4/15/16. We will attempt to contact Customer to schedule a pick by above date. Best regards, ***** *******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
4/9/2016 I did not receive a telephone call from the Roomplace?????????????? character. I did not receive a telephone until 4/11/2016. No message was left. I returned the telephone call on 4/13/2016. There was a wait time of 6 minutes, then eight minutes then seven minutes back and forth. I returned the telephone call again on 4/18/2016, there was a wait time of fifteen minutes. I could not wait for fifteen minutes. I called later on 4/18/2016 someone picked up the call. Per her, someone was to call me and schedule an appointment for pick up on 4/22/2016. It is 4/21/2016 at 7:53 PM. I have not received a telephone call from the Roomplace. All I want the Roomplace to do is pick up their furniture and credit my American Express Card. I promise I will never purchase anything from the Roomplace again.

Final Business Response
Our records confirm a pickup was scheduled for 4/22/16 however, due to unforeseen circumstances, we contact the Customer to reschedule and are awaiting a call back. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate our Customer's understanding. Best regards, ***** *******, Customer Care Operations Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am pleased that the Roomplace has agreed to pick up the furniture and credit my American Express Card.

I attempted to return the telephone call received from *******, but was no able to contact her. Apparently, they are still having trouble with the telephone system.

Thank you,

04/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased several items with warranties in 2010. After five years warranties were refundable. They have not issued refunds after 4 months of request
I purchased several items with warranties in 2010. After five years warranties were refundable. They have not issued refunds after 4 months of request. When the items were purchased it was stated that the warranties would be refunded . It was never stated that they would be in the form of a store credit nor that we would have to spend $x amount to use. I called after five years to request refund and they said it would take 30 days to receive. After 6 weeks of nothing I called back to learn the request was not entered and that the refund was going to be a store credit. Again, they said they would submit refund request. After an additional 30 days I called and learned that only one item (sectional) was refunded and the request was not put through for the bedroom set and kitchen set. I was informed that they would take care of it again. I called three weeks later and spoke to ********* in the office whom said it was never done AGAIN and she would fix it. It's now been 3 weeks and I called today and after speaking with corporate learned it was still not requested for refund. So in all only **** has been refunded out of ***** Corporate did not offer any additional resolution other than they would request refund and I would receive it in the mail. I'm moving out of state in a month and there are not any locations where I'm moving. This means I **** lose my refund unless I pay to have items shipped across country. I'm highly upset at the negligence and lack of information around this whole situation. To learn that I would only get a refund as a store credit, than to have to spend $x amount to use my credit, then to not receive the credit after several months is becoming extremely frustrating.

Desired Settlement
I want a full cash refund. Initially it was insinuated that I would get a check for the warranties refunded after five years. I was never told it would be an in store credit. In addition, after the service I have received, I would never shop at room place again. I deserve a cash refund for being misinformed and treated poorly on several occasions of trying to get this resolved.

Business Response
The RoomPlace extends our sincere apology if there was any misunderstanding. I personally connected with our valued Customer and believe the resolution meets with her full satisfaction. Best regards, ******* *****, VP of Customer Care Center.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have an extended warranty purchased at the time we purchased our chaise lounge on Jan. 23 2015. We were told it was for 5 years covers anything that could go wrong. One of the pillow backs has lost foam or whatever fill there was and we have loose material hanging on the one pillow back. We called the insurance carrier and they advised us to read our contract because they don't cover lost fill but it doesn't say anything about fill. They said to call the store and our store warranty was up 2 weeks ago and we should also read our warranty because they don't cover lost fill either. My question this memory foam had to go someplace and they made a decision over the phone they were not responsible. The places we sit are just fine but the back that takes less weight is the problem. Still were is the fill? They promise you everything when you purchase but when you need their help they treat you like ????????????
****** *********
Product_Or_Service: Chaise and Sofa Everest
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the insurance I bought and paid for to be useful and repair the problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joyce *******
The RoomPlace was disheartened to learn of our Customer's concern and apologize for such a perception. The merchandise was delivered on 1/21/15. Our records indicate no claims of concerns reported during the one year limited manufacturing warranty on any of the items. The Customer does have the extended protection plan through a third party provider Guardian. We do not see any pending claims. In the genuine interest of Customer service, we are happy to review the damages and photos to determine if the damage is eligible for a claim under the extended protection plan guidelines. Please submit detail report of the damage and a photo via the BBB site. Upon receipt, we will engage all parties to determine eligibility and next steps in assisting our valued Customer. Best regards, Joyce *******, Customer Care Operations Manager.

