BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2013

INOVA Federal Credit Union

Phone: (574) 294-6553Fax: (574) 293-6119

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: The company has now raised my monthly car payments by *** dollars because of Lack of Proof of insurance, when i have proof of Insurance.
I have spoken to 5 people and every time i try and escalate the call, they advise upper management will contact me and it never happens.
I original set up the Re-finance with ****** ******* Which i have provided email proof of him saying that they had everything needed for the Loan and everything was good going forward. 3 months later i get a bill for *** plus dollars for my car payment, when it was originally ***** I spoke to 2 different woman who said that it was because i didn't have insurance on the car and they were charging me for the coverage. I advised both of them that i have had insurance on that car for over a year and provided my insurance information. Come to find out the reason for them not seeing my insurance was because the lien holder for the loan on my insurance was still with santander bank. They fixed it and they said everything is good now and they would credit back the amount. Well another month passes and i get another bill for *** plus dollars and i call to find out whats going on and they pass me on to a women by the name of ***** ******* She said they still had to charge me because my deductible for my full coverage insurance was to high and they needed it to be at ****** I told her that is not required by Florida Law, but that is fine i can change it. But she said i would still owe money for the months that the deductible was incorrect. I told her that is outrageous that you think you can charge me *** plus dollars a month because of my deductible not being ****** She said that i was told that when i first refinanced the Car that i didn't have insurance/deductible properly in line. I told her that is a lie and i Forwarded her all the Emails from ****** ****** and also the Specific one which he stated everything was fine and he received everything he needed from me and the check to refinance the car was being sent out. He sent me that email on 10/30/13 and i forwarded Debra that email 4/10/14. She pretty much replied with to bad it doesn't matter what he said you still owe this amount. So i told her that i refuse to pay that amount and she said her supervisor would call me back and that was on the 11th of April. Well guess what like always they didn't call back until yesterday asking me for *** dollars in missed payments. I told the lady the story and that i am done with this company and i am creating a case with the BBB and also I am taking legal action with our family lawyers. She pretty much laughed in my face about it and said go ahead. So here i am with this Complaint and i will have the information from my lawyers in 2 weeks.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** VP Ops
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@inovafcu.org
Member originally had a ******** deductible on his auto insurance and our loan disclosures state max ******** deductible. INOVA uses a third party to track for insurance coverage and they sent the member letters regarding the insurance coverage. Insurance coverage was then added to the loan to protect the collateral. Upon hearing from the member, management put in place procedure to make exceptions in these cases before insurance is placed on the loan. The company has done a full refund of the protection and member has been contacted and satisfied.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: the company keeps charging me for addition car insurance on my loan even though I already have full coverage insurance with another company
since last year September they have added ********* onto my car loan stating that I don't have insurance which I have provided numerous evidence of me having full coverage insurance since December 24,2012 loan#XXXX-XXXX XXXX Toyota rav4 cyl, I spoke to ***** in the insurance department several times fax multiply of proof from both me and my insurance agent lance, which is with Ocean Harbor Casualty insurance, my payments were to be rounded off to **** monthly and now its at ******* monthly I cry tears every day due to this matter and no matter how much information I send then the problem keeps getting even worse, at my age I shouldn't be in this type of situation I pay my bill on time every month and cant get a positive result from this company which I thought at first would help but instead they have been causing my heart ace and grief, I am so sadden this is my last option to resolve the matter or else go the news station and make a complaint, I am in desperate need of help I am tired.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* Lending
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@inovafcu.org
**** **** was notified via mail on 11-7-13 of the need for insurance coverage for the period of the auto loan. We did not receive the insurance policy showing coverage and a final notices was sent to Ms. **** on 12-5-13 explaining that we would be placing insurance on her loan if we did not receive a copy of the policy. On 1-30-14 INOVA contact Ms. ****'s via phone to inform her of what was needed, and also left a voice message for her insurance agent. The policy was not received and the insurance premium was placed on her loan on 2-6-14 to ensure that the collateral was covered. Once INOVA received a copy of the policy on 4-16-14, we refund the insurance premiums based on the dates of the policy. The policy dates did not cover the loan in it's entirety. So there was a remaining portion still on her loan to cover a 3 month period. INOVA made several attempts to get this information from her insurance company, and they were not able to provided proof of coverage. INOVA made a final attempt to get this information from the insurance company on behalf of Ms. ****, and we received proof of coverage for the full period of the loan on 5-5-14. The remaining refunded of the insurance premium was applied to the loan on 5-7-14.

