BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

MilMar Post Buildings

(866) 279-36993120 N 400 W, LagrangeIN 46761-8635http://www.milmarpolebuildings.com! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 07/14/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.


On July 11, 2014, this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that violated Standard 6 (6. Be Responsive
Address marketplace disputes quickly, professionally, and in good faith.) from BBB Code of Business Practice

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered MilMar Post Buildings' rating include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised MilMar Post Buildings' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on MilMar Post Buildings

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Entire floor of our brand new garage is collapsing and cracking.
After several workmanship problems and building delays (some were weather related), our 3 day build took 2 1/2 months. Within 1 month of completion, the cement floor of our new 28 x 28 garage was starting to collapse. It started out in one corner, but spread quickly. We contacted ****** by email on 4/08/14, and attached pictures of the collapsing and cracking floor. A couple days later we received a call from ***, which I believe is the project manager. He told us that this had never happened before, and said that we needed to build a retaining wall. We were never told that before the pea gravel and cement floor were installed that we needed to do this. Now the entire floor is collapsing and cracking. We have not heard anything more from Milmar on how they intend to correct this unacceptable workmanship.
We paid just over ******* for this garage, and the entire floor needs to be torn out and redone. We also now have washed out areas from the mis- drilled pole holes, and our stone has washed out in all of the pole locations.

Initial Business Response
We offered to provide backfill on this job at the time we sold it to the ****** They declined due to cost and said that they would do so themelves.

We advised them that this needed to be done right away, otherwise the fill under the floor would erode and reduce the structural integrity of their floor.

The ***** neglected to backfill this building as advised, which is why the floor settled.

As a goodwill gesture to the customers, after they get the barn floor backfilled so that the settling stops, we will pour a new topcoat on the floor so it is like new for them.

****** ******
MilMar Post Buildings

Complaint Resolution: Complaint was settled through BBB mediation.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: we were sold windows, 3 of them, they did not send screens , I call at least 6 times , ****** keeps saying they will deliver, it has been 4 months,
purchaced building in 12 of 12 , sales rep was ******, no screens for windows, he keeps promising they will send, its been 4 to 5 month, in mean time a leak is in roof, last phone call they would be out in a week, its been 3 weeks , no word from them, for reairs or screens

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@gmail.com
Failing to do this in a timely fashion was a pure oversight on our part. We have immediately scheduled a crew to take care of this. They are scheduled to be on site Wednesday, July 17.


OFFER:
We will immediately address this oversight on our part. We will have a crew on site Wednesday July 17 to correct these issues.

Consumer's Final Response
the builder promptly sent a man to fix leak. He then took measurements of all the windows for the screens. I told them they could just mail them. We have waited long enough, have not heard from them on the screens. Its now approaching labor day, the end of summer, and I still Do NOT HAVE
ANY SCREENS!
****** *****

