BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2010

Basney Motors, Inc.

Phone: (574) 256-5550Fax: (574) 255-70273820 Grape Rd, MishawakaIN 46545-2616 Send email to Basney Motors, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2010

BBB has determined that Basney Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Basney Motors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Basney Motors, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Service Manager is sending me malicious emails containing computer infecting viruses.
On December 2nd 2014 at 1:23 PM (13:23 PM) I received an email from **** ***** (****@basneyhonda.com) that was mailed through basneyhonda.com's email service. This email contained a computer infecting virus as an attachment in the email.

I know **** personally, he has been married to my mother for the last fifteen years. Unfortunately, they are currently going through a bitter separation.

Either **** is using his work email to send me malicious content, or basneyhonda.com's email service has a security breach that needs to be addressed. Either way, I do not wish to receive these emails from neither him nor whatever problems their email service might have.

**** is in charge of running this business, and with the conflict of personal interest, I felt that this issue would be best addressed by the Better Business Bureau (someone with an outside attachment to the issue).

I want these emails to stop immediately. I don't deserve to receive them and expect my privacy to be respected like anyone else.

Desired Settlement
I want to these emails to stop. **** nor Basney Honda have any business contacting me. I live 2000+ miles away on the other side of the country.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Service Dir.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@basneybmw.com
Mr. **** has been put on the do not contact list for email, phone, mail, text etc. Mr. **** will not be contacted by **** ***** or ****** Honda. If you have any questions please contact **** ******* the Parts and Service Director at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ***********@basneybmw.com.

OFFER:

11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Basney Honda erroneously replaced the MCM module in my Honda Hybrid, cost: $********. The IMA battery needed to be replaced instead.
On Dec. 22, 2011, my Honda Hybrid stalled and subsequently failed to start, with the "check engine" light on. The vehicle number is JMHES95623S014684. Basney Honda serviced the car and recommended replacement of both the 12-volt battery and the MCM module. At that time, I asked about the IMA battery, as I knew this was a common problem in Honda Hybrids. I was told it was the MCM module. Given these assurances, I authorized the repairs.
I paid the $******* invoice ********** on Dec. 28. Three days later, the car required a charge of the new 12-volt battery to start, and at this point "check engine" was on again. Bob Rohrman's Indy Honda replaced the A/C relay and recharged the 12-volt battery (invoice ******, $******). The "check engine" light soon came on again. ************* of Muncie (my son is the principal driver and a student at Ball State Univ.) performed software updates for the MCM module. The service technician warned me that this may not be a permanent fix because he felt that the IMA battery needed to be replaced. The $***** invoice for software updates was **********.
Within a week, "check engine" was on again. The service technician at ************* (**********) said some diagnostic error codes showed the MCM module needed to be replaced. I made him aware that the MCM module had just been replaced. He further discussed the error codes with American Honda and ultimately the IMA battery was replaced.
My complaint is that Basney Honda made an incorrect diagnosis, resulting in my paying for an expensive and unnecessary repair. I discussed this several times with American Honda, thinking that an error code manual might have misled the repair technicians and that American Honda would assume responsibility. But American Honda's statement was that the error codes need to be properly interpreted by service personnel-lack of proper training or diligence in their work efforts can result in an incorrect diagnosis. These conversations made it clear that American Honda was accepting no responsibility for the misdiagnosis. My calls (************) to American Honda should be documented in case #*******************
The Muncie service technician (**********) told me that likely Basney's MCM repair was not the needed repair and that I should bring all the repair information to the Basney service manager for discussion. He also said he was willing to discuss his repair work with the Basney service manager. I brought all invoices detailing the repair history to the Basney service manager (**********) in March 2012. Mr. ***** stated he would review and call me. I never received a return phone call from him.
After two weeks I called Mr.******. He suggested that they didn't diagnose the A/C relay issue and offered to pay the $238.37 bill. I responded he had misunderstood my position and that I sought reimbursement for the unnecessary MCM replacement. I asked that Mr. ***** call Mike Raatz, Victory Honda, to discuss why this was likely an unnecessary repair. He said that he would. However, I spoke to Mr. Raatz later and was told that Mr. ***** had not called him.
I have called Mr. ***** many times over the past seven months. One month ago (September 2012) he stated his position that his shop did what the errors codes indicated and that perhaps both the MCM module and the IMA battery needed to be replaced. He wanted me to call American Honda again about the situation. I did. They restated their position and told me to talk directly with the District Manager about the situation, and, in the event things were not resolved, consider filing a claim with the Better Business Bureau or pursue legal action.
Immediately after this conversation I called Mr. ***** again and requested the name and phone number of the District Manager. He said he could not give me this phone number, but would have the District Manager call me. This was two weeks ago and to date I have not received a phone call.

