BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Indiana

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1977

Art Hill, Inc.

Phone: (219) 738-5300Fax: (219) 738-5338901-1019 W. Lincoln Highway, MerrillvilleIN 46410

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1977

BBB has determined that Art Hill, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Art Hill, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Art Hill, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** I would recieve tires for life of vehicle and wont honor deal.
I bought a 2004 f15o truck art hill gave me certificate for tires for life as long as I had all sevicing done at there shop and I did everything they said I needed i purchased.I have 65000 miles on truck and tires need to be replaced showed them paper they said they didnt charge me enough for servicing and didnt do all services required on maintanance but they didnt do it or tell me it needed to be done always showed everything checked out good.So I THINK THEY JUST RIPPED ME OFF CAUSE TRUCK NEVER BROKE DOWN AND THEY DIDNT MAKE MONEY off it so now they wont honor aggreement.

Desired Settlement
I want the tires they owe me

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** COMPTROLLE
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@gmail.com
Mr. ****** is correct.
Unfortunately this determination was made without consulting management or even bringing this request to the attention of our managers.
This program was offered for a short time several years ago and our staff may require additional knowledge to properly evaluate qualifications and should always check with management prior to informing our customers of this type of decision.



OFFER:
We would first ask Mr. ****** to accept our sincere apology. Our Service Director ****** call and assure him the tires for his vehicle are in stock and we fully intend to honor this agreement with Mr. ****** at his earliest convenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because of bald tires driving to work was a dangerous act.so I bought new tires the following Sunday could not drive on then another day so I don't know what to do.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** COMPTROLLE

We consider Mr. ****** a valued customer and would offer him $****** as an in store credit which can be used for any future service work on this vehicle in our shop.

This offer ****** fulfill our obligation by providing the equal amount of assistance in shop credit as our obligation of replacing the tires on his vehicle one time.

It is our hope to regain Mr. ******'s trust and that he can understand this was an unintentional error. We only ask for the privilege of continuing to enjoy the same business relationship we have shared in the future.

OFFER:
$****** in store credit for future service work on this vehicle.

12/27/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took car to get serviced for a computer issue and the technicians burnt out clutch while driving it.
Originally taken care to my mechanic in Lowell Indiana on August 3, 2014. I was having an issue with the engine misfiring. My mechanic told me it seemed as though the issue was a computer related issue that needed to be serviced at the dealer. My car was towed to the dealer on Wednesday August 6, 2014. After "diagnosing" the engine issue for 2 days, which included driving the car around to test for other problems, the dealer concluded that the car needed a new PCM and EGR valve. At no time during this conversation was the quality or remaining life of the clutch brought up. After ordering the PCM to be replaced I was told the car was running great and ready to be picked up on Friday August 15, 2014. At this time I was headed out of town and asked if I could pick the car up on Monday the 18th of August and I was told that would be fine. I went to pick the car up on Monday and after paying my bill I went to start the car and it was still misfiring as if no work had been performed on the car at all. I spoke to a mechanic who said that it was running fine on Friday because he had driven it around and experienced no issues. He asked if he could check out the car for a few hours longer to diagnose why there was still an issue. After 3 hours the service manager called me back stating they rewired the harness on the part replaced and that it was running and driving fine but that he wanted to keep it overnight to test it again during the morning from a cold start. I contacted the deal on the morning of August 19th, 2014 and he said they were just about to take it out to test it again. 20 minutes later I received a phone call stating that the engine is running fine however the MECHANIC burnt out the clutch and that it would cost ***** dollars to fix! At no point throughout the week and a half they had the car, all the testing, diagnosing, and driving did they state any issue at all with the clutch. The mileage that I dropped my car off at compared to the mileage it is at now proves they had driven it plenty to be able to tell if I clutch was so worn that it would become un-driveable within days. These are certified Mazda mechanics and they say they didn't notice a worn clutch until the moment it happened!? This is not a valid response and facts of this case are clear. They had the car, test drive it to diagnose all issues and did not once mention anything about the clutch and then suddenly on August 19th, 2014 the clutch is worn beyond repair. This is not a believable story.

