BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Redstone Inn?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Redstone Inn

Phone: (970) 963-2526 Fax: (970) 963-2527 82 Redstone Blvd, Redstone, CO 81623 http://www.redstoneinn.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Redstone Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Redstone Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Redstone Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 28, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated: 01/01/1988 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sara Lewis, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sara Lewis, General Manager
Business Category

Resorts Wedding Consultants Party Planners Event Planners Vacation Rental Companies Hunting & Fishing Services Caterers Restaurants Bed And Breakfasts Condos Conference Centers Hotels Motels


Additional Locations

  • 82 Redstone Blvd

    Redstone, CO 81623 (970) 963-2526

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 29 August 2013 at 5PM we had dinner at the Redstone Inn in Redstone, Colorado. At about 7PM that evening we started having food poisoning symptoms which became extreme and severe through the night into the next days. These symptoms continued till about 01 September 2013. ****** *********** eventually went to Dr. ***** office on 05 September 2013. The Symptoms subsided and eventually went away sometime around 09 September 2013.The merchant response, General Manager **** *****, was generally as follows; you can't prove it, a minimum of four reports of illness must be brought to our attention before it is our problem and nobody else got sick, wait three days-we'll get back to you. We did ask for a refund when we informed the front desk on 30 August 2013 of our illness. The front desk response was, we'll get back to you. At NO time did anyone from the Redstone Inn say or ask; Are you okay? How can we help you? I'm sorry you got sick. There was no concern for our well being.

Desired Settlement: Admission of their poor kitchen conditions and their responsibility for our food poisoning. Cost coverage for physician and medication expenses. Improvement in their customer service. The Redstone Inn's BBB rating down graded.

Business Response: To whom It may concern 

This is a response to complaint ID *******. 

Upon arriving to work Friday August 30" I had a message from the customer stating they had eaten in our dining room the night before and both had very bad food poisoning. I called the customer later that day and wasn't able to get a hold of them so I left a message. I had already met with my chef and checked temperatures/delivery dates/date food was prepared for the items that they had eaten. Everything had been delivered In the most recent delivery and prepared the morning that they had dinner with us. I felt it was important to check with my chef before contacting them. 

The Redstone Inn takes every precaution to maintain a safe and dean environment. We have had no prior violations from our health inspector who had been at our location earlier that month. 

In my message I stated that we had checked on the items they had eaten and that we didn't find anything wrong as far as the temperature the 
meat was held at and freshness. I let her know that in many cases food poisoning isn't from the most recent item you have eaten, so I suggested they should at least check into what else they had eaten that day and prior days. I apologized for their illness and told them I would be In contact after the holiday weekend. 

Upon talking with her she stated that she hadn't had anything else to eat (I guess in days) and that her doctor had told her that there was no doubt that it did come from the Redstone Inn. I have never had a doctor be able to pinpoint exactly where a food borne illness came from before so I was quite taken back by this statement. Before I was able to offer to take care of their dinner bill she demanded to know what 1 was going to do for them. I then stated we would be happy to pay for their dinner. She was very irate and kept talking over me not giving me the opportunity to speak. The conversation ended with her hanging up on me. 

I then called our corporate office and gave her contact Information to my supervisor, since she was too upset to talk with me. I called her back to tell her our corporate office would be calling her to follow up. She then started yelling, not allowing for a conversation to occur and once again hung upon me. 

They both had our calamari and prime rib. Based on our sales report we sold 12 calamari and 23 prime ribs on that evening. We did not receive any other complaints. 

We of course feel terrible and do not want any customer correlating being sick or poor kitchen conditions to the Redstone Inn. We are still happy to reimburse their dinner. 


Thanks 
**** ***** 
General Manager 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

This woman has not told the truth, I can't beleive what she's written!  She is obviousily trying to cover up what happened and what she said to us.  She never offered to do anything she said she did.  We live several hours from the Inn...she did leave a message on our phone but we were driving home when she called and weren't there to receive the call. In the message that **** left she stated that unless 4 or more people got sick at the same time that we got sick that she, on behalf of the Redstone Inn, would not be responsible for anything.  We asked more than once for the Inn to at least refund the money we spent for dinner that night but they refused to do that stating our illness wasn't their problem.  At no time did I tell her that we hadn't eaten for several days!  We drove to the Inn the afternoon that we ate dinner there and we did not eat anything anywhere else prior to eating dinner there...we wanted to have a good appitite for dinner.  I never told her that our doctor said it was deffinately the meat we ate, rather I told her that our doctor said it was most likely the calimari we ate that made us sick.  The people at the Inn made no effort to say anything to us except that they felt no responsibility for our illness....when we asked to talk to the manager we were told she was unavailable and that she would be in touch when she was available.  We never hung up on anyone---not ever!  I was fairly upset when **** failed to return my calls and I probably was not as happy as I might have been had she offered even the slightest bit of help resolving that horrible evening!  Her written response to you is the only information I have seen from anyone at the Redstone Inn regarding our food poisoining and quite frankly **** is not telling the truth...not even close to the truth and quite frankly she should not hold the position that she has.  If I ran my business the way she has run the business at the Inn I wouldn't be in business for very long.  She should have handled this problem a lot differently.  If she had shown the tinyest bit of consern for what happened to us we wouldn't be sending this to the BBB now!  It didn't have to be like this.  

If The Redstone Inn wants to do the "right" thing then they should have no problem returning the money we've spent.    

I'm writing this to you from the hospital.  I'm having surgery tomorrow and will be unavailable for further comment untill the 1st of November if all goes well.

Respectfully,

***** & ****** ******

Business Response: I am sending a check to reimburse for the dinner you had at the Redstone Inn. Thanks.
**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1