BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2002

One Way Auto Sales

Phone: (219) 853-1929Fax: (219) 853-1921

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oneway auto has held my vehicle in need of repair since 7/5/13. I purchased the vehicle on 6/13/13, the engine failed on me and they are ignoring me.
I went in to purchase a vehicle at Oneway auto the week of 6/10/13. *** my sales person said I was approved to receive a car and a loan with *** down. When I got there *** informed me that he could not get me financing for any car that I wanted on their lot but Oneway had a grey 2004 Chrysler Concord(Stock #XXXXX,vin-2C3HD56G64HXXXXXX) that I could be approved for and would be delivered to them the next day. He took a one hundred deposit from me and the car did not come the next day. I went in on the 6/13 to see the vehicle. *** took me over to their service area where their mechanic showed me the vehicle and told me that besides needing an alternator which they were putting in, it was in great condition with no issues. He showed me under the hood and that the oil was clean. I purchased the vehicle and a service contract, which they didn't even ask if I wanted and when asked what the service contract for ***** included, Oneway's finance document preparer stated that I wouldn't find out until the paperwork came in the mail and that was the warranty company's procedure. when I left the lot and headed home, before I reached the highway 10 minutes down the street the car started acting up and the oil and engine light started blinking. I contacted *** the sales man who sold me the car and immediately brought the car back. *** saw the lights on the dash and informed me that the car was just serviced and checked and that it had to be something minor that Oneway would make sure was taken care of. He stated that they did not have time to look at it that day and that I would have to call him to schedule an appointment but not to worry. I contacted *** and set up an appointment for the next week and when I came in he informed me that I could not stay with the vehicle while it was repaired and that I would have to reschedule an appointment again. I came in the next week to pay 250 0n my remaining 500 balance on my down payment and *** informed me that service appointments were tight do to the upcoming July 4 th holiday. My car broke down on July 4, 2013. The only indicator was the engine and oil light that I had previously informed *** about. The car had plenty of oil and fluids. Oneway towed my car to see what was wrong with it on 7/5/13. I spoke to *** in service and he informed me that the engine was gone and that the car had a lot of miles on it ad that these things happen. He stated that Oneway did not have time at the Hammond location and that he would send my car out to another location for quicker service and I could expect to have my car by Friday or Monday once the warranty inspector came to inspect the vehicle. I spoke to *** about my vehicle on 7/11 and he informed me that Oneway was not trying to fix it and that I needed to contact the warranty company to follow up on my car and their car clinic they use in South Holland . He gave me the numbers to call and let me go. I contacted the mechanic they referred me to and he informed me that the warranty company denied the claim that Oneway submitted for me and that I needed to have both 90 days and 1200 miles before my warranty would cover anything. I contacted Blackhawk and they told me the same.My car note was due on a car I had drove for only 3 weeks. I paid my car note on time and the payment processor informed me that Oneway could cancel the contract and/or trade me out to another vehicle. I came in on the sameday I paid my car note, Saturday the 13th and asked ***(Sales Agent)to let me speak to the manager. He brought me to the back room and I speak to the man in charge and he informed me that he was upset I had not paid the remaining **** deposit on the car and I informed him that that was not an issue and I would pay my balance and that I really needed to have my car fixed and returned to me. He stated that I needed to make sure I paid my first car note ,and he would take care of everything and to call him on 7/16/13.I have tried and been ignored and given the runaround

Desired Settlement
This has been a nightmare of an experience with me being a first time car buyer. I have missed numerous days of work and have not been able to take care of my family and personal business. I would like to have Oneway Auto keep the vehicle they already have in their possession, cancel my contract so I can take my business elsewhere.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *************** gm
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@yahoo.com
With apologies to Mr. ****** for his inconvenience, his issue is with the warranty and finance company. His credit profile and down payment allowed him only one available credit source in Blackhawk Finance. Blackhawk stipulates which warranty we can offer consumers and under what terms and disclosure. They do not provide us with the warranty documents to give the customer at time of delivery, they send the documents directly to the customer at a later date. Be that as it may, because we value our customers and have stood behind our products/services for nearly 20 years, we have already provided Mr. ****** with a new engine.

OFFER:
We have already installed a new engine for Mr.******.

