BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Summit Source

Phone: (260) 489-7525Fax: (260) 489-22854203 Merchant Rd, Fort WayneIN 46818-1249 Send email to Summit Sourcehttp://www.summitsource.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Summit Source is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Summit Source's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Source
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: I was led to believe I was purchasing a highly recommended antenna from a BBB accredited business and was sent a cheap knockoff.
I searched for a seller of the RCAant751 1080p red zone hdtv outdoor antenna that received excellent reviews.********* also made the same antenna. Summit Source came up as a supplier and they claimed to be BBB accredited. Their price was competitive so I chose them on 7/3/2013. The antenna arrived on 7/6/2013, saturday. It was an antenna craft HBU-11K green zone high band hdtv antenna for channels 7-69. The RCA product covered further distance and all the channels. Radio Shack stocks the antennacraft for $*****.I immedately called on saturday but they are closed on the weekends so I left a message. I left messages on monday and emailed on Monday, 7/8/2013 but they did not respond to any of my messages.I started a ****** dispute and mailed the product back. That cost me an additional $****.After repeated requests through paypal they gave me a return number,XXXXXX-NC1. My order number at summit was XXXXXX.The antenna cost me ******* I didn't open the box because it was clearly not what I ordered. At no time did they ever indicate they don't carry anything but antennacraft outdoor antennas.I never would have purchased this product, they completely misrepresented what I was buying.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@summitsource.com
The customer was notified several times through the checkout process that the exact model he was ordering was not available, and that we were substituting a equivalent model from another manufacturer.

OFFER:
He has already returned the item based on ********* guidelines, and a full refund has been issued for the product price and original shipping charges. We are sorry he was not happy with the item we shipped, but we do not know what else can be done at this point to further resolve his complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
08/02/2011Problems with Product / Service
04/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: i ordered an hdmi cord that doest work
on 2/14/13 i recieved an email stating that they

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *************, COO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@summitsource.com
We have had extensive communication with this customer related to the cable that was purchased. It is stated on the product page, that we recommend the purchase of the signal booster with the purchase of this cable based on its length. He did not do so, and that is more than likely why it is not working. It is more than likely that the cable he has in his possession is not defective at all, he is simply trying to use it improperly and that is why it is not working for him. With that being said we have offered to replace the cable if it is in-fact defective, with a tested working one; and he has refused the replacement.

OFFER:
At this point the item is opened and used and as such cannot be returned for a refund, but he can use the supplied RMA# and instruction to return the more than likely fully functioning item to be tested and replaced if found to be defective.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I need a full refund

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: *************, COO

The Webpage for this item states "Please Note: We recommend adding a signal repeater for all HDMI runs more than 50' FT: Steren HDMI Repeater." and includes a link to the additional item we recommend. We cannot force the customer to purchase one, and cannot know the reasons why they may not need one, but we recommend the item all the same. If he choose not to purchase the recommended item we have no control over that.

OFFER:
With that being said our response remains the same. He can returned the item for testing and replacement, and we will do so with the provided RMA#.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/26/2004Business started: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2003, IN

Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Products & Services

This firm offers audio video equipment. The firm sells brands such as Winegard, Channel Master, AntennaCraft, Stern, and Channel Plus. The firm also offers accessories that includes: antennas, amplifiers, cables, wall plates, converter boxes, and satellite tv assessories.

Alternate Business Names
Sky Marketing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Summit Source

4203 Merchant Rd

Fort Wayne, IN 46818-1249

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4203 Merchant Rd 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46818-1249(260) 489-7525

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Summit Source is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.