BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Rose City Motors

Phone: (260) 387-6521Fax: (260) 387-6536

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer not following thru on fixing noise in rear drivers side.
I left the dealer know on 2/21/13 that that there was a noise coming from the rear drivers side area. After numerous emails, I finally agreed to take the vehicle to the dealership in Fort Wayne Indiana which is about 2 hours from my location. On arrival, I was sent do a automotive garage that Rose City Motors uses. The garage checked out the car, secured a warmer plate and sent me on my way. As soon as I turned out of the garage I could still hear the noise. I went back to the dealership and in turn they sent me back to the garage. Once there I was informed that they would not have time to look at it again today. I called the dealership. I was asked by the Manager, *** to call him on Monday to work figure out where the car could be sent to be looked at closer to my location. I called him on Wednesday, figuring it would give him some time to come up with a solution. He said he would either let me know or for me to call him to see what he found out. I called him on Friday and he was unavailable to talk to me and he has yet to return my call. I feel I've done everything I could do to have my car fixed properly and the are failing to do their part. I am very frustrated with this whole thing.

Desired Settlement
I want my car to be fixed. I would like it to be done in my local area. I believe since I've driven their the first time and they didn't fix it, that it should now be their turn to complete it at my convenience.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, G M
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@rosecitymotors.com

******,
First of all I want to apologize for the terrible service that you received from this dealership, It is not acceptable! Please call me so I can pick your vehicle up. I will give you loaner car while we get it repaired. The information I have received is that it is a heat shield that was not secured and is making noise. I want to have it rechecked and get the issue with your car resolved so you will not have anymore problems. The service and treatment you received is not how Rose City Motors is intended to be operated. If you have any question please contact me anytime.
Please call me XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,

****** ******
General Manager
Rose City Motors
Fort Wayne, IN XXXXX


OFFER:
I offer to pick the unit up and give her a loaner car while we get the issue resolved with her vehicle.

04/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
08/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a 2012 Ford Edge Feb. 19, 2015. After having the vehicle two weeks the service engine soon light came on. I called Rose City Motors and they sent me to Patriot Tire. Patriot Tire told me it was the Cadillac convertor and if so take it to Ford it should covered under the warranty. Well when I left their they cleared the code for what was wrong with it. When I took it into Ford a few days later the lady there said they couldn't check it without the light being on. I left took the vehicle into ford March 20, 2015. Ford said it needed a new engine. I called Rose City Motors back and Kinda blew my top about them knowingly selling me a vehicle that had a bad engine. The manger reassured me they did not do that and would make it right. I dropped my 2012 Ford Edge off to Rose City Motors March 20, 2015. They gave me a Chevy Equinox to drive. March 25, 2015 Manger told me the vehicle was on the lift he would call me back. Never called back. April 1, 2015 Called Rose City Motors talked to manger he didn't know anything and was waiting to hear back from the mechanic. Said he would call back. He did call back telling me that it was the timing chain and tension and yes it would need a new engine. But had no idea when it would be done. Said he would call the next day. April 4, 2015 traded the Chevy Rose City Motors let me borrow for a Ford Escape. The manger asked me what would make me happy. I told him reimburse me for the $94.50 I had to pay at Ford to have the vehicle tested, have another key cut for me before they give me my vehicle back so I'm not out it another day and they could pay for the days they have had my vehicle. I'm paying for a vehicle I only got to drive for a month. April 24, 2015 talked to manger at Rose City Motors said they were going to start the vehicle make sure everything worked and hopefully would call me tomorrow. Chad the manger called me April 29, 2015 saying a sensor went out and they were having to change that. Here it is May 4, 2015 and I have not heard from R.C.M.
Product_Or_Service: 2012 Ford Edge

Desired Settlement
If they would not give me a refund I would like them to reimburse me for the test at Ford $94.50, have that second key made before I get my vehicle back (Manger agreed to have us a second key made the day we bought the vehicle. The day I had it in at Ford the manger on duty wouldn't give Ford the ok to make a key.), pay my monthly payment for the length of time they had my vehicle, and a warranty for what was fixed on the 2012 Ford Edge.

Business Response

Consumer had purchased a 2012 Ford Edge ******* on February 19, 2015, Consumer at the time of purchase had also purchased an extended warranty on the vehicle. Consumer had also signed a due bill that indicating she was due a MYKEY
Dealership had advised consumer to take the vehicle to the Ford dealer to obtain the key she was due and was informed her vehicle did not have the MYKEY program.
Consumer after approximately 2 months had informed the dealership the check engine light was on and returned to the dealership concerning same. Consumer was informed she did have an extended warranty and to take her vehicle to the Ford dealer where a diagnosis was performed and it was found there was a problem with the catalytic converter and possible engine problem. Dealership agreed to pay for the catalytic converter along with the diagnosis of the vehicle. After the diagnosis it was found the engine needed to be replaced.
Vehicle was taken to an independent repair facility who performs warranty work for the company. Warranty company had agreed to pay for the engine to be placed into the vehicle and the dealership agreed to pay the labor on the repair.

It is felt the dealership has gone above and beyond to assist this consumer in the repair of her
vehicle, as with her extended warranty she would have had out of pocket expenses for a rental vehicle and the dealership as good will provided her with a loaner vehicle at no cost to her except for the daily operational costs. Repairs at the Ford dealership were also paid for by
the dealership for the catalytic converter and diagnosis performed, along with paying the labor cost of the engine replacement at the independent repair facility. Consumer, prior to the sale, was also given the opportunity to test drive the vehicle along with taking the vehicle to a mechanic of her choice for inspection prior to the purchase of the vehicle. It is the belief of
the dealership that all repairs were properly performed and vehicle is currently operating properly.
If any additional information is needed please feel free to contact this writer.

Sincerely,
*** ****
Compliance Manager
Rose City Motors

08/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extrabilling charges.
Several charges on statement not sure what they are for. Called business for explanation and satisfactory one was not given.On lease agreement line #2a, charge for $****** for license or transfer fee. On line #2b, charge for title fee $*****. On lie #3 other taxable charges (documentary fee & service fee).Charge on line #5, aquisition fee $******. These charges brought to my attention by BMV when I went to get my plates.

Desired Settlement
I would like expanation of charges and refund if due.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *************@rosecitymotors.com
I talked to Mr. ****** and explained to him that the form he was reading was for titling purposes only/ line 2a ahould read 1st and last payment and not license and transfer fee. It is a used car lease form and not a purchase agreement for a conventonal loan. He understood after talking to him and he was satisfied after I explained to him that the form was for titleing purposes only and not what the lease agreement actually entailed. It was a misunderstanding and Mr. ****** is satisfied,

OFFER:
To come on in and I can show him what and where the fees are on the lease agreement. I will also give him a *** gas card for the fuel he may use to get here.

09/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.