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not report this before 1-21-15 because the pillow didn't look that bad.
I understand the store warranty expired on 1-21-16
I did contact the third party provider on 2-12-16 but they told me the pillows are not covered and for me to call the store since it was only a few weeks past the expiration that the store should cover it. That's why all this was started. I do have pictures

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jasmine *****

The RoomPlace is delighted to help our valued Customer. Upon receiving the photos, I personally reached out to our Customer and arranged for the in-home repair. We trust the resolution meets with our loyal Customer's full satisfaction. Best regards, Jasmine *****, VP of Customer Care

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
On 3-3 customer service from the roomplace came out and fixed the chaise pillow.

We are very well satisfied.

Thank you in helping resolve the problem
Once the complaint went to corporate the vice president of customer service, Jasmine was great

Thanks again
THE *********'S

06/12/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had nothing but problems with this company. One of the problems that has been going on since February and not yet resolved as of 6/3/15 is a delivery we were suppose to receive. With in the first or second week of receiving our 3pc sectional it came undone at the seem(foot rest on the recliner part of it). We called and by procedure they had to send out a repair man first to try and fix it. That didn't work so since we had a 30 day warranty they said they would mail us the part. When we received it, we had to call and they would send some one out to replace the part for us. We were told it would get here in march some time, it never came. We called in the beginning of April and was told there was a set back and we would receive it at the end of April, still didn't come. Called again in the beginning of May and was told it's on back order and they can't do anything bout it but it will ship at the end of May. Called today(6/3/15) and they claim it was mailed out at the end of April and now they have to see if they can reorder the part again for us. That made no sense!! I've called every month and was never told it had shipped. We are tired of the run around they keep giving us and just want this to be resolved already.
Product_Or_Service: 3pc Grey Sectional Sofa w/ recliners
Order_Number: XXXXXXX****

Desired Settlement
I want them to get the part and have someone come out to fix it. It would also be nice if they could refund us something for all the trouble and frustration they have put us through the past FEW months.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joyce S*******, Manager
The RoomPlace was disheartened to learn of our loyal Customers perception and extend our sincere apology for the experience. Our records indicate the merchandise was delivered on 1/31/15. Upon the Customer call, the service technician was dispatched on 2/24/25 to inspect and attempt repairs under the limited manufacturing warranty for loose fabric on the footrest. Regrettably, he was unable to repair and a replacement part was ordered. There was a delay in shipment of the part from vendor, the part was shipped on 6/4/15 however, Customer did not want the part installed. In the genuine interest of Customer service and as a one-time accommodation, we exchanged the item. Our records indicate the exchange was completed on 6/10/15. If there are any other claims during the remainder of the limited manufacturing warranty, no exceptions can be made outside of the warranty guidelines. We trust the resolution was to our Customer's full satisfaction and apologize for the delay. With respect, Joyce S*******, Customer Care Operations Manager



OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is very unprofessional of The Roomplace To claim the part was shipped on June 4th after they claimed it was suppose to be shipped at the end of May. Then when I called on June 3rd they said it was shipped in April. The manager can not claim we didn't want the part installed if we never received it. But yes after about 3 and a half months this problem has finally been taken care of by the simple exchange. Thanks BBB if I hadn't contacted you,I think I would still be waiting for them to correct the problem.

05/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ***** ********, I would like to first say that I'm very disappointed and Angry with Room Place and the warranty Dept, How unprofessional that they are. And the warranty Dept.Don't follow Thur like they say to replace their Warranty.I purchase Jenna Square 48" faux Marble Table Top with the Barleather
Product_Or_Service: 03/10/2012
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXZ k e

Desired Settlement
Refund or exchangeQ

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, VP
The RoomPlace is disheartened to learn of our Customer's perception. The order was delivered on 03/14/2012. The one (1) year limited manufacturing warranty as defined on the Customer's sales receipt, administered by The RoomPlace expired on 03/14/2013. We show no prior contact from Customer regarding the concerns until the receipt of this complaint. Our records indicate Customer elected to purchase the extended protection through a third party provider, Guardian.
It is our practice to review at point of sale (prior to the purchase) the protection guidelines and if elected by Customer, provide the certificate of coverage. In addition, once the protection is registered with Guardian, the Customer is sent a certificate of coverage by Guardian.