OFFER:
INOVA has spoken with **** ****'s and resolution has been made.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2014 I contacted INOVA FCU about having difficulties making my auto loan payment. I was offered their standard plan to skip a payment and instructed to fax confidential information to them and to send a *** fee to initiate the process. I did so on Feb. 20, 2014. I was informed at the time that the faxed information did, in fact, go through. Fast forward to March, 2014.I get notified that my Feb, 2014 payment is past due. (This was the payment that was to be skipped.)Upon investigation I find that the fax went to a branch office and never forwarded to the proper office. For all I knew, the fax may have gone to an identity thief. Ultimately, I no longer trust Inova FCU to conduct business in a timely, efficient, and proper manner or to properly safeguard information covered by the Privacy Act and I refuse to do business with people I cannot trust. I have tried to pay my debt and will continue to make payments as I can but the current situation is intolerable to me.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** VP Ops
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@inovafcu.org
Our member faxed in documentation on Feb 20, 2014, to skip his loan payment. His paperwork was not processed and he was concerned that his information was faxed by the third party to another destination as we originally could not locate the documentation. Upon further research we were able to locate the documents that did get faxed to our member service fax number and we were able to skip his loan payment and not charge him a late fee and his loan payment was not reported delinquent to the credit bureau. The member had been communicating with our Account Management Department and I spoke with the member on March 17, 2014 about the situation. I also tried to follow up with a phone call on March 18th and 19th and then sent him an email that the situation is resolved and that his information is safe and secure and we apologize for any inconvenience.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: When me and my wife went to purchase a vehicle Inova refused to give my wife or myself our payoff amount .
We have contacted Inova several times regarding this issue and have not resolved this problem . We are still awaiting payoff amount for dealership to write check . We were told someone would return our call but has yet to do so . I called to talk to supervisor and was hung up on 6 times and never able to talk to supervisor . This is the first company that I have ever had an issue like this with and would def not recomend them to anyone . All I am asking for is to get my pay off on my 2011 Toyota Tacoma so dealership can pay it off . We also have my wifes Durango financed through them as well and am now thinking of switching if we could ever get payoff amounts .

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** D *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext6606
Contact Email: ******@inovafcu.org
INOVA was able to speak with Mrs. ****** February 11, 2014. She stated she called on a Sunday and our afterhours call center was unable to give that information. INOVA gave the payoff information to Mrs. ******, this was emailed to the dealership and Mrs. ******. INOVA also provided personal contact phone and email of the Branch Manager that assisted her if she needed any further assistance.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: I applied for a account on 6/6/13. Received a message stating I would hear back within 24 hrs. Attempted to contact via phone/email no success.
6/6/13- Signed up for account - planned to move ***.
6/10/13- Placed an email through the site, in regards to not hearing back within 24hrs. No response as of 6/12/13.
Called 6/10/13 - spoke to a resp who stated no available individuals in that section of office to assist me. She took my number and said they would call back.
6/12/13- It's two days later- Still have not received any call back.
6/12/13- Attempted to call phone number on website multiple times today- Immediate disconnects....

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, Exec. Ast
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@inovafcu.org
INOVA apologizes for the delay in response. The individual was contacted on 6/12/13 and is proceeding with the new account process.

