BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Heritage Acceptance Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues12
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints31

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (31)
08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heritage Acceptance will not stop harrasing me and they are contacting the wrong person, the account does not belong to me.
For the past month Heritage Acceptance Corporation has been sending reposession companies and Sherrifs Officers to my house trying to reposess a vehicle that is not my account and after several phone calls to them they refuse to assist me. The Sherrifs office will not stop coming to my residence until Heritage Acceptance contacts them to verify that this is not my account and they refuse to do so. I have verified my social security number with Heritage Acceptance to prove that this is not my account but another person with the same name as me. I am being harassed daily and it is embarassing to have Police and collection companies come to your house daily while all of our neighbors see this.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter drafted from Heritage Acceptance stating that I am not responsible for this account and I want them to contact the Sherrifs department to have them stop coming to our house leaving notes on our house. If this continues I will contact my attorney and seek damages if this does not stop.

Business Response
Please be advised that Heritage Acceptance Corporation will no longer be contacting ***** *****. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

If you .need anything more, please contact me.

Thank you in advance.

04/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This collection agency has sent me multiple letters requesting payment on an account that is not mine. After speaking with a very rude respresentative, it was determined my address was somehow added to the account of a person with the same name as mine; and I was told my address would be removed from the account. I thought this issue was resolved. This week, almost a year from the initial letter, I received another letter stating that the company was filing a 1099-C with the IRS for the money that I owed. After another call to the company and another conversation with a rude representative explaining that they have the wrong address, I was told my address would be removed from the account. The woman accused me of wrongly opening the letter (which was addressed to me at my address) and wanted to know why I kept asking about this account if it was not mine. She promptly said, "Have a nice day" and hung up on me. A letter is currently being drafted to the company to document that my address was changed and that they have the incorrect information for the account.

Desired Settlement
I would like this company to stop harassing me.

Business Response
In reply to your. letter, for the. Complaint tiled on 3/27/14. Please be advised that Heritage •
Acceptance Corp, has removed **** *****address from our records. The 1099-C that was received by her was also mailed in error.
We apologize for. any inconvenience: this may have caused, If you have any questions, please contact me.

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfair reporting practices
Since 8/2013 I have consistently paid my car note on time to Heritage acceptance corporation. Based upon my original contract that was signed in the month of August 2013. It clearly stated that Heritage Acceptance will be reporting my payment history to the credit bureaus. However, to date they have done no such thing. I feel that this is a direct violation of my contract; and I want to know why are they not upholding their original agreements. As stated in their contracts. This is really unfair and it is hendering my accreditation with other lenders.

Desired Settlement
I want them to report all of my payments, consistently and accurately to the credit reporting agencies from 8/2013 to present.

Business Response
April 15, 2015


Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ************
**** ******* ****
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
**** ******
Opened XXXX-XX-XX

Dear Ms. *************

In reply to your email dated April 7, 2015. I am showing Heritage Acceptance Corporation as reporting to both Equifax and Trans Union Credit Bureaus. Our company is reporting Mr. ****** as of 3/11/15 as "Redeemed Repossession. 11-Open/Closed in Good Std. 3 x 30 and 1 x 60". Please note our company does not report to Experian.

If Mr. ****** believes his account with Heritage Acceptance Corporation is not being reported to either Equifax or Trans Union, please have him contact those companies direct for a "Consumer Dispute Form" and hopefully we can get the reporting resolved with both Equifax and Trans Union direct.

If you have any questions, please contact me.


Sincerely,


**** M. ****
Administrative Collections Supervisor
Extension: ***





Consumer Response
I still haven't got my account reported to the credit bureaus with the account I have with Heritage Acceptance. I called the credit bureaus on 4/28/15 at 6:30pm to see if any changes has been made to my credit. The response was no. So I'm unsatisfied with the outcome thanks ****.

Final Business Response
June 10, 2016


Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ************
**** ******* ****
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
**** ******


Dear Ms. *************

In reply to the complaint dated 6/10/16, please be advised that Heritage Acceptance Corpation is reporting Mr. ****** monthly to both Equifax and Trans Union Credit Bureaus. We do not report to Experian. If Mr. ****** believes his account is not reporting, please have him contact both Equifax and Trans Union for a Consumer Dispute Form.

If Mr. ****** has any questions, please have him contact ***** at Ext: ****


Thank you,



**** ****
Admin. Collection Supervisor
Ext: ***


**** M. ****
Heritage Acceptance Corporation
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX Ext: ***
Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX






Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have being asking Heritage for almost a year about this problem nothing has been resolved. I have contact the credit bureaus and they response was that I wasn't able to do nothing about it. I would have to contact my lender to report so they can make the proper steps to get the account to show up on my credit reports. So the only way for this problem to get resolve I feel Hertiage needs to contact someone at the credit bureaus so I can get this account on my credit thanks.