Our records indicate the Customer elected to purchase the following accidental protection:
WOOD AND HARD SURFACE:
a) Accidental stains caused by any food or beverage normally consumed by humans; mold and mildew stains caused by food or beverage spills; accidental stains caused by nail polish, breakage of wood frame or structure or other hard surface from single incident; gouge, heat mark or liquid ring from single incident; accidental breakage of glass or mirror components.
b) Checking, cracking, bubbling, or peeling of finish from a single incident.
c) Accidental chip or scratch of glass or mirrors and loss of silvering on mirrors.

In researching the complaint, we have learned that the Customer contacted Guardian on multiple occasions to file claims however, we are unclear as to what the issues reported where and the reason for claim denial. As such, we have reached out to Guardian in hopes of gaining a better understanding of the claims history. In the meantime, if Customer can send us photo of the damage she is referring to (either via direct email ******@theroomplace.com or through the Better Business Bureau compliant), we would very much appreciate it. Upon on receipt of the Photos and information from Guardian, we will update the response. With much gratitude, ******* *****, Vice President, Customer Care Center


OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought brand new furniture within 6 months broken & never repaired 7 months after complaint filed
Roomplace financed a living room set in Oct 2014 & I've made on time payments. I called to inform them the wood frame is totally broken within the first 6 months of purchase. They sent a man out who never fixed it but closed the order to get paid. I called again & they opened a new repair order & 7 months later still not fixed. Called store manager he told me he would call back & never did. I don't want this cheap furniture and told him I would take it back to them for a full credit. I have went to long with not having furniture to sit on. I believe ********* was sales rep.

Desired Settlement
I feel that they did not honor the repair warranty at all as said. I would like full refund, all payments , interest etc & for them to pick up furniture.

Business Response
The RoomPlace was disheartened to learn of our Customer's concern and apologize for such a perception. The merchandise was delivered on 2/10/15. For a period of one (1) year following the date of original delivery or pick-up, The RoomPlace warrants to the original purchaser that merchandise will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use. This warranty shall apply only if you and the affected item is in our service area. If The RoomPlace determines that merchandise is defective, The RoomPlace will repair or replace, at its discretion, the affected item only (not the set, suite or collection). If the affected item cannot be repaired or replaced, as determined by The RoomPlace, the Customer can select a new item of equal or lesser value to the original purchase price of the defective item. If the item chosen is of greater value than the one being replaced, the Customer will be charged the difference. The reselection period is not to exceed seven (7) days following The RoomPlace's determination of the claim. Our records indicate that a service technician was dispatched 9/18/15 to inspect the frame damage reported by Customer. The service technician reported the frame was damaged however not as a result of a defect in the material or broken at wood knot. Regardless, the technician completed repairs. We do not show any further contact from the Customer until the receipt of this complaint. The one year limited manufacturing warranty expired on 2/10/16. Customer has 30 days from date of single occurrence to file a service with the provider of the extended protection plan. Our records indicate the Customer has the P1PRP plan, coverage as follows:
Coverage For Fabric and Leather Upholstered Furniture
Accidental Stains caused by any food or beverage normally consumed by humans; mold and mildew stains caused by food or beverage spills; stains caused by human or pet bodily fluids.
Accidental Stains caused by grass, grease, ballpoint pen ink, nail polish, cosmetics, lipstick, crayon, and shoe polish. Lipstick, crayon and ballpoint pen ink marks totaling more than 6 inches in length are considered preventable and will not be covered.
Accidental rips, cuts, punctures or burns from a single relatable occurrence.
Structural or component failure due to normal residential use that results in the breakage of frames, mechanisms, welds, swivel bases, recliner handles and assembled joints. Includes component mechanical and electrical failures such as defective motors, massagers, vibrating units and heaters. Coverage begins after the manufacturer's warranty has expired.