Business' Final Response
The screens have been ordered, and are scheduled to be in the week of the 15'th of September and will be shipped to the Customer at his site. The Customer has been informed of this.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I'm writing in regards to a Pole Barn I had built in November, 2013. I still have unresolved issues as described that the company is not resolving.
When I first meet with Mr ******* he was shown the desired location and I specially asked about ground prep and was told I would need 5-6inches of sand on barn upon completion. However,upon completion of the project, there was open space around much of the barn,in excess of 12-16 inches at one end. The builders didn't back fill any of the post holes including the stalls.The Morgan County Building Inspector was extremely concerned about the grade and was appalled that the business did not suggest ground prep prior to building. The stalls as well had large gaps making is unsafe to house horses due to the possible hazard of the horses getting their legs stuck. In the Milmar sales brochure, all of the buildings pictured are flush to the ground, attractive and presumably usable. This was my expectation of what my barn would look like when finished. I understood that ground prep was not included but I feel a reputable company would have discussed ground prep after a site inspection and advise me that the barn would not be flushed to the ground.I would have preferred doing the proper ground prep up front; it would have been easier and less expensive than working around stalls and fencing. I feel I should have been told and given the opportunity to do ground prep instead of ending up with a barn that is not flush to the ground, especially in the middle of December. When Mr ****** came to collection the final payment, I asked about the open space around much of the barn in excess of 12-16 inches at one end. He stated you just need to have some sand put in the barn. Mr ****** was also told that the gutters with downspouts were not installed and that he had not connected the Building Inspector regarding failed inspection. He promised these items would be done. I was devastated that I spent ********** for a pole barn that was not safe to house horse nor was I given any ideas or suggestion from Mr ****** except to get some sand. As I stated earlier I have no experience in construction but I knew a little sand wasn't going to fix the problem.
After talking with several other people who had pole barns built and one contractor associate(who in hind sight I should have used),they told me I needed to have treated boards put around open areas because the sand would just wash out. Then I could fill in dirt and grade to make barn flush or just leave boards showing looking unattractive. I contacted Mr ****** and meet with him onsite in December, to discuss my concern with the gaps around the barn and the extra cost I will incur to correct the problem after the fact as opposed to having done the job correctly in the first place. Mr ****** agreed to place treated boards around the gapped areas and to add skirting to back sliding door and sliding stall door with 8-12 inch gap and install the gutters with downspouts and the stall latches and give me a credit for one service door that was not done. After multiple calls on March 7th, they did have someone come and put treated boards around the gaps but never called me for follow up or to discuss any of the other items. I called ****** again March 10th to discuss other items not done that date and given no time frame.Since then I have had three truckloads of crushed stone delivered and I'm still not flush to ground. Clearly I need more then 5-6 inches of sand, as I was told by ****** upon completion. I hired someone to put boards around the bottom of the horse stall because to the 6-12 inch gap so horses could be housed safely. However I still had gap from exterior sliding stall doors in which a horse could get a leg caught. After the frame of the barn was up, I verified with Mr ****** if the fencing could be started. However in hind sight I was unaware I was going to have a 12-16 gap at the end of the barn where I had wood fencing installed. So now if I graded properly the fencing next to the barn will be extremely low or I will have to pay to have fencing corrected.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************** President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:*******@milmarpolebuildings.com
Good morning,
*************** and I were in the process of finishing up her remaining items on the punch list.She had a sick family member she was taking care of recently so she had been slow in getting back to me.
She emailed me earlier this week and I was in the process of identifying her concerns and emailing her back when she apparently contacted the BBB.
I was not aware that any of the items on her list were magor issues except for the fact of the site being off level.We had priced her a sitework package and she declined it.We have to build our buildings level and above grade for drainage.If one end of the barn is too high then she needs to bring fill in.If the fill had been installed she could be using her barn now.
The building inspection does need to be completed at some point.We have very good relations with the building department in that jurisdiction and yes,we often just leave several post holes open for him to see.
I will continue to work with ******** to resolve these issues.

OFFER:
I offer to proceed as we had been earlier this week.I had even then expressed a wish to move ahead quickly.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was up front with Mr ****** when I spoke with him on March 14th and 17th regarding my dissatisfaction and that I was going to contact the BBB, as described in the E-mail sent to Mr ******(see below). Then when no one showed or called on March 18th and I got an E-mail on March 24th, from Mr ****** stating "as soon as we agree on what needs done", I notified the BBB. I thought things were agreed on when I talked with Mr ****** and Mr ******* on the 17th.
In Mr ****** response he stated I was offered site work package which I declined, I want to make this clear this was in December after I complained of the gap between building and barn not at the time of the construction. I'm perfectly aware the barn needs to be level! I was upset because I was told I would only need 5-6 inches of fill. I talked with Mr ****** about this is December as I described. It in tells more than bringing in fill, it will effect fencing next to the barn. I have brought in three truck loads already.
I have talked with Building Inspector and he told me the foundation inspection failed. I hope they can change his mind, as I said earlier this effect my property value.
I spoke with Mr ****** on Friday and was promised Wednesday to complete project. Will see if this happens batting average not good.
I do not accept the response because it does not address concerns or agree to fixing my issues. The response just tries to justify my issues and not accurate. From what I understand from the Building Inspector is the inspection are in stages, it failed the foundation part. I have listed the items I want an agreement to complete in below E-mail to Mr ****** and my original letter.



****** J ****** <******@milmarpolebuildings.com>


Mar 24 (13 days ago)

Good evening ********,
I have been in touch with ****** and *** on your building.

It is my understanding that the remaining items are ....

