BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mountain Moving?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mountain Moving

Phone: (970) 454-3362 Fax: (970) 454-5684 36207 Appy Rd, Eaton, CO 80615 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mountainmovingllc.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountain Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mountain Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mountain Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Smith, Co-Owner Ms. Krista Smith, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Smith, Co-Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Krista Smith, Co-Owner
Business Category

Movers Office Movers Relocation Companies


Additional Locations

  • 36207 Appy Rd

    Eaton, CO 80615 (970) 454-3362

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company handled move unprofessionally. Feel like we were charged too much for what we received. They promised not to charge full amount but did. They damaged our staircase and knocked pictures off the staircase wall breaking noe frame. They were 45 minutes late to begin the move on 10/4/12 and one of their movers left after only 1.5 hours of work. This left one mover and he spent much time on the phone trying to get more movers. This caused them to not complete the move on 10/4/12(which they promised) and they had to come back the next for completion. This was a company error which we should not have to pay for! They quoted $400 for 2 men and 4 hours but charged $705 and 8 hours. We feel that $550 was closer to the amount for the manpower glitches and time actually worked. Now they have our money; we tried to negotiate these facts but naturally they denied everything. Please help us to reason with these people! Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: We would consider it fair if they refunded $150 for their unprofessional errors.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/23) */ When ****** booked this job, he told Mountain Moving that his college daughter was moving out of his home into her own home and it would be the equivalent of a college girl's apartment. He was subsequently quoted around $400 for 2 movers and the truck for about 4 hours. This is a phone estimate that is based on verbal information provided by the customer, it is not guaranteed nor is it binding. Our business day starts off in the morning and not in the afternoon, so our afternoon customers are told that it is an estimated arrival time based on how our first job of the day goes. ******'s assertion to me was that as professional movers we should have immediately assessed that he had not been upfront, and immediately called in more movers, at which point he would have complained about this as well. One, we would have had to use the phone, and secondly ****** only wanted two movers. ****** asserted when he booked this job, that it was the equivalent of a college girl's apartment with no furniture, as she was having new furniture delivered to her new home. What ****** fails to mention is that the college girl is the divorced mother of two elementary school age children and they are all living in his basement with all their belongings, including furniture, treadmill, Bow-flex, and the brand new furniture that had been delivered to ******'s home instead of her new home. (****** did tell our office that she had no furniture as it she was buying new and it would be delivered to her home.) He also never indicated that this was coming out of a basement and going to fill a three bedroom home. In fact our trucks will hold an average 3 bedroom home, but she filled the truck and had overflow, and we were required to make a second trip. After our first job running long, and ****** lying to us about his job, our staff member became frustrated and walked off the job after two hours. At this time we apprised ****** of the situation, and tried to call some of our workers back in, late in the afternoon. We weren't aware ****** would be complaining about our using the phone and our efforts later. During the hour that the one staff member was working alone we lowered our hourly charge from $90 to $30 for that hour. We were able to get two other staff to come in and finish the job. We loaded the first truck and went to the unload which was a thirty minute drive away. We unloaded the first truck and again apprised ****** that we could finish that night or come back the next day. As it was already 7:45 pm, ****** and family agreed to have us come back the next day. He didn't say don't come back we'll take care of the rest. He didn't say for free? He asked if we could come back and finish it for him the next day. The remaining move, the next day, only took about an hour and a half. We have a two hour minimum on all our jobs and a thirty dollar fuel charge. We only charged ****** the hour and a half it took and dropped the fuel charge. Had we finished the night before we would have had an additional thirty minute drive back from the college girls home. It is easily understood by contacting us that our service is charged for on an hourly basis. ****** was informed of this and is well aware of our charges. After moving and taking care of his daughter and grandchildren and all of their belongings in trash bags, ******** bags, and used liquor boxes. His wife **** felt that our work was so unprofessional and so egregious she was thanking each of the staff individually, saying "I don't know how you do this every day" and handing out 20 dollars tips. ******'s demand for $150.00 is no less than extortion as neither he nor his wife were the ones to pay the bill; the daughter did from her own checking account. After five conversations with ****** there was never even a hint of damage until he was told he didn't have any