OFFER:

Consumer's Final Response
Finally was able to talk to someone. Looks like everything is now okay.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
04/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with advertisement

Complaint: I received an invitation in the mail from Inova Federal Credit Union, to refinance my vehicle at a low interest rate. I applied and no one got back.
After applying online with Inova Federal Credit Union invitation I got, I waited for someone to call me back, no one call. I call them at this XXX-XXX-XXXX number and someone give me my representative, Ms. ******** ******** I first contacted Ms. ******* and everything same to be ok, at least that's what I thought, I over look the fact that during the beginning of submitting my application I, was told that someone would get back to me and there didn't. From the 15th of january until now I've spoken with several but one Rep. Mr *****, give me a Mgn, name ****** @ ***** whom I left a mgs/ she never call back. this the problem!

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: INOVA FCU
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
INOVA Federal Credit Union is comfortable with the follow up contact that was attempted with Mr. *******. We have records of first contact attempt within 24 hours of application. Mr. ******* applied on January 16th, 2014 at 2:18:44 PM EST; contact was initiated on January 17th at 9:43 AM EST, within 24 hours of initial application date. Mr. ******* reached out with required documents on January 22nd. From that date to February 28th he was in direct contact with our Loan Expert who assisted Mr. ******* with the loan process. Management contacted Mr. ******* on February 28th; there was no return contact on behalf of Mr.*******. The loan in question did not go through for other reasons. We apologize if Mr. ******* feels he did not get the level of service he expected.

OFFER:


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all I responded to a pre approved offer Inova Federal sent me in the mail. Secondly, after submitting the offer as instructed a two (2) or three (3) when by no one call so I got concern and call and in the beginning what I got from talking with the rep that was to help me would ask me to provide info but when she said she will get back to me she wouldn't and when I call Inova I felt like I was getting the run around. when they said I was pre approve they ran my credit, I am not satisfy with they respond because for what ever reasons they have to write me and let me know, thats my right.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ****** AVP of Centralized Len

INOVA Federal Credit Union is comfortable with the follow up contact that was attempted with Mr.*******. We have records of first contact attempt within 24 hours of application. Mr. ******* applied on January 16th, 2014 at 2:18:44 PM EST; contact was initiated on January 17th at 9:43 AM EST, within 24 hours of initial application date. Mr. ******* reached out with required documents on January 22nd. From that date to February 28th he was in direct contact with our Loan Expert who assisted Mr. ******* with the loan process. Management contacted Mr. ******* on February 28th; there was no return contact on behalf of Mr.*******. The loan in question did not go through for other reasons. We apologize if Mr. ******* feels he did not get the level of service he expected.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: My account applications were approved online but then declined for reasons I don't agree with. Phone calls, emails, online chats were all ignored.
I applied online for a checking account at INOVA on Feb 25, 2014, and after doing a hard pull on my credit report, their web system told me I was approved and even invited me to apply for their credit card for which it said I was pre-approved. I proceeded with the credit card application. After about a week, however, I received a letter in the mail telling me that my applications were in fact all denied. They listed factors based on my credit report, which are factual criteria I believe their web system should have been able to judge easily. After reviewing them myself, I found it even harder to understand the reasons being listed: I have had revolving accounts for 4.5 years, only 1/3 of them have balances, and the most recent one was opened 1.25 years ago. My FICA score varies from 750 to 770 month to month. Internet search reveals similar experience by other customers *************************************************************. I made several phone calls, wrote one email, used their online chatting twice, trying to clarify whether INOVA has specific, objective requirements for account approval, and if it has, what are they and why is the judgement of the human underwriters so different to the online system, or maybe simply to make sure that there was no mistake in processing the applications. Each time the representatives told me they needed to talk to the actual underwriter and promised to call me back the same day, but they never did. The people there were polite but it appears that INOVA does not really care about its customers. In addition, the fact that they need a hard inquiry for a checking account is not entirely clear from their online application system, which says "Your Social Security Number (SSN) is used for identification purposes and to determine your account opening eligibility". Finally, I would also think their underwriters do not have a clear objective guideline to work by.

