BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1986

Gates Chevy World, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (574) 256-3000Fax: (574) 256-2270View Additional Phone Numbers640 W Ireland Rd, South BendIN 46614-3808View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1986

BBB has determined that Gates Chevy World, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gates Chevy World, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gates Chevy World, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Many items needed to be fixed prior to delivery of my vehicle. These items have never been fixed after 4 trips to service. Poor customer service.
When I purchased my vehicle, the front windshield was cracked, the "low pressure" tire light was constantly on, the car shook a bit indicating an alignment may be necessary, the vehicle was due for service according to ***** own records, the passenger side visor was out and there was a "squeak" coming from the back of the vehicle that they were going to check and fix. The "low pressure" tire light was supposed to be fixed along with everything else listed, except for the windshield, which **** stated he could fix it at his service center or send someone to actually fix it at my place of work. ***** called and stated the work was completed (I'm unable to give exact dates because they refused to give me copies of the service paperwork. Nothing was fixed, I called ***** and they told me to bring it back in. I told them I needed the vehicle for an out of town trip for business, they said they would give me another vehicle to drive. I took my car in during the evening of January 21, 2014. I left ***** with my vehicle and nothing was fixed, "low pressure" light was still on, squeak still in the back, visor still out, window still broke, alignment still shaking and service still not performed. I had another business trip on February 4th and 5th, 2014 and said that I would bring my vehicle in a 3rd time after my return. While on my trip to a remote part of Michigan, the service light came on in the vehicle and it said that the oil was a quart low. I had to find dealership in another town, 30 miles away to service the vehicle that ***** was supposed to service before I ever took delivery. I, again, the following weekend, on my own time, took the vehicle to ***** and waited for it to be fixed and again, when I left *****, nothing had been fixed. The "low pressure" tire light was still on, squeak still annoying, window still cracked, visor still out, and the alignment shake getting worse. The windshield was getting worse and I had to have it replaced on my own. I told my salesperson that I had to pay *** for service and **** for a deductible on my windshield and he said he talked to ***** the finance manager and he would be calling me to talk and reimburse my costs, ***** never called and I was never reimbursed. At this point, just speaking with ***** had become stressful, I've wasted time, energy and gas driving back and forth to Granger from Niles, Michigan with the same result, nothing being fixed and me being treated like I had done something wrong. My final experience with ***** was hopefully my last. I was told to bring my car in on Thursday, March 13, 2014 in the morning so that my car would be completed at the earliest Thursday evening, Friday at the latest. I called Thursday, March 13, 2014 after work and was told my car was not finished yet. No one from ***** called me all day Friday, so after work on Friday, March 14, 2014, I texted my salesperson from ***** (**** would not take my calls) and was told that my car had been taken to a local Jeep dealership and was not yet finished. Again, ***** failed to call and tell me that my Jeep had been taken to an alternate location. I texted my salesperson and was told that my vehicle still wasn't finished and the Jeep "place" was still working on it. I then asked which Jeep facility my truck had been taken too and after many inquiries I was told the "one on McKinley." This was at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 15, 2014. I called the Jeep dealership and spoke with *****, she said that the right front tire sensor needed to be replaced and that she spoke with ***** of Granger on Friday, March 14, 2014 in the a.m. with an estimate and they had yet to call her back to ok the repair.***** lied to me when they said the Jeep store wasn't finished, they just didn't want to pay for it.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for forwarding to our office a copy of the complaint # ******* from Ms. ********. The relationship that Gates enjoys with the NIBBB is important and our business culture demands we respond factually and with clarity.
According the complaint, Ms. ******** is strongly suggesting the following.
Gates of Granger "delivered intentionally, a defective or non performing vehicle to the consumer", (Ms. ******). They include a "cracked" front windshield, a low tire pressure light" that was constantly on, a vehicle that was "due for service according to Gates records, a "squeak", and a visor lamp that was "out".
Enclosed you will find documentation supporting service that was completed on the vehicle (Exhibit 1) including but not limited to a complete service, replacing wiper Inserts, air filter, and a front differential cover that was resealed. We do not consider a "visor lamp" or a "squeak" to be a relevant complaint when selling a pre-owned vehicle. Both complaints are non-safety issues therefore no action will be taken to remedy.
(Exhibit 2), retail purchase contract authorized and approved by Ms. ********, displays a blank "We Owe" section. This is clear indication that there were no outstanding repairs due at time of delivery. It is an absolute policy and procedure at Gates Automotive to specifically define any issues that are present at time of delivery that must be addressed following delivery. There were no specific issues documented.
One needs only to read the purchase contract, a standard in the industry, to answer the request for reimbursement of wasted time. (Exhibit 3A)
The conversation regarding the windshield "crack" between Ms. ******** and **** clearly indicates that the "crack" was perhaps a "stone chip". This is an easy remedy by a glass filling process commonly employed when selling a pre-owned vehicle. The window shield, to the extent we can document, was not broken. Gates service standards would not allow us to display or deliver, for obvious safety reasons, a vehicle with cracked or broken glass. However, $** would not be a sticking point if Ms. ******** had been completely transparent in her complaint.
The misrepresentations of facts included in Ms. ********'s complaint, along with her integrity, are both compromised by the intentional deletion of a much more serious contractual compromise. Ms. ******** has committed a Breach of Contract that must be reconciled post haste. She has failed to disclose this fact to the NIBBB, at the very least a serious BBB ethics violation. At worst there are potential serious legal ramifications.
In summary, Gates negotiated the contract with Ms. ******** in good faith and has performed to the letter of the contract. Conversely, Ms. ******** has committed a Breach of Contract by stopping payment of $**** down payment check(s) to Gates of Granger. The attempt to use this as leverage will result In further action and will be pursued to the letter of law, including any damages incurred as a result of her actions.
Consequently there will be no further communication or action to satisfy any of Ms. ********'s post delivery complaint(s) until the Breach has been satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised terms not honored

