BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1970

Interra Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (574) 534-2506Fax: (574) 975-3221View Additional Phone Numbers300 W. Lincoln Ave., GoshenIN 46526 Send email to Interra Credit Union



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1970

BBB has determined that Interra Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Interra Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Interra Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Interra Credit Union allowed numerous withdrawals from my checking account by un-authorized venders. And let the withdrawals continue,(39 times @ ****** a transaction), even when the checking account was overdrawn, and for several months without ever notifying me by email, postage mail or phone. Interra Credit Union provided a service to contact, (Falcon Services), for these fraudulent charges and I was GAURANTEED by this company, that Interra provided, that all my money would be returned. No one from Interra Credit Union has ever called me about the status of this issue.

Desired Settlement
A return of every penny that was taken from that account for those fraudulent charges.

Business Response
Interra Credit Union has completed an investigation of the concerns stated by Mr. ********.

Each month Mr. ******** has been provided a copy of his monthly statements enabling him to track his account transactions. If Mr. ******** felt the 39 transactions were in error, contacting Interra Credit Union with this concern could have stopped any potential fraud much earlier. Members need to notify Interra Credit Union within 60 days after the first statement was sent on which an error or problem appeared. Falcon Services does their best to provide assistance in the suspicion of fraud but has a limited reconciliation period.

Interra takes pride in assisting our members with errors or questions about their account. Extensive monitoring systems have even been put in place allowing fraud to be reduced for our members. However, personally monitoring one's financial accounts on a monthly basis is encouraged for all Interra members.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My late wife's sister was the Branch Manager at Interra Credit Union at the time this account was open and all the security and fraud measures were in place at that time. Falcon Services told me I would get every penny back, the first rep from Interra told me they go back 90 days, now they are telling me they only go back 60 days. As I understand, Interra MUST contact their customers each and every time an account is overdrawn, that is also Federal requirements. Interra is also insured for the loss of this nature and my money was also insured with them for fraudulent activities charged against me. Interra Credit Union has a serious problem with their security and monitoring tools that they are currently using. It's 2016, your customers deserve better. I expect a full refund for all my losses. I'm the victum, not them. That money was from my wife's life-insurance policy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kalin at Falcon Services, assured me I would get every penny back from those fraudulent charges, I was told by Interra Credit Union I would get every penny back, then it was 90 days, now it's 60 days ? If I have to sue Interrs Credit Union for the full recovery of the money , I will. I will also contact The County Prosecutor, and download the viral video of my experience that I have had with Interra Credit Union. I will not settle for anything less then the full refund of the stolen money. Interra is insured for losses of this type, my money was insured with Interra and should have been safe under their control. No financial institution should have this poor of a recovery plan for these types of situations. I should have been notified every time the checking account was overdrawn, they should have contacted me by phone, email or letter under Federal law each and every time that account had a negative balance. I EXPECT EVERY PENNY TO BE RETURNED TO ME !

Final Business Response
Mr. ********' claims of charges in September, October, November and December of 2015 were not filed until April 29, 2016. As previously described, Interra Credit Union has a 60 days charge back time limit.

11/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Imagine my surprise when I called Interra Credit Union to find out why I have to ask for a new access code every time I check my bank balance with their NEW online banking (that replaced a completely functioning one) and they told me: "YOU HAVE TO SAVE ALL OF YOUR COOKIES ON YOUR COMPUTER FOREVER."
What?! Are you crazy?!
When I informed them that I will not save all the cookies on my computer, they made me sign up for a new message center (that I did not want) just to send me instructions for how to delete all cookies but the ones Interra puts on my computer. WRONG AGAIN!
Computers in the government get hacked all the time by high school kids and Interra wants me to save all of my banking information, including and especially my password/code in the form of cookies on my PC. I don't see how anyone in their right mind could consider that secure in any way, shape or form!!
There is NOTHING secure about FORCING members to save their banking information on a private PC. I've had my router hacked and the hackers were using more internet service than I was using myself!

When a hacker steals our cookies, and by virtue of doing so, becomes us an increasingly frequent occurrence these days. Rather, they become authenticated to our websites as if they were us and had supplied a valid log-on name and password.
When used with a fake WAP or on a shared public network, cookie hijacking can be quite successful. Firesheep will show all the names and locations of the cookies it is finding, and with a simple click of the mouse, the hacker can take over the session.

http://www.infoworld.com/article/XXXXXXX/malware/7-sneak-attacks-used-by-today-s-most-devious-hackers.html

When I log into my Interra account, I want to be able to just log in with a password *** security question. I don't want any (NOT ONE) cookies saved on my computer by Interra Credit Union or anyone else for that matter. I don't want to have to request a new access code every time I want to check my bank balance.

Desired Settlement
Please contact me by email. Thank You.

Business Response
Response to Case # 26063180: **** *******

Interra Credit Union converted to a new Online and Mobile Banking solution on October 6, 2015. This new solution leverages industry best practices and state of the art technology for a more secure member experience and solution designed to protect confidential member information.

During the first-time login process, members are asked to select their preferred contact method that enables Interra to provide them immediately with a Secure Access Code. This approach to multi-factor authentication provides an extra layer of security for our members during login. Members may choose a phone call, text message or e-mail to receive the Secure Access Code. When the six-digit Secure Access Code is received, the member enters the Access Code and selects Submit. The one-time access code is valid for only 15 minutes. If it expires prior to being used to authenticate their preferred device, the member must request a new Secure Access Code.

During the next step in the login process, the member is asked if they would like to Register or Not Register the device. If the member chooses to register the trusted device to create a quicker login experience, they will not have to generate a new secure access code when they use that trusted device or browser in the future. A member may be asked to re-register a device or browser every 180 days, a feature that adds an additional layer of member security.

We appreciate Mr. *******'s concern for safety and security. This is precisely the reason we give every member the option to not register their device and instead receive a unique six-digit Secure Access Code each time they log in. Mr. ******* states that he wishes to answer a security question rather than receive and enter a Secure Access Code each time he logs in. Our previous Online Banking solution did leverage security questions and is likely the reason he is making this request. To provide enhanced member security, this is no longer an option for multi-factor authentication when logging into our new Online Banking platform. The unique six-digit Secure Access Code we now utilize provides a much higher level of security than the static challenge questions we used previously.

Thank you,

Joel *******
VP Operations
Interra Credit Union
300 W Lincoln Ave Goshen, IN XXXXX
PO Box 727 Goshen, IN XXXXX
574.534.XXXX XXX.432.2848 ext. ****
*****@interracu.com fax: 574.975.3201

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Banking Services, Savings & Loan Associations, Mortgage Bankers, Check Cashing Service, Credit Cards & Plans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1968Business started: 02/01/1932
Type of Entity

Non-Profit Domestic Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Amy Sink (CEO)
Contact Information
Ms. Char Willett
Business Category

Credit Unions, Banking Services, Savings & Loan Associations, Mortgage Bankers, Check Cashing Service, Credit Cards & Plans

Products & Services

This business offers financial services.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Interra Credit Union

300 W. Lincoln Ave.

Goshen, IN 46526

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Interra Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 432-2848
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.