Initial Business Response
On, Feb 25th, applicant applied online for membership with INOVA FCU and for a Visa account. Instant application approval or denial is based on specific criteria. Every instant approval is then thoroughly reviewed by an Underwriter based on all the applicants' information. Upon additional review of the information, INOVA stands behind its decision to deny the applicant. INOVA also reviews credit for every checking account request as those accounts also create a risk for loss.

INOVA apologizes for any inconvenience applicant had with member service and those issues will be addressed.



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business did not provide any specific answers that were sought for. Of course everyone understands that human underwriters can turn down an application previously approved by computer -- but for what reason? As stated in my original complaint, the factors given as the reason for denying my application by the underwriter are clearly factual criteria (i.e., numbers) that could have been evaluated by the computer system. The unwillingness to disclose any more information on their criteria to me and other people who have high credit scores makes one believe that their underwriters make the decisions rather subjectively. And yes it's OK to do a credit check to assess risk, but use a soft pull or ChexSystems like the vast majority of banks do, otherwise please make it crystal clear to the customer that you are not following the norm. Thanks!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Inova deducted ***** though I called and email ****** **** to stop.
Inova was among other banks I applied to re-fi my car. They all have my checking account numbers. Due to several fees that I didn't agree, I didn't send power of attorney to seal the deal. I received the text alert on 6.12 that Inova deducted **** even though I called and text ****** **** and ***** ***** to stop. I complied to provide all information such as proofs of income, passport.. specially direct withdrawal form, should the contract concluded. In addition, Ashley wasn't truthful in saying that I've been hard to reach. I have unlimited text, why is that a problem to contact me ? In contrary, Ms. **** was very arrogant, ignored to correspond to my inquiries in time such as sending cancellation of mechanical contract form ( it took her one week) and unreturned phone calls. Because of her irresponsible actions, I had my checking accounts closed on 6.12.13 to prevent the other banks exercise the same practice, then I would be stuck with overdraft charges and wrangling for refund like where I'm at with Inova right now- many times over. I did text them about closing my checking account, and simply asked for refund of **** and called it the day. As usual, no compliance. Is it because they are big institution with iron clad contracts and easily lawyer up small fish like me ? In addition, my credit is negatively affected by Inova and their staff's wrongdoings. Please stop them !

