BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/09/1999

Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (260) 483-7999Fax: (260) 482-8999View Additional Phone Numbers2541 Goshen Road, Fort WayneIN 46808-1440

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/09/1999

BBB has determined that Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Cars purchased from dealer began needing extensive repair within only 6 months of ownership.
Insufficient Pricing in repar shop.
In June of 2013 I purchased a car from Beats Deal Auto Sales, the car from a buyers stand point looked as it was in great shape. The few cosmetic problems such as chips in the paint and broken sun visor mirror were fixed by the dealer before purchasing. Within two days of purchasing the cars air conditioning went out, they fixed the problem at no cost to me. Within 5 days the air conditioning went out again so I took it to another auto repair shop to see if there was anything else wrong and sure enough there was. The back shocks had a leak. I then returned the car to Best Deal for additional fixes to the air conditioner (Which they covered the cost of) and the repair of the shocks which I paid for ******** Within 10 days the air conditioner went out again. They then found that the air conditioner was losing the charge and again fixed the problem telling me that this was the last repair they would make under their cost, (fair enough) even though the purchase was not even two weeks before. At the end of July my sister purchased a car from Best Deal. Within one week the car stalled on the side of the road over 600 miles away from home. When she got back they fixed what they thought was the problem. The car again had a check engine light come on after stalling. We took the car back to the service center and was told that it would be the last fix under their cost because cars with high mileage can start breaking down at any point. The check engine light came back on and to this day is STILL on. The car my sister purchased is still slowly falling apart including issues with the dash light consul, leaking in the sunroof, screws from the safety handles on the roof literally falling out, getting terrible gas mileage, and now having problems with the transmission. Last week I took my car into Best Deal Auto Center for inspections and to repair a leak I noticed with the coolant. That then led to a repair estaminet of over ****** (after a so called 25% off price to costumers that have bought from them) to the same car I bought only 7 months ago . I called around and had it repaired (same parts and labor) for under half of what they quoted. After picking up my car from Best Deals auto shop and on the way to the shop I was having the repairs done, I noticed that my windshield washer fluid spouts were not working. They were working the morning I took them to Best Deal Auto Center and then not working when I picked them up. I called to address the issue only to be told that they supposedly did nothing involving the spouts and they would not be fixing them. So again another cost to me for a car that was only purchased from them 7 months ago. Of course it does't stop there. I then learned after referring a friend of mine to Best Deal they purchased a car from them in september and has already had it in the shop with over ****** dollars of repairs. All three of us bought these cars (trusting the dealership and sales men) under a loan and are currently making car payments on the cars. So on top of us making payments we are now having to deal with outrageous repair bills and continued disappointment with the Best Deal service center. Not to mention the so called referral program that they say they offer when referring a buyer that ends up purchasing a car. My sister and friend had both told them I referred them and I have yet to receive anything. I just remember the sales man telling me "I sell good quality cars and I stand by my trust in them." Well, my car was good for about 6 months. I now still owe ****** on the car and am having to consider refinancing to cover the repair cost.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* SALES MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Best Deal! Auto Sales apologizes for the number of times that our customer had to bring his vehicle in for air-conditioning repairs. Our ASE certified technicians do their very best to correctly diagnose the problem the first time. Sometimes, it is necessary to bring a vehicle back in for a related issue. The customer states that he was able to get the parts and labor, for additional repairs, at half the cost at another repair shop. Our labor rates are *** per hour compared to a national average of *** per hour. We also use OEM parts (Original Equipment Manufacturer). We would like to see a copy of the bill from the other shop listing all parts and labor. We always encourage our customers to purchase a service contract for their vehicle. Having a service contract on the vehicle can save the customer a lot of money in the long run. We have been in business for 15 years and we've had thousands of happy customers. We strive to make sure that our customers will keep coming back year after year. Best! Deal Auto Sales would be willing to repair the washer nozzles once we receive the copy of the customer's bill listing all parts and labor from the repairs done at the other shop.

