BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Eaton Animal Den?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eaton Animal Den

Phone: (970) 454-1700 Fax: (970) 454-1702 231 S Elm Ave, Eaton, CO 80615 http://www.eatonanimalden.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eaton Animal Den meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eaton Animal Den include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eaton Animal Den
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 25, 2006 Business started: 11/01/2004 Business started locally: 11/01/2004 Business incorporated: 11/01/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7800
Fax Number: (303) 894-7764
DORA_VeterinaryMedicineBoard@state.co.us

Colorado Department of Agriculture
700 Kipling St Ste 4000, Lakewood CO 80215
http://www.colorado.gov/ag
Phone Number: (303) 239-4100

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Valerie Klein, Co-Owner Ms. Dana Shriver, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Valerie Klein, Co-Owner
Business Category

Veterinarians Retail Pet Suppliers Feed Dealers Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Grooming

Products & Services

Eaton Animal Den sells the following brand(s): CET, Chicken Soup for the Soul, Cosequen Cats, Diamond , Eagle Holistic, Earthbath, Kong, Purina Veterinary, Royal Canine Veterinary , Synovi-G Dogs, Taste of the Wild

Eaton Animal Den offers the following product(s): Cat Litter, Collars/Leashes, Dog Toys, Dog Treats, Dog/Cat foods, Dog/Cat Shampoo, Gentle Leaders, Grooming Tools, Joint Supplements

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
Mastercard
Discover
Care Credit

