BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/1988

Afdent Dental Services

Phone: (260) 482-8386Fax: (260) 483-0024

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am not happy with the way that Afdent Dental wants to repair my dentures that are only 3 years old.
3 years ago, I had Afdent Dental extract my teeth and make a full set of dentures (upper & lower) and within the first year, I had problems with the upper cracking. I made several trips to them to get them fixed but only to have them break again. Finally they had to put extra material in the upper to keep it from breaking. The second year, my lower denture cracked and once again, I had to make a trip to them to have it fixed. Keep in mind, I had many half days I had to take off work because shortly after having them do the work, they stopped being open on Saturdays which is the whole reason I went there to begin with. I work an hour one way away from them and live an hour and half one way from them so it takes a lot of my time and loss of income. Within 2 weeks of the repair of the lower, it broke again in the exact same place. When I got it back from the first repair, I could clearly see the crack. I was fed up at this point and had a second set of dentures made, which I have had zero issues with, from a different denture place. I recently had to go to Afdent for my yearly check-up on my dentures, and showed them the broken lower, and discussed my concerns with their repairs and asked for a new lower to replace this one. They finally agreed and they did the mold and scheduled an appointment for a wax try in on 4-24-15. I go to my appointment and they have me try the new lower, and I noticed that it was a different shade of white for the teeth. And also that the style of tooth was completely different as well. The assistant *******, told me that they no longer carry the brand of tooth that matches my upper denture plate, and that I would have to either go a shade brighter or darker and they style was all they had. I paid over $3,000 for these dentures from Afdent Dental and I do not feel that I should have to settle for mis-matched teeth. I am suppose to go back 5-14-15 For the second wax try in, which is yet another day I have to take time off work.

Desired Settlement
With having paid over $3,000 for a faulty set of dentures that I have had to have repaired 5-6 times in 3 years, I feel that a partial to full refund is in order to make up for the second set of dentures I had to have made from a different company, missed time from work, and wages.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** CEO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@afdent.com
**** first visit was March 27, 2012. This is when it was determined that the long-term prognosis for a partial denture was poor. It was decided to proceed with an immediate upper and lower denture.
On April 5, 2012 ****'s surgery was performed. The surgery went great.
On June 9, 2012 ****'s first coe-soft was placed. We told **** to call us for adjustments as needed. **** was doing great.
August 8, 2012 ****'s second coe-soft was placed. No sore spots were indicated.
October 16, 2012 a new coe-soft was placed. **** was very happy at this time. These coe-soft's are the normal routine for a new immediate denture.
December 10, 2012 **** called and stated there was a crack in his denture. On December 14, 2012 we repaired his denture and placed a new coe-soft.
December 26, 2012 unfortunately **** called and stated there was a fracture in the denture. Unfortunately this can happen. We repaired in on December 27, 2012.
January 2, 2013 **** called and stated his denture was fractured.
On January 11, 2013 we did a re-base on Dales denture. A re-base is like a new denture.
August 27, 2014 **** called and stated he needed a repair.
September 2, 2014 we repaired his denture since the re-base fixed the problem almost one year ago. We stated that if this was to happen again we will remake his denture.
April 6, 2015 ****'s lower denture broke. It was decided to remake his lower denture.
On April 24, 2015 a wax try in of his new denture was done. The shade of his lower denture was slightly lighter. We stated we will re-do.
Since the last visit we have not seen ****. We agreed to remake the lower denture to the precise fit and look. The amount of visits **** had is not abnormal for a new immediate denture. However we want **** to be a happy patient. We would like to remake both his upper and lower denture at no charge. We will continue to adjust the denture if any discomfort comes about. We do not want him to make the long trip in. A new set at no charge is the way to go.


OFFER:
**** is part of my Afdent Promise Program. Which means I will maintain his denture for the next 7 years at no charge. All he has to do is come in yearly at no charge for a check up. I would like to remake his upper and lower denture at no charge so **** has a well fitting set of dentures.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After the experiences i have dealt with on the first set of dentures, I do not feel like the quality is going to be any better. I have complained several times with the fitment of the original dentures, and have asked more then once for them to be remade with the answer always being "let's give this a try first". After each "repair", I have always been able to see the break and it always broke in the exact same spot. I still have a tooth that they have yet to take care of even tho it was on the original Bill and it has been paid for. I have lost so much time from work and money from having to deal with the poor quality of the dentures. As of right now, I have an appointment for a second wax try-in on the lower. I can not keep taking time off of work to drive an hour just to sit in the chair for 10 minutes to be told i need to come back for another wax try-in. It starts getting ridiculous after so many appointments to "try" to get something right. How much time and money am I going to lose if i agree to have a new upper and lower made? I spent a lot of money ($3,000+) on the dentures and the reason for selecting Afdent in the first place was because of Saturday Appointments, which they stopped shortly after getting the dentures. I can not afford to take half days off of work every other week to deal with issues that should never have happened in the first place. I believe a refund is the best decision for everyone at this time.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** CEO

When **** chose our office he was aware our office was a one hour drive. **** had major oral surgery and prosthetics placed. There is always healing that can change the fit of the denture resulting in the need for adjustments of the dentures. In some cases the healing is substantial and can result in the remake of the denture. He also mentioned a tooth that he paid for which we have not treated nor charged him for. We were observing a wisdom tooth that was impacted. Which in some cases after the other teeth are removed will erupt. **** did not pay for this due to the fact we were just observing the area. We did stop Saturday hours a couple of years ago. We do have extended hours in the morning and evenings. **** could have an appointment as late as 6:30pm. From the last conversation **** had with our office he stated the late appointments would work out.
In regards to his denture breaking we are sympathetic for his concerns. Unfortunately this can happen during the healing process. This process takes about 1 year sometimes longer.

OFFER:
We are willing to make the upper and lower denture at no charge. We will also accommodate him for each appointment as late as possible.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It seems like i have no choice to accept this. I'm still not happy with the business and never will be. I'll be waiting on acall from afdent to schedule my appappointment. And just so its clear, it states as late as 630 pm

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists, Dentistry - Cosmetic, Dentist - Orthodontist, Dentistry - Children, Dentist - Sedation, Dentist - Dental Implants, Dentist - Dental Surgery

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.