BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

The Copper Penny

Additional Locations

Fax: (970) 586-4294 View Additional Phone Numbers 106 E Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.thepenny.com ! There is an alert on The Copper Penny !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Copper Penny
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated: 01/01/2006 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nicole Gassmann, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nicole Gassmann, Owner
Business Category

Gift Shops

Alternate Business Names
Gassmann Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    106 E Elkhorn Ave

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (800) 238-7032

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 274

    Estes Park, CO 80517

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 238-7032(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered four coaster sets as a gift from the CoasterSales.com site (aka The Copper Penny).Order #001617, on the date of 2013-05-03 for a total of $111.17.Three of the four sets that shipped to the gift recipient were not what we ordered.I have contacted the vendor via phone and email numerous times, and the issue has still not been resolved. I was asking for either an exchange for what we ordered, or a refund.

Desired Settlement: Exchange for the correct products that were ordered.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect item shipped, returned and never credited. 01/04/2013 I ordered an item online. After 2 inquiries it finally shipped 03/28/2013 but was not the item ordered. I returned the item and received neither a credit nor a response after about a month. After 2 months I emailed customer service and received an automated acknowledgement but still no resolution and the phone number given for contacting customer service (###-###-####) ia apparently no longer in service. The cost of the item was $45.85 and to date I have not received either the correct item nor a refund to my credit card.

Desired Settlement: A refund to my credit card of $45.85.

Consumer Response: ******************* Aug 1 (11 days ago)to Better, ******

Regarding the attached case, I have not heard directly from The Copper Penny.  They have not returned emails, not responded to voice messages left on their contact number phone line nor issued a refund.  Thank you for your follow-up and for including my complaint as a negative comment on the BBB Business Review for The Copper Penny. Regards,***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed/paid for order on 3/9/2013. As of today 5/4/2013 despite multiple promises that it will be shipped, it still has not been shipped. Order placed on 3/9/2013 via their website. I received a message that item was on back order and would be shipped within 2 weeks. On 3/25/2013 I sent a message asking for an update - no response. Resent message via email on 3/27/2013, and received an e-mail from "manager" that she would be calling supplier. On week of 4/22/2013, I called and spoke w/store employee who said boxes from supplier were in, along with my item. Also mentioned store was closing and I would need to speak with either Whitney or Britney. Spoke with Whitney next day, she assured me my item was in and they would be shipping the order. I rechecked status of my order a week later, order had still not been shipped. Today, 5/4/2013, my order still shows as processing. I have been unable to speak with anyone again.

Desired Settlement: I'm very interested in the item, and would like to be told if they can provide it or not. Considering the inconvenience and the length of time it has taken them to ship (it was confirmed that they had the item week of 4/22, so item not being shipped to me is NOT a result of supplier issues), it would be great if they would either offer a discount or cover and refund the shipping charges. If company does not have item, then I would appreciate that they stop giving me the runaround and issue a full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never received my product. Called several times, now # is disconnected. I placed my order on 4/28/13. Received an email confirmation. A few days after, I received a call stating that my product would arrive in two weeks (at the latest) because they thought they had it in stock and did not. They needed to get it from their warehouse. I made several email/phone call attempts to get ahold of them. My emails went unanswered and my calls never went through to a voicemail. I called their toll free and area code 970 #. Nothing. I tried emailing the manager, using their contact us form and responding to my "order received" email. No reponses. Today I called (6/04) and the numbers have been disconnected. SUPER SHADY.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. ASAP.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.