If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know. With much respect, The RoomPlace Customer Care team!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have went into the store in merrillville Indiana 5 times since that September repair call. The first time they said they would send another repair man out, that never happened so I returned to the store again right before thanksgiving. They said they had just bypassed the repair man and ordered the part for the couch. I waited almost a month then returned again they told me they were still waiting for the part to give it a few more weeks. I checked two more times the last being about 2 months or so ago and they told me to still wait another 6-8 weeks. I then called the room place in merrillville and spoke with the manager who said he would look into it and give me a call the next day. I never heard from him and in return sent my complaint to the better business bureau. At least exchange the furniture for the same set or a different one.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As already stated again and again, the repair man told me that the frame was broken and not to use the couch, to wait and someone would call me within a few weeks which never happened because YOUR repairman lied and said he fixed something he didn't. The frame that is broken is the frame of the back cushion, which is the same piece there's no way it could be two different pieces, and again according to your other statements no part was ordered, yet now you're telling me you have it on record that it was ordered?? and regardless if it is the wrong part or right part I've still been waiting since September for the initial service order, and November for the part. Do all repairs and parts take 6-8 months? Quit trying to pass it off on to your paying customer and take responsibility for it. I didn't pay around ***** for a broken couch and to get the run around for 6-8 months. Exchange the couch, and give me a **** credit on my room place credit account for the 6-8 months I've still been making payments, and going into your store several times a month trying to get this handled. Do the right thing, this wasn't my screw up, it was your guys and someone dropped the ball. I have been INCREDIBLY patient and my patience is just about gone at this point. Make it right.

Final Business Response
The RoomPlace takes great pride in serving our Customers exceptionally. We are truly sorry if we gave a different impression, certainly not the intent. To eliminate any further confusion or delay in expediting a resolution, The local store will conclude this matter for our valued Customer. We hope the resolution meets with our Customer's expectations. With much respect, The RoomPlace Customer Care Team

04/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
June 27, 2015 I purchased a Sofa Sectional from The Room Place, located in Merrillville, IN. Shortly after the purchase, approximately three week, I started to sink into the back of the chase. I called the store and spoke to Neal. He scheduled an appointment for someone to come out to assess the furniture. When the gentleman arrived, before I had the opportunity to show him what I was referring to, he showed me where the furniture sank. He took pictures and said that some would contact me within three business days. Three business day turned into approximately three weeks. A voicemail was left stating that nothing was wrong with the furniture. I called the store once again I spoke to **** about the results I heard on my answering machine. I told him about the comment his representative made. **** essentially called me a liar because he stated to me that our representatives don't lie. I asked for something in writing. **** stated that The Room Place do not issue letters in writing for claims that are denied.I have made many attempts to resolve this issue with The Room Place without success. It has now been six months and it appears that The Room Place has no intention of resolving this issue. I would like for them to credit my American Express Card and remove the furniture from my home.The sinking in the furniture has gotten progressively worse. In order for me to sit on the furniture, I have to use a blanket to keep from sinking into the sofa/chase. This is the major complaint about the furniture, there is much more, e.g. uneven distorted pillows, cushions that do not recoil. When you sit on the sofa/sectional, the pillows must be turned because otherwise, they will remain flat.Pleas help!
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: ASH9EXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Credit my credit card and remove the furniture.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
The RoomPlace was disheartened to learn of our Customer's concern and apologize for such a perception. For a period of one (1) year following the date of original delivery or pick-up, The RoomPlace warrants to the original purchaser that merchandise will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use. This warranty shall apply only if you and the affected item is in our service area. If The RoomPlace determines that merchandise is defective, The RoomPlace will repair or replace, at its discretion, the affected item only (not the set, suite or collection). If the affected item cannot be repaired or replaced, as determined by The RoomPlace, the Customer can select a new item of equal or lesser value to the original purchase price of the defective item. If the item chosen is of greater value than the one being replaced, the Customer will be charged the difference. The reselection period is not to exceed seven (7) days following The RoomPlace's determination of the claim. Our records indicate that the merchandise in questions was delivered 7/1/2015. Customer contacted us to report one cushion had more density than the others. Upon inspection, 9/7/15, the service technician indicated that there is no visible or concurrent variance in the cushion density look or feel. In the genuine interest of Customer service, we are happy to review photos of the set to determine if there are any new visible variations in the seat cushion density or dispatch an independent service technician to conduct a thorough inspection in the Customer's home. Please let us know preferred option so we can proceed with a prompt resolution to our Customer's concerns. With much respect, ***** *******, Customer Care Operations Manager