Complaint: promised something and didn't deliver
On Sept.15 2012 we attended a sale at Gates. The ad said, "Purchase any new or used vehicle and receive a $*** ******* gift card".
We purchased a 2012 Toyota Scion. We put $*** down and returned on 9/17/12 and paid the remaining $******. We were told we couldn't have the $*** gift card advertised for purchase of any new or used vehicle because "we already got to good of a deal". I questioned the salesman, I spoke to others on show room floor who also said they didn't receive any either. I truly believe it was a "scam" just to draw people in !!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **************, GSM
Contact Phone: ******XX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@gatestoyota.com
10/10/2012

*******************
Dispute Resolution Specialist
Better Business Bureau of Northern Indiana
Consumer Protection Division
4011 Parnell Avenue
Ft. Wayne, IN 46805

Re; Case No. *************
******, ******

Dear Ms. *************

Thank you for forwarding to my office a copy of consumer complaint Case No. 2604******216. The following paragraph(s) ****** address the complaint and shed some light on the position of ****** and perhaps an adequate solution or course of action to pursue for resolution.

The ******** Gift Card was promoted as follows, "Purchase any used car and receive a $****** gift card," new vehicles were never a part of this promotion. Ms. ****** in fact purchased a used car, so from that stand point she would be eligible for the gift card. As with every new and used vehicle purchase there are stipulations that must be met for special offers such as incentivized financing, factory rebates and incentives, college graduate incentives, military service incentives, and ******** Gift Cards. A consumer can not purchase a new vehicle, take advantage of the incentivized advertised price, and take advantage of the incentivized financing as well. Nor can all consumers take advantage of college graduate incentives, military service incentives, or any other factory or dealer sponsored incentives without meeting or passing significant qualifiers on the road to the purchase. There were qualifiers for this promotion, it was not a "scam" just to draw people in.

The qualifier in this case was simply "price concessions in lieu of gift card." Many consumers received gift cards during our week long sale that appreciated the vehicle they purchased and the purchase price they paid. Many others appreciated the significant savings they received with no desire to receive a gift card as a result or concession of their savings. All consumers were given the choice of additional savings or gift card. Ms. ****** was as well and the enclosure(s) ****** show that.

I have enclosed the following for your review; A) Two (2) purchase contracts, one (1) hand written, one (1) typed that are signed contracts by ****** and Ms. ****** that state; "price concession in lieu of ....." B) a copy of documents showing original marketed price on 9/******/12 and the selling price agreed to on 9/15/12, a price concession of $*********.
Gates Automotive Group is proud of our 85 year heritage and in no manner made an attempt to cheat or mislead our substantial customer base or Ms. ******. We believe that the considerable price concession justifies our position. Additionally, we believe Ms. ****** was aware of the concession and the choice at the time of purchase. Ms. ****** also had the chance to decline the offer if this was an obstacle to the purchase.