damage. (Although we are aware that a picture fell off a wall but ****** inspected it at the time it happened and said there was no damage.) In his fourth phone call to our office he said he should not have had to pay for the second trip. This second trip was required due to the fact that there were so many goods that it overflowed the truck, not due to any negligence on our part. On the fifth phone call he acknowledged that the truck was full and did require a second trip but that he should not have to pay for it. And after initially telling us he is not a mover and was clearly not able to assess his situation and we should have called more people in immediately, it turns out now he is a professional mover and he feels this move should have been $150.00 less and if we refuse to pay him, he will file a complaint with the BBB. Some customers have the idea that just because the company they are dealing with is a member of the BBB they can extort or blackmail the business Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I stated the move was the equivalent of a 2 bedroom apartment, not a college girls apartment. I can't help it if they don't understand English. No questions were asked about articles being in the basement. Why would that make a difference? Is that all they move is stuff not in a basement? Go figure. Yes, they should have told me about the extra expense up front so I would have a refusal option. No, they just go ahead and keep me in the dark and overcharge me at the job completion. If they were upfront, I would have refused to hire them and went with another more professional mover. I did not tell their rude receptionist that my daughter did not have furniture. I told them that it was the equivalent of a 2 bedroom apartment. The 2 bedroom apartments they move must not have any furniture. How unprofessional! They overflowed their truck probably because they did an unprofessional job of packing it! I resent that they accused me of lying about the job. I'm not a mover; how do I know what to tell them. This is typical of how they treat a customer. ****** told my wife that he would give us a price break because of how badly the move was handled. I question his integrity. I don't feel that we received a break. Typical. You people even gripe when you get $20 tips from a goodhearted customer and then proceed to overcharge us. I really resent that you accuse me of extortion!!! I am just suggesting what I consider fair, considering your poor handling of the situation. My daughter paid $350 of the bill. I gave her $350 to make up for my poor judgement in hiring these so called movers. The picture frame was broiken. My wife pointed this out to me as well as numerous nicks and scratches to our woodwork. I highly resent your use of extortion and blackmail in your response and I think you owe me an apology. The BBB exists to protect customers from dubious business such as yourself. Just because we disagree does not give you the right to call me names such as extortionist and blackmailer. This is typical of your unprofessionalism. I would never recommend you to anyone at anytime. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/08) */ This situation boils down to the fact that there was much more to be moved than ****** conveyed to our company. He repeatedly said, my daughter graduated college with her masters and she is moving out of my home into her own. When he was asked how much there was to be moved he stated he didn't know and repeated that it was his college daughter. There was never any mention that she had two children and enough belongings to fill a 3 bedroom home. He was also clear that she was getting all new furniture that would be delivered to her home. It was actually delivered to ******'s home and that is part of what we moved. ****** repeatedly states that he is not a professional mover and that is clear since he is astounded by the fact that it would add time to the job when most of the items being moved are coming out of a basement, but then he also accuses us of not professionally loading the truck. The fact is that a 2 bedroom apartment, which is what ****** feels there was to be moved, should have been about 5000lbs or half of a truck load, what we moved was closer to 12,000lbs, over a truck load. It was made very clear that we are an hourly service in the several phone conversations that ****** had with our office prior to the move. We charge for the time we are on the job and that is what was charged. You don't go out to a restaurant and order a $20 meal and decide that it is more than you wanted to pay and decide $15 would be a fair price for it. In the numerous conversations he has had with us he has never been able to cite a valid basis why we should pay him money, only that he feels it would be fair for us to do so. When the job was done, the guys were told they did a great job and were tipped, then 4-5 days later our office receives the first phone call telling us we should pay him $150 because he did not think the move was worth what we charged his daughter. ****** told us that we needed to pay him $150 OR he would file a complaint with the BBB. That complaint has been filed and is on our record for no other reason that ****** feels it is fair, so we consider the matter closed. Being a member of the BBB does not mean that companies need to give away their goods and services to someone that does not want to pay for them. The BBB is not leverage to extort money from honest companies and we will not be (BBB) brow beaten by this man. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2012/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I already have stated my case. That's all I can do. Whoever reads about my experience, just be careful when dealing with these people.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service