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for responding. It is very disappointing that I had to contact the Better Business Bureau to get a decent response from The Room Place. Since September, I've tried to resolve this issue without success. I cannot forget the rude behavior displayed by Neal. I will not forget being called a liar. Christmas day was the epitome of embarrassment. A guest sat on the chase and sank into the back of it. I have submitted pictures but The Room Place have failed to respond. I purchased this furniture with the understanding that it was a sound piece made for comfort. It is neither. It is because I've had to endure six (6) months of discomfort while The Room Place contemplated whether or not they would address the fact that the furniture has defects, I do not wish to do any future business with this company. The next piece may be defective as well. Therefore, will you please credit my account and remove the furniture from my home?

Sincerely,

Ms. ***

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
0098, 0104, 0105 - The chase Sinking into the back of the sectional.
0106 - Chase cushion too short. The top pillow rest behind the chase cushion.
1019 - Chase sinking into frame.
0111 - Please note (the pillow and chase to the left are lower than the others)
0112, 0145 - The springs are visible.
0114 - The pillows are supported by the frame, not the springs (please note sagging area).
0119, 0123 - More of the same, chase lower than other cushions, uneven, distorted pillows.
0125 - This is a better view of the chase cushion and distortion of pillows.
0126, 133, 135 - These are holes/gaps that are very visible from 10 feet.
0145, 0146, 0147 - The springs are visible.
0149 - The cushions are supported by the frame vs. the springs. This is very difficult for seating and comfort.
0150, 0153 - This is a better view of the holes/gaps in the sectional.



Final Business Response
The RoomPlace is disheartened with the Customer's pperception and apologize for not meeting her expectation. We attempted to contact her to schedule a pick up on Saturday, 4/9/16 however the phone was not taking incoming calls. In the genuine interest of Customer service and as a one-time voluntary accommodation, The RoomPlace will pick up the merchandise provided there is no damage, stain or soil on product for refund. This offer is final and expires on Friday, 4/15/16. We will attempt to contact Customer to schedule a pick by above date. Best regards, ***** *******

11/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dishonest salestactics false tv addvertising

I went to purchase a new couch Tim showed me some couches. I chose the one I liked the price on the sign said $2399 he explained that was for nonpowered my couch is powered he then told me $3384 including $305 extended warranty this included a free 48" tv as advertised on tv note tv ad does not say couch must be bought in sections the couch online is $3104 after taxes and shipping i paid $3814 online it would have been $3482 the store will not honor the price difference even though they have a price match program

Desired Settlement
Honor your price match

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Solomon Customer Care
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
The RoomPlace was disheartened by the Customer's perception. At time of purchase, the items purchased came with a promotional TV. As per the guidelines, the purchase is on individual prices and excludes packages. The current package deal excludes the TV.

Free HDTV Offer:
Purchase must be on individual piece prices. Free 55" and 32" HDTV with any purchase of $5,000 or more; Free 55" HDTV with any purchase of $4,000 or more; Free 48" HDTV with any purchase of $3,000 or more; Free 40" HDTV with any purchase of $2,000 or more; Free 32" HDTV with any purchase of $999 or more (excludes tax and delivery charges). The RoomPlace reserves the right to substitute TV models of a comparable quality and specification. Does not apply to advertised packages, previous purchases, any package pricing, floor samples, and purchase of Beautyrest Black brand, Unbeatable Value, RoomPlace Clearance Outlet items, layaways, or gift card purchases.

30 DAY PRICE MATCH GUARANTEE
If, within 30 days following the date of your purchase, The RoomPlace or a local retail competitor with a retail store in the same market area is advertising a lower price for the same in-stock, first quality merchandise from the same manufacturer on the same terms and conditions, after verification, The RoomPlace will refund the difference on furniture items. On mattresses, The RoomPlace will refund the difference, or your mattress is free (Excludes: ComforPedic). The merchandise needs to be in stock and available for immediate delivery from the competitor.