Ms. ****** made an attempt to contact the South Bend Tribune for a copy of our ad. At that time I shared all of my personal contact information with Peggy Brassier to forward to Ms. ****** for resolution. This is the first contact I personally have had regarding this dispute.

Ms. ****** made a major purchase from Gates. We appreciate and recognize that she had many choices from which to purchase. ****** stands willing to extend a goodwill gesture of $****** to Ms. ****** without expectation to show our appreciation.

As always, thank you****** for the opportunity and the avenue to express our views and to the BBB for your diligent work.



Respectfully,

**************, GSM
****** Automotive Group


OFFER:
Ms. ****** made a major purchase from Gates. We appreciate and recognize that she had many choices from which to purchase. ****** stands willing to extend a goodwill gesture of $****** to Ms. ****** without expectation to show our appreciation.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer contacted our office indicating has not received a refund, and would like some follow up and the offer of $****** honored.

Business' Final Response
Company contacted our office indicating the offer was made, but they were not aware the consumer accepted.

BBB explained to the company when the consumer accepted the offer the case was closed as resolved automatically, and the letter sent to the business was addressed to another contact person, not **************. The check ****** be mailed to her as offered.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/13/2011Problems with Product / Service
03/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Within 5 months of buying my car from Gates I had to repair major electrical damage caused by a leak. I discovered a cork had been used by Gates.
On 11/17/2012,I purchased a 2003 Mini Cooper from Gates Toyota 640 W Ireland Rd, South Bend In. The purchase agreement lists Gates Chevy World on 636 W McKinley Ave. Mishawaka, In. 46545. Within a couple of months of owning the car I would periodically notice water on my floor mat. I could not determine the source, and the leak seemed to stop. Over the next few months I would again find water on the driver's side floorboards, both front and back now though. I did some research online which had suggested to check the sunroof drain hole boot. When I took the car to my Mom and Step-Dad's house, my Step-Dad, **** ***** noticed someone had stuffed a cork in the sunroof drain hole. We pulled the cork out and checked the inside of the boot. Just like the video I found online said, the boot had slipped off the main drain tube causing it to leak inside the car. Gates Toyota's quick fix was to stuff a cork down the drain hole, instead of fixing it correctly. To make this matter worse, fixing this leakage problem correctly is a simple and cheap job. I see no reason why the mechanics at Gates couldn't have fixed this correctly, instead of stuffing a cork down a tube. ***** A ******* the salesperson who sold me the car, told me the car had been on their lot for 6 months. During that time we had quite a bit of rain, so Gates had to have noticed the leak also. Unfortunately, by the time I fixed the problem a lot of damage had been caused by water. Around April 2013 my interior lights stopped working. Then my tachometer the next month stopped working. I didn't contact Gates about this because I was so shocked over the whole situation. When I decided to shop for a used car, I chose to go to a well-known dealership rather than a private seller to avoid a problem exactly like this. I am assuming Gates put the cork in themselves because the only other option is that it was placed in the tube by the previous owner. If that was the case, Gates did not do any sort of inspection job on the car when they took possession of it, and should not have represented it as being in good shape. Even if Gates is innocent of placing the cork in the tube, they should have performed an inspection on this car, and they CERTAINLY should have noticed a car periodically leaking in their lot if they had possession of it for six months. I took it to German Concepts on 7/02/13 and they said due to all the water it had corroded the main wiring harness causing all these problems and making the fuel pump short out. It took them 3 weeks to fix the car, and the German Concept repair bill total amount was ********** As mentioned above, the salesperson at Gates that I dealt with was ***** A ******* He assured me that, quote, '***** doesn't sell crappy cars'. The F&I Manager is **** A ****** The total amount was ********** My payment amount per month was ******** My Payment Method was by Money Order through the mail. Deal No.: XXXXXX. 2003 Mini Cooper HardT. Stock No.: Toy. Serial No.: *****************.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@gatestoyota.com

February 14, 2014


Dear Ms. ******** *****

Thank you for forwarding to our office a copy of the complaint # XXXXXXXX from Mr. ****. The relationship that Gates enjoys with the NIBBB is important and our business culture demands we respond factually and with clarity.