Desired Settlement
I have incurred out of pocket costs totaling $******* to repair my car relating to this problem. I am requesting a refund of the $******* that I paid to Basney Honda on Dec 28, 2011 based on the fact that this was an unnecessary expense resulting directly from their misdiagnosis of the problem.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **********/SERVICE MANAGE
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@BASNEYHONDA.COM
REPAIRS COMPLETED ON VEHICLE PERFORMED PER HONDA SERVICE MANUAL GUILD LINES TO REPAIR VEHICLE,REPAIRS COMPLETED BY ASE CERTIFIED MASTER TECH ID#**************/HONDA MASTER TECH,DID CONTACT HONDA FOR ASSISTANCE AND IT WAS DENIED VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

OFFER:
WE FEEL WE DON'T OWE CUSTOMER,AND REPAIRS WERE DONE CORRECTLY PER HONDA

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Basney Honda does not address the major issue raised in my complaint: the replacement of the MCM module was due to an incorrect diagnosis.
My basis for this claim is:
1. First and foremost, the costly replacement of the MCM module did not fix the problem with the car.
2. Secondly, the same error code that Basney said specified the required repair was still present after the replacement of the MCM module.
Basney Honda's response is simply that the repair was "done by the book". My claim documented that I asked American Honda about this statement. I was told by American Honda that Basney Honda's statement is not valid. Error codes need to be properly interpreted. This statement by American Honda has been summarily ignored in the response from Basney Honda. The fact that another Honda repair shop properly diagnosed the problem is further support of my claim that Basney Honda made an incorrect interpretation of the error code.
My view is that Basney Honda has fallen short of their responsibility to me. At their request, I supplied all documentation and then reviewed the situation several times with American Honda. Yet, when given American Honda's response, which I felt further established that they were at fault, Basney Honda has chosen not to communicate with me.
Further, when American Honda suggested I talk with Basney Honda's regional service manager about the situation, Basney Honda said that they would put me in contact but did not follow through on this.
There is one other additional point pertinent to my complaint. At the time of my initial inquiry with Basney Honda, the service manager misunderstood my complaint and was willing to compensate me for repair of the A/C relay ($******). Hence he was initially willing to admit that they might be responsible for the failure to diagnose the problem correctly. It appears that once he realized my claim was for the expensive MCM module ($*******), he changed his mind and made the decision to continue to make statements that he would check the documentation, call the other dealership, provide the name of the regional manager and numerous other claims. Never did he return calls nor follow through on any of his promises. This has been an extraordinarily frustrating experience from a company that promises top customer service.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: **********-SERVICE MANAGER

1.FIRST THIS WAS NOT A MISDIAGNOSIS,DIAGNOSIS WAS DONE CORRECTLY AND BY A QUALIFIED TECH AND THERE WAS NO MISINTERPRETATION OF THE ERROR CODES,WE REPAIRED THE PROBLEM THAT WAS PRESENT AT THAT TIME.AS STATED IN THE PAPER WORK FROM THE OTHER HONDA DEALERSHIP THERE WAS MULTIPLE CODES STORED IN SYSTEM.WHICH MEANS THAT THERE COULD OF BEEN MULTIPLE PROBLEMS AND THEY WERE NOT PRESENT AT THE TIME OF OUR REPAIRS.WE ARE SORRY FOR MR ******* FRUSTRATION BUT WE FEEL WE DID NOTHING WRONG.

OFFER:
AGAIN WE FEEL WE DON'T OWE THE CUSTOMER ANYTHING IN RETURN FOR REPAIRS DONE AT BASNEY HONDA

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/03/1993Business started: 02/06/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1984, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Basney (GM)Mr Jim Basney (President)Ms. Mary Crothers (Facilitaro)Ms. Delena Miller-Bates (Office Mgr.)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This business offers the sale of new cars.

Alternate Business Names
Basney Honda
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Basney Motors, Inc.

3820 Grape Rd

Mishawaka, IN 46545-2616

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3820 Grape Rd 

    Mishawaka, IN 46545-2616(574) 256-5550
    Fax: (574) 255-7027

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Basney Motors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.