Consumer's Final Response
8/19/13 - The engine light has come on today on my way to work. I am very concerned considering I have only had the vehicle back less than two weeks after Oneway held my vehicle for over a month. When I recieved the vehicle from Oneway I was informed from Sean at the service center at Oneway that everything was checked out and all fluids were checked and I was ready to go. He did show me the engine which had excessive rust that he stated he worked to clean up as best he could. I have no idea how old the engine was or how many miles were on the engine when installed. I will be contacting Oneway on my lunch break to report the engine light issue and update the response I recieve.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: *************** gen mgr

Mr. ****** must now feel the BBB is our customer service department. Our magnanimous repair of Mr. ******'s engine regardless of his "as-is" purchase does not entitle him to an open ended "anything that goes wrong the vehicle is our responsibility" program. A "check engine" light can be illuminated for hundreds of different reasons, most of which have nothing to do with the engine. We diagnosed his problem, for free again, and determined it is a gas cap or other large emissions leak. NOTHING to do with the engine. We suggest Mr.****** find something better to do with his time than run to the BBB over trivialities.

OFFER:
his problem was already addressed. again.

06/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car was poorly damage and very unsafe for driving. Notice fraud diligent on paperwork and forged of signature on registration.
Finance a vehicle from One way auto sales on 02/06/2016, the car was poorly damage and very unsafe for driving and financing. Ask the dealer could they replace the car with something better, due to having to finance such of a car (on Monday 02/08/2016).I tried to return the car I was told that the finance company paid already. Contacted the bank on 02/08/2016 (every day after) and told them about the Nissan Altima 2006 that the floor board or undercarriage had a huge hole underneath the car and the whole car is rusted out. The door to the gas is rusted out and broke, the motor mount is missing, CD player broke, ticking noise, exhaust has a hole in it, and the whole bottom of the car is loose and also the keys to the car are broke. Tried to return the car on several occasion letting **** (Salesman) know (02/08/2016, 02/11/2016 and finally left it on 02/13/2016) that the car is not worth financing and I was told they would weld the car back together that it. Credit Acceptance investigated for a long period of time and just got notification that it's nothing they can do and it's up to the dealer on (03/29/2016 spoke with ******* from Credit Acceptance). ******* also stated that to take the car and get a diagnostic because if it's the engine or transmission maybe they could consider allowing the loan as deleted. The dealer had the car in their possession from 02/13/2016 till 03/29/2016. Picked up Car on 03/29/2016 to go get a diagnostic. Car wasn't fix and **** said he didn't know if we were coming back for the car but we been in touch with finance company all this time and him. On the day of picking up the Vehicle I notice that the registration was forged with my signature (03/29/2016). On 02/06/2016 I gave the dealer a down payment of ******* hundred dollar the car has XXXXXX mile on purchase date. Got the car late a night because they kept prolonging the paperwork, when finally drove off the lot the car didn't have any gas so one of their employee drove with me and my fiancé to the gas station and that when we notice that the gas(the entry to apply the gas) door was broke. We was told they will fix that, Never did. Come Sunday that when we notice the whole bottom of the car is damage.

Desired Settlement
A better car or our down payment back...

Business Response
To whom it may concern:

First let me state, it our desire at One Way Auto Sales that every customer leaves our facility satisfied with then driving needs obtained. When this notice came to my attention it was promptly addressed. Mr. ****** reviewed and signed the Auto Check Report along with the POA (Power of Attorney) for vehicle registration. The Auto Check Report is the same report we review upon purchasing a vehicle. After learning of Mr. ******'s concerns, we offered to repair all of them but the customer refused. After several attempts to make an agreement we remain unsuccessful. Mr. ****** dropped the vehicle off to return it and demanded another one while threatening to "Shut One Way Down" - if his desire to obtain another vehicle was not met. We have been in business for over 20 years and have done so by caring for our customers. At this point we have exhausted all avenues of assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, From 02/13/2016 to 03/29/2016 they had all the opportunity to fix those repairs if they wanted to help with the situation. Yes, we test drive the car(drove around the block and look under the hood) but it was late at night and I wasn't able to look underneath (under carriage/Floor board) the car like we did when we got home, and then we notice all the rust inside and out the vehicle. **** stated that the car has been certified and Quality check, well if that was the case, you would actually allow someone put their lives in danger just for money. The car was just picked up from the Auctions 02/01/2016 and we got the car on 02/06/2016 this car was not check, its impossible that they check the car the gas door was even broke and we notice that there and told them that it was because the car didn't have any gas in it. Its no where on the car report that the car has a huge hole and the car has ****** repairs need to be done, beside that the additional ****** that need to repair the damages underneath (The Floor board) the car. Yes, they offer to repair the car on my expense using the warranty that is included in my contract, which is absurd. Yes, On 02/10/2016 I told One way I didn't want the car because the car was poorly damage and unsafe for me and my family (Riding around with huge hole and the carpet coming out). They didn't care about the safety of me nor my family because if they did they would never sold us a car like this. On 03/29/2016, I took the car to get a Diagnostic test done the car is missing motor mount, and that hold the motor and more. And that not all, Not only did they sale me a really unsafe, bad car, One Way has forged my signature on the registration form. When I picked up the car on 03/29/2016, **** which I was told on 04/16/2016 that he was fired but I look at the RUT-25 form (registration form) my signature has been forged. Me and my fiancé took the car back on 04/16/2016 again after getting it tested, and ******** @ One way) told us that **** was fired and that everyone stated that he lied about a lot of stuff. ******* offer us another car for ***** down after we have put down ******* down already, and also offer us to use the warranty that I purchase to fix the car. On 04/16/2016 I filed a police report (In Hammond) on this company for forged of my signature, which its against the law to do. At this point I want my money back after ******* untrue to the situation, I can't trust them at this point especially for signing my name.... The car is in their possession. I think its wrong and not good customer service at all.. The bank stated its up to them to delete the loan or give another better vehicle, this car not worth a 5 year contract. Refund