Desired Settlement
I am completely willing to pay for the parts of this repair but I want to be reimbursed for the labor to have this clutch installed myself. I do not want these mechanics to touch this car. I will get my own parts and have my own mechanic install it and I am asking the dealership to pay for that labor.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* COMPTROLLE
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
Mr. ***** took this vehicle to Trace Automotive in Lowell for repairs. Trace Automotive sublet the vehicle to our shop with a complaint of the engine running rough and they towed the vehicle to our location on August 6th.
Mr. ***** came into our shop on August 18th to pick up his vehicle. As he stated it was not running properly. We acknowledged the issue, apologized and asked permission to keep the vehicle one more day to ensure proper repairs.
Our technician found a loose connection and corrected the issue, then during the final test drive less than one mile from our shop the technician called stating he was stranded and the vehicle would not move. We had the vehicle towed back to our shop.
We called Mr. ***** and explained that we had corrected the engine repair and unfortunately with close to 106,000 miles the worn clutch gave out and needs to be replaced stating our estimate of ********* Mr. ***** stated he had a clutch in his possession and refused the clutch repair. He then had his vehicle towed from our shop, we assume back to Trace Automotive.
We put a total of 11 miles on the vehicle showing mileage in of 105,814 and mileage out after repairs of 105,825. We require all employees use the same test drive track of just under 5 miles. We had test driven this vehicle both before and after our repairs and began the final test drive when the clutch became an issue.
We did nothing to cause the clutch to fail and therefore would not be willing to reimburse the expense of the clutch repair.

OFFER:
NONE

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I reject this as an appropriate response considering the supplemental information I have provided. This Mazda Full Service report card, filled out on August 15th clearly indicates clutch operation as GOOD. It would be one thing if the clutch was marked as marginal or that it could need service soon. On August 15th the clutch was in GOOD condition (as reported by the DEALER) and on Aug. 19th it was found to be damaged to the point where it was not drive-able. This isn't a matter of a worn item eventually giving out, this is a matter of improper treatment of my car on a test drive resulting in catastrophic failure.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* COMPTROLLE

The vehicle report card form the customer mentioned is completed during the general inspection of a vehicle, therefore since no fluid leaks were detected from that area and the scope of our engine repair did not require dismantling the clutch area of the vehicle, it was assumed to be in good working condition "sight unseen". In fact the clutch was not diagnosed until the vehicle wouldn't move after stopping at a stop sign a short distance from our shop during that final test drive.
Since this vehicle was towed to our shop from Trace Automotive stating only the engine running rough complaint, and we are now aware Trace's shop preformed the clutch repair apparently with a clutch Mr. ***** already possessed, they must have also been aware of a clutch issue prior to sending us the vehicle and neglected to disclose that fact We speculate the reason for this may be the dollar amount for an engine repair needed to be established in order for them to determine if the expense for the clutch would be practical in light of Mr. *****'s statement to our writer that he "already had a clutch" when we called to inform him the clutch had failed. At that point we assumed Mr. ***** was previously aware of a clutch issue and had already made arrangements to replace the clutch. We did not anticipate he would expect us to cover that expense.
Please keep in mind we did not sell this vehicle, nor do we have any knowledge how it has been previously handled or if any regular maintenance has been preformed during it's 105,800+ mile life since this vehicle had never been in our shop prior to this engine repair.
We recently called Trace Automotive requesting photos of the old clutch to help determine the cause of the failure, but have not heard back from their shop.
We can however assure Mr. ***** that this clutch did not fail due to any mistreatment of this vehicle while it was in our possession. We believe if there had not been a connection problem with our newly installed part, Mr ***** instead of our technician would have been driving the vehicle when the clutch failed.
Given these facts, we maintain our position that we did not cause the clutch to fail and we would not be willing to participate in reimbursement of this expense.

OFFER:
NONE

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2002Business started: 01/01/1948Business started locally: 01/01/1991New Owner Date: 05/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State
201 Statehouse
Indianapolis, IN46204
(317) 232-6576

BBB records show a license number of 1300121 for this company, issued by Secretary of State. Dealer Service Division -Art Hill Lincoln Mercury.

BBB records show a license number of 1300120 for this company, issued by Secretary of State. Dealer Service Division- Art HIll Mazda.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1948, IN

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda Grisafi (Comptroller)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William (Bill) Fairchild (Owner)Mr. Pete Blagojevic (General Manager)Mr. Tim Schafer (Service Director)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This firm is a franchised new car dealer holding Ford, Lincoln Mercury, and Mazda franchises. This company also offers used vehicles, service, parts, and body repair.

Alternate Business Names
Art Hill Ford, Art Hill Lincoln Mercury, Art Hill Mazda, Art Hill Auto Group
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Art Hill, Inc.

901-1019 W. Lincoln Highway

Merrillville, IN 46410

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 901-1019 W. Lincoln Highway 

    Merrillville, IN 46410(219) 738-5300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Art Hill, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.