According the complaint, Mr. **** is strongly suggesting the following.

1) That Gates "intentionally stuffed" a cork in the sunroof drain hole of the Cooper. He claims that the other option may be that the previous customer did it, but that Gates should have known and found that needle in the haystack while doing our safety inspection on the Cooper. I believe he is correct in his assumption that the previous customer (s) may have in fact made the repair he discovered. Our experience is that in order for the leak tray of a sunroof to fill to the point to run into the car when a drain hose is plugged, it takes significant leaking with no chance to dry out. I am not a meteorologist; I have no idea how much rain we had while we owned the car. This in fact may be why Gates never found the plugged drain hose. We never had a cause to look for it as the floor obviously was not wet when Mr. **** took delivery of the car. Had the floor been wet when we traded for the car or wet when we delivered the car to Mr. ****, we would have in fact diagnosed this issue. As it was, the safety inspection we preformed, ( doc's included) did not require a deep water test on the sunroof.

2) Mr. **** claims that the leak, in his estimation leaking for nearly 8 months, (6 months at ***** and 2 months in his possession) has rendered the electrical system useless. The water leak obviously was either leaking longer than 8 months, or the repairs performed by German Concepts may have been excessive. I am not qualified to judge either. However, is not possible to do all the damage claimed in the time frame given. Mr. **** did have a warranty, he did have a relationship from the purchase process with a professional sales person. Mr. **** admits he failed to bring the problem to our attention and give Gates a chance to diagnose and correct the problem. Not sales personnel, not service personnel, not management, virtually no one knew that Mr. **** had a problem. I apologize that I am not buying the "I was so shocked by the entire situation" that he would not contact Gates.

3) Mr. **** was assured by his salesman that "Gates does not sell crappy cars"... Gates does not sell crappy cars...Gates sells cars in all ranges for all budget types. Some are Toyota or GM Certified. These cars are meticulously serviced and front row ready and a consumer pays a premium to purchase these cars with high expectations of service. Some are mid range pre-owned cars that Gates services very thoroughly but not to the standard of a Certified unit. The consumer expects a nice vehicle but realizes that it more than likely will take some future maintenance. Still others, cars that are in excess of 90K miles and beyond, are serviced to high safety standard but cosmetic issues may be waived in an effort to provide a great value on reliable transportation.

Mr. **** believes that a car in "good shape" should not be outfitted with a cork by *****. Would that be the same as a plug in a tire, a dent in the door, a chip in the windshield, or a worn clutch? All would eventually create a bigger issue over time if not corrected. ***** did not plug the drain with a cork. A vehicle sold in the $5-$8000 range is not sold as a crappy car, rather a car that may need some TLC to give excellent service.

In summary, Mr. **** wants Gates to reimburse him for repairs to a vehicle that he does not own through no fault of Gates. Additionally, Mr. **** wants Gates to accept responsibility, "in one way or another" for a vehicle we sold but had no knowledge of the problem and no opportunity to repair.

Gates has no offer to make to the consumer based on the obvious reasons outlined above.

Respectfully,


***** ********* GSM
Gates Automotive Group


OFFER:
Gates has no offer to make to the consumer based on the obvious reasons outlined in our reply.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because when I bought the car I asked about getting a full warranty on the car. The salesperson went back and asked the sales manager if a full warranty on the car could be done and he said no, only a warranty on the exterior paint and rims of the car was offered. I did accept the paint and rim warranty. I do not believe that in 6 months time of sitting on Gates lot that they didn't discover the leak and the fact that a full warranty wasn't offered helps support that claim. The cork was in plain sight when you opened the sun roof all the way. I thought I was buying a car from a reputable car dealership that would have done a thorough inspection of the car before even taking it from the previous owner

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* GSM Gates Automotive


Re: Case #********* ****, ******

Dear Ms. *************

Thank you for forwarding to our office the consumer rebuttal.

Gates is confident in our assessment of this claim filed by Mr. ****. In the event there has been a misunderstanding, I will restate the relevant highlights.

