BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/1987

CommunityWide Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (574) 239-2700Fax: (574) 239-27051555 Western Avenue, South BendIN 46619

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/1987

BBB has determined that CommunityWide Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CommunityWide Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CommunityWide Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Community wide os sending mail to the wrong person and has two different peoples information on the bill
Community wide has information wrong

Initial Business Response
A data entry error caused the wrong information to be printed on the loan correspondence paperwork. Upon notification, the error was immediately corrected by CommunityWide along with regret for the mistake.
CommunityWide FCU

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Charged ****** for repossession that should not have happened do to me paying the past due off in a timely manner.
On 12/28/2009 paid ****** for past due charges on vehicle loan. On 1/11/2010 tow truck came and reposessed my vehicle. I called Community Wide and they verified they received money and would call the tow truck and tell them to bring car back. Car was brought back.
On 10/7/2013 I paid **** to car loan. **** posted to another person's account with the same last name (explanation I was given from Community Wide). I even have their acct # which is XXXXXX. Community Wide realized error after my phone call and my account was credited the ***** At this point I asked for a detailed print out from Community Wide to verify there were no other recording errors. This is when I see the reposession charge of ******** Call Community Wide and they said the fee is because they called the recovery company. I then asked for an invoice from the recovery company. Community Wide sent this to me along with another print out that they refunded me **** on 10/16/2013. Again, no refund would have been made just as my **** payment would not have been realized, and the tow truck company not called to not take my car, until my phone call to them. We are now at **** in erroroneous postings on their part. Called Community Wide 10/21/2013 again to dispute charges. ******* ** in the reposession department stated that these charges were because they called the tow truck. Was rude and hasty. She stated well we refunded you **** that you were charged for the tow. I asked how the **** was figured because the return to customer charge from SS Recover was *** and the tow charge was *** that is ***** ******* ** then stated on that extra ** is an error on our part we'll get that back from you. What? Another error? Now I am losing money again.... My concern is the amount of money I am being charged, for the erroroneous postings on Community Wide's part, and the lack of confidentiality. I have someone else's account # which seemed to be no big deal to Community Wide reps. Do people have access to my acct #?

Initial Business Response
After careful review of the transaction history and collection notes on Ms. ******'s account, we feel that all adjustments were made and the payments have been posted correctly.
All collections efforts were handled in a fair and professional way. Reimbursement of the towing fees to Ms. ***** included in the repossession, were a goodwill gesture on the part of the Credit Union.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First and foremost there was nothing professional about the way I was treated. Second, another unprofessional act was posting my payments into another individuals account. I am worried about the amount of information Community Wide fails to handle in a confidential and secure manner. I have not been reimbursed the amount owed to me.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: falsly updating 1st delinquient date to keep it on my credit file as long as possible
account opened 09/13/2004 I made 2 payments and car was repoed. ever since they refuse to show a correct 1st date of delinquincy and update that date every year to the current year. I have a past credit report that shows a past date and a new one showing a new date. The 7 years is way past due and this account was included in my bankruptcy. Filed 04/2012 and discharged 8/2012 mysteriously now my 1st delinquint date is 4/2012. They even went to the extent to report on it after I had filed. I want this account removed from all 3 credit reports. I have all proof to back up my claims, and if not resolved I will report to the Federal Trade Commision and take nessasary steps to proceed to small claims.

Business' Initial Response
The amount being reported to the credit bureaus is from a bankruptcy and we have properly coded it discharged thru the bankruptcy. There has been no action on this account since 12-13-2006.

I have spoken with a representative from Equifax Credit Bureau regarding the reporting of this item. According to him it is not necessary for us to remove this loan from our history long as we report it discharged which we are doing.

We do report each month, so the monthly report date may show updated but nothing else should ever change. We keep the account on our history so that we will not give this person another loan due is the loss we took. Again. I have checked with a Credit Bureau representative and since this
Is a Chapter 7 bankruptcy, he has informed me that we do not have to remove this item.

Consumer's Final Response
I have sent a copy of my credit report from both EQUIFAX and TRANSUNION pulled on 5/17/2013. you will see by the highlighted information that have obviously lied. They said last account activity was in 2006, yet they report a date of first major delinquincy of 5/2012. One month AFTER I filed bankruptcy. Please take the time to review the information I have sent you.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/06/1987Business started: 01/01/1967
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Loren Roth (CEO)
Business Category

Credit Unions

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.
Industry Tips
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on Saving and Investing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CommunityWide Federal Credit Union

1555 Western Avenue

South Bend, IN 46619

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CommunityWide Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.