BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Spanjer Construction Corp / Spanjer Homes?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Spanjer Construction Corp / Spanjer Homes

Phone: (970) 223-2664 Fax: (970) 282-8326 View Additional Phone Numbers 5131 S College Ave Unit A, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.spanjer.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Spanjer Homes is a licensed general contracting company that has provided Northern Colorado with quality custom homes, large-scale residential remodels, and pocket development since 1978.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spanjer Construction Corp / Spanjer Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spanjer Construction Corp / Spanjer Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spanjer Construction Corp / Spanjer Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 07/01/1970 Business started locally: 07/01/1970 Business incorporated: 07/01/1978 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Spanjer, President Ms. Barb Spanjer, Sec/Treas
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Barb Spanjer, Sec/Treas
Principal: Mr. Steve Spanjer, President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Improvements Home Addition Builders Remodelers

Service Area
15 mile radius from our office
Alternate Business Names
Spanjer Homes
Products & Services

We offer a full-service approach to custom home building that includes budget management, financial guidance, design consultation, selections coordination, scheduling and management, delivered with a high level of craftsmanship and professionalism.


Additional Locations

  • 5131 S College Ave Unit A

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-2664 (800) 341-2664

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 341-2664(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spanjer Homes constructed a new home on a vacant lot adjacent to our property. During the construction, they raised the elevation of the lot several feet. In late summer they removed the straw wattles and other protective barriers surrounding the property even though landscaping was not completed. During the fall there was significant erosion and several hundred square feet of our landscape was covered in mud. Spanjer did not warn us or the homeowner that there was any risk of damage even though they knew that raising the elevation created the opportunity for problems. When contacted about the issue, Spanjer denied any responsibility even though they were responsible for the construction of the house and the increased elevation - basically creating the opportunity for a problem.

Desired Settlement: I want Spanjer to come in and repair our landscaping or cover the cost of having someone else repair the damage created by their action and lack of communication.

Business Response: Tuesday, June 24, 2014 

Better Business Bureau 
8020 S County Rd 5, Ste 100 
Fort Collins, CO 80528 

To Whom It May Concern, 
In response to the letter of complaint (ID ********), which Spanjer Homes received June 20, 2014, we have provided the following project background, construction timeline and supplemental information to illustrate additional factors involved in the referenced experience. 

We believe that after reviewing it and the attached documentation, you’ll find that our company 
performed due diligence, and maintained compliance with all grading and erosion control guidelines throughout the duration of our involvement in this project: elevation was raised in accordance with City plot plans; straw wattles were placed and removed at the appropriate stages in construction; and landscaping was agreed to be contracted at a later date by the owners of the home. 
While we understand that a change in grade can lead to a change in drainage patterns, we want to 
assure the complainant that Spanjer Homes responsibly performed all construction and mitigation 
duties, and did so precisely to engineering specs and city and subdivision requirements, therefore we do 
not feel it is appropriate to ask for a settlement from us in this matter. We certainly empathize with the 
complainant’s distressing landscape problems, but can confidently say that our work is not their cause. 

project Background: 
The complainant’s neighbors, the owners of **** ***** ******* *****, contracted with 
Spanjer Homes in October of 2012 to build a new custom home on their vacant lot. 
Spanjer Homes did not previously own the lot on which the new home was constructed, or 
the lot on which the drainage issue took place; and we had not done any prior work for the 
owner of the neighboring lot. Our contract with the owners of **** ***** ******* *****, 
which was completed August 2013, did not include any landscape design or landscaping 
work, therefore it was not within our rights or project scope to hire or schedule a landscape 
contractor before vacating the site at the conclusion of construction. Instead, landscaping 
was to take place under the homeowners’ direction at a time of their choosing. 
(As a side note, Spanjer Homes does genuinely wish to collaborate with neighbors of our job sites. During the backfilling phase (early winter 2013), the subcontracted excavator’s equipment slid on the frozen ground and inadvertently severed a sprinkler line belonging to the complainant, and he contacted us to fix it. We accepted full responsibility for 
the incident, sent out a technician at our expense once the ground thawed and had the sprinkler system repaired and tested to the homeowner’s satisfaction.) 

Construction timeline: 
10/5/12 Spanjer Homes signs contract with owners of **** ***** ******* ***** 11/20/12 Spanjer Homes receives HOA approval on home and plot plan 
11/20/12 Spanjer Homes applies for permit 
12/18-20/12  Spanjer Homes installs straw wattles to arrest silt, according to City and HOA requirements. 
Attached picture #1 shows wattles along the lot line to the east, protecting the adjoining 
lot’s landscape. Wattles are inspected and approved by the City of Fort Collins Storm Water 
department 
12/21/12  Spanjer Homes receives approval from the Storm Water department for the top of 
foundation elevation, which is in accordance with the approved overall subdivision grading plan (OK’d by ***** ******, City of Fort Collins, public record) 
1/2-4/13  Spanjer Homes installs temporary orange fence per HOA requirements. Attached picture #2 
shows straw wattles for erosion control along the western lot line. 
1/4/13 Spanjer Homes secures the building permit from the City of Fort Collins 
8/5/13  ********************* **** ****, a Colorado registered professional engineer, surveys 
improvements on the lot and certifies that Spanjer Homes had placed and built the home 
according to the City’s and subdivision’s specifications. 
8/8/13  The City of Fort Collins issues the Certification of Lot Grading (attached form) certifying that 
the elevation and grade were in accordance with the City’s and subdivision’s requirements 
(OK’d by *** ******, City of Fort Collins, public record) 
8/23/13 The City of Fort Collins issues the Certificate of Occupancy 
8/27/13  Spanjer Homes conducts final site clean-up, dumpster and job toilet removal. Spanjer 
Homes leaves the site, having fulfilled our contract. 
Spring ‘14 Landscape contractor (hired by homeowners) commences work 
May ‘14 Spanjer Homes receives drainage complaint via our website, which we address 
by providing the complainant with our City Certification of Lot Grading and other 
documentation from City officials, but are unable to resolve the matter to the complainant’s satisfaction. 

 In conclusion, Spanjer Homes abided by all regulations set forth by the city, subdivision and engineering firm assigned to the project. Our grading and construction work at **** ***** ******* ***** was 
overseen and verified by the appropriate authorities. Our erosion control measures were deemed 
sufficient to prevent silt from leaving our job site, and our personnel and equipment had been approved to clean up and leave the site well before the complainant’s drainage issue occurred. 
If further clarification is needed, please feel free to contact me. 

Best regards, 
Barb Spanjer 
Enclosures (3) 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the issue is not being addressed.

Spanjer Homes has gone to great lengths to point fingers at me, the landscaping company, city engineers, the new homeowners, anyone but themselves.  The fact remains that the actions of Spanjer Homes, whether approved by the city or not, created an environment that resulted in damage to our property.  It's as simple as that but they insist on blaming others.  They created a problem, they need to be held accountable for rectifying the situation.

Regards,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1