BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/11/1997

Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc.

Phone: (260) 478-1687Fax: (260) 478-16883113 Lower Huntington Road, Fort WayneIN 46809-2646 Send email to Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/11/1997

BBB has determined that Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company didn't have the resources to repair my tv and don't want to return my $50.00 deposit.
On July 9th I called Sandpoint. I ask them how many days it would be before I would get my tv back. He said 2 days. He asked for the make and model number . I gave it to him . Then I told him what was wrong with the tv and the error code it was giving out. He said ok bring it in and it will be a $50 deposit. I said ok and took the TV up to Sandpoint. I told him about the tv again and paid $50 cash. Two days later I called and he said they haven't started on it yet. He said it like I was wrong for calling when it was supposed to ready. The next day I received a call from him he said he couldn't get the part I needed. Then he said he found the part online but it was in Canada and he didn't want to order from them. Then he said I could pick up the TV or they would dispose of it. I told him I would come and pick it up. Three days later I came to pick it up and they couldn't find it. They where running all around trying to find it. They finally found it but it made me forget about by deposit. When I got home I called them about it and he said the $50 was opening it up. I explained to him that he was the one who refused to fix the TV for whatever reason. Plus the $50 was to go towards the repair. The only way you can keep my deposit is if I refuse to get the TV fixed which I did not. Them being able to source parts is apart of the job if they don't want to order parts from another country for a TV that comes from another country that's their choice just return my money and I can go elsewhere with my business. I also told them what was wrong an expericed repair guy would know what's wrong before opening it and could check for parts. I had know idea that they didn't have parts on hand for such a common TV. Anyone can open a shop and take a deposit then tell the customer they can't fix and keep the deposit when you knew you weren't capable of fixing the item. This is FRAUD. I you are a reputable business when you take someone's deposit you assume a lot of responsibilities mainly having the ability to complete the job.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of my $50.

I am also seeking a change in operation and a written policy.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Randall ***** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@sandpointtv.com
When someone calls to inquire about a TV repair, we ask what brand it is and explain that on a flat screen there is a $50 estimate fee that is paid in advance(and is not refundable) and applies to the repair if it is repaired.This is also posted in the shop. We do not take model numbers until the TV is in the shop. We also explain that it usually takes just a few days for an estimate UNLESS we have to order parts. When a TV is brought in on a Thursday,you must take into consideration that the Technician does not work on Saturday or Sunday.The Technician D has worked here for 40 years. This particular TV is not common. D had trouble looking up parts for it because there were so few made that the part suppliers did not have this model listed. That explains why noone had the part available (backlight invertor board) The only one that D could find anywhere was a used one on EBay from a seller in Canada. D explained that we do not buy used parts, but if customer wanted to take a chance on it and buy it himself, D would install it. When D found that the part was no longer available, he spent over 2 hours trying to repair the board to no avail, that is why we charged the $50 for his time.

OFFER:


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all you never said anything about the money being non refundable. I also have my contract receipt paper and it says it's a deposit and say nothing about it being non refundable. I knew that it needed parts I figured it would cover a portion of the parts. Then when they did get the tv you knew the model number and should have known to check for parts availability if you thought it was rare. No one would pay a company for an estimate that's nonrefundable especially if the company is incompetent and can't source parts.So how can you give an estimate on something you can't repair? You Can't! Next you wrote that you didn't want to use a used part but you were working on it for two hours trying to rig up my tv without my permission.This just yet another example of why I can tell you have been cheating people for years. And if the money I gave you was for an estimate why are you trying to rig my tv for 2hrs and I have not received any kind of estimate not verbal or written. Once again they are not telling the truth. I would strongly suggest you return my money and and put what ever fraud you want to try to full
in writing. FYI the small claims court has moved to 1 West Superior St.last week.




05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought new refrigerator which has not worked properly from the beginning. After 5 house visits still do not have my refrigerator.
We purchased a new Whirlpool refrigerator from Sandpoint TV & Appliance and put it into service in December 2012. It has not worked properly since we purchased it. They have been to our house 5 times attempting to repair it. The last time which was on April 20th they took the refrigerator back to the shop. We did not hear anything from them until we finally called them on May 2nd at which time we were told they had to order a part for it. We are still without our refrigerator. Furthermore on one of their visits to attempt a repair, they tore my brand new kitchen floor. I understand they have contacted their insurance regarding it but the inconvenience to us has reached it's limit.

Desired Settlement
I bought a brand new refrigerator and that's what I want.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** Doty
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@SandpointTV.com
5/8/13 Per my conversation with her last week, I told her that the factory backordered part should be in shortly. It did come in and the unit is completed and ready to be returned. All parts used in this repair were all new "Factory Certified Parts" per the manufacturers warranty. I tried several distributors to get the part faster, but it was on factory backorder. I am sorry the part took a longer than normal time to come in. The soft vinyl floor, accidentally damaged during the repair will be repaired through our insurance company. We have supplied the customer a loaner to use until the repair was completed.

OFFER:
We will repair the floor (through our ins co), remove our loaner, return their unit to them per factory warranty, and give them an extended 10yr major part warranty on the compressor.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/22/1978Business started: 09/01/1974
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1996, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall E Doty (President)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers TV and appliance sales and service.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and pledges to uphold BBB standards for online commerce and marketing activities.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc.

3113 Lower Huntington Road

Fort Wayne, IN 46809-2646

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3113 Lower Huntington Road 

    Fort Wayne, IN 46809-2646(260) 478-1687
    Fax: (260) 478-1688

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sandpoint TV and Appliance Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.