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, AVP of INOVA
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@inovafcu.org
We reviewed the complaint filed by *** *****. Her complaint is misleading. *** did enter into a financing relationship with INOVA and directed INOVA to pay off her pervious Lender. Signed copies of the documents will be mailed to The Better Business Bureau of Northern Indiana in conjunction with this written response, including, the authorization to debit her account for the monthly payment about which she is currently complaining- the actual history is as follows:
*** ***** called INOVA Direct regarding the refinance for her Kia Soul; she spoke with ****** *****, a Financial Savings Officer in the INOVA Direct Center. ****** emailed *** on 3/26/2013 to follow up and inform her of the refinance process, how to apply, and the documents we would need to proceed with the refinance. The following day, 03/27/2013, *** emailed ****** back, thanking her for her assistance, and informing ****** that she had faxed the documents needed to proceed with the auto loan refinance. *** officially applied for the refinance on her Kia Soul on 4/8/2013, 2:03 p.m. On 04/18/2013, at 3:15pm ****** ***** informed *** of her auto loan refinance approval, going over the terms and conditions of the loan, and sent her the loan documents for *** to review and sign - should she accept the loan refinance with INOVA Direct. *** emailed ****** ***** to ask about the Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP), due to ***'s vehicle being 120.3% loan to value; *** would need to provide proof of GAP coverage, or she could take advantage of the GAP coverage offered through INOVA Direct. She elected the GAP coverage with INOVA Direct and ****** informed her that if she had GAP previously with her other lender she could certainly call them to see if she is eligible for a pro-rated refund. On 4/19/2013 at 11:34am, *** ***** completed her loan documents for her 2012 Kia Soul. The loan documents clearly state that *** ***** agrees to the terms and the Loan Agreement. It also states, "CAUTION: IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU THOROUGHLY READ THE AGREEMENT BEFORE YOU SIGN IT." The Loan Agreement clearly states the itemization of the amount finance, and the 'Promise to Pay'. On 04/24/2013 *** requested a cancellation form for her Service Contract (bumper to bumper service coverage). ****** sent *** the cancellation form the same day. At 9:21am on 04/30/2013 *** emailed ****** to inform her that she received the power of attorney form to complete, (this form adds INOVA, the Lender, as the lienholder on ***'s title). *** stated she would send the form back today. Same day, 04/30/12 at 11:21am, ****** received a fax from ***, containing a copy of her power of attorney form so that INOVA can place their lien on the title; the fax also contained an Authorization Agreement for Direct payment via ACH, filled out by ***, with a voided check attached. ****** sent the form to the appropriate department at INOVA, to ensure ***'s payment would be taken out automatically, per her request. Later, on 04/30/2013 at 12:37pm, *** emailed ****** to ask her why Kia was sent a payoff check. ****** explained that she applied for the refinance of her Kia, they went over all of the terms, and *** signed the loan documents, she then asked *** to call her directly so that she could better understand her question. ****** did not receive a call; however she did receive a text message to the INOVA Direct Department cell phone number, at this time ****** text back informing *** that the phone was for submitting picture documents and to please call her Supervisor, ***** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. *** called and left a message for ***** *****. ***** returned ***'s call the same day, leaving her direct contact information for *** to call back. ***** did not receive a return call from ***. On 05/01/2013 *** emailed ****** stating that she would like to refinance somewhere locally where she could communicate face to face. ****** replied asking *** to call her. When ****** did not receive a call, she emailed *** on 05/03/2013 stating that if she wanted to refinance locally that the local bank could call INOVA to obtain a payoff, ****** then stated, "Call me if you have any questions." On 06/12/2013 *** emailed ****** asking her to move her payment date to 06/18/2013. ****** sent her the payment due date change form and ***'s payment was changed to 06/18/2013 per her request. The ******* *** is referring to was deducted from her account, per her request and authorization for her Kia payment. The $*** was for her payment for her Kia Soul, if *** is requesting that INOVA refund the payment - it would put ***'s loan in default and collection attempts would be made on INOVA's behalf. Please note, however; that she authorized INOVA to debit her account. Furthermore, by statute independent of the directive... If *** is requesting that the ******* payment be returned back to her that would make her loan delinquent, and negatively impact her credit profile, additionally; collection attempts would then be made on behalf of INOVA. Given the history and resigned loan documents, *** does not have a valid complaint. INOVA believes that *** simply no longer desires to pay on her debt to INOVA.


OFFER:
Contact INOVA's Account Management Department at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX X 7211

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do have this completed application on file and this is identical applications to the ones I'd applied to local banks ( they even have the original void check.) I simply ask for the original power of attorney public notarized and mailed to you, which placed you to be my lien holder ( and creditors if the loan hasn't been paid off). As we both know, you nearly tanked my checking account with Chase for $*** on unauthorized 6.12.13, forced me to closed my account with them, and you have left me automated voicemail daily, stating of overdue payments and late fees added ( fulfill your threat to ruin my credit). Yesterday, 7.23.13, I had my local bank agents phoned you for potential pay off, just to prove my point that even them can't issue payment to you because legally you are not my lien holder on the title, Kia still is. Now, you are not my creditor, you can't accept payments, which isn't under your name- it's a crime. Read your fine print disclaimer, power of attorney letter is only valid with 7-10 days upon the deal contracted during second week of April. In addition, this re-fi application must be discarded after 60 days (by 6.30.13) should the deal didn't seal. If only you refund me $*** as requested, there wouldn't be mountains made from small mole hill.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Loans, Banking Services

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.