1- The vehicle in question was serviced to a high safety standard, however any simple cosmetic issues were of no concern during our inspection. This is common practice on a vehicle that has excessive miles, or that we consider to be in a condition that requires some TLC. This practice does not prohibit us from selling a nice vehicle to a consumer unable or unwilling to budget a "certified" vehicle.

2- At no time did Mr. **** bring the issue to a Gates employee for correction or attention. A course of action is hard to dispute if we were never given an opportunity. "I was too shocked by the entire situation" is not a valid alibi to giving us a chance at correction.

3- How long the vehicle was in our inventory or how much rainfall we experienced during our possession of the vehicle bears no relevance to this complaint.

4- In Mr. ****'s most recent reply, he says, "I asked about getting a full warranty on the car, the manager said no!" Mr. **** believes that this statement confirms his claim that we were fully aware there was a water leak. I believe it confirms that Mr. **** had an opportunity to walk away but he chose to buy a nice, safe, reliable, car at a fair price. In the case of a house, car, motorboat, or any other tangible item, ownership requires acceptance of obligation and responsibility.

5- Mr. **** no longer has possession of the vehicle in question. No matter the spin you put on the complaint, Gates can not accept responsibility for the judgment used to reach this conclusion.

Considering the above summary, Gates feels strongly no compromise is appropriate. We apologize to the Northern Indiana BBB for the apparent impasse in this case. We feel the facts lead to the same conclusion as our previous reply.



Respectfully,


***** ********* GSM
Gates Automotive Group


OFFER:

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Upon purchasing a car from this dealer the finance associate took my info to apply me for an auto loan I did not agree to.
I went into Gates Chevy November 9th 2013 interested in a 2010 red Chevy Malibu LTZ I saw online. This was a 2 hour drive from my home in Fort Wayne. IN so my older sister ****** accompanied me on this trip. When we went to the dealer I already had a pre-approved credit loan for up to ********** on a car that's model was 2006-2014 and under 70k miles. My loan was approved through ******* one so they provided me with a blank check to write at a dealer when I picked out a vehicle. ******* ******* was the sales person I spoke to over the phone prior to going in. He was very helpful and upfront about everything. I did my test drive with him and we settled on a price. Then he moved us to a waiting area where we sat for about 2.5 hrs waiting to get into the finance office to do all the paperwork. When it was my turn we were greeted by ***** ** **** (Business Manager) to complete my paperwork. Upon entering his office I explained to him this should be fast I already have a pre-approved loan from *********** and I AM NOT AT ALL INTERESTED IN A LOAN WITH A DIFFERENT PROVIDER OR EXTENDING MY REPAYMENT TIMEFRAME. By this time I had already calculated the cost of car I was buying with the 7% state tax, and the 5.8 interest rate for buying a 2010 car (while in the waiting room for 2.5hrs. Once my sister and I sit in his office he began asking me a series of financial questions; writing down my answers as I spoke. At the end of the questions he asked me to sign. It was only then my sister noticed the top of the form he was asking me to sign said "application" at that point we asked "why am I signing a new auto loan application when I have a loan that my vehicle qualifies to purchase?" His reply was that having this information on file was routine. He left the room with that form he had just asked me to sign. He actually left the room several times throughout the process of completing my paperwork. He never explained what he was going to do with the form, he never mentioned that he was going in the next office and running that loan application to try to get me to have a loan with a different bank. He basically ran a loan application without my consent! I know what credit score is capible of and I have been re-builing my credit this year so I would have never agreed to apply for a loan at any other provider. I purchase the car with my original capital one loan and he not once brings up the fact that he did anything with that application. One week passes and I recieve in the mail a letter from *** informing I was denied for an auto loan that was applied for on my behalf a week earlier thru Gates Chevy World!!! I immdiately pulled my credit score and from within 3 weeks my credit score dropped 29pts due to this application ***** **** submitted without my approval. This was a very poor business practice for Chevy to do such a thing!

