BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/10/2005

American Home Store

Phone: (260) 442-0300Fax: (260) 489-11115818 Cross Creek Blvd, Fort WayneIN 46818-1725 Send email to American Home Store

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/10/2005

BBB has determined that American Home Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Home Store's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on American Home Store

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refuse refund/exchange for regular recliner purchased 3.5 months ago. Wanting to return it for a lift chair.
Called to ask about retuning a brown leather catnap recliner and repurchasing a lift chair. The chair has been in our home since purchase 12/28/2014 but used very little. The person it was intended for has been diagnosed with a terminal illness and has been bedridden. Unable to use it. When calling the store speaking to ************r asking about an exchange he denied it saying it was a floor model. Two recliners were purchased that day one being a floor model and one from warehouse taken taken out of the box in front of us. As a customer we do not know what codes etc are used on the receipt and ***** said they were both marked floor models. That is not the case. On your return policy there is no stipulation on time frame it would have to be returned etc. all I am asking is to replace the new chair with a lift chair so my husband can get up and down safely etc. I want no money back and in fact will end up paying you more. Can you please respond quickly to this request. Invoice number XXXXX. 12-28-2013 in Fort Wayne in

Desired Settlement
Exchanging a reclining catnapper leather recliner for a lift chair

Business Response
We do emphasize with the customers situation, however we cannot refund or exchange the merchandise. The 2 recliners were purchased on 12/28/13 and has now been in the home 4 months.

We did give the customer 1 recliner in the warehouse and took 1 recliner off the floor. Both recliners were marked and sold as floor models at a reduced price. We are enclosing a copy of the customer purchase invoice. Above the customer signature it states "special orders, floor models & clearance items all sales final".

We are offering the customer a @5% discount toward a purchase of a lift chair.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
09/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This business had two price tags on a rug I planned to purchase. One $10 lower than the other. The manager failed to honor the lower price.
On the afternoon of Saturday, August 10, 2013 my wife and I entered the store with the intent of purchasing an area rug

Obviously the business is apparently in the habit of trying to rip people off, has poor customer service, and does not address customers in a timely fashion no sales person made themselves available to us after about fifteen minutes of looking, we went to the service counter in the back of the store to get some help. A woman who was speaking on her cell phone (obviously a personal call) told the person she was speaking with that she would have to call them back, after about 30-45 seconds of waiting in front of her. We told her that we were interested in a rug and asked if she could help. She accompanied us to the area rugs where we pointed out the specific item we wished to purchase.

The particular rug we desired to purchase had one price on the front of the rug and a lower price on the back. We asked the sales woman to make sure that we would be getting the item for the lower price... She said "no" and proceeded to explain that the tag did not match the arm bar the rug was displayed on even though the price on the back was more of a permanent fixture to the rug than the price on the front.

We asked to speak to a manager and the woman identified herself as the store manager! She then proceeded to tell us that she could offer it to us for ** off the price on the front, but we made the decision to walk out the front door because of the deceptive business practices this place obviously practices.

If you are looking for a place that has deceptive business practices, employees who talk on their cell phones in front of customers, doesn't address a customer when shopping, and a store manager who cannot give customers the product for the price on the price tag that is adhered to the product itself, than this is the place for you! However, if you are looking for a place that respects customers and has respectable business practices, than you need to go somewhere else! There are so many other choices in the Fort Wayne area. Do yourself a favor and don't even walk in the door to this dishonest establishment!

Desired Settlement
The store manager should be fired, better training for employees should be offered to address customers, sales items should be checked for old sales ticket prices, and the lowest ticketed price on an item should be honored for the customer.

Business Response
It is always our goal to greet our guest with a warm welcome within the first few moments into our store. I apologize if this was not the case for Mr. *****.

We display 600 area rugs and have a detailed tagging system with information containing sizes available, pricing, barcodes and arm numbers. These tags or 5 x 8 in size and placed in plastic sleeves an pinned to the area rugs. This is done so the tags cannot be switched around. The rug Mr. ***** was considering had a different type of tag adhered tot he back and also had a handwritten price on it and did not match the product. Every retailer has problems with people switching tags and we try to monitor this to the best of our ability.

As a company, we take great pride in our friendly service, affordable prices and quality products. We have a very professional and experienced sales staff an thousands of satisfied customers. We maintain an A+ rating the the BBB of Northern Indiana.

I would like to assure Mr. ***** this cannot be achieved by having deceptive business practices.

Sincerely,

American Home Store
****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How unfortunate that this company continues to have poor customer service issues and deceptive business practices. The response received just goes to show things are really worse than I originally described.

Poor customer service -
if your goal is to greet the customer within the first few minutes, you absolutely failed - we were not addressed in the store - even after being there 20 minutes... We needed to seek out a sales person, in this case an unqualified manager.
Talking on the cell phone (personal calls) in front of customers is not professional
In your response to the BBB you cannot even spell my name correctly every time you use it - and you call yourselves "professional"

2. The tag that was on the rug was a permanent fixture to the rug. Any untrained eye would be able to tell it was an original price tag to the product as it was 100% affixed. On the other hand, the plastic tags are totally moveable... maybe the company needs to invent some other story to try and deceive others. The company is now trying to accuse the customers (me?) of moving the tag to this rug? Obviously the store manager knew they left it there by mistake before hiking the price of the rug ten dollars... Why else would she have offered $5 off the price of the rug! Buyers beware! Deceptive practices avail at this store, and they will accuse you of moving price tags!

3. The best of the ability of this company has obviously proven to not be enough. It is apparent that the store owner should actively seek new management if they are hoping for growth at this business. With a manager who cannot spell, ensure customers are greeted and taken care of, rugs improperly marked, who accuse customers of changing rug tags, not being able to properly monitor rug tags, and speaking on the cell phone taking personal calls in front of customers - how can a store owner expect for their company to be taken care of?

4. You mention you have a very professional sales staff. I would 100% disagree. Your store is only as strong as the weakest link at your establishment... Unfortunately, that appears to be the so called management that is employed there. Very professional people take time to make sure customer's names are spelled correctly, they do not take personal calls in front of customers, they address customers when they come in to a store and ask if they need help, they admit an error in their part instead of trying to deceive customers and deal with the customer fairly by giving the actual ticketed price on a permanent fixed tag, they do not accuse their customers of their own faults and personal failures at work.

Deceptive people can have very lucrative and successful businesses. However, their business is only short lived. Hopefully that will be the case for the management at this store. If not, it may bring the store to a halting close.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/04/2005Business started: 07/01/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Buckhardt (Owner)Ms. Kim Buckhardt (Owner)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Products & Services

This firm offers retail furniture.

Alternate Business Names
American Home Store Outlets, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Home Store

5818 Cross Creek Blvd

Fort Wayne, IN 46818-1725

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5818 Cross Creek Blvd 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46818-1725(260) 442-0300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Home Store is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.