1.Gutters

2.Truss bracing

3.Stall latches which we upsed to you last winter.

The weather is improving so it looks like I should be able to get in there as soon as we agree on what needs done.
Thanks!

****



******** ****** <*******************@gmail.com>

Mar 31 (6 days ago

to ******

Sorry I have been working and had a sick family member. Well I'm glad you are finally anxious to complete the project. I'm not quite sure what the communication problems are with you and your associates and inconsistency with promises. I have called multiple times to get items resolved. When I called ****** on March 14 and told him I was going to contact the Better Business Bureau, he referred me to *** ******* your Project Manager who I spoke with on March 14th and March 17th, regarding uncompleted items and dissatisfaction with project. On March 17th, Mr. ******* told me to have a truck load of fill delivered and they would spread it the next when they came out to install the gutters and downspouts and stall latches. That next day no one showed or called. I had a truck load of crushed stone delivered just inside the barn, so I have been unable to close my doors. I finally got a message and talked with Mr. ******* on March 21, he stated you needed my E-mail and I needed to talk with you. I was never given a professional courtesy call as to why no one showed to complete work as promised by Mr. ********

Items that need to be complete:

1. Gutters and downspouts

2. Stall door latches

3. Contact Building Inspector and do whatever to get the failed foundation inspection passed. I discussed this with you Nov 13, 2013 and texted you his phone number. I also told your associates and texted his number to your Project Manager *** ********

4. Need the front sliding door (closest to house) raised so can grade to better control drainage.

5. Fill in post holes that were not filled.

6. Spread the crust stone I had delivered.

Not sure what "Truss bracing" means, you need to explain.
On the Spec Page sheet my price included two entry doors which I only have one. Therefore, I need to be credited for the one door including cost of door and labor.

I'm pleased with the construction of the barn itself but overall dissatisfied with your company, particularly with your customer satisfaction, your lack of details, communication and inconsistent promises. I specifically asked about ground prep prior to the building of the barn and was told I may need 5-6" of sand on the barn floor upon completion of the barn. In the Milmar sales brochure, all of the buildings pictured are flush to the ground, attractive and presumably usable. This was my expectation of what my barn would look like when finished. I understood that ground prep was not included but I feel a construction company would have been aware that the barn was not going to flushed to the ground, especially a gap of 12-16 inches at one end.
I need the above item completed as soon as possible. The lack of gutter will make it impossible to fix the grade and control the water going into the barn.




Final Business Response
Good afternoon.
****** case is closed as of yesterday.Thanks.


Final Consumer Response
They did finally put gutters up. However then never came and filled in the post holes after they dug them up so the Building Inspector could inspect and pass ******** which they should have done in first place. This was a horrible experience

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: 2 overhead doors and 1 entry door installed in wrong color; door trim is warped; installed posts too short; cracked concrete
The Building Construction Agreement was entered into on September 17, 2012. I noticed problems upon the completion date of October 30. 2012. The name of my sales rep is ****** ******* Payment in full has been made according to the agreement. Payment was made in three installments by check ***** in the amount of ********** on September 17, 2012; check ***** in the amount of ********* on October 13, 2012; and check ***** in the amount of ********* on October 30, 2012. The 2 overhead doors and entry door were installed in white and should have been dark brown. The metal trim around the overhead doors is rippled and warped due to being installed improperly. The structural posts were installed too short and do not reach top of rafters. Concrete floor has a three foot crack in it. I have made several phone calls to the owner (****** ******) and sales rep (****** ******* in an attempt to resolve these issues. To date, nothing has been corrected. There is a provision in paragraph 1 of the agreement under Warranty that states "****** Post Buildings will provide a four year structural warranty to original buyer on the building. Builder warrants foundation and structure to be free from material defects in workmanship and materials for a period of 48 months from the date of completion." There is a provision in paragraph 2 of the agreement under Warranty that states "In the event of any claim arising under this warranty, Builder shall, at its discretion, repair or replace the defect."

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Sales and Customer Rep

1. ****** is simply incorrect that the posts are too short. The building was constructed in accordance with national building code standards and passed both the structural and final inspection by the local building inspector. Documentation of this inspection is available upon request.

2. ******'s math is incorrect. 1,600 square feet of concrete at 4" thick requires ***** yards of concrete, not 22.5 yards.

