BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1981

Stucky Brothers, Inc.

Phone: (260) 482-8402Fax: (260) 482-8408

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Stucky's damaged our "old" appliances that we wanted to resell. They said they would repair the damage, but have avoided us to this point.
We purchased new appliances for our kitchen and they were delivered on June 25th. The old appliances were to placed in our garage until we could sell them.

The refrigerator, that was like new, was badly scratched during the move- though the movers failed to notify us.

We contacted Stucky's the next day and they said they would send someone out to fix the damage. one week later, no return call. Two weeks later, no return call, so I called them. I was told the delivery manager would be out last Tuesday or Thursday and that he would call first.

They did not. I now have a damaged refrigerator that an interested buyer was willing to pay $*** for- and now is not interested due to the damage.

Desired Settlement
I want the damage fixed to my satisfaction or they can purchase the damaged unit from me for $***.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******************
Contact Phone: President
Contact Email: *************@stuckybrothers.com
We are still IN communication with the customer and waiting for a reply to our repair of the scratched refrigerator. Since the first call from the customer on June 26 we have talked with the customer 6 times and attempted to reach them two more times. The refrigerator in question is 13 years old. The average life of this unit is 15.5 years. The selling price of a NEW comparable model is ***** The actual depreciated value today of this 13 year old model is only ***** We expect to resolve the issue with the customer as soon as they respond. thank You

OFFER:

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had them service my oven they said needed parts to fixed problem charged me and oven still not working right same problem.
My oven was not working right, it would heat up to temp I set it on 350 would heat up then 30 to 45 minutes later would not heat no more and cold off. My oven is only four years old in very good shape. Whirlpool Stainless steel Range Model ********** Serial # RYXXXXXX. He ensure me that this was part needed for my oven. Part WXXXXXXXXX ERC amount ******** And part WXXXXXXXX Temp Probe plus ***** service fee and ***** sales tax and ****** service call. My warranty paid all but ***** fee and ****** I paid with check *******

Desired Settlement
I want my money back of ****** because these repairs did not fixed my oven right after he left my resident oven was still not working right,same problem the parts he put on my range wasn't the problem same problem. I called back to Stucky Brothers since there he been back same tech three times look inside oven take parts off and on and leaves. He has not replace any other parts on my oven since on 06/14/2014. I didn't get my oven fix place every time he comes back someone has to be here infers with my employment and other affairs. I want my oven repair and working proper to cook in. Now my oven doesn't turn on have to push button and it will click four louad click and smell like gas. I did this ten times yesterday same thing oven would not start. Tech today had same problem then his third try started up but it stay on for 20 minutes then start cooling off and stop.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***********, pres
Contact Phone: XXX XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: *************@stuckybros.com
Dear *****,
Although according to factory tech services, we have followed the correct procedure and sequence in attempting to repair the product, the job needs an additional part to be complete.
We have the part now and are ready to complete the repair. The customer will not be charged for the additional part or labor necessary.
Plus upon completion we will return the customers check per her request.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On July 08,2014 they stated in their reply to my complaint that they have the part and they will finish they repair I called since then and they as of today 07/15/2014 said by ***** in service they don't have part yet. I been waiting since 06/26/2014 for my oven to completely be repair. They replace parts in June said this would fix problem which no it didn't fix the problem. They told me they couldn't figure it out so they called ********* to get their input on this matter. ********* told them what they thought part what needs replace been waiting for Stucky Brother since 06/26/2014 for this extra part,which the first two parts were not the problem and ********* told them by their words what part did need replace yes they said they were not going to cash my check I wrote but my warranty paid over *** on the parts they already installed. I had to paid the rest difference that where my personal check came in. Plus this was a on going problem with my oven in the last couple months I had Stuckys Bothers out for the same problem since April so was a on going problem and they keep charging my warrenty on stove for service everytime they came out but they oven never was fixed. I called today again ***** said check in tomorrow morning we should have part they been telling me this for weeks. I have to call them to get any information on this matter they never call me. I have recording on my voicemail from June 26,2014 tech stated in voicemail we contacted ********* because we couldn't figure it out and told us what part we need we order part from Chicago should be in, in a couple days. I call every other day just like today I called ***** in service put me on hold got back on phone said part not in yet, told me call back tomorrow in morning see if we have part. Today is July 15,2014 part is still not in so their reply back is false as of July 8 they do not have part and have not repair my oven.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********** Pres.

Regarding the customers response of 8/2/14...We requested that ****** send out another servicer to solve the issue with the 5 year old ********* range in question.
As far as "cheating" or "fraud" NEITHER ******, who hired us, NOR ********** who's tech service advice we specifically followed, believe that we "cheated" or were in any way fraudulent.
All in all we made 7 calls in the attempted repair of which only 2 were billed to ******. Further in our conversations with ****** we agreed to charge their MINIMUM labor rate plus all parts used at cost. This, ****** considers fair, reasonable and appropriate,
....we are sorry for the inconvenience caused, but we did minimize it by always hitting our 2 hour window and by coming out as the last call of the day on every occasion. By absorbing the costs of our unnecessary attempts to repair the product, and by our absolute compliance and agreement of the warranty company, we are confused as to what else is reasonable and fair ? thank you

OFFER:


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had a another company come look and they fix my oven with one visited out.The replace the ignitor oven part a ***** part oven working fine now. What Stuckey Brothers since March 2014 when they first started coming out for the same problem they never fixed the problem had to take time off work from every visited plus there visited not record because they tech they had service my oven lived by me so he would come everyday be in the kitchen just staring in the oven then leave. You would think Stuckey Brothers would of sent another tech out if this tech couldn't fix the problem. Who recovering my pay for having to be here when service tech came? They never gave you a time they gave you a time frame like between 12 and 5pm etc. Stuckey Brothers is not associated with ********* products like he stated. They have not be in business service the public with their appliance for that long. They have charged my warranty company over ***** on my oven and I feel they fraud my warranty company and myself and other public out there of their money. For what they couldn't do and have charged over ***** another service company fix the problem with one service call and part was under *** buck which was oven ignitor which makes sense. The parts they replace wasn't even bad this was told to myself and husband from other service company I had come service my stove tech told me to hold on to these parts what was taken out of stove they are still good. My warranty oompany was cheated and so was myself out of money. I made this complaint for other people out there to be aware of Stuckey Brothers.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.