Our 30 day price match guarantee does not apply to our or our competitors' limited-quantity, non-displayed, out-of stock, online offerings, open-box, electronics, refurbished or used items, special order, AS IS, outlet, red-hot deals, unbeatable values or clearance merchandise, floor samples, mail-in incentives, bonus or free merchandise offers, super savers, rebates, special financing, bundles, doorbusters or other similar offers, and is not available once you have exercised your right under The Total Satisfaction Guarantee.

The RoomPlace apologizes if there was any misinterpretation at time of purchase, for clarification, Customer paid, $3,079.98 for merchandise, $304.97 for the extended optional warranty through a third party provider of service, Guardian, $199.99 for delivery and set up and $229.60 for sales tax. Total $3,814.54. With much respect and gratitude, ***** Solomon, Customer Care Operations Manager


OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
are you willing to price match the couch and give me the difference in total if not then there is nothing else to discuss

Final Business Response
Our genuine apology however, and as much as we would love to meet our Customer's expectations, we simply must stay consistent in fairness to all of our valued and Loyalty Customers. The Customer's purchase does not qualify for the price match under the promotion (TV). We thank our Customer for his business and understanding. Best Regards, Joyce*********

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a mattress in late of march of 2015 and after one month the bed is collapsed in the middle and they don't think there at fault.
On March 11 2015 i purchased a mattress from the roomplace at 2881 E. Lincoln Hwy. I recieved the mattress about a week later and slept in it for about 30 days. The mattress is a beautyrest recharge with the product number being XXXXXXXXX-XXXX and costing 699.99. The sales reps name is William ********* who wasn't even helpful or even knew what the products were about, he was just there to sell something for his commission, I know pretty typical. They now don't want to give me a new bed until they feel like it is needed to be swapped out. The bed is only 90 days old and literally has a sink hole in the middle of it.

Desired Settlement
I am trying to have them come and get the bed because I do not want this bed or even one similar to it. I want to take my business elsewhere and move forward.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joyce *******
The RoomPlace was disheartened to learn of our Customer's perception. The original mattress was delivered on 4/8/2013. Customer reselected under the manufacturing warranty as the depression was over an 1 1/2 . At time of pickup, we discovered a stain however, in the genuine interest of Customer service, we proceeded with the pickup. On 3/11/15, the new mattress in question now was delivered. Our records indicate the Customer called on 4/24/15 to request a reselection as the mattress did not meet with his comfort preference. Regretfully, we were unable to proceed with a reselection on a reselection based on comfort preference. 5/6/15, we dispatched service at the Customer's request to inspect the mattress. The independent technician's findings were within the manufacturing specification. No defect was detected therefor the mattress did not qualify for a reselection under the manufacturing warranty.

The warranty does not apply to:
Firmness preference of the product.
Normal body impression(s) of 1 1/2 inches or less in all sleeping areas.
Bed Height
Cover (fabric)
Bent border wires
Burns, stains or soils
Mattress not used with a Simmons or other firm, supportive rigid non-yielding foundation (full, full extra-long, queen, Simmons Olympic queen, and king size must have sufficient center support)
Merchandise sold "as is" "distressed" or "floor model"
Transportation, inspection or removal costs of product. Simmons product that has a manufacturing defect and is stained or soiled. For health and safety reasons, Simmons may not be able to inspect these products to assess whether covered by the warranty, in which case, Simmons reserves the right to deny warranty coverage.*
Regrettably, and despite the most genuine intent, we are unable to meet the Customer's request and proceed with a reselection as the mattress does not qualify under the manufacturing guidelines as a defect eligible for a replacement. With respect
Regrettably, and despite the most genuine intent, we are unable to meet the Customer's expectations and proceed with a reselection as the mattress does not qualify under the manufacturing guidelines as a defect eligible for a replacement. With respect and gratitude, Joyce *******, Customer Care Operations Manager.


OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The mattress that I now have is only three months old and is very defective, there is literally a sink hole in the center of my mattress. I cant believe a corporation like yourself can be content with your business operations you have going on. There is zero quality assurance on your products and you mean to tell me that within one month of my mattress being defective you can not do anything about that. This is very unprofessional on your part in the business world and quiet frankly the people working there are incompetent. Something needs to be done about this matter and its not my fault your product doesn't hold up to its name. With respect and gratitude, **** ******, The Customer.

03/10/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought an protection plan from the RP.Their service provider will not honor the terms of the service plan. And no one from the RP will call me back
I bought a protection plan from the Roomplace on 1/7/2012 to cover stains and structural problems with my furniture.

The seams are coming apart on the ottomans.It is clearly spelled out in the warranty that seams are covered.

The service provider will not cover this repair because they touch a button; they are telling me that buttons are not covered.

I have contacted the Roomplace (4) times. In both cases I was told they would look into it an call me back-I am still waiting for their call.

The last time I called, I was transferred to the Customer service manager. I told her about the problem and that no one was calling be back; she stated that she was the Customer service manager and that she would get back to be that afternoon-that was on 12/31/14 and I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement
Either honor the warranty and fix the problem or give me back the money for the entire warranty-All furniture.

If this is unacceptable, I will have it fixed and file a Small claims case.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
The RoomPlace is disheartened to learn of our Customer's perception. In response to our Customer's complaint as it relates to the extended warranty purchased through a third party provider, Guardian, it is our practice to review at point of sale (prior to the purchase) the warranty guidelines and if elected by Customer, provide the certificate of coverage. In addition, once the warranty is registered with Guardian, the Customer is sent a certificate of coverage by Guardian.

Our records indicate the Customer elected to purchase the following warranty:
COVERAGE FOR LEATHER OR VINYL UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE:
a) Accidental stains caused by any food or beverage normally consumed by humans; human or pet bodily fluids, grass, grease, ballpoint ink, nail polish, cosmetics, lipstick and crayon
b) Mold or mildew stains caused from any food or beverage normally consumed by humans
c) Accidental damage from rips, cuts, burns, or punctures.

In researching the complaint, we have learned that the Customer contacted ******** on 12/16/14 to report a button on the top of the ottoman had sunken in causing a hole, and also threads unraveling on the front of the ottoman. The claim regarding the button was denied as the concern reported does not fall within the coverage guidelines as outlined above. Regretfully, we are unable to initiate a warranty cancellation on our Customer's behalf. In closing, we value our Customers very much, apologize for his experience and are here to assist if at all possible.

Best regards,
***** *******
Customer Care Operations Manager

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I also purchased the structural warranty which covers seam issues. ******** fixed the stitching on the ottoman because it was covered under the structural warranty.

The seams around the button holes are coming apart. Once again, this is covered under the structural warranty.

The warranty was purchased from The Roomplace not ********* Please refer to the contract or receipt. The Roomplace then subcontracted the warranty work to ********-Not my problem.

I want it fixed or give me my money back. I had a warranty issue before on other furniture I bought, and you gave me my money back.

What really ****** me off is that I called your customer service four times, and the last time I spoke to the Customer service manager. She assured me the see would call me back-that never happened.

Either give me my money back, like you did before, for all the warranties I purchased or I **** have it fixed and sue The Roomplace in Small claims court.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************, CCOM

To clarify (not that it has any hindrance on our willingness and desire to help our mutual Customer), the Customer's Certificate of Coverage states "Warranty offered exclusively by Guardian Protection Products Inc.". Copy available upon request. The RoomPlace does not administer the extended warranty on behalf of the third party provider of service. As previously stated, the RoomPlace has received confirmation from Guardian, the provider of the extended warranty service that the claim has been reopened and is currently in process. Guardian indicated a confirmation email was sent directly to the Customer on 1/27/14 confirming the same and an options letter sent out today as it relates to the claim outcome under the warranty . We asked Guardian to contact our mutual Customer and provide an update verbally as well and review the options in the letter mailed out today, 2/2/2015. With much gratitude and respect, ************, Customer Care Operation Manager

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's not resolved. I cannot get TRP's vendor to respond.
There options letter is only for one ottoman and there are two.
Also, the options outlined are unacceptable. A cash offer of $95 and relinquish the item. I would you any cash to have the items fixed.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.