Additional Locations

  • 231 S Elm Ave

    Eaton, CO 80615 (970) 454-1700

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My dog was not cared for properly at their boarding facility I boarded my dog there for 10 days. When he was picked up he was very underweight and is now sick. He is regurgitating bile. I have been informed by another veterinary healthcare professional that this is a result of not being fed on a regular basis. He also has Kennel cough. I spoke with the kennel manager the day after I picked him up, she stated that there was a note in his chart that he was underweight on Wed, halfway through his stay there. They had emergency contacts on file, but chose not to call anyone. the manager stated she would call me back within 24 hours. I told her by the end of the week would be fine. that was two weeks ago. I have attempted contact 5 additional times since then and am unable to get anyone to call me back to discuss this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the all the kennel fees I have paid to the clinic, and the exam and cost of the kennel cough vaccination that they required me to get before boarding him.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/17) */ Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX The customer's dog was checked into our boarding facility on 2/9/2013 by the customer's pet-sitter. She filled out the boarding contact and noted the dog was to be fed 1 cup of food twice daily. She brought in the dog's own food, which was a large bag - open but not much fed out of it. The pet-sitter also selected playtime with other dogs during the stay. A copy of this signed boarding contract is attached. During my first conversation with the customer, he expressed concern that his dog lost weight while boarding. He stated to me at that time that the dog was a thin boxer already but now he was very underweight. I requested a week to interview my kennel staff members to fully review the dog's condition, temperament, and behavior during his stay with us. I explained that I was not personally involved in his boarding care, although I did see the dog while he was here in play groups. The dog was not stressed and enjoyed his playtime. I told the client I would contact him after discussing the dog's eating behavior, feeding protocol, and temperament with all staff members involved. All the employees were scheduled to work over the next week. The customer at that time was very understanding to my request and agreed to give me a week to call him back with more information. After interviewing the kennel staff, all of them visually noted during his stay that the dog was thin coming into his boarding stay, estimating a Body Condition Score (BCS) of 3 out of 9. This BCS score indicates the pet is too thin. A diagram of the BCS is attached. Kennel staff members noted that the dog ate two meals vigorously each day, had excellent water intake, was energetic, saw no signs of vomiting or diarrhea, and had no coughing during his entire ten days. The dog was always excited to go on his walks, vocalizing eagerness for his turn to walk as well as his chance to be in play groups. Half-way through the boarding stay the kennel staff did note that visually he was losing weight. The staff felt that an increase in energy exertion with boarding and play increased his caloric requirements. Kennel staff increased the dog's meal portions by ¼ cup per feeding, or a ½ cup more per day. After talking with my staff, several attempts were made to contact the client and several missed phone calls from the client, we were able to connect to further discuss the issue. The customer was more upset because his dog was now presenting symptoms of kennel cough and he had waited longer than he expected to hear back from us. I explained to the client that I had been out of the office with a medical condition of my own. At this time I mentioned to him that it was documented on the boarding contract to feed 1 cup twice daily by the pet-sitter at time of boarding drop-off, but we had increased his dog's feeding amounts due to the increased play time and energy exertion. When the client's mother came to pick up the pet (not himself as he mentions in the complaint), his food bag was almost empty with less than two meals left in the bag, apparent that we fed his pet during his stay. At the end of this phone conversation I asked the client how much he actually truly fed the dog at home and he said a cup. I asked if it was a true measured cup because we use true measuring cups at feeding, he was uncertain and not at home to check. I asked that he measure how much he actually feeds him at home and to please call me back with that measurement. At that time I gave the client my personal cell phone number to facilitate communication. I have not heard back from the client other than this BBB complaint. We are declining the desired resolution requested by the customer. We cared for his dog and provided the twice a day feeding of his own food at the measured amount his previous pet-sitter requested. The dog did not present any other symptoms of vomiting, coughing, sneezing, or lethargy during his stay to warrant his weight loss to be an emergency. When weight loss was visually noted we increased his feeding amounts. The boarding contract we provide at each boarding reservation includes a waiver stating the risks of boarding and liability disclaimer. All of us at Eaton Animal Den passionately care about animals and their well being. We offer each boarding patient the best care and do everything in our power to eliminate as much stress as we can for them. We provide music in the boarding area, take them for walks, and offer play groups to provide a positive stay for each canine staying with us. The charges related to the exam and vaccines the client is requesting back was provided at the dog's first boarding stay with us on 1/11/2013 and not associated with this last boarding stay on 2/18/2013. Current vaccinations are a requirement of all boarding animals. I have attached copies of both of those invoices, the customer's last boarding contract signed by the pet-sitter, and a Body Condition Score chart used in veterinary medicine. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is outright deception from the response. The dog was dropped off at the clinic by my fiancé, the individual that feeds the dog then and now, not a pet sitter. My mother did get the dog from the kennel as I did not get into town until very late that night. I did not state that I picked him up in the complaint. The manager asked for 24 hours (not the stated week) and then took 2 weeks to get back to me (as stated in the original complaint). When the manager (******) did call back she asked for me to get back with her on the amount that I was feeding (a measurement of my "cup"). I did this and heard nothing back (not surprisingly); she responds that I did nothing. I do not have this manager's cell phone number. The dog was not overly thin according to his regular vet, but was at a healthy weight when he went into his regular clinic (I have only used this clinic for boarding and the exam they required for me to board him). When I spoke with the manager the day after he was boarded, I was told that there was a note in the chart halfway through his stay that stated he was losing weight and that was the only note in his chart. Then when we spoke after 2 weeks, she stated the staff told her they increased it by 1/4 cup food per day. Now in this response it states that there was 1/2 cup increase? Why was this not charted? Why was there no attempt to contact my emergency contacts if the staff noted he was losing weight so rapidly? There were no attempts to contact me throughout that week as stated by the manager, there were several unreturned phone calls made by me to the clinic, with several of them the receptionist lied to me about where the staff were or why I was not getting a response. My cell phone had no missed calls or messages. The emergency contacts listed had no missed calls or messages. The bottom line is, they were paid to take care of my animal. He came back from their facility much thinner than when he left, and he came back sick. Then the staff and the manager have lied to me, and now to the better business bureau about what took place. My strongest concern here is that the public be aware of the practices of this facility so that no other animals will be neglected.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.