BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2003

Glen Park Auto Works Inc.

Phone: (219) 887-5555Fax: (219) 887-07661430 W. Ridge Rd., GaryIN 46408 Send email to Glen Park Auto Works Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2003

BBB has determined that Glen Park Auto Works Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Glen Park Auto Works Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Glen Park Auto Works Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My issue is faulty repair work and the losing of my vehicle's value.

On 2/08/13 I went to Glen Park Autoworks because I had to sometimes use starter fluid to start my van and the heat was not functioning. I was charged $45.00 for a diagnostics test (which they did NOT perform). I was told I needed gaskets, heater blower, and right front tire replaced. I agreed to the work being done. On 2/09/13, I received a call from ***** ********* who informed me that I would also need a distributor rotor and cap. I again agreed for the work to be done if it would fix the issues which he told me it would. I was called again on 2/12/13 stating the car was fixed and ready. I went to pick it up and paid ******** On 02/13/13 the car had to be sprayed again with starter fluid to start. I contacted Mr. ********* who told me to just leave the car there, they were busy. So, I told them I would be back. On 2/14/13 I returned to the shop because I still had to spray my car. Again, Mr. ******** said to leave it, they'll get to it. I was told to call him and he would tell me when to bring it in. However, on 02/15/13 the car wouldn't start at all. Glen Park Auto had it towed to their location. 3 hours later I received a call from Mr. Gorgalas, stating that it would require anywhere from ********* more depending on what was found. I inquired about the previous repairs. With no real answers, I then went to Glen Park Auto, where I spoke to Mr. ******** in person. Upon arrival, I Spoke to him about the failure to deduct the ****** diagnostic test from my repair cost. With that discussion, I did receive ******* My wife told them that they told us our car was fixed, and why should we be paying more money, when the vehicle is not fixed. She told them that if they could not fix the initial problem they should have told us. She stated "Why did we pay ******* and our van isn't fixed?". ******** stated that it was a "Process of elimination" meaning that they would have to continually work on the van until they found the problem. We then asked what was the diagnostic for and why would we continue to let them work on our van, costing us when they didn't fix it the first time. My wife then suggested that they should "make good" what they did the first time especially after seeing a "BBB" sign in the shop. We decided then to just ask for the van back. We waited patiently an hour and a half while the van was put back together. once we got the van back we noticed that the van's engine was extremely loud and shaky. The mechanic told us it should idle down. After 2 days, we contacted Glen Park Autoworks again speaking to Mr. ******** about the loud shaky engine. He stated it was just gas in the oil and suggested we get an oil change which we did on 2/22/13 and there was no gas in the oil. I again called Glen Park Auto where he told us there was nothing he could do unless we paid more money. We continued to use starter fluid. We went to another mechanic who suggested that we stop using starter fluid in the case that the van could catch fire, which made us feel unsafe. The van continued to get louder and eventually became useless. We were without transportation and lost the blue book value of our van due to the engine and tires, which we also had replaced by Glen Park Autoworks while the van was being serviced the first time.

Desired Settlement
We would like to receive our $****** for services not rendered and $******* for the loss of our van.

Business' Initial Response
We were sent an email with a link to send our response on May 7. That link would not work, so we emailed our response to ***** ************ on May 10. We haven't heard a response, so I wanted to re-submit our reply in case BBB never received it.
Mr. ****** ****** initially came to our repair shop, Glen Park Autoworks, on February 04, 2013. He asked for one used tire, and requested that we install a fuel filter that HE brought in (thinking that this will fix his vans' problem). We did NOT diagnose the vehicle, nor did we offer any insight as to what we thought the vehicles' problem was. We simply complied with the customer and did his requested repair. After we did the repair he wanted us to do, Mr. ****** noticed that the same problem was still present in his van.
So he came back to Glen Park Autoworks on February 08, 2013 and asked us to diagnose the vehicle this time. Upon completion of our inspection, I provided Mr. ****** with information regarding what & where he needed to start. I specifically, and repeatedly, explained to Mr. ****** (& had the same discussion with his wife later on) that the vehicle had many problems, and that we would need to "pick an area & start from somewhere". The repairs needed to be tackled one at a time. (For example, we would need to fix "Problem #1" before addressing the related "Problem #2"... because "Problem #1" is part of why "Problem #2" is even an issue to begin with.) Well, Mr. ****** assured me that he knows how it works, and that he understands that the van has multiple problems that have now piled up on him.
On February 12, 2013, we began the repairs. We needed to start by fixing the antifreeze leak because we needed the engine to be able to cool off properly - and also, this would take care of the vans' heating issue. We also had to replace the blower motor because it was not working at all. Next, we recommended to Mr. ****** to change the distributor cap & rotor button, which should help the car start easier. (I would like to point out that we did not charge the customer ANY labor fees for replacing the distributor cap & rotor button.) After completing this work, we drove the van around the block a few times & it was running much better. It did sometimes have a hard time starting, but we explained to the customer that the next step would be for us to look into the injectors.

I explained to him again that it is common for this kind of engine to end up having problems with the injector & the plastic lines that feed the fuel to the injector. I told him that we needed to open the upper planum to be able to see and inspect the injector & the plastic lines. Mr. ****** acknowledged to me that he understood what I had explained, and he told me he would be back at a later date to let us look into that problem. I advised him that "the sooner, the better" because the problem WILL get worse- and if he continues to drive the vehicle as-is, this can cause damage to the engine internally. Four days later, he needed us to tow the van to our shop because he said he was having problems starting it again. Upon inspection, we verified that the problem was indeed getting worse, as we had told him it would. We informed him that he was damaging the engine because he was continuing to drive it- and that he either needed to address the situation quickly, or stop driving the vehicle until he can address it. We also pointed out to him that, during this inspection, we heard that his starter and flywheel were beginning to make noises.
As far as the situation of charging him for the diagnostic, that was simply a human error on our behalf. We do have a policy where, if the customer does the repairs that are recommended after performing the diagnostic test, then we waive the charge of that test. In this case, we made a mistake. As soon as it was brought to my attention, I apologized to the customer, and the diagnostic fee was returned to him with no hesitation.
Mr. ****** was VERY aware that his van had multiple problems when it was initially brought to us. I am sorry if it is too much for him. I will do the best I can to work with him and help him out with any repair work he may want to get done in the future. We always stand behind our work. We are proud of our mechanics' performances and the accomplishments our business has achieved while servicing our customers over the last twenty years.
Thank you for your time,
***** *********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/13/2003Business started: 01/17/1999Business started locally: 01/08/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1998, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Georgalas (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Tire Dealers

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Glen Park Auto Works Inc.

1430 W. Ridge Rd.

Gary, IN 46408

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1430 W. Ridge Rd. 

    Gary, IN 46408(219) 887-5555
    Fax: (219) 887-0766

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Glen Park Auto Works Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.