Final Consumer Response
AS OF TODAY 04/29/2016, I JUST GOT NOTIFICATION FROM THE BANK (CREDIT ACCEPTANCE) THAT THE LOAN WILL BE DELETED. AS LONG AS WE RETURNED THE CAR AND THE CAR WAS RETURNED BACK IN THEIR POSSESSION ON 04/16/2016. POLICE REPORT HAS BEEN FILED AND I HAVE THE ORIGNAL DOCUMENT FOR THAT NOW. I WILL BE FAXING IN THAT DOCUMENT ON MONDAY FOR PROOF OF FORGERY FROM THE OFFICER IN FRAUD DEPARTMENT FROM THE POLICE STATION IN HAMMOND, INDIANA. WE ASKING FOR OUR DOWN PAYMENT FROM ONE WAY AUTO SALES AT THIS POINT...

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,
Mr. ******'s vehicle is parked on our lot and repaired
Due to negative communication with the lien holder the deal has been reassigned to our dealership as the lien holder. Mr. ****** is still under contract and should contact the finance dept. to arrange pick up of his vehicle and future payments. The lack of adherence to the above request could result in a Voluntary Repo/ negative marks on your credit report.

10/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales Representative has missed represented me on every occasion that I have spoking with him from the day the car broke down until now.
I purchased a car from this business on 7/13/15 and 3 day later the car broke down towed the car home at 3:00oclock in the morning and on the following monday the send another toll to get the car from my home. On that day I didn't receive a call from the Company until I call them to let me know what was going on with my car, was inform that it was something that had to do with the Trans,which when they taken the car in they was suppose to be done fix it 2 days later I take the car back ask the manager to take a ride with me and tell me what he thinks and his statement was it could be the trans because the car was still driving bad and was told by the manager that he didn't think the guys at there shop new what they where doing so he may have to seen the car out to another shop. I left the car they and was out of transportation for a week before they offered my something to drive until mind returned this was on 7/24/15 as of today 8/13/15 I still don't have my car back.Spoke with the manager and informed him that I still don't have my car back as of yet and his andswer was really my question to him was how you not know and I still have one of you cars that I am using until mine is completed. On 8/13/15 in when in to speak with the owner Jess ***** to no avail yes he was there but once the manager (TK) got done speaking with him on my behalf I fill like I was blown off first I was informed that it would take 5 to 10mins, when he when that time was up I was given another answer of he will be with me in 15 to 20mins I went in on my lunch hour so know I did not have a lot of time I got there at 2:15 and was there until 2:57 left a very angery person. I have a payment that is do in one day and have not drove this car but for 3 days sense I have the car and no one will give my and an honest answer. They have already got my money and now they could care less so unfair.

Desired Settlement
What is would like to see happen now is that the company acommand date me by changing the payment date for another month until I receive the car or make this payment themself and $500 dollar for all the stress that they have cause me of worrying about how I can may this payment and paying someone for finding a ride to and form work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jessie ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@gnail.com
First we would like to express our regret that Ms. ****** was disappointed with the service rendered unto her. Due to the unfortunate incident with her purchase, One Way Auto gave her a loaner vehicle until the repair was completed. During that time her payment was due to the lien holder per her signed contract. We accommodated her with transportation and therefore cannot justify reimbursement. Hopefully this is clearly understood and we look forward to continual service in the future!

