BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of 72 Degrees Heating and Air?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

72 Degrees Heating and Air

Phone: (970) 221-5621 Fax: (970) 613-8010 8115 Weld County Road 86, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.specialized72degrees.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This HVAC company provides the sales and service of heating and air conditioning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 72 Degrees Heating and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 72 Degrees Heating and Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 72 Degrees Heating and Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 24, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2006 Business started locally: 03/01/2006 Business incorporated: 10/24/2006 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charlie Aldridge, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie Aldridge, Owner
Business Category

Heating Contractors Plumbers Ventilation Contractors Water Heater Repair Stores Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Water Leak Detection Thermostat Suppliers Air Filter Cleaners Fireplace Equipment Retailers Fireplace Suppliers Stoves - Wood, Coal Water Heater Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Conditioning Equipment Stores Energy Conservation Stores Air Conditioning Repair Companies Air Conditioning Cleaners Duct Cleaning Companies Air Duct Restoration Pump Repairmen Ventilation Cleaners Dryer Vent Cleaning Water Analyzers Air Conditioning Part Suppliers Boiler Dealers Boiler Part Suppliers Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Suppliers Humidifier Suppliers Ventilation Equipment Suppliers Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water Heater Part Suppliers Furnace Sales and Repair Services Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Companies Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Heat Pump Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Specialized 72 Degrees Air Conditioning & Heating Specialized 72 Degrees Heating & Air Specialized LLC
Products & Services

Lennox, Train, Carrier, Bryant, Tempstar, Heil, Comfortmaker, Janitrol, Goodman, Manna, Armstrong, Airez, Rheem, Ruud, American Standard, one hour, York Fridgidaire,Mitsubishi, Fujitsu, Guardian, Honeywell, Totalline, Allen Service, Aprilair, Lochinvar, Bradford White, GE, Robert Shaw, American, Maytag, Whirlpool

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • 8115 Weld County Road 86

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulently "red-tagged" furnace as cracked. Vandalized entire furnace, shifty business practices. I purchased a ****** ****** for an "HVAC Tune-up" from Specialized/72 Degrees for $40. We had been having issues with our water heater staying lit and I figured it wouldn't hurt to have everything else cleaned and checked as well. I had used this company in 2009 to install our air conditioner, so I trusted them. ******* (I don't know his last name) came to provide the service on Tuesday, June 25, 2013. After checking the furnace, he came upstairs with the "we have a problem" line, whipped out his book with pictures of good and bad furnaces in it and showed me a picture on his iPhone of, what was supposed to be, my cracked furnace. He tried to scare me with stories of Carbon Monoxide leaks and poisoning (By the way, I have two cats that are locked in the basement 16-18 hours a day, if I had a Carbon Monoxide leak, they would be dead). He told me he had to "disable" the unit according to the AGA(American Gas Association). He kept throwing out lines about the AGA, to give his actions and words more weight. I asked him if he could turn it back on so that we could use our air conditioner at least as there were nearly 100 degree days coming up and we'd replace it by the fall. He said "Oh, no, by law I can't do that." At that point, I knew I was being scammed. I called my husband and he came straight home to speak with ******* with the intention of getting him out of our house as quickly as possible. ******* left after giving us a rundown of several NEW furnace choices from $2800-$4300, with the assurance that they could come as soon as tonight( I bet). It was then that my husband discovered what ******* had done to our furnace. We had been vandalized! He left it in pieces on our basement floor! We discovered that he had cut ALL of the wires, pulled out fuses and hid them behind panels, where I'm assuming he thought we'd never find them. I was at work and my husband texted me a picture of the cut wires with the "disabled" furnace blower lying on the floor in the background. My husband tried to call him twice to ask some questions and was promptly hung up on. The next day my husband(who is in construction) spoke to the head Contractor and HVAC company on the project they were working on and they all said that it sounded very shady and unprofessional. The next day (Thursday, June 27th, 2013), we had the other HVAC company come out to reassemble and inspect the unit. They said it was in perfect condition! They reassembled the unit for us for $89. During the repair, the new company discovered that the AC wasn't working very well - ironically the same air conditioning unit installed by Specialized/72 Degrees only four years ago. It never did work very well, but we thought it was because we could only afford the basic model when we bought it. We scheduled the new company to come out the following week to fix the air conditioner. They discovered that it has been overcharged with coolant upon installation. They drained out the excess and got it up and working way more efficiently and DID NOT CHARGE US ANYTHING to fix another company's incompetency. I have called the **** ******* ****** several times, but they said this is a Consumer Fraud issue, so I'm contacting you and ****** ******* I don't know how often this guy is using this scam, but he is still running ****** ****** deals as of this morning. I think he is using these coupons as ways to drum up a bunch of fraudulent work. I felt violated. As far as I'm concerned, ******* of Specialzed/72 Degrees committed Fraud, Vandalism and attempted Blackmail. What if I was 90 years old and died during those 100 degree days with no AC? What if I was an unsuspecting widow? I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who hear "cracked furnace" and "Carbon Monoxide leak" and go get their checkbooks, because those fear tactics work. People like this need to be stopped. Turns out they never did a good job four years ago, but I never knew it until this happened.

Desired Settlement: $40 for the ****** ****** and $89 for the repair/reassembly incurred by the other HVAC company for a total of $129. I can submit documentation and a picture, if necessary.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ from: ******* ******** <*****************@gmail.com> to: Better Business Bureau <******@wynco.bbb.org> date: Wed, Jul 17, 2013 at 8:40 AM subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX We strive to keep our customers happy and safe, and 72degrees employ and train certified heat exchanger experts. If 72Degrees says a furnace is unsafe and it's not, then WE pay. Therefore, I am willing to not only refund the customers' ****** ********* $40 and the $89 repair/assembly, I will also pay an additional $881 to the customer (for a total of $1000) if the homeowner, myself and my competitor (the tech who said the furnace is perfect) will meet at the homeowners' house to again inspect the furnace. The customer's account of our visit is generally accurate. We were invited to the customers home for inspection and tune-up of the air conditioner, water heater and furnace. I cleaned the outdoor air conditioning unit, then proceeded to inspect and tune-up the water heater and the furnace. In the tune-up and inspection of the furnace, I removed the blower wheel and disconnected the thermostat wire going to the circuit board to visually inspect the heat exchanger (this is done with every tune-up). I then proceeded to visually inspect the heat exchanger and in the test procedure I found the heat exchanger had failed. In accordance with the American Gas Association, the authority with furnace heat exchanger inspections, if a crack on the heat exchanger is found the furnace is deemed unsafe to operate. I then stopped the inspection and talked with the customer about my concerns with the furnace. I gave her the option to have the furnace repaired or replaced. The prices on both options were provided. At this time the customer seemed upset and didn't believe that the picture was of her furnace. The customer was brought down to her furnace and a new picture was taken to show that it was her furnace and there was a crack. The customer was then leaving for work so we waited for her husband to come home from work and I went over the same information with him and gave him the options for repair or replacement. At this time the customers informed us that they did not have the money for repair or replacement and then I left their home. Because we take any customer's concerns seriously, I personally checked into the customer's claim of our company "hanging up on him". Since we record all conversations for customer service purposes, I reviewed these records and found no contact nor attempted contact from them or their phone number . Again, as I stated above, we strive to keep our customers happy and safe, and 72degrees employ and train certified heat exchanger experts. We look forward to meeting with our client to resolve this complaint.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will accept the refund of the $40 and the $89, but do not want that technician in our home again under any circumstances or for any amount of money.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1