BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2013

Art Van Furniture

Find a Location

(219) 769-2804View Additional Phone Numbers1600 E 80th Ave, MerrillvilleIN 46410-5732

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2013

BBB has determined that Art Van Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Art Van Furniture's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Art Van Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: I had a sofa sleeper delivered to my home on 4-17-14 and the air mattress had a hole in it. I am still waiting on the new mattress to be delivered
I have called numerous times to the service department to put a rush on the mattress. I have been inconvenienced as this new sofa was for guests and they couldnt sleep on the air mattress since there was a hole in same. I also advised them of scratches that were done to the trim when they delivered the sofa and still have not heard from the damage department. We paid over **** for this new sofa and still cannot use it. Sales Rep was ***** ********** I would like to get the air mattress or they can come and pickup this sofa and give me my money back and I will go somewhere else. I also want reimbursed for the damage they did to my oak trim. I believe 2-6 weeks (which is what they told me) for a replacement mattress is unsatisfactory.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Childrens, Furniture - Outdoor, Mattresses, Office Furniture & Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/2013Business started: 01/01/1959Business started locally: 08/01/2013
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1993, IN

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Julia Irla (Admin. Asst.)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Shirley Decker (Corporate Guest Assistance Coordinator) Karen Lowry (Customer Service Manager)Mr. Art Van Eislander (Chariman)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Childrens, Furniture - Outdoor, Mattresses, Office Furniture & Equipment

Products & Services

This company offers retail furniture.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.
Industry Tips
Are You Sure Your Mattress is New?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Art Van Furniture

1600 E 80th Ave

Merrillville, IN 46410-5732

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 311 E Coliseum Blvd 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1003

  • 1600 E 80th Ave 

    Merrillville, IN 46410-5732(219) 769-2804
    (586) 983-2134
    (586) 983-2130

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Art Van Furniture is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (586) 983-2134
  • (586) 983-2130
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

Are You Sure Your Mattress is New?
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.