BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grant's Appliances, Electronics & More

Phone: (219) 650-3680Fax: (219) 650-36901107 W. Lincoln Hwy., MerrillvilleIN 46410-5324http://www.grantsappliance.comView Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Grant's Appliances, Electronics & More is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grant's Appliances, Electronics & More

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/09/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order cancelled 7/25/12 and with 30 day refund policy I am still waiting for my $*** deposit minus delivery and haul-away charges totaling $*****.
I purchased Maytag washer (MVWX500XW) & dryer (MEDX500XW) on 7/13. Items in stock with delivery promised on 7/26. Order cancelled when notified on 7/25 that dryer was not in stock. Sales associate, ************. Order #XXXXXXXXX prepaid with Mastercard $******** (net of $******** less $******) & personal check for $*** dtd 7/13. Follow-up on 9/4 with store personnel lacked customer svc skills, a prompt response and implied blame on Ms. ************* (external 3rd party bookkeeper?). Allegedly, a check would be mailed in 2 wks for $****** which nobody could or would reconcile for me. I am of the opinion that the store is deducting sales tax on the delivery charge; however, IC 6-2.5-1-5 would allow sales tax on delivery IF tangible personal property was sold . . . but, it was not . . . the order was cancelled. Even with a 7% sales tax on the delivery charge of $***** net refund makes no sense.

Desired Settlement
A check in the amount of $****** which is the initial deposit of $*** less $19.95 delivery (without sales tax) and $** haul-away charges for the old washer and dryer. I would like the check promptly given they are already delinquent on their POSTED 30-day refund policy.

Business' Initial Response
Check was mailed out on 9-10-12 for the amount $****** chk#******. The amount was based on $****** deposit less ******* for delivery and haulaway and tax. $********* was a rebate.

if you have any further questions we can be reached at ******X-XXX-XXXX

Thank you,
Grants Appliance

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, you neglected to say WHEN I will receive the $****** check that is being "processed". With all due respect, I will remind you that ****** days lapsed before I received your first check for $****** (which was incorrect) under your "posted" refund policy of 30 days.

While your response of October 22nd is generally acceptable to me, I cannot deposit "words" in my bank account. I trust you will provide a prompt answer to my question so that this matter can be put to bed.



Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: *****

We have processed a refund for the $****** the refund ****** paid via check. reference # ******XXXXX.
We do apologize for any and all inconveniences. We have addressed this matter with the entire company, only to improve and prevent repetition in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant's Appliance

OFFER:

10/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Appliances ordered and not delivered/installed as promised and paid for. 2 missed work days based on promised shipments. No return calls
6/27/2012 bought 3 appliances (over $*******), with delivery and installation. One appliance was delivered (frig) the microwave was delivered but not installed, the stove (LG 30" gas stove with double oven - stainless--- matches other two purchased appliances) was damaged in carton and not delivered. Each week I am promised a delivery since 6/27/2012. It is now September. I have had 2 days I took off on two Sat to be here for delivery, one with no call until I called them, one that I received call on Friday after schedule was set for Sat. I did not get the credit for the microwave installation that didn't happen as requested. I do not get return phone calls. I have to call each week to find out it is delayed again. I do not get requested calls back. I do not get any options or assistance. I have no stove and have to cook on the barbeque in the rain for 8 weeks. The same stove is still available for sale in their showroom. I would like to be reimbursed for the installation charge for microwave and my stove delivered even if they have to get from another source. It is available at other chains according to web.
It is concerning to me that the display is still on their floor available for sale. My concern is they will do this to another shopper who purchases in good faith when they know they have problems getting the appliance.

Desired Settlement
I want my installment fee for microwave refunded. I want my stove delivered and installed at no additional delay or cost to me. If this means getting from another source, I would need to be reimbursed the difference in price for stove, delivery and installation. A manager/owner to call and communicate the resolution.

Business' Initial Response
The consumer spoke with Jenna and resolved the problem with the stove. Unit was delivered and the refund of the installation was done on 09.25.12.
If you have any further questions we can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX
Grants Appliance

08/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased and paid for a dishwasher 1o/4/2014 to deliver on 10/10. No delivery, all phone #'s are full or don't answer. Check cashed day of purchase.
We purchased and paid for a GE dishwasher model #D XXXXXXXXXXX including payment for installation and haul away of old appliance. Check was cashed day of purchase 10/4/14 Delivery date was set for 10/10/2014 No delivery was made nor did they contact us. We are unable to contact any of the companies stores and website is down. The phone message stated they were doing inventory. Now
10/15 it states message box full. We have made 3 trips to the store and the dimmed lights are on but no one is there. I have atleast 6 different Grant's stores phone numbers and none answer. I asked someone from Schaumburg, Il where the original store was and he indicated they were out of business. The bank gave me a copy of my cashed check and it says Bassgar Inc. on the back. I see on the internet they own other companies but this one is still listed. Can you help?

Desired Settlement
We would like the dishwasher delivered as planned or refund of our monies.
Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/28/2002Business started: 01/01/1926Business started locally: 06/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1996, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Toso (Store Manager, Merrillville)Customer Contact: Mr. George Olsen (Owner/President)Ms. Nicole SchmidtTimmer (Office Mgr.)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Products & Services

This business offers Major Appliances for retail sale.

Alternate Business Names
Bassgar - Illinois, Inc
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1107 W. Lincoln Hwy. 

    Merrillville, IN 46410-5324(219) 650-3680

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Indiana. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grant's Appliances, Electronics & More is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/grantsappliance
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in September 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.