03/07/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've asked Heritage Corporation several times to switch my account representative.My contact person "Alisha"is extremely rude and smart every time she contacts me she harassed my daughter and got extremely smart with her there is no talking to this woman in a adult nature.She called my home yesterday because my car payment was behind I explained to her that my income taxes were supposed to be direct deposited and Bank of Republic kicked it back due to a mix up from Pro Finance who I bank with Alisha instantly cuts me off and tell me " ******* I've been getting tax money all day I haven't heard any thing like that"! I then tell her Heritage sent a paper here about helping get my car note current only wanting the help because my taxes were held up and did I need to call my bank to prove this to her, Alisha then says " Yeah but you have to pay 600 dollars in a very smart and condescending tone I tell her I can give them what I have and catch the rest up.Alisha again gets smart with me and at this point I tell her to kiss my ***! I've had it with her and her attitude.I spend the remaining part of the evening trying to borrow the money (600) dollars I get five and pay my car note get up the next morning my car is gone.I've been over backwards with this woman just in December I paid 1000 dollars and caught my car up never before when the car note was behind have they repossed my car but because I finally stand up to her she repossed my car? Where in the law does it say people can harass you and talk to you like a dog? This is the reason I hesitate to call or answer the phone when I see the number. I did not have a problem with Heritage as long as Tyler was my representative. The owners need to know how this woman is representing their company she has no people skills to be in customer service and several people have witnesses this woman's attitude and her being unprofessional. I know she had my car repossed because I treated her the same way he treats me I paid 500 of the 600 to bring the car current.

Desired Settlement
I would like a professional account representative like the first person I corresponded with Tyler.I understand I've had late payments and payments that have been behind. However it's proven I've always caught up.I would just like to be treated with respect and like im human not accused of lying every time I have to interact with this company.Heritage is allowing this woman to destroy their company. I don't want her as my representative any longer. I would like to see her Let go from the compan

Business Response
February 19, 2016



Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ************
4011 Parnell Ave.
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
******* ********


Dear Ms. Anciani-Dutt:

Please be advised that Heritage Acceptance Corporation is considered a "Second Chance" finance company. It is our policy to contact our debtors when they become one day past due.

Ms. ********'s vehicle has been repossessed, but it appears she is working on getting this vehicle back in her possession.

Unfortunately, we are unable to change account representatives on accounts. Once Ms. ******** redeems and if she continues to keep her account current after the redemption, there will be no need for her to speak with her account representative.

If you have any questions, please let me know.


Thank you,



Nora ****
Admin. Collections Supervisor
Ext: 330


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response, The complaint is the "Manner in which Heritage is allowing their representative ( Alisha) to speak to their customers. As for Heritage being a second chance company I did not do my homework properly and I made a grave mistake not doing so. The vehicle was repossed but she fail to state the money posted to my account before the got the car and YET the vehicle was picked up.? And as of now all fees have been paid and I still don't have the vechile as of yet? And what did any of their rebuttal have go do with the disposition of their employees actions....This is the United States Of America no laws allow people to talk to you as if you are an animal and think that type of behavior should go without reprimand . Not once was this woman actions addressed.

Final Business Response
February 22, 2016



Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ************
4011 Parnell Ave.
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
******* ********


Dear Ms. Anciani-Dutt:

As of today, please advice Ms. ******** that Tyler will be her account representative. His extension is 457. As previously stated, once Ms. ******** redeems and if she continues to keep her account current after the redemption, there will be no need for her to speak with her account representative.

If you have any questions, please let me know.


Thank you,



Nora ****
Admin. Collections Supervisor
Ext: 330

01/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We told them we could not afford the vehicle asked them to come pick it up and was told we dont do returns .
we called them in oct told them we could no longer afford the vehicle asked for them to pick up the vehicle and was told they dont do returns or repoes . have talked many times since the vehicle value is less than whats owed so couldnt find anyone to sale it to . they keep harrassing us and everyone who is on the application including people we no longer talkl to . once again this morning was told we will repross on our time not yours they have been told since oct their vehicle is sitting on my property with no plates and no insurance and they dont care . they refuse to repo the vehicle even tho its a volunatary repo instead they call us and the contacts constantly demanding payment . we do not want nor can we afford the vehicle and they will not take it back . we infromed them the city was going to tow it and she said that was our problem . they talk down to us and treat us like we are stupid they rude and arrogant and have no right to talk to and treat people the way they do . i told them again today tha the numbers they have for us rickys is no longer working and mine was scheduled for disconnect yesterday she then informed they would continue to call our contacts and refuse to inforce their contract that states a kill switch will be triggered so the vehicle cant be driven and they will repo . instead of repoing all they want to do is make threats and try to bully us onto paying for somethjing we cannot afford and no longer want . these people need to be stopped they need to know they cannot bully anyone just because they can no longer afford something . i told them i was going to let the city tow and it and was told i woud have to pay for that . she told me once repoed they would sale the vehicle at auction and whatever was left on the loan we would be responible for so i told her great come get it and lets get it done and was told we will repo on our time not when you want . this finance company is a joke they will repo when they want but when you say we cant afford it wow seriously ? they need to get their vehicle off my property and refuse to and they need to stop making threats of we have already asked for and just take action .they sent a lett3er earlier this month after a conversaton saying we had til the 31st of dec or they were going to take action they refuse to take the action we already told them months ago is what was needed . our household is on disability cant afford an attorney to sue them and make them take back their vehicle or to stop the harassment . their collection practices leave alot to be desired and they are very rude . i told them several times i was going to file a complaint with the bbb and was pretty much told there was nothing that i could do because i owe them money . i talked to a supervisor this morning and that was just as big of a joke as talking to the account person . bottom line is when a fianance company is told to repo and someone cant pay the loan they should do just that say we dont do returns or repos etc . the stress over all this has become unbearable and needs to stop . i would ask for them to apologize but know that would never happen they get their kicks off of being rude and making people feel like **** because they cant afford something . they need to learn to work with people and you should havent have to suck up to them just to get them to be nice . for the record they also should learn the customer is always right .