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* GSM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@gatestoyota.com
***** Automotive appreciates the business that Ms. ****** gave to our company.
***** is however disturbed at the numerous questionable accusations and the veiled threat contained in the complaint. ***** has been in business for over 85 years and remains a quality partner of the Better Business Bureau of Northern Indiana.
***** believes it is quite unfortunate that Ms. ****** has a negative recollection of her purchase experience. Our entire purchase process has evolved over 85 years to clarify the increased document load, have transparency between lender, dealer, and consumer, and expedite the purchase experience. There are many instances where a customer has to wait a longer period of time than we expect or have control of due to traffic volume. We have addressed this area of concern numerous times throughout our recent growth and **** continue to improve the speed and quality with which we complete the volumes of legal documents requiring tedious detail.
Although it is impossible to reconstruct the entire dialog between Ms. ****** and Mr. ***** my experience has been as follows. The general recollection and understanding of events between more than one party often differ to a great degree therefore creating a very unreliable compilation of events. Ms. ****** herself has used other media to share her disgust of the experience, only to contradict her recollection in this complaint.
In an effort to secure the best possible consumer financial products, it is a Nationally accepted Automotive practice for a Business Department to submit, with written consent, a consumer application to more than one competing lender for approval.
The facts that are contained on file would indicate, based on Ms. ****** written consent, that she voluntarily offered credit information, was clearly aware of our process, and completed finance documents to secure financial approval though Capital One, or a competing lender. Ms. ****** did not however, require the use of the "blank check" she possessed upon arrival.
Although no one really knows the analytics behind credit scoring, in my entire 35 year career I have never been a witness to a single event 29 point credit score reduction, accept when accompanied by multiple outside derogatory events of which would be beyond ***** control.
***** has no interest nor do we see an advantage or motive to continue further dialog in this matter. ***** would offer our apologies to Ms. ****** for the longer than customary wait, and offer congratulations and thanks for her purchase.



OFFER:
***** has no reason to believe there should be any offer other than the apology listed above. Further more, the threat contained in the above complaint is quite uncommon. ***** stands prepared to defend our integrity from any and all baseless and frivolous claims.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I went into this Dealer and stated very clearly that I was not interested In applying for a loan. I was completely done with my loan
process prior to walking in. What he stated above is not my situation! Of
course if I planned to apply for a loan that would apply to me, but I
SAID SEVERAL TIMES THAT I AM NOT APPLYING FOR A LOAN and My request
was violated without my knowledge. Above states "was clearly aware of our process, and completed finance documents to secure financial approval though ******* **** or a competing lender" - which means your process is to force customers to apply for a new loan when they do not need or desire one? I am very confused by this statement. I am actually in shock at how your business would choose to handle dissatisfaction. I tried to reach out to the dealer and was refused to be serviced on the issue. Ignoring concern to a poor business practice is not very good customer service. Waiting over 2 hours to complete
the paperwork is not he issue, and that seems to be the only thing
they are acknowledging. There was a camera in the office, which clearly shows my hesitaiton to sign the form he handed to me and I only signed that form after he
assured me it was necessary for their files. The handwriting on the form is ***** ******* because I would have never completed an application to apply for a 2nd auto loan. I have contacted my local news channel to televise an interview that allows me to help other Indiana consumers from signing documents that could result in a situation such as this. I do not believe I am the first victim.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/15/1986Business started: 01/02/1925
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1934, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Dennis Pynaert (General Manager)Mr. William Gates (Vice President)Mr. Larry Gates (President) Joel Gates (President)Mr. Matthew Helmkamp (Owner/Gates Toyota Scion)Mr. Bill Murray (CFO/ Toyota Scion)Mr. Steve Shaffer (Gate Toyota Scion)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This business offers new and used car sales along with service and repairs.

Alternate Business Names
Gates Chevy World Mishawaka, Gates Toyota, Gates Chevy World South Bend, Gates Automotive Group, Gates Downtown Preowned, Gates Ireland & Service Body Shop, Gates Downtown Service
Industry Tips
Used Cars
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gates Chevy World, Inc.

640 W Ireland Rd

South Bend, IN 46614-3808

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 636 W. McKinley Ave. 

    Mishawaka, IN 46545-5518

  • 205 W. Western Ave. 

    South Bend, IN 46614(574) 532-1768

  • 311 E Ireland Rd 

    South Bend, IN 46614-2655(574) 299-1602

  • 410 W Wayne St 

    South Bend, IN 46601-2108(574) 237-4057

  • 640 W Ireland Rd 

    South Bend, IN 46614-3808(574) 237-4000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gates Chevy World, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 608-1040
  • (574) 237-4000

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (574) 237-4052
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.