The concrete was poured with fiber reinforcing, which is engineered to be superior to rolled wire mesh and meets both local and national building code standards for residential garage floor reinforcing.

*** Excavating buried the old building foundation under the site, which we discovered when we hit the concrete chunks will drilling post holes. We advised ****** that this would potentially lead to a settling problem, but he told us to go ahead with it because *** had assured him it would be fine.

This work was not performed according to industry standards, which would have been to bury the foundation separately. This is exactly the type of problem that comes from this, which is why we do not do site work this way even though it is cheaper.

As the site work was not performed by our company, we cannot be liable for warranty issues related to settling.

3. If ****** will agree to drop the first two complaints, we will promptly send a service rep out to re-attach the trim.

4. There is no brown door in any of our contract documentation, written specs, or our written estimate. However, if ****** will agree to drop the first two complaints, we will promptly send a service rep out to paint the doors.

OFFER:
3. If ****** will agree to drop the first two complaints, we will promptly send a service rep out to re-attach the trim.

4. There is no brown door in any of our contract documentation, written specs, or our written estimate. However, if ****** will agree to drop the first two complaints, we will promptly send a service rep out to paint the doors.

Consumer Response
****** ****** stopped in the office on 11/6 as he was having trouble responding to this complaint online. He said he was willing to accept the offer presented to him by ****** to fix the trim and paint the door. He would like this to be done as soon as possible so this complaint can be done. He would like to be present at the time of the repairs, so if at all possible, he would like this to be scheduled on a Friday.


Business Response
Good morning **********

As stated in our phone conversation I have reached out multiple times via telephone to **** ****** re his complaint with no success.

As stated in the letter sent to me December 15th we have agreed to repair trim and paint Harpers garage doors which he then verbally agreed to.

Unfortunately my phone calls have been ignored by ****** reguarding this issue.I am anxious to resolve this.


Consumer Response


*******

I made 2 phone calls yesterday and 2 more today to ****** ******. He finally answered my phone call on the 4th one. He stated he would get back in contact with me tomorrow to schedule a time to have a worker come out for the painting of doors. I will let you know once the date has been confirmed up. If I do not hear from him within 1 week, I will let you know.
Thanks,
****** ******


Business Response
Good afternoon.
****** we are starting work this friday.Thanks.



Consumer Response


*******
Here is an update for the week. I contacted ****** ****** late last week and he told me that he was in touch with painter and would get something scheduled for this week and that he would call me back in 10 minutes. He never has called me back this week at all. I left another message on Monday too and still nothing. I am getting very tired of the games.
****** ******


Consumer Response


*******
Last night ****** ****** contacted me to go to **************** to pick out paint to start today. However, I don't think the weather is going to cooperate. Will let you know updates as they occur.
****** ******


Consumer Response


*******
Painters showed up 2 hrs late on Saturday and put first coat of paint on barn doors. They are suppose to come back today to put a 2nd coat on, weather permitting.
Will keep you posted.
****** ******


Consumer Response


*******
Painters came on Saturday May 10th and put 1st coat of paint on barns doors. I then made several calls to see when they were coming back to put 2nd coat on. ****** finally contacted me to say painters would be back this Wed (5-21). However, by yesterday only 8 days after they were initially painted, they are cracking and peeling. The doors should have been washed and primed before being painted. I will let ******, ****** and painters know this is not acceptable. Please let me know if we should provide pictures to BBB of this matter. Also would you please acknowledge receipt of this email.
Thank you,
****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Buildings - Pole & Post Frame, Exterior Buildings - Barn Construction, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/03/2012Business started: 01/01/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Marvin J Miller (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Jerome S Graber (Sales)
Business Category

Buildings - Pole & Post Frame, Exterior Buildings - Barn Construction, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Products & Services

This business offers Post Frame Structures.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MilMar Post Buildings

3120 N 400 W

Lagrange, IN 46761-8635

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3120 N 400 W 

    Lagrange, IN 46761-8635(866) 279-3699

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MilMar Post Buildings is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Buildings - Pole & Post Frame

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X


On July 11, 2014, this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that violated Standard 6 (6. Be Responsive
Address marketplace disputes quickly, professionally, and in good faith.) from BBB Code of Business Practice

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.