**** *********
Sales Manager
Fort Wayne Store
3/3/14


OFFER:


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response completely ignores issue stated within the first letter. The fact is, three cars have been purchased all needing extensive repair within the first 6 months of ownership. If a costumer is trusting enough in the dealership that they are not buying a faulty car, why would some one by the service contract that is offered only to add ****** (Which was the price of the service contract warranty that was offered to me) to the price of the car resulting in a higher monthly payment for the costumer. Does that mean that every car purchased from Best Deal is bound to have problems and the only way to be guaranteed 100% satisfactory performance past 6 months of ownership is to buy one of these service contracts? I find it so frustrating that you expect costumers to buy one of these service contracts to insure that the vehicles you are selling are quality cars. No we did not purchase a service warranty contract on either car because we trusted in the dealership and service center.

Haires Automotive Services and Parts Break Down:
TCKWP265C Gates Timing Belt Kit w/WP: *******
K040551 Gates Serpentine Belt: ******
4K345AP RoadMax Serpentine Belt: *****
L 001564 R&R Timing Belt and Water Pump Labor: *******
Total amount of parts and Labor: *******

****** *******
3/9/13


Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* SALES MANAGER

Best Deal! Auto Sales goes to great lengths to make sure all of our vehicles are quality vehicles. We cannot, however, predict the future as to if and when one of our vehicles may need a repair after purchase. We encourage the purchase of a warranty to help cover any potential future costs. The majority of our customers do not have any problems that occur to their vehicles that soon after purchase and we're sorry you did. Best Deal! Auto Sales will cover the cost of the repair needed for your washer fluid spouts, Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX to set up an appointment.

OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Best Deal lot to look at a 2005 New Jetta TDI they had listed on their website. I went to test drive the car and everything seemed fine. I had the carfax pulled on it and everything looked fine, there were only a few reports found. So needless to say I bought the car. They did change the timing belt before I bought the car as I read that they should be changed on a regular basis. A few weeks later it started making some strange noises so I returned to the dealer and they said that since it is a diesel car it will tend to sound differnt. The glow plug light would flash and my car would lose power. I returned to the dealer and again they said it was probably just a sensor and to turn the car off and open the door and then turn it back on and it should reset it. So I continued to drive my car the despite the problems with it. Less than a year after driving the car it completely stopped up. We had it looked at, and they came to the conclusion that it was the cylinder head and block that had went out. At this point, I pulled a report on my own using the VIN number and found that there were in fact 28 reports on my car. Leading me to believe that they used the wrong VIN number or provided me with false information. Upon getting it fixed the mechanic (not from best deal) had found that my car had a 2.0L passat head instead of the 1.9L my Jetta called for. I called best deal to inform them they sold me a car with the wrong head and all they could say was that I bought the car and it wasnt their problem. I asked if they ever inpsected the car when they bought it as I was told they inspect every car. I just can't belive that if they really inpected the car how they missed that it was the wrong head. They refused to fix it for me becuase I didnt buy the extended warranty. The sales rep I worked with advised me that I did not need the warranty since my car is a manual, and most times they arent covered anyways. So instead of getting a "Best deal" I got conmpletely ripped off!
Product_Or_Service: 2005 New Jetta TDI

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******/ Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX *******
Contact Email: JustinBaldwin@*****************@hotmail.com
To Whom it may concern:

First of all let me start by saying Best Deal Auto Sales is a family owned and operated business and we take pride in not only our vehicles, but in every customer. That being said on August 4th 2012, the customer called to set up a test drive on an 05 "New" Jetta TDi that was listed on my website at our Import location in Fort Wayne. The customer stated that she would like to see the "said vehicle" at our Warsaw location. The "said vehicle" drove great from our Fort Wayne location to our Warsaw location. The Autocheck that we pulled on the vehicle had the correct VIN#. I can also provide a copy of the Carfax for the "said vehicle" which you would see is nearly perfect. The customer did not want to purchase the "said vehicle" that day. The customer and her father returned on August 6th 2012, to inspect and purchase the "said vehicle" ( the customer had requested that we change the timing belt, water pump, and change the oil). The customer was satisfied and made the purchase of the "said vehicle". At no point in the paper work was the customer talked out of buying a warranty. In fact the customer had signed two forms of waivers declining the warranty. For our sales staff is not trained to talk a customer out of buying a warranty. However the customer is correct in saying that a clutch is a non covered item. It is a wear and tear item, but all of the issues she is having would have been covered under the warranty. The customer DID return to Best Deal Auto Sales Warsaw location only to bring her mother and brother to purchase vehicles because of what a great experience she had. At no point was it brought up about how bad the "said vehicle" ran or even that it had a glow plug light flashing. The "said vehicle" was only brought up about how GREAT it was and what great fuel economy she had been getting. I, nor anybody at Best Deal Auto Sales, told the customer that she just needed to reset the light by opening the door, turn the key off and restart the vehicle and it should reset. Nobody here knew of any such reset. Best Deal Auto Sales would have told her to bring the car in for a correct fix. One year after purchasing the "said vehicle" the customer called and said that she would like to see a newer version of her "said vehicle", again. The Import location in Fort Wayne brought the 2010 VW Jetta TDi to our Warsaw location for a test drive. At that time the customer decided that she would stick with the "said vehicle" over the 2010 VW Jetta TDi. Hers was a manual and got better fuel economy. We never heard from the customer until the "said vehicle" (stopped up) as she stated. She had asked if there was anything we could do to help. Being a good customer we had said to arrange to have the vehicle brought here for further diagnosis. Best Deal Auto Sales could have saved her a lot of money. (Never to hear from her again until this note). Prior to her buying the "said vehicle" it was of course inspected by Best Deal Auto Sales service which then put the timing belt, water pump, and oil change at no expense to the customer. If the customer had not gotten the "Best Deal" then she would have not returned to Best Deal. Best Deal Auto Sales is always here to help customers save money. Best Deal Auto Sales would love to have the vehicle brought here (if not already fixed) to see if we could save her money. For our labor rates and parts are 40% lower prices than the average of the entire state of Indiana.



OFFER:
My offer to customer, if the vehicle has not been fixed, to bring the "said vehicle" to Best Deal Auto Sales" Service Department. Best Deal Auto Sales could save her time, money, and hastle.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can provide you with written statements from the people who worked on the car after it stopped running. I can also provide you with a written statement from the company that was going to attempt to re build the head. You DID sell me a car with a 2.0 head. The car does not run but I will be willing to load it up and haul it back to your lot with all of the parts that came with the car originally. I am being completely ripped off by your dealership. I don't understand how you can treat your customers like you have me. The resolution I am seeking is one of two things: either fix my car or take it back. You sold me a faulty vehicle. Any dealership that sells cars that are puzzled together should not be in business. If the car had the right head in it and the problem occurred I could understand being stuck with the bill. However, the car did have the wrong head on it and that is why the car no longer is working. This is your mistake. I can not believe you expect me to pay for your dealerships mistake. Every quote I have received the bill is over 5 THOUSAND dollars. I expect your dealership to be a little more helpful. The only thing you have offered me is to being it there so your dealership can fix it. I don't believe I should owe you anymore money. I am already out the amount I paid for the car. Especially after the loyalty my family showed you, I would have expected the same in return.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* MGR.

To Whom It May Concern:
On August 8th 2012 the "said vehicle" was purchased with 144,855 miles on the vehicle. I am curious as to how many miles are currently on the "said vehicle"? I would like to see all written statements on company letterhead. You can either forward the statements to: *************@BESTDEALAUTOSALESONLINE.COM send to
Best Deal Auto Sales 2942 US 30 E Warsaw, In XXXXX Thanks


OFFER:
Would love to be able to help. However we need to see the vehicle in order to save you money.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/26/1999Business started: 06/12/1999
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State
201 Statehouse
Indianapolis, IN46204
(317) 232-6576

BBB records show a license number of 07000741 for this company, issued by Secretary of State. Auto Dealers Service Division.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1998, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David D Baldwin (President)Mr. David D. Baldwin II (Vice President)Ms. Susan B. Baldwin (Secretary/Treasurer)Mr. Brian Baldwin (General Manager)Mr. Justin Baldwin (Manager - Warsaw)Mr. Travis Baldwin (Manager - Fort Wayne)Mr. Brandon Mumaw (Manager - Fort Wayne)Mr. Corey Titler (Manager - Auburn)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Best Deal Auto Sales "The Import Store"
Industry Tips
Used Cars
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc.

2541 Goshen Road

Fort Wayne, IN 46808-1440

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 1875 St. Rd. 8 

    Auburn, IN 46706-9575(260) 357-0099

  • 2541 Goshen Road 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46808-1440

  • 2630 Goshen Road 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46808-1443(260) 483-7999

  • 2942 U. S. 30 E. 

    Warsaw, IN 46580(574) 269-4499

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Best Deal Auto Sales, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (260) 482-8899
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.