Desired Settlement
to pick up their vehicle with no further harassment or belittling and just do the process of what we have asked for. do what their contract says they will do if you fail to pay. get the vehicle off my property immediately.

Business Response
January 4, 2016



Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** Anciani-Dutt
4011 Parnell Ave.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
******** ******

Dear Ms. *************

Please be advised that Heritage Acceptance Corporation has possession of this vehicle. It will be sold at auction and the deficiency balance will be the responsibility of ***** and ******** ******.

Please have the ******'s contact our office to set up payment arrangements for the deficiency balance of this account.

If you have any questions, please let me know.


Thank you,



Nora ****
Administrative Collections Supervisor
Ext: ***


Nora ** ****
Heritage Acceptance Corporation
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX Ext: 330
Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX

10/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint taken over phone by BBB representative (ba)Consumer states company repossessed her vehicle out of her closed garage on 9/22/15. Consumer has had the car for just over a month and was told she had 45 days 'free.' Consumer states first payment was due 9/24/15. Consumer missed her court date because the car was repossessed. The vehicle has all her identification materials in it, including her drivers license and swipe card from work and the company refuses to return her possessions. When consumer called company for assistance she was treated rudely and told to stop calling. Company has told consumer that in order to get her possessions out of her car, she has to pay $75.00.

Desired Settlement
Consumer wants the company to return her car.

Business Response
October 12, 2015


Re: Case #: XXXXXXXX
****** ******

Dear Ms. *************

In reply to your email dated 9/25/15. Please be advised that Heritage Acceptance Corporation is considered a "high-risk" finance company. Ms. ******'s first payment was due on 9/19/15. Heritage Acceptance Company does not allow for a late payments on the first payment of a new account. That is why Ms. ******'s account was put up for repossession.

Heritage Acceptance Corporation hires an outside company to repossess for us. Any complaints Ms. ****** has about the repossession or item returns will need to be taken up with the repossession service that repossessed her vehicle.

If Ms. ****** has any questions, please have her contact her account representative Loretta at extension 460.


Thank you,


**** ****
Administrative Collections Supervisor

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car that i purchased through heritage acceptance was totaled in may of 2015. Since then i have been looking for another vehicle. After my insurance paid the kbb value of the car i still had a remaining balance. It was around 3300. So when i found a car they wanted my previous loan to be closed before opening another one. The car lot was willing to pay half of the remaining balance in which i thought would still be 3300. I called heritage on August 10,2015 my balance is now 4100! I was told that i still had to make my monthly payments on time. I asked the supervisor, "why would i have to make payments on i car i do not have? Its been three months it should have been sent to collections!" She replied, "We are collections. You still have to pay your monthly bill. When you dont there is late fees along with the interest." I have never heard of anything as such in my life. I thought the price/remaining balance would be at a stand still. Besides interest if even that. I had a sprint bill sent to collections. No one ever contacted me saying i still have to pay a monthly bill though i do not have service.

Desired Settlement
I would like my matter resolved by them closing my case! They put me through **** when i had the car now they are trying to keep me there without the car! I just want to be completely detached from heritage. Write my bill off or accept a low settlement and let me go. They continuously call me trying to get me another car through them. NO! I do not want anything from them.

Business Response
August 12, 2015



Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ************
4011 Parnell Ave.
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
******* *****

Dear Ms. *************

In reply to your email dated 8/11/15. Heritage Acceptance Corporation financed the 2004 Hyundai XG350 for Ms. *****. This money was paid to a dealership and a contract was signed explaining the amount financed, due date, interest rate and any additional charges.

Please have Ms. ***** contact our office to make arrangements on the remaining balance of her account with us.

Thank you,

**** ****

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Financing, Financial Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.