Mr. Jessie **** - GM


OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes they did give me a loaner it took them about a week in a half to offer me something to get a round in but they could never tell me the truth about what was going on with my car and due to there neglect I was with out the car for the whole 30 day of my purchase,Not fare to a paying getting customer they stressed me so bad. And still to this day the car is still having problems because of the place they sent it to I they should be responsible to that first month payment.

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from One Way Auto Sales in May of 2015, in June of the same year, the car needed a new engine and was no longer operable.
I financed a 2005 Cadillac CTS from One Way Auto Sales in Hammond, Indiana in May of 2015. The car was purchased without a warranty however, I was assured that the car was fine and would last for a few years with proper maintenance. As recommended, I put only premium gasoline in the car and kept it well maintained. In June of 2015, the vehicle began making a loud knocking sound and completely stopped running, in the middle of the street. I had the car towed to the nearest Midas repair shop. The repair shop informed me that the car needed a new engine and would cost over $7k to repair. This amount was almost as much as the vehicle purchase price. I immediately called the dealership and spoke with a salesperson who informed me that there was nothing that they could do. I then informed the finance company who attempted to get the dealership to swap the car with another car or make an agreement to assist with the repair costs. The dealership has yet to provide a response. Now I am stuck paying a note on a car that I cannot drive because the dealership sold a car that they knew had engine problems. It is my believe that One Way Auto Sales has predatory practices of selling customers with troubled credit history vehicles that they know are no good, causing them deeper financial problems.

Desired Settlement
At minimum, and because I am in a financing agreement, I am asking that One Way Auto Sales replace the vehicle with another comparable vehicle that does not have need a new engine.

Business Response
We would welcome Mr ****** to call us and obtain a quote for the repairs on his car as we would like to think that we can save him substantially from his present quote.

07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car broke down before I could even register. One Way Auto very unresponsive. Charged me a $100 deductible for repairs.
I purchased the car from One Way Auto. Before I even received the paperwork to register the car it died on the side of the road. I had it towed to them for repair. Surprisingly instead of repairing the car for free they charged me a $100 deductible. This was even before the car could be smog tested.

Desired Settlement
I don't believe I should be charged anything for repairs on a car that barely is driven off the lot and not even smog tested or registered.

Business Response
Mr ****** was completely aware of his warranty coverage and the deductible that it carried. Vehicle was towed in under the warranty and it was repaired and he now has the vehicle. We honor the warranty on the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one made me aware of any of the terms of the warranty especially the deductable, you would think a reputable dealer would stand behind their vehicles. It STILL has not passed the emissions test.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response made no sense, my car has already been repaired hence the $100 copayment which I did not expect since I had barely drive the car out of the parking lot

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****

Mr ****** would only have to call and set up an appointment just as before. This is his second car being purchased from One Way Auto Sales and we appreciate the continued patronage. Please have him call us and ask for **** ******* to set up a time for Mr ****** to have his car drop off to us so we can diagnose and correct the problem.

OFFER:
Please have him call us and set up an appointment just like before.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to One Way Auto to purchase a vehicle. I got a vehicle and I gave them down payment and got insurance and left. They took my car and money.

Purchase: Feb 18, 2015
Problem date: February 28, 2015
Down payment 1000 Cash
Sales Rep ****** ******
Sales Receipt No. XXXXX

I went to One Way Auto to purchase a vehicle. I got a 2008 Chevy Equinox and I gave them down payment and got insurance and left. I came back ten days later to get some repairs they said were going to do to the car before I bought it. And they took the keys from me and took them to the managers office instead of to the auto shop. The manager came out and you can't have keys back, the financial company rejected me. So I said just give me all money back so I can leave and they refused.

Desired Settlement
I want all my money back

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Dear BBB,
Ms ***** took possession of a 2008 Chevrolet Equinox on February 18,2015 used it for over 10 days fully aware that a valid drivers license was required in order for her loan approval to be processed. Ms ***** gave us a copy of what appeared to be a valid driver license , Gateway Financial Solutions verified that her drivers license was suspended and therefore canceled her loan approval. Ms ***** was fully aware that she would be charged for using the vehicle if in fact the loan was not processed based on false information given to us by Ms *****. These terms are discussed with all of our customers prior to taking possession of our vehicles. I would like to share a small list describing some of the risk expenses when an approved auto loan is canceled.

1. Repossession fees ( if customer does not voluntarily returns the vehicle.)
2. Physical damage to the car.
3. Additional wear and tear that in turn requires service repairs.


Dear BBB, I hope you will understand we are not here to take advantage of the public. We are here to help provide people with reliable transportation while overcoming special credit challenges to obtain the loans necessary to purchase a nicer newer vehicle.


****** ** ****
One way